Why doesn’t USA-Gymnastics care that our Countries flag is lying on the ground?

Direct link to picture

USA-Gymnastics hits a new low practically every day so I don’t know why this surprises me ( I mean this is the federation that still plays that US hating PSY’s Gangnam style at gymnastics meets) They put the above picture up on their website. Its not only has the United States flag lying on the ground but one of the coaches is stepping on it.

Wouldn’t you think that the gymnastics federation for the UNITED STATES OF AMERICA would know better then to allow the flag to lie on the ground? I am sure the coach stepping on the flag has no clue she is even stepping on it but the lack of respect our own federation shows our flag is disgusting.

As the comment section in the above picture points out the pink leotards at International meets are bad enough but this picture even being uploaded takes the cake.

Little Wayne got a lot of flack for stepping on the flag in one of his music videos a year or two ago but this doesn’t even lay a tiny blip on the radar of our favorite federation for gymnastics. The picture is still up even with multiple complaints on their website.

Regardless of your opinion on the state of our Country today this flag represents our Country. It represents you. It represents the military protecting your rights and the rights of every single person living in the United states even the people here illegally. How our gymnastics federation could even allow this picture to be taken sadly says a lot about what this federation has turned into lately.

Time to bring back the ban pink petition.

54 Responses to “Why doesn’t USA-Gymnastics care that our Countries flag is lying on the ground?”

  1. Case Says:

    I agree GTT. That is in poor taste, especially the coach stepping on it.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am sure the lady (whoever she is) doesn’t even realize she is stepping on it but I can’t believe they all posed for a picture with it. My baby niece knows the flag shouldn’t touch the ground.

    • JAS4 Says:

      Agreed! Definitely poor taste! I mean why not have the girls or coaches holding the flag up in front of them or I am sure they could have had it hanging up right behind them or something more tasteful

  2. Exgymgurl Says:

    The flag being used at jesolo was not even an official american flag in the opening ceremony. Everyone in the dance crew was stepping all over that one too. No one cares anymore.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      If anyone should care its the federation that represents the UNITED STATES OF AMERICA in gymnastics.

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    Steve Penny and Luann peszeks phone and contact info are over on the facebook page

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    Is it Maggie’s coach or mykaylas coach?

  5. katecoursey Says:

    Somehow, I doubt the Americans brought their own flag and set it on the ground…the Italians set it up this way. When you’re a guest in someone else’s country, the last thing you should do is go around bitching about how they put your flag on the ground. That wouldn’t have been very gracious towards their Italian hosts, who included other countries’ flags as signs of respect, not intending to offend.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Right because God forbid you TELL THEM that the US considers it disrespectful to lay the fucking flag on the ground. I am sorry but many people messed up here including Italy who should have known. I mean how many years has the US flag existed? Italy might not have intended to offend but they did.

      This picture was taken after the meet anyway. They could have picked it up then the fact is no one gave a shit. Period.

      I am pretty sure Italy would have apologized and picked it up if someone had bothered to give a shit.

      I guess I should add I am not yelling at you I am yelling at the suggestion it didn’t matter.

      • katecoursey Says:

        Lol fair enough. I guess as someone who has traveled a great deal outside of the us, I’m a firm believer that the guest needs to adjust to the culture of the host country, and not expect the host country to accommodate their every cultural need. God knows Americans probably do a number of culturally insensitive things at scam without realizing it.

        Also, it could have to do with the places people grew up…I’m from Utah and people in Utah often spread American flags out on the ground on Fourth of July as a sign of respect and being patriotic. I had never heard of not putting the flag on the ground until this picture went up. Glad I know now.

      • Gymbee Says:

        United States Flag Code says the flag should never touch the ground: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_Flag_Code

        “it is considered disrespectful to the flag and the flag in question should be moved in such a manner so it is not touching the ground.”

        National Flag:

        “Never let a national flag touch the ground, water or the floor.”

    • Gymbee Says:

      My team went to a competition in Italy years ago, and we brought our own flag because the year before they gave us an Icelandic flag. Again, they gave us an Icelandic flag to use and to pose next to, and got offended when we said we wanted to use our own, becuase the one they had provided was not our country, haha!

      I absolutely agree GTT, they should have picked the flag up.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        They should have picked the flag up and held it behind them. Doubt Italy would have been offended if they did so. This is a huge sign of disrespect and it’s bad enough USAG cannot find a red, white, and blue leo to outfit these girls in to save their lives. I’m sick of the effing pink. It’s baby-ish and it’s old.

        I mean people get so offended these days of any mention of the word “God” but we don’t even blink when people walk on/step on the symbol that is our Country and all the lives that fought for our freedom? I feel sorry for all soldiers – past and present – if this is the society that they are truly defending.

      • katecoursey Says:

        But again, people’s traditions around the flag are going to vary based on the place they’re from. Not everybody was raised knowing that walking on the flag is a disrespectful thing…I had never heard of that until today. Where I’m from people will often lay out flags on the grass on veteran’s day as a sign of respect for our fallen soldiers. Maybe Utah is just weird, but the point is, some of these gymnasts or coaches might’ve grown up somewhere where it wasn’t rude at all.

        I seriously doubt anyone was trying to be intentionally rude here, or disrespectful to our country. And somehow I doubt our soldiers care about a random gymnastics coach accidentally stepping on the edge of our flag…they’re dealing with far more important things, like actually staying alive. People get outraged much too easily and that energy would be better spent actually doing something to help our troops.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You are allowed your opinion I just don’t agree with it.

        I don’t know how anyone from the US doesn’t know the flag is not supposed to touch the ground. Its something I have always known and I don’t understand how anyone living in the US for their entire lives has no clue about this.

        No one is blaming Italy my problem is with the FEDERATION OF THE UNITED STATES for gymnastics who represents this Country doesn’t know the flag is not supposed to be on the ground. How the hell do they not know this?

        They don’t care either. There sits the picture with multiple complaints and they haven’t even bothered to comment on it. Its a disgrace.

        The fact is they should know about this rule and if they respected the people protecting them right now and those that have given their lives for this Country the first thing they would have done is told someone our flag does not belong on the floor and it never should be stepped on.

        My complaint here is more with the coaches and Marta then with Italy or the gymnasts. A bunch of kids aren’t going to say anything and they shouldn’t be expected too.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I agree. USAG should have issued a formal apology. Seems like all governing bodies of athletics these days prefer to simply choose to ignore the voices of the public.

        I have always known it is against the law to mistreat the US flag. That idiot coach should know it too. It’s just a given, like we all know that after we take a crap in a public toilet, we should flush it (yet some people seem to forget this, too).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        If anyone should know how to treat the flag its the idiots representing the freaking Country in something.

      • Lis Says:

        I asked around on my Facebook how people felt about this picture. This is what my friend, a wounded veteran said:

        “According to U.S.Code http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/4/8 “The flag should never touch anything beneath it, such as the ground, the floor, water, or merchandise.” However, that is not the U.S. so it doesn’t really hold up, eh? Personally, I think we treat the flag as something far to high, placing above the people which, when you think about it, is at best silly and at worse appalling. Respect paid the flag for what it represents is good, sure. I’ll be among the first to stand at attention for it when warranted. But it is simple cloth. It is only a symbol, no matter how the law regards it. By the way, there are no penalties written in that section of code. Really, you can do what you like. Such freedom of expression and speech are exactly rights I swore to defend. In answer to your question, it doesn’t bother me in the least.”

        And, honestly, I agree. The flag is a symbol to represent this country. If I’m going to get upset about something, it’s going to be how our country fails its returning soldiers who have mental health issues. It’s going to be about how women who are raped in the military are kicked out if they report it. It’s going to be about how our government doesn’t really pay a living wage to rank and file men and women in the military.

        I don’t like that the flag is being stepped on and I respect the men and women who have fought for our country. But I think there are bigger issues out there.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am confused so your military friend is okay with Americans treating the flag that represents this Country like shit as long as its is outside the Country? Sorry I can not agree with that logic. The people standing on the flag and watching the flag get stepped on our Americans and or people that represent America. They should care.

        This is a gymnastics blog I talk about stuff related to sport so rape of whomever really isn’t an issue to be discussed here. That point also is irrelevant. At least here anyway:)

        I really think this is an age thing. The people that don’t care are under a certain age and didn’t grow up saying the pledge of allegiance at school every morning. Now a days this is acceptable to some people but it isn’t to me.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        And the reason we don’t say the Pledge anymore is because of the phrase “under God” – so sad.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I understand not being forced to do it because of the God part but if someone wanted to do it they couldn’t because someone would freak out and call the ACLU.

        People are too whiny these days about everything.

      • katecoursey Says:

        Hmm. Well I am from Utah and we do have strange customs, but I legitimately didn’t know that. Interesting. I moved to California for school and I’ve asked around, and only about half the people I’ve talked to knew the rule…I suppose it’s one of those things we learn as kids, but then might not really think about it much and then we forget. hopefully the coaches will be more aware next time.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Can I ask how old you are? I really think this is a generation gap type of thing. Now shitting on the US is the norm from the majority of young people and I don’t mean you.lol.

      • Lis Says:

        No, my military friend was just pointing out that the law governing the way the flag should be treated doesn’t even apply outside of the States. He then went on to say WHY he thinks the treatment of the flag is not as important as the things that the flag represents, such as freedom of speech and expression.

        I brought up the other issues because, in the past, you’ve brought up other issues that weren’t about sport.

        As far as an age thing, I’m in my thirties. I grew up saying the Pledge every morning. My military friend is in his forties.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am not faulting you for bringing up the other issues but while I go off on other issues the main focus of this blog is about sports. ( Not that we can’t discuss that stuff here but my comments where in contrast to why this flag thing is an issue for this blog vs why the other issues are not ( Am I making sense?)

        As for your friend he has a right to his opinion and I have a right to mine.

        I know many military and ex military who would have a huge issue with his stance and the lack of respect shown the flag in that picture (especially by an organization that represents the Country) but I am not going to get in a fight with you over the personal views of a person I don’t know and will never know. Unless you like fencing we can settle it that way:)

      • katecoursey Says:

        Yes, it is probably in part generational…I’m 21 (not sure if you were asking me or Lis but I’m answering anyways lol). And for the record, I do really love the US and would never want to be disrespectful…I think the flag holds a different level of meaning for people of older generations.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t even think the age is that big a difference. I am in my 30’s so this is a new thing. The internet has created a monster:)

      • Gymbee Says:

        What is shocking is that the people out representing the country, with the flag on their chest/arm, ie, representing the flag – doesn’t know how to show respect for it.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is my issue with this.

  6. mim Says:

    I’m not American and while I know there’s a reverence to it I had no idea the flag had certain ways it could be displayed. Is it the case for all flags that they can’t touch the floor? I sincerely am hearing this for the first time!

    The Italians wouldn’t have had a clue, I’m sure, and given they probably didn’t mean to offend, I think it’s probably one of those situations where you pick your battles. Perhaps someone could have had a quiet word with the Italians giving them an FYI if it is disrespectful to that degree.

  7. Catherine Says:

    It does look weird in the photo. The US cares more about its flag than any other country in the Western world so I understand it’s a bigger deal than for most other countries. Silly to overlook in the case of a photo I think.

    Our flag rules state that there cannot be writing on the flag. Broken every day at sporting events, and it’s even used for advertising during major events.

    • Gymbee Says:

      I thought the same, but even in Norway we learn that the flag should never lay on the ground or point to the ground. Kids learn flag etiquette from a young age due to the national independence day being mostly a children’s day rather than a military one🙂

  8. Tortuga Says:

    Pac Rim team announcement. Pretty impressive that Norah is getting all these international assignments. I think she just qualified for Elite last year? http://usagym.org/pages/post.html?PostID=13781&prog=h

    • biyatch Says:

      Interesting that Brenna isn’t on the team… I would have thought that if they weren’t bringing her to PacRims, Marta would have made her go to Jesolo. She likes her players to all have 2 spring assignments. We need an Al explanation blog but USAG cracked down on the coaches speaking their minds thing this year with some new regulations so I doubt well get it.

      The junior team is pretty much what I expected it to be. Norah has been tagged as Chows next one for a while now and Nia has an impressive skill set across all 4 events.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Really? So USAG is all into playing Big Brother now? Ridiculous. And sad. Even though I love watching these sports I would never want my future child in them (plural to include figure skating).

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Kyla had a higher AA score at jesolo than Brenna did at SCAM. Even with a vault balk. Brenna did not score well at SCAM, and if Simone is healthy they arent leaving her home…

      • mim Says:

        I don’t think it’s surprising news though (taking Kyla over Brenna for PacRims). I would have been shocked if they had picked Brenna over healthy Kyla but i agree it’s a little weird that Brenna wasn’t at Jesolo. Strong junior and senior teams, it’ll be good to watch!

  9. katecoursey Says:

    Off topic, but does anyone even remember the last time Kyla fell off beam? I was surprised to see that.

  10. JAS4 Says:

    I am not sure what the format is for Pacific Rims but I wonder if Marta just wants to see how the top three AAers compare to each other score wise

  11. JAS4 Says:


  12. JAS4 Says:


    • gymtruthteller Says:

      We knew this. They are opening a gym. NEW NEWS, Simone’s sister will join her at the end of April. I assume the gym might be ready by then but don’t know for sure.

  13. mim Says:


    Interesting – At Jesolo, Al basically said Brenna was preparing for Pac Rims and going to Worlds this year.. a bit presumptuous yes? Considering she wasn’t actually chosen for Pac Rims and given the drama of Worlds last year? And did he basically just give away that Sarah is done with elite and focusing on NCAA (which isn’t surprising at all, most of us have thought that for awhile but they’ve been pretty tight-lipped about it).

    • Tortuga Says:

      He also thought Brenna and Sarah were both shew ins for the 2012 Olympic team. C’mon man, at least Geddert had a reason to be cocky!

Leave a Reply

