Mustafina wins Nationals and Opening Day at Fenway.

I won’t be around tomorrow the boy surprised me with Opening day tickets to see the World Series Champions get their new rings. I am so excited. I think someone is trying to make up for making me leave a certain baseball game early last year making me miss a comeback in the 9th inning, maybe? Buy my love honey:P

Aly Article from the comment section.


AA Picture

Full Twist pointed out something I didn’t notice. Nabieva competed

Aliya Mustafina won Russian Nationals.

1. Alia Mustafina 14.733 14.333 15.400 15.100 59.566
2. Alla Sosnitskaya 14.700 14.467 14.067 14.833 58.067
3. Anastasia Grishina 13.867 13.900 14.400 14.300 56.467
4. Yekaterina Kramarenko 13.900 14.533 13.167 14.067 55.667
5. Daria Spiridonova 13.600 15.133 13.733 13.200 55.666
6. Polina Fyodorova 13.700 13.333 14.500 13.600 55.133
7. Tatiana Nabiyeva 14.567 13.933 13.400 12.700 54.600
8. Daria Yelizarova 13.700 13.833 13.800 12.300 53.633
9. Lilia Akhaimova 13.667 11.700 13.167 13.933 52.467
10. Kristina Kruglikova 13.667 12.033 13.233 13.533 52.466
11. Kristina Goryunova 13.500 11.833 13.167 13.900 52.400
47. Viktoria Komova 14.267 14.900 11.600 40.767
50. Anna Rodionova Volga 13.800 15.067 28.867
51. Maria Paseka Moscow 15.033 13.433 28.466
52. Maria Kharenkova South 14.433 13.967 28.400
53. Ksenia Afanaseva Central 14.933 13.000 27.933

Anastasia Grishina on floor

61 Responses to “Mustafina wins Nationals and Opening Day at Fenway.”

  1. GymMom Says:

    Now you know I like Pappi, but his orchestrated “selfie” with President Obama, after signing a big endorsement with Samsung, made me ill. Ortiz denying he knew it was orchestrated makes it worse.

    Please God….make the selfie craze STOP!!!! Ha ha

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I personally don’t think it is a big deal. Ellen set hers up too but I am with you 100% on the ending of ENOUGH!

      People get paid to tweet too.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Have you heard that new song “selfie” by the Chainsmokers. It’s quite funny actually you should give it a listen. It reminds me of all my dumbass 30-year-old friends posting over and over again on FB. Makes me ill too. Why should we also act like 15-year-olds? It’s so stupid. Like “look at me aren’t I so pretty.” Or whatever.

      • mim Says:

        That song is heinous lol. Only because so many woman truly have dumbed themselves down that much it’s scary!

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    I find Russians floor routines so much prettier to watch than American ones.

    Oh, you know what else I’m starting to hate? Hashtags. #. Can those end too please.

    • Melanie Says:

      I think it’s because (at least in the case of Musty and Grish) they’re up on their toes so much. And of course, better choreo. I do like Grishy’s new floor.

      It’s also interesting to see which countries are tailoring their FX to the new code rules. Russia seems to have gotten rid of back-to-back tumbling passes, but still has the immediate mount from the corner. The US has yet to take either rule into account.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah it appeared that Musty was still pausing in corners too.

        I think a lot of it has to do with their arms. They are so graceful with the way they carry themselves. The US girls just do ugly arm flails and their choreo (for the most part) is a disaster. I used to like Maroney’s floor routines a lot but I hated her last one. Kyla at least is getting a tad better.

      • Melanie Says:

        Oh, Kyla. The sad thing about true artistry is it can’t really be taught. Her floor is definitely getting better, but that girl will always be stiff, stiff, stiff.

        The only thing I’d change about the Russians is their stiff hands. You know who has great artistry? The Greeks. Millousi and Bismpikou both had really beautiful artistry, nice carriage, soft hands. But as far as the big four go, the Russians are the best. China has nice flexibility and good lines, but they’re never fluid enough for my liking.

        Yeah, what happened to Maroney? Her 2009-11 routine was lovely, but the one after was pretty horrendous. The newest one was slightly better, but I wish she’d get better music.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Is Bismpikou still competing?

      • Melanie Says:

        I don’t think so. Last I saw her was in…2011? Euros, I think? I miss her. She was really underrated on beam and floor (at least, her choreo on floor…tumbling wasn’t that great).

      • mim Says:

        Emily Gaskins had such a lovely, natural graceful presence on floor. She’s my big floor hope for the US, hope MLT doesn’t ruin it!

        Funnily enough, Mykayla Skinner’s lack of softness or dance ability doesn’t bother me because her tumbling looks so much better.

        I liked McKayla’s new routine before Marta made her take out the shimmying.

      • Lyra Gill (@lygill) Says:

        I don’t enjoy watching Millousi at all – she always has poor execution, even on her turns and jumps.

        The US girls for the most part do have ugly choreo, but I really liked Jordyn’s 2011-2012 routine.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Actually Jordyn’s floor from the Olympics/the last quad is and probably will always be one of my all-time favorites. I really liked Maroney’s 2011 floor routine too. That’s what good choreo looks like. So it obviously means you don’t “have” to have the ballerina figure/movements to create a great floor routine.

        AND I loved ASac’s floor when she was making a comeback (mostly I loved the music, but I liked ASac’s “pizazz”). That’s about it though. I can’t think of any other Americans whose floor I liked.

        Honestly, and I hate to say this, but I can’t wait for Marta and her influence to leave the US program. I guess another bad way to phrase that would be I can’t wait for Marta to suddenly fall off the face of the Earth and die. I feel like she’s a big reason why the US beam routines are looking the same and why all the foor choreos suck (except the ones I mentioned above). At least she’s like in her 70s so what, 10 years more max until she “has” to retire? Hopefully? Ugh.

      • katecoursey Says:

        Jordyn’s routine is my favorite example of a routine that’s artistic without being balletic. It was well-choreographed, had a lot of interesting movement, and it suited her tumbling style and expression really well. I also really liked Mckayla’s 2011 routine…she’s a good dancer, her choreography just hasn’t been up to par these last couple years.

      • Akshay Says:

        Be careful what you wish for, Sanity. I’m pretty sure we’ll get Valeri after Marta. Imagine floor routines with only three tumbling passes, gratuitous hand gestures, and numerous butt-shelves.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Maybe he can croke too. Sorry if that sounded mean. I feel like Valerie will be easier to “overtake” than Marta. I don’t know why.

        What is a butt shelf? That is funny sounding.

      • biyatch Says:

        I also loved Alicia’s 2011 floor, in no way was it graceful and elegant but it was commanding as hell in the Alicia HBIC kind of way.

        What I do appreciate about American floor routines is for the most part they don’t try to fit a square peg into a round hole. Most of the American girls would look ridiculous trying to do the type of graceful elegant routines that the Russians do so they go another route for the majority of the girls.

        Even Aly… is she super artistic… hell no. But they found a routine that she was able to work with. In 2010 when they tried to have Aly do Alicia’s old routine (also Alicia’s beam choreography) it was just so awful, so not Aly. So they worked with something that fit to her strengths.

  3. Lis Says:

    At least Grishy dyed her hair back from that awful brassy blond. Also, nice floor!

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    The queen reigns supreme 20 points ahead of Vika with Komova only competing three…. Wish she was further along…

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Vika will be fone in a few months. She is already valuable on bars and I think if given more time she will be fine on beam.

      • Karlie Says:

        Agreed. She grew a TON though – she’s actually taller than Afan now! It must have taken a lot of adjustment.

      • mim Says:

        Komova physically looks so much stronger and healthier. Hopefully happier and focused too. I hope dealing with her growth and having some time off helped her harden up mentally.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I know… I hope Valentina gets over herself and puts Grishina, AFan, Komova and Mustafina on her worlds team. Watch Paseka make the team for vault!!!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        How many chances does Grishina need? 2 times she took herself AT a competition. Sorry but if Russia leaves her at home I wouldn’t blame them

      • Melanie Says:

        I’m with GTT. I’m totally over Grishina. She is a beautiful gymnast that cannot be relied on to hit when needed. She’s like Russia’s John Orozco. I wouldn’t make her a part of my team.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Absolutely agree about Grishina. In a sports like gymnastics where every point counts, there’s no room for hesitation. Brutal but that’s what I like about the sport.

      • Case Says:

        Grishina is a head case in a sport the relies so much on mental toughness. I don’t expect much out of her in the future.

  5. Gymbee Says:

    Haha GTT I’m glad you get to go! Even my husband knows about the great injustice you suffered, we were about to go to the US and talking about Fenway, and I read your blog right at that moment. He’s happy for you too lol!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Tell your husband thank you. Even though we lost and I froze my ass off after the 5th inning it was a great game til the 9th. I also got a sunburn.

      • Case Says:

        What I wouldn’t give for a sunburn. It’s still like 30 f’ing degrees here.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It was freezing but the sun was on us til the fifth inning so my face is sun burned. Do you love Alex Gonzalez yet? I loved him as a Sox wish he was still here.

      • JAS4 Says:

        it has been in the mid 80s here with pollen EVERYWHERE making my allergies go crazy! Lol I wonder if any of the Russians will be attempting an Amanar this year? Afan’s Amanar last year wasn’t that bad last year if I remember correctly.

  6. gymtruthteller Says:

    Jas. My eyes have been watering for days and being at Fenway today made it worse.

  7. Melanie Says:

    Ironic since we were just talking about Grishina’s future…

  8. JAS4 Says:

    I hope it’s not too bad and that she is able to recover quickly! I like her gymnastics and her floor routines are usually nice and have good choreography.

  9. JAS4 Says:

    Is this for real?

    • Catherine Says:

      Yes. It’s quite a common thing to do, this was a suggestion of her coach and was backed by her parents. She comes from a rural background and would be quite superstitious so it’s not actually unusual. Deng Linlin’s name is not original..she was born Deng Linfeng.

      Yao will still be called Nannan as her nickname and her name may not officially change as regards FIG either.

  10. JAS4 Says:

    Apparently Gabby is going back to Iowa.

    • Akshay Says:

      Just saw this. Oh my gosh.

    • GymMom Says:

      Why would he take her back?

      • JAS4 Says:

        I wouldn’t be surprised if Marta is involved in that in some way.

      • H Says:

        Because he differentiate between Douglas and her mother. Gabby is easy to work with mentally and physically. Another thing, i think Cow is smart, he makes his gymnast work intelligent and therefor less hours. And his wife (?) is a brilliant beam coach

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Someone sent me an email months ago and told me Gabby went back to Chows weeks after she left begging him to take her back. I discussed it with a member of this blog who insisted there was no way it was true so I kept quiet. Chow is apparently an idiot and I used to think highly of him

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I think it has more to do with a falling out with Chris Waller. All shes said on twitter is shes learning to drive recently. I bet she gets her license and has an apartment in Iowa. I bet her $$ is drying up. Even with the new agent Im sure there are problems. Maybe shes not paying Chris Waller. Its interesting Chow does not have any quotes in this.

      • Melanie Says:

        Ugh, this infuriates me. Chow has got other athletes to focus on – namely Norah Flatley, Alexis Vasquez, and Rachel Gowey – and he should not be spending any of his time or money on Gabby. It’s not like there’s anything to be gained by supporting her half-cocked comeback attempts. Exgymgurl is right, Gabby’s only pulling this because her money is evaporating.

      • Flippateer Says:

        I’m actually pretty enthusiastic about this. I don’t like Gabby’s personality but love her gymnastics. If she’s serious about moving back to Iowa (a place that by definition won’t have so many distractions as California), has remained in at least basic pre-gymnastics shape to date, is going to train hard for 26 months before the Olympic trials with Chow, and remains healthy, I wouldn’t underestimate her potential to contribute to the 2016 team.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’m with Flippateer. I want to see Gabby come back. I think she has strengths that will benefit Team USA and, if she can’t do it, well maybe we’ll see this girl take a bite of humble pie and get a reality check. I like her gymnastics as well and even thought it too bad she won the AA at the Olympics because she had so much more potential. I’m of course not considering her personality nor her mother, which hopefully by now she’s come to realize is a conniving user.

        Gabby is 18 now, officially an adult, and so now Chow can deal with her and not her mother. I have a feeling a big reason Gabby wasn’t sticking with Chow was because of her mother, who needed Gabby to come out to LA and be their meal ticket. Maybe there’s a lot to that relationship we don’t know about.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You are officially banned from this blog. If you can’t post that will be why

      • gymtruthteller Says:


      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I guess I should clarify I am giving Gabby the benefit of the doubt here because she was a stupid kid in London and I am hoping she has matured since then and realized she needs to be more poised and humble on the international stage. Too many people have seen through her bullshit and now it’s time she takes the stage as an adult and not under the presence of her stupid mom nor under the influence of Oprah ratings.

        Nastia is/was a different animal because she was an asshole as an adult. If that makes any sense. So basically if Gabby is an asshat from now on, I too will write her off and join the “I hate Gabby forever” crowd. I reserve my gymnast hate for the blonde Russian as of now; any more than that will cause undue stress.

        I also want to see Gabby eat some humble pie if she does continue to be obnoxious. She can’t fake a comeback with Chow; I just don’t see it happening (maybe with Valerie but we all know that story). I think Marta learned her lesson with the free passes and honestly I don’t see her favoring Gabby as much as she did Nastia. Plus, I don’t see Chow allowing a half-assed attempt comeback, not with three other potentials under his belt. If Gabby doesn’t start getting serious he’ll do what he did with Shawn and tell her it’s not gonna happen, and to write her agent for some last-minute gigs.

        Another thing, Gabby isn’t strong enough in just bars or bars/beam to solely take that spot from an up and coming junior (or an upgraded Kyla). Nastia had been favored by the judges enough to lay claim to potential podium standings had she been able to complete a solid bar routine (let’s be honest, if she had make London and completed a bar routine she would have likely landed top 3 for being who she is – think figure skating judges). I don’t see that happening for Gabby. Gabby barely made bar finals at her peak, and at Worlds 2011 Jordyn had a higher score I believe.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        If Nastia took her best routine of 2012 on bars she never would have been top 3 anything. I thought I banned you🙂

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think the stupid judges would have made their mark on Nastia. C’mon, they were basically figure skating judges the way they treated Gabby over Jordyn. You don’t think they’d be doing the same thing w/Nastia, especially with Nellie Kim at the wheel? I mean I’m glad we never had to see it happen but I would bet if Nastia had a clean UB routine she would have been a “factor” for medals, even though it would have been total BS.

        Just like it was BS that Gabby scored over Jordyn to make it to the AA final despite her wobbles and missed connections on beam and major mistakes on floor.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        GTT you KNOW I have a point, ban me or not!🙂 You can’t trust judges anymore to make a good conscionable effort to keep this sport valid.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I personally will never be able to stand Gabby and her overscored self.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Then just think: no comeback means we won’t see Gabby eating humble pie, ever. I really think that she’ll be facing a totally different atmosphere this time around. I don’t see her getting the favoritism she received in the past. I think Marta has moved on.

  11. Karlie Says:

    Oh goodness…Grishina dislocated her kneecap. Girlfriend can’t catch a break.😦

    • Melanie Says:

      Doctor’s report says she has a partial ACL tear, cartilage damage, and a broken bone. Sounds pretty bad.

      Have you seen the EFs? Komova and Mustafina kind of fell apart on bars, but I’m not too worried. Komova did an exhibition beam routine and threw a BHS-Arabian which was awesome. Of course, she wobbled on pretty much everything else and put that stupid double turn back in (has she forgotten 2011???). But, I have hope for her comeback!

  12. Exgymgurl Says:

    Valentina named a bunch of people to the Russian team for euros. And Maggie nichols took third in Tokyo behind Ferrari and popa…..

Leave a Reply

