Pac Rim training videos. Simone is out

Simone withdrew after hurting her shoulder again.

(Thanks LOL)

Pictures from training.

Schedule for the competition.
Video Team Finals, AA and Event Finals

I have one question why are there no training videos of Kyla Ross at all?

Finally found her beam but no upgrades. I just can’t figure out why we insist on sending her to these same meets with the same routines.


Here is the gist. I want to hit my routines. We are all like family and love each other and its an honor to compete for the US at this competition. When did this competition become so big? Each of these girls seem to think this is a huge competition. It funny to listen to them all tow the party line.

Simone Biles
Kyla Ross
Elizabeth Price
Norah Flatley
Nia Dennis
Bailie Key

58 Responses to “Pac Rim training videos. Simone is out”

  1. tulip Says:

    Norah Flately is a major talent. I’m looking forward to seeing where she goes.

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I wouldn’t be surprised if Marta( or nbc) tries to create another rivalry but this time with Simone,Ebee,and Kyla

  3. Melanie Says:

    I’m really excited about this quad’s gymnasts, both the seniors and juniors (though I will confess that I’ll be more excited when the juniors become seniors!). I really hope that Kyla has some significant upgrades. I’m kind of worried that there’s nothing to show of her because there aren’t upgrades. It is definitely an odd choice to show Ebee and not Kyla.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      They finally showed Kyla and Simone. I am like you I like watching the juniors more than the seniors and then seeing how they do as seniors.

      • Melanie Says:

        Maybe it’s just how she trains, but Kyla’s looking a little labored to me. And still no upgrades. I’m getting a bit tired of it. The reason they continue to send her is because she’s consistent and scores well internationally…but not as well as she could if she stepped it up a bit. I understand they’re preserving her health for now, but by the time Rio comes, if she’s shown no upgrades, the others will have easily eclipsed her by then. They already have, in my opinion. I like Kyla a lot, but she’s not that special anymore. Her lines aren’t THAT fabulous, especially with that horrid toe-curl. I just want her to really bring it to the next level.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I agree and even her form isn’t as clean as it used to be. She is still my favorite to watch but without upgrades I don’t see her making another Olympic team.

        There is always an unknown new comer that shows up when you least expect it and that won’t happen until 2015 or even later in 2016. Kyla was one of those gymnasts in 2012.

        I have to believe her coach will add the upgrades eventually I hope its not too late.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah I’m wondering why force the competitions when Kyla clearly isn’t ready to demonstrate upgrades. She’s almost acting as a “filler” for now until a junior ages up. Next year will be a clear turning point as to which seniors can stay relevant among the rising junior stars and the girls coming back from London (Aly, hopefully Jordyn, potentially Gabby although I’ll believe it when I see it).

        That Norah Flatley has awesome form and the attack of Shawn Johnson on beam (I really like what I’m seeing). I can’t wait to see more of her.

        Does anyone else think Bailey Key is kind of boring, or is it just me?

      • Melanie Says:

        I find Bailie Key MUCH more interesting than Kyla. Which is probably weird, because they’re not tons different. Bailie has more difficulty than Ross on beam and floor, and she has good potential on bars and vault. I guess I like that she’s a true all-arounder with excellent form. Oh, and she wins practically everything she competes in.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Its funny you should say that because people call Kyla boring but I find Bailie boring. I’ll admit she has grown on me recently but overall I just want to fall asleep through her routines. Her new floor is a hella improvement on that Kim Zmeskal like debacle she did last year and she is very consistent and scores well outside the US but it is way too early in the quad to be peaking.

      • Catherine Says:

        I have been a big fan of Kyla upgrading the hell up, in 2012 and in 2013. This year, not so sure. Dealing with any kind of back injury is not to be messed with, and along with yet more growth…she could well be the smartest cookie around to keep her routines the same and arrive at Stanford to shine, in ONE piece.

        So, whatever works for her at this stage. As for Bailie, why is she more interesting?? Probably her utter mastery and ability to outshine everyone with high difficulty. Kyla stood out as a junior but that didn’t really hold. Bailie seems untouchable.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Haha to be honest I wouldn’t even “believe it when I see it” re Gabby. Just look at Nastia. Pretended to be “back”, but didn’t do a full routine before 3 weeks before trials.

      • Short1 Says:

        @sanitynmotion I agree with “I’ll believe it when I see it” in terms of potential comebacks. For me, that means I’ll believe it when they’re back on the competition floor and seem to be in good enough form to compete internationally/make a Worlds team.

  4. Kyz Says:

    LOVE Norahs confidence on the beam. When some of these juniors become seniors it is going to make things very intersting.

  5. sainabou nyang Says:

    Norah Flately- Beautiful form on beam. If she grows some next year I think she can squeeze in a DTY.

    Nia- That Tkatchev! Higher than Gabby. She’s had a growth spurt since last year but it works for her on bars. She needs to clean up her form on beam.

    Ebee- Whats happened to her Amanar? Imo its nowhere as good as 2013. Maybe it’s the block she gets off he horse but she’s barely getting it around completely.

    Simone- Can’t wait to see her new floor.

    Kyla-Looking rough and labored. Won’t even discuss lack of upgrades.

    Bailey-Solid as a rock not even fazed. She goes in does her job.

    • Catherine Says:

      Nobody is vaulting great, no podium. Note Kyla and Nia also. *

      * Of course there’s an asterisk. Simone needs no pesky podium to launch a huge amanar.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        What do you think of Simone’s new floor?

        I didn’t find it much different from her other floor to be honest. Still rushed choreography, but matched with solid power tumbling.

        I like the second half (last part) music tempo, but that’s about it. Her floor is still very “Aly Raisman” and not in a good way, but heck she did get the gold at the Olympics.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Norah Flatley is Sarah Finnegan with better connections

    • Karlie Says:

      Also I just watched the interview with Ebee and she specifically said that the equipment is very different than they’re used to, so it’s possible that she’s also still adjusting to the vault horse. She said that bars was challenging because the bar is so much bouncier than she was used to, and that the floor runway was also bouncy.

  6. sanitynmotion Says:

    Wait just kidding about Simone. This just in:

    Simone Biles has withdrawn from the 2014 Pac Rim Championships as a precaution after re-aggravating her right shoulder. Her replacement will be named shortly.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      READ THE BLOG. I posted that minutes ago. Also added the floor routine. I don’t know how I feel about it. It has a nice beat

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Sorry – think I posted it about the same time you posted it, and then I didn’t catch that you updated it. I was looking at FB when I watched the floor routine. Like USA Gymnastics’ page or something.

        Yikes, I always read your blog! Don’t yell at me!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I was going to tell you I wasn’t yelling at you been than I realized it was in DON’T YELL AT ME 🙂

  7. JAS4 Says:

    I am guessing Brenna will be the replacement or possibly Ernst

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      My guess is Brenna too since she was the alternate

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Marta hates Brenna. And Al Fong.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She let her go to the American Cup. She can’t hate her too much

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I dont think she had much of a choice after worlds. team is everything to Marta. Al Fong is all about I. MMarta doesnt like Brenna in a team competition. Brenna was not in jesolo. I just think they pretty much knew EBee would win and I think Marta really didnt care as much. Peyton sat out Tokyo because of her alt spot. My guess is it goes to Peyton.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Peyton is useless but coached by Kim. Hell is Sabrina can make a world team based on her coach anything can happen

  8. Exgymgurl Says:

    Its either Brenna or Peyton, or they compete short like they did in 2010 when Sloan got hurt. However this competition is a much shorter plane ride than Australia. Im CERTAIN its either Brenna or Peyton Ernst! considering they said publicly Peyton was second alt. my $$ is on Peyton since Zmeskal / burdette is already there.

  9. Exgymgurl Says:

    Dark horse of course is Skinner. Marta may think she has enough AA talent and may want vault and floor medals….

  10. Exgymgurl Says:

    So how much $$ did I win??? Peyton on the team!!!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Lol no money. You win the satisfaction of Marta giving gifts to her ex pupils gymnasts. Peyton will fall at least once.

  11. Exgymgurl Says:

  12. JAS4 Says:

    I wonder if they just chose Ernst or if they asked Brenna and they turned it down

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      They chose Peyton.

      • Catherine Says:

        Peyton is so inconsistent. Maybe she’s awesome at camp but..

        Wondering if not picking Brenna is because she got American Cup, so spread the love. Of course could be because of her gym/coach/not 100% bars routine, but then it could be because the short notice suited one particular gymnast more, nothing sinister.

  13. uglyfatkid Says:

    Should we be worried about Simone? It seems as those she is becoming injury ridden. I get resting her now so she can compete later, but I starting to worry for her longevity. Her DLO with a half (Biles) on floor did not get the height that she normally does. It might have been a fluke, but I’m starting to worry a little for her.

    I really like her…and I don’t want her to get broken. I would much rather her sit out every event except classics, nationals, and worlds/Olympics if it means it keeps her from breaking.

    I don’t know, with this second pull out I am starting to get more and more worried for her longevity. I am glad Amy pulled her…but do you think this means anything?

    • Melanie Says:

      I don’t think this is a serious injury. They didn’t even say “injury”… what exactly does it mean to “aggravate” a shoulder in the words of USAG? Simone doesn’t really have anything to prove at this meet, so it’s fine to keep her rested until nats and Worlds. As far as SCAM goes, I don’t think she was really injured then either. That was right around the time she and Amy were leaving Bannon’s, and I think that Marta knew there was no reason to compete her with such a weak field.

      It seems like a lot of them are having trouble with the floor. I’m confused because Ebee said that it was really bouncy, which you’d think would make all of their tumbling higher, but several of them look pretty low. Simone looked good on the first pass, but the Biles was definitely not as good as usual. Kyla looked bad on just about everything, tumbling-wise. I’ll be anxious to see the actual competition video.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I was thinking the same thing, like it appeared these girls could barely get their tumbling around. I thought Kyla’s double pike looked good; I still wonder why they took out her full twisting double back. Her third pass is super watered down and just WEAK sauce. Her first pass looked labored.

        Simone looked short on her double layout half-twist but we did only see them go through it once. Who knows. The girls looked pretty good on beam I’d say (no falls really). I’m not sure I like Simone’s triple twist in the squat position on beam (not sure what it’s called; Terin Humphrey used to do it) – her leg is not entirely straight and her toe isn’t pointed. I hate to be nit-picky but it’s like ASac’s stupid split on beam resting on her chin; if you can’t do it pretty take it out!

        After I saw all of their bars I couldn’t help but think Gabby really will have a hard time making a comeback and actually getting on a World team. Plenty of these girls have amazingly high release moves and bars are overall looking cleaner (although still won’t be a factor against the Chinese and Russians at full peak). We’ll see.

      • Melanie Says:

        Simone only did a 2.5 sit spin, right? Definitely not as good as Sarah Finnegan’s, but better than the stupid single turn.

        I don’t think Gabby has anything to bring to the table. Gabby is on bars, but nothing world-class. You’re right, we’ll never be a factor against China or Russia on this event, so we just need stop-gap gymnasts that can put up a reasonable score. Between the current seniors and upcoming juniors, we’ll be fine enough on bars. I don’t think I can put up with Gabby for a whole other Olympic cycle. Ugh.

      • Melanie Says:

        Meant to say, Gabby is *decent* on bars.

      • Karlie Says:

        Actually, a floor that’s too bouncy can make it much harder to get height on your passes if you’re not used to it. I’m not sure exactly how the physics work, but basically if you’re used to punching the floor at a certain stiffness and it gives in more than you’re used to, then your height gets cut off.

        I used to be a diver and it was similar – you get used to diving with the board at a certain level of stiffness. If you stand on the end of the board and jump up and down, you’ll get the most height if you hit the board when it’s rebounding up. A bouncier board takes longer to rebound, so it’s lower when you hit it.

        I’m guessing quite a few of these girls are used to punching the floor (with their feet, obviously) with a lot of power, so it might be harder to get amplitude. That power isn’t needed when the floor is bouncier; it actually cuts off your height.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Thanks for that explanation Karlie. That was really helpful insight. :]

      • Melanie Says:

        That is really interesting.

        But I did watch the interviews again, and I was wrong. Ebee didn’t say the floor was bouncy, she just said the bars were bouncy. All she said about the floor was that it was red instead of blue. Maybe that affects their tumbling somehow? Haha.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        You would think the pepto pink would have caused problems in 2012 too…but I guess the US girls were used to it since Marta thinks that’s one of the new USA colors. That and that weird purple-ish color. ANYTHING but red, white, and blue. Heaven forbid we represent the country we are competing for. Let’s just look cute and girly in pink. AND…I just threw up.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        THANK YOU it’s bothering me so much as well. It’s like USA is now literally hot pink, and I don’t like it. Hot pink and fuchsia. I don’t get it to be honest. I miss the good old days of red, white, and blue – you know, when we actually cared about being patriotic and representing the country. Now even the coaches’ jackets are hot pink!!

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Yea, I don’t get it. It doesn’t bother me if the girls wear whatever they want in event finals. I could even MAYBE extend that to the AA (maybe…I would have to really be persuaded). But the team comp should ALWAYS be some form of red, white, and blue in my opinion. No exceptions. The thing I don’t get, is there is so many options/combos with the 3 colors. They don’t even have to use all 3 as far as I am concerned. Just red? Fine. All white? Cool. I don’t care. But in the end we are Americans…so they need to represent America. They do not represent Pepto Bismol, Teen Beat Magazine, or the Teen Choice Awards. Represent your FREAKIN’ COUNTRY!!!

      • Melanie Says:

        Can you imagine how they’re going to look in pink/fuchsia/mauve tumbling against a bright red floor? Talk about making your eyes bleed.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        LOL! My eyes are watering just thinking about it.

        BTW – On a personal note, I’ve enjoyed your comments and I just wanted to tell you that. I don’t remember seeing you post on the blog until recently, so I wanted to say something. It’s not always easy posting on a new blog, especially with opinionated people (like me) posting…so I wanted to say “hi”…and that I appreciate your comments. =]

        You seem to know a lot about gymnastics. Did you used to do it? Or just a super fan?

      • Melanie Says:

        Thanks!! That means a lot. I am new to the blog (though I’ve been following quietly for months). I LOVE talking with all you guys — my boyfriend thinks it’s funny how addicted I am.

        In response to your later questions – BOTH. I was a competitive gymnast, though my parents pulled me out after level 8. I dislocated a hip, and they just thought that enough was enough. I don’t think I’ve ever forgiven them, especially after they put me in baton twirling to make up for it. Haha. But, I still follow the sport with a fervent passion. Fun sidenote: I always knew that my aunt was a gymnastics coach, but I don’t see her very often (it’s been ten years). Last week, I found out she coaches at Texas Dreams. Whaaat??

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That’s funny about your Aunt; you should get some inside scoop if you can.🙂 I’m wondering how much of the dirty inside politics she knows about.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Lol. That’s cool Melanie (do you ever go by Mel?). I am just a big fan. Unfortunately, I can barely chew gum and walk at the same time.

        Coordination and grace were never my talents. I’m good at critiquing others though. Is that a talent? =]

        I’m kind of like Abby Miller from Dance Moms. I have no real talent of my own, but I can yell at you until I either make you cry or you become famous somehow. So far I haven’t made anyone famous, but I’m working on it. Lots of people have cried though. =] Oh, and like Abby…I do all of it sitting on my fat ass in the back of the room.

  14. Tortuga Says:

    So are they just practicing in a warm up gym or is this not going to be a podium meet this year?

  15. sanitynmotion Says:

    As to Simone’s injury I think it’s a good decision on her part. She probably tweaked her shoulder and if she were to compete on it who knows what would happen. It makes me feel good about her longevity since (unlike Memmel) she won’t compete on something that hurts and try to push her body past its boundaries. Overall I think it’s a good sign. Like others have said this competition really isn’t a big deal – especially for Simone, who’s already proven herself.

    It’s more of a big deal for the juniors and some seniors who need to prove themselves to Marta. I feel like most of the pressure at these meets is home-driven; to prove themselves to Marta is the biggest hurdle. Sad but true I’m sure.

  16. Gymbee Says:

    Just read on IG that Gabby had moved back to Iowa to train with Chow. Wonder how long that will last.

  17. sanitynmotion Says:

    Did anyone else think Peyton’s leaps have gotten worse? They used to be much better (at least on beam). That was my take looking at her training video.

    • Melanie Says:

      Ugh, I know, right? What’s with the horrible bent knees and not hitting 180?

      On a positive note, I thought her bars looked good.

Leave a Reply

