Guess who is on vacation ? Doha prelims results and more

Its me. For the first time in a long time I am off from both jobs for a week and the boy is working so I will be doing lots of sleeping, some cleaning and then maybe some blogging.

I know I am going to sound like an idiot here but was this the Russian pair I liked at the Olympics? Pairs and ice dancing bore so I forget:) I think this is them.

This is way crazy. You win bronze and now quit? So stupid.

Doha prelims took place today and Larissa Iordache is leading both Beam and Floor. Diana Bulimer is in second ( Beam and Floor) and Lauren Mitchell in third on floor.

Womens Results
Mens Results \
Official website for Doha

The US men are also competing. has a write up.

There Rhythmic Gymnasts competed recently and look USA-Gymnastics is pretending they give a crap about our military yet the flag stepping picture still remains.

Okay so there are 2 stories
about how much they love and help the military and both just happen to be released after the stepping on the flag picture. Good timing or done on purpose? You judge

Mens SP Results from worlds. Abbot fell again and is in 8th. Max Aaron is in 9th.

The Ladies event starts tonight (or tomorrow since it will be at like 3 AM)

Max Aaron

The Canadian men tanked so bad they are on the verge of only getting one spot for Worlds next year and that will go to Chan who was too lazy to compete here. Isn’t that ironic.

60 Responses to “Guess who is on vacation ? Doha prelims results and more”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    Abbott cannot not fall to save his life, can he? What about the kid with the long hair who dressed in Prince and can’t do a quad? I guess he’s not there?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      They sent Aaron to worlds and Jeremy to the Olympics. Jeremy fell and Max screwed up his triple axel. The US mens team is a mess.

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    Oh, and ENJOY your vacation! I’m jealous!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am so excited:) I get 4 weeks a year from my work and the boy gets 3 weeks. I usually take one of my weeks to sleep and we take the other vacations together but this is my sleep vacation.

      • gymnerd Says:

        The best kind. Hope it’s wonderful. 🙂

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Those are the best types of vacation. Man, I wish I got 4 weeks per year. Although that’s the standard in Europe. But then again I work for the wrong industry. Sigh.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I only get 4 weeks because I have worked at the same place for a long time

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That’s the only way I’d ever get there either. One of my coworkers’ sisters works in Germany (been there for years) and she applied to a job in the US. She got an offer letter and it said “2 weeks of vacation” – she called my coworker and was like “that’s more like 2 weeks per quarter, right?” We all laughed.

        Welcome to the US of A.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Its the only good thing about my job

      • mim Says:

        Is 4 weeks leave not standard in the US?

        Enjoy your break GTT! Chilling at home and sleeping sounds amazing right now!

      • Tortuga Says:

        No! At my current job you only get one week vacation after employment of 1 year. Then you get bumped up to 2 weeks after 5 years. 3 weeks at ten years and so on. I’m on year 3. Hoping I make it to 5 years just for the vacation days.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That’s ridiculous…even for the US. Are you in the US? Forgive my ignorance if you said you are already. One week of vacation is nonsense. Let me guess, you get a week for sick days too, which will have you calling in sick when you are well, just for “mental health days.” I had to do that at my former job, where I got 2 weeks of vacation and 2 weeks of sick. I rarely get sick and I take too much vacation (we have family that lives all over the US) so I would call out sick fairly often just to use up those sick days (because if you didn’t end up using them, you lost them, and you may as well use up the “benefits” you are working your ass off for).

      • Tortuga Says:

        Yes, I’m in Texas. And it is ridiculous. Luckily my boss is pretty lenient on sick days so as long as I don’t abuse it he doesn’t demand a doctors note or anything. Or just saying you need a day off is fine it’s just obvious it will be with out pay.

      • mim Says:

        Far out, that’s rough Tortuga!

        Time off is indeed precious – gotta take whatever you can get!

  3. Kyz Says:

    Lovely to see an NZer 7th on Floor!

    • JAS4 Says:

      I thought the NZ girls showed a lot of potential at Pacific Rims in 2012 and I think I read somewhere that they are supposed to be there again this year

    • Tortuga Says:

      Oh my gosh the NZ girls were so adorable in 2012. I hope a lot of the same girls are there this year.

    • Kyz Says:

      Thats great to hear, it is wonderful for the sport in this country as it gets MINIMAL funding compared to many other sports (and Gymnastics in other countries). I see Courtney came 4th on vault in the finals as well. Fantastic result

      • mim Says:

        It’s great to see some NZ girls out there!

        Unfortunately, Australia might be heading in that direction funding wise. I saw an interview with one of our top coaches, and she very frankly said that Gym Australia was told Austrialia needs to medal at Rio to keep their current funding. It puts A LOT of pressure on these young gymnasts when really it shouldn’t be their place to deliver on such high expectations, particularly in Aus after only 3-4 years if rebuilding a program.

        Tangent sorry- I just hope Australia doesn’t go down that road of only having a gymnast or two competing!

  4. JAS4 Says:
    Nabs interview

    • Karlie Says:


      Seriously, though, she actually sounds like a class act. I hope she’s happy…and the fact that she apparently hasn’t ruled out a comeback warms my heart.

      • Karlie Says:

        wow that sounded vindictive. I genuinely hope she is happy…haha. She sounds like it in the interview and the coaching part was cute.🙂 I especially like how she mentions Aly as one of the gymnasts she likes to watch.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Russians crack me up they mention Khorkina like Romanians mention Nadia but American gymnasts don’t know gymnasts that competed before

  5. gymnerd Says:

    So our US ladies are in 5th, 7th and 12th after the SP. I do hope we’re able to hold on to 3 spots for next year.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      That’s actually pretty pathetic since 2 of the podium placers at the Olympics are not even competing. I’m guessing they fell or had a lot of mistakes?

      I’m not even bothering to watch as I’m still pissed about the Olympics.

      Let me guess Yulia is 1st.

      • Melanie Says:

        After SP, Mao’s in first, Kostner’s in second, and Lipnitskaya’s in third. I haven’t seen any videos yet, but so far the judging seems to be fair.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That placement sounds fair, if there were no mistakes. Forgot Mao was going to be giving this a shot (I hope she wins). Too bad we can’t have fair judging during the Olympics!

      • Melanie Says:

        All the programs are up on YouTube, now. The top three all had very clean skates, so I’m pleased with the rankings right now. I don’t necessarily have anything against Lipnitskaya (she’s certainly better than Sotnikova), but when you see her leaps back to back with Mao’s, there’s no comparison.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yulia is good, and if she hadn’t fallen I would agree with her being on the podium, but not in the gold medal position. It was even more of a travesty that her teammate got it (who’s even worse as a figure skater than Yulia; I mean there was a reason why Yulia was “plan A” before she made those mistakes; her teammate wasn’t even included in the Team competition).

      • Melanie Says:

        Yeah, I think it would have been fair for her to be on the podium, too, but probably in silver or bronze position. Definitely not gold. It’s tricky to watch her as a gymfan because she’s so darn flexible it can be hypnotizing, but when you pay attention to how low and flat her jumps are, especially compared to Mao or Yu-na, it’s clear she needs more work.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah – sadly though general figure skating fans figure if a jump is completed, it all counts equally. It shouldn’t really if someone else has better height and rotation and form. Same thing happens in gymnastics too, for instance Maroney’s Olympic vault should have been scored much higher than any of the other amanars, but the resulting score didn’t reflect that (as we saw when her amanar didn’t score that much higher than Gabby’s – yet everyone ooh’d and aww’d it; even the damn judge herself).

        Sotnikova cheated at least two of her jumps in her long program at the Olympics (under rotated her triple toe loop and took off on the wrong edge on her lutz) and yet she didn’t get deducted for them. That’s not including her falling out of another of her combo jumps. Whatever, that whole thing still pisses me off.

      • Melanie Says:

        And didn’t Lipnitskaya have the most 2s and 3s on her jumps, only excepting the ones she biffed? Ridiculous.

        I’m not sure I’ll really get over the cheating judges thing. Hell, even the mention of Gabby still makes my blood boil, and it’s been two years. And that wasn’t even as blatant. I mean, you could make the argument that Gabby deserved her medal on that particular night, but I’ll never get over the ridiculous scores she got on BB, VT, and even FX (that routine still makes me cringe).

        Of course, she’s only made it worse since 2012. Sotnikova’s on track to be just as maddening. Not only did she not deserve her medal, but she acted like an entitled brat afterwards. I just wish she’d come to Worlds and skated a perfect program and then fallen short of the podium. That would have been glorious.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think Sotnikova’s win was waaaay more blatant (fix-wise) than Gabby’s. I can actually “buy” Gabby’s win over Vika only because of Vika’s vault, which fell way short (she had multiple errors on it). Sure, Gabby’s scores were uber-inflated (definitely on bars, beam, and floor) but I think I can be OK with her winning gold only because she “did” hit 4/4 whereas Vika’s vault was definitely erroneous. It should have been much closer though overall. In fact, if Vika had done a perfect DTY instead of the amanar I probably would have been more upset and would have had the stance Vika got completely robbed.

        What made my blood boil on Gabby was that she shouldn’t have been competing in the AA in the first place. Jordyn totally had her beat but the judges WAY overscored Gabby on beam and floor in prelims whereas they screwed Jordyn over on her floor, and especially on her beam, giving Gabby the placement she needed. I think the 2-per-country rule is ridiculous but ultimately those judges made sure Gabby got in that AA competition.

        That being said, I can’t stand behind Sotnikova’s win AT ALL. She deserved bronze, at best.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gabby only hit 4 for 4 in the sense she didn’t fall. Her beam connections were not even close and they gave her credit every time. Her UB went up 4 tenths when everyone elses went up 2 and her vault had two or 3 small steps she also wasn’t deducted for. Oh why do you people make me discuss Gabby:)

        I am not a code expert when it comes to putting together a routine and I want to know why the Olympic judges gave her credit when the National judges didn’t (on bars) she did not get the full 6.6 start value at Nationals not even once but she got it at the Olympics which means she got credit for something she probably should not have at the Olympics and no one seems to be a code expert enough to tell anyone what it was. When do National judges not give credit to a gymnast they like (Like Gabby) bu8t the Olympic judges do.

        Someday I will figure this out.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Hahahaha. I know but by the visual eye she “hit” whereas Vika had obvious mistakes in one of her events. Overall the scores should have been WAY closer but at least in Gabby’s situation her gold is somewhat defensible.

        Sotnikova’s gold is blatantly not defensible.

        That’s the only point I was trying to make.

      • Melanie Says:

        You took the words out of my mouth. On the actual night of AA comp, I would have wanted Vika to win if she hadn’t vaulted the way she did. Of course, I still rooted for her after the floor routine she put up. But my reaction that night was of resignation, because Gabby did hit that night compared to Vika.

        But the way Jordyn was screwed over still kills me. She hit 4-for-4 in qualifications and there was no reason she shouldn’t have competed in the AA. Jordyn is by no means the most artistic gymnast, but I find her to be much more of a “total package” gymnast than Gabby. God, just her floor alone was head and shoulders above Gabby’s. I really need to stop talking about that floor routine because it’s bringing up some gym-PTSD.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know…totally. I guess we should have seen the writing on the wall when Gabby “beat” Jordyn at Trials.

        Honestly I prefer Gabby’s gymnastics over Jordyn’s but I can’t deny Jordyn was cleaner and more powerful on vault, beam, and floor than Gabby at the time. I loved Jordyn’s floor routine; had to fast-forward through Gabby’s (they REALLY should have changed it!) It sucks that Gabby won gold because had she chosen to stay with the sport I think she really could have been dominant this quad; she really could have grown into a much better gymnast. But I can’t blame her because once you win the “ultimate prize” what’s the point in making all that sacrifice again, especially after seeing how nobody from the 2008 team made it to London.

        The whole prelims situation angered me too because even though I was happy for Aly and she deserved it I knew come the final competition she would blow it somehow. She always does.

      • Melanie Says:

        Well, it’s not like Gabby gracefully retired or anything, the way Yu-Na did. She continues to say that she’s “definitely” going to Rio, as if she doesn’t even need to compete. The only event I liked Gabby better on was bars. I’d admit that Jordyn should have cleaned up her beam routine before London, but even there, I liked her better than Gabby.

        Poor Aly. I love her as a person, don’t really love her gymnastics, but was happy for her that night. But you’re right, she did blow it in the AA. There was just so much that was upsetting about London — the 2-per-country rule that allowed Aly and Gabby to compete instead of Jordyn, and the tiebreaker that kept Aly from getting AA bronze. It seems like Jordyn is nearly always able to “turn it on” in competition, so I will always wonder how the AA would have gone. Maybe she’d have psyched Gabby out? Won gold? I’d be happy if Jordyn was gracefully retired now, and Gabby had kept pushing for more and better gymnastics.

        And of course, all the fame wouldn’t have gone to Gabby’s head if she wasn’t the “first black champion.” What a load of barf.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah; what makes it even more irritating is that by now you’d think Gabby would finally relent and admit she’s not even trying to attempt a comeback. She’d have to have started 6 months ago to make it legit and we all know she’s not even in the gym; it’s the 4-year fans that are going to be ‘shocked’ when Gabby isn’t ready to compete in 2015/2016.

        I have this bad feeling she’s expecting the Nastia treatment from Marta and will start making a comeback a year before Rio. What a load of crap.

        I don’t feel bad for Aly because she did have an amazing Olympics; a team gold, individual gold, and individual bronze. Sure, she missed out in the AA but she’s fortunate to have done what she did. I say she deserves it but I’m with you on the not really liking her gymnastics thing. I do love her personality but not her gymnastics. I actually prefer Biles’ gymnastics over Aly’s.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gabby is in the gym. I don’t believe she is working on skills but she is at Chris Wallers gym staying in shape and has been for months. A comeback is a whole other discussions and while she looks great in her commercials and stuff she has grown and gained weight and we don’t know how that will effect any chance at a comeback. I can see her Nastia-ing it by 2016

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Ah, so she’s playing in Jordyn’s sandbox. It would be cool if they drove each other to make a comeback. I actually would like to see it but knowing Gabby’s ego she’ll wait until the last minute, like you said, and her attempt will be stupid – aka Nastia’s.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Jordyn is actually training skills.No one knows what Gabby is training.

      • Melanie Says:

        I doubt Gabby will make a comeback unless as mentioned, it’s a last-minute “Hey, I can do bars!” attempt. Jordyn may actually try to come back, but I doubt she’ll ever be on a world team again. Quite honestly, I think Ross is the only one we’ll see on any world team, although if Maroney gets a TTY, she could have a shot. Gabby is just full of s***. She’s just biding her time until an acting gig comes along, or if that doesn’t pan out, she’ll put together a half-ass bar routine to try to squeeze her way to Rio.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I really hope Jordyn does attempt a comeback she could fit in on beam (as long as she has a routine more like her 2011) and floor and she could even be used for bars or vault if needed (if she is back in shape on all events) I thought her bars were actually pretty ok and I think she had a 6.4 d score on bars at the Olympics which is pretty good and I think she could possibly rework her bars and try to add a couple of tenths I think her routine in 2012 would have actually been a lot better if it had been changed around to flow better the same goes for her beam

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I hope Jordyn makes a comeback. I see her as a strong fit for a good AA contender if she gets her same skills/routines back and re-works bars and beam. I liked her bars except for the very muscled Weiler kips she did at the beginning.

      • mim Says:

        Given Nastia’s performance at Trials, you think it would now serves as the cautionary tale of leaving preparations too late in the game. Why risk falling flat on your face, against a bunch of talented, prepared girls hungry and motivated to reach that next level? I’m fascinated to see if Gabby would even fit in with this quad… You have strong all rounders (Simone, Kyla, Ebee, Brenna, Bailey and even someone like Peyton could slot in), 3 vault powerhouses in McKayla, Simone and Mykayla, Nia looks like she could be something on bars in addition to Kyla and maybe Madison if she tidies things up, Norah and Bailey are lovely on beam, and floor is covered and was never Gabby’s strong point and it was a miracle if she stayed on the beam anyway.. I could see Jordyn making a case for AA with new big skills plus her experience (and cynically, the olympic “redemption” storyline that would make tv networks froth).. I just can’t see what she would contribute to the quad even if the current crop is swapped with new/unexpected girls but only time will tell I suppose!

      • mim Says:

        sorry the end of my pondering poorly worded- I can see jordyn coming back but I can’t see what gabby would contribute in this quad even if she got back to competition shape.

  6. GymMom Says:

    Shawn filming “Celebrity Apprentice.” Not looking too fit girl. Sad.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      What kills me is she’s always posting on FB and Instagram and Twitter about what workouts she’s doing, and what healthy snacks she’s eating. Then she wears the most frumpy outfits ever. Either she has the fashion sense of Jordyn Weiber or she’s hiding behind bulky clothes.

      • Melanie Says:

        Maybe she’s trying to bulk up so that she can go on the Biggest Loser next. Keep riding that reality TV train.

        Is that mean?

      • GymMom Says:

        Thats what bugs me. She talks fitness and nutrition constantly. Is she in denial? I think so! Her face shows her true size!!!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I have to say you’re right. She can’t go on pretending she’s mother fitness, presuming to “sell” fitness to others when she doesn’t have the physique nor is she following the routine that she would need to follow in order to obtain that physique (and it’s obvious because she’s been hiding behind her baggy clothes for years now). We all saw she can get that physique when she puts forth effort – I mean, it was super evident in her comeback and she was more “open” about her body then, posing for Nike in little tights and a sports bra only and also that Body Fit issue or whatever it was. I think she wants that old body back but she doesn’t want to put forth that same effort to get it.

        It’s hard to hide behind clothes though if you’re going to go on reality TV shows. She should have better prepared for that. People are going to judge. When she was on DWTS it was right after her comeback so she was obviously more comfortable with her body then.

      • mim Says:

        I just feel sad for her that she obviously doesn’t think there’s a happy, fulfilled and complete life to be had that doesn’t involve tv cameras, fans and celebrity. I have a feeling she will think herself a failure if she fades into obscurity and lives a normal life. I could be wrong and maybe she just figures she’ll milk it all for what it’s worth while she can.

        If Nastia can go to college with some sort of ambition to a specific goal, I’m sure Shawn can!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah I feel the same way but called this a while back. Shawn will be having reality crisis all over the place once she eventually gets put on a shelf and “retired” from her reality gigs.

        She was obviously pulled away from gymnastics by DWTS and now she’s (I’m guessing) being pulled away from college by other, lesser TV reality shows. It’s quite sad really but part of me can’t blame her. She has these high hopes of becoming a celebrity but I just don’t see it lasting that much longer. Her fan base is likely moving on to other gymnasts (I mean, I already have haha) and I’m sorry but as a non-gymnast I find it hard to find her interesting because it seems like all she wants is the fame from it.

        I was really turned off by her overwhelming enthusiasm for DWTS right after announcing her retirement, which was weeks later from her “I can’t wait to show off my new floor” comments. Pissed me off that she just outright lied and misled everyone. I get she has sponsors but at least somewhat prepare us and don’t make promises or statement you can’t keep. You can still be vague but don’t just lie.

  7. GymMom Says:

    Shawn is a huge hypocrite and phoney!

  8. Exgymgurl Says:

    So Maggie Nichols is going to Tokyo now acc to
    USAgym because Peyton is the second alternate to pac rims. My question is who is the first alternate to pac rims (Brenna?) and why were the alternates not named,…Wierd… But typical for USA gym.

    • mim Says:

      The Pac Rims thing is weird- Al in his Jesolo interview said Brenna was going to PR.. presumably this interview was just before USAG announced the team of Simone, Ebee and Kyla but the interview posted online after the announcement. SURELY he wasn’t dumb enough to only assume this and then make a fairly concrete statement about it (even though it was said in passing, he said it like it was a given). Particularly after what happened at Worlds. I’m suspecting Brenna is the alternate. Maybe Kyla was only getting the Pac Rims spot conditional on upgrades if she got through Jesolo and felt ready for it (wishful thinking!), otherwise Brenna would be on the team. Or some weird shiz like that.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Or else theyve announced Simone Kyla and EBee with all intention of replacing one of them or more with other people. Marta does like assassinating the field and showing their dominance at pacrims.

    • mim Says:

      Great news for Maggie though! Good experience for her🙂

Leave a Reply

