The tired blogger goes back to Hell

My vacation has ended and I come back to work to find I have not been given the day off I requested which means my short week has just been extended and I am not happy about it. I see a sick day in my future. Any whooooo


National qualifiers for College gymnastics is set
The All Around and individual events are also listed at the above link

Maggie Nichols finished 3rd at the Tokyo cup. Without the mistake on bars she probably would have won the All Around.

Here are some videos from youtube.


14 Responses to “The tired blogger goes back to Hell”

  1. JAS4 Says:
    Crazy good!

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I like Maggie’s floor but I am not crazy about the music.
    I haven’t kept up much with NCAA this year,but Go Bridget!

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      Her landings were pretty solid. I was quite impressed. Her form in the air was a little wonky though in some of the passes.

      I agree, the music and choreo wasn’t my favorite.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      This floor reminds me of Chelsie Memmel, and not in a good way. I thought her form was pretty bad in the air and most of her tumbling is “heavy” looking, if that makes sense.

      I don’t think she’ll be a factor for Rio, but that’s just me.

  3. GymMom Says:

    Chow confirned Gabby is going to be training in his gym in Iowa. It looks like Gabby is going to pretend her comeback like Shawn did.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I still don’t think Shawn pretended her comeback. Look how in shape she did get. I think Shawn just saw the writing on the wall before Worlds 2011, and a DWTS offer came in and she took it.

  4. uglyfatkid Says:

    The news about Gabby was shocking to me. I cannot believe that Chow took her back after everything that happened. I think he’s an idiot for doing so, but my guess would be that he has a solid contract with her now. And by that…I mean her and only her. She is 18 now, and Chow can stipulate that Natalie is no longer part of the program. He is smart if he did. He has nothing to lose with her…she is the one who needs him. He should have got everything he needs in writing so he doesn’t get screwed. But if he didn’t get Natalie out of the picture, it’s on him. He should know better by now…dealing with her only brings problems.

    I have never been a Gabby fan, but if she is for real about this comeback and it isn’t for show…then I am glad she is at least starting the process now. I think everyone learned that you can’t come back a year before the Olympics and expect to get on the team (thanks to Nastia).

    I would rather have her gone forever, but if she is coming back then I hope she’s doing it for real…and gives it her all.

    I wonder what this news will do for Jordyn? Motivate? Or hinder?

    • Tortuga Says:

      I can’t say I’m really surprised. I think her fame is dwindling and Norah, Alexis & Rachel are being hyped now and she wants in on it. I just really hope she doesn’t waste Chow’s time again like she did most recently leaving for LA. I do think she could become a lot better of a gymnast but that still doesn’t mean she will be able to reap a lot of success at an Elite level anymore. Should be interesting to watch. I’m sure she won’t compete for at least a year or two so it will be a lot of waiting. Just like we are waiting to see Aly and Jordyn. I REALLY hope Jordyn is in amazing shape just waiting to get back to Geddert’s before competing again.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think it’s a win-win for Chow in a way. He gets the publicity of her going back to him (I mean, it’s not as if there aren’t elite programs in CA she could have gone to) and in the beginning he’s probably not going to be spending much time with her anyways. It’ll all be conditioning-focused, and during that period he can see how truly serious she is about coming back.

        His contract will be with her and not her mom now that she’s 18, and look she really has a lot to prove. She’s all talk for now so I’m actually happy to see if she can come back herself up.

        Hey it makes it all the more interesting for us, right? Can’t be that bad.

      • H Says:

        Agree sanitynmotion, it will be interesting:-)

      • Akshay Says:

        LOL that’s what I was thinking last night. At the very least, this blog will be even more fun to visit and participate in. The only thing better (read worse) would be if Nastia made another comeback.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Actually that might be more awesome. More face-plants, please. I want a never-ending GIF of Nastia face-plants. We’ll never see her attempt a comeback again; the current code just doesn’t allow it for her.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Fun for you maybe but I am not looking forward to this at all. If Nastia had actually put a decent effort into her comeback Marta would have put her on the team no questions asked and she could very well do the same for Gabby at the expense of someone that actually deserves the spot. Marta tried to put her on the team with that shit effort. Sigh I am just over this. I actually like this quads gymnasts at least as far as people and with Katelyn now gone there hasn’t been as blatant cheating as we have seen in the past. As a gymnastics “fan” that is all I can ask for.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I have to agree with GTT I am just waiting for the special treatment and gift passes to begin lol

Leave a Reply

