2014 Trofeo Citta’ Di Jesolo . Team ,All Around and Event Finals with Results

 2014 Trofeo Citta' Di Jesolo, Team and All Around

A New rumor (Skating) came across my gym blog

mirau nigasu training at the broadmoor (interesting)

USA-Gymnastics article

Senior AA Results
Senior Team Results
Junior Team Results
Junior AA Results

Event Finals Results
USA-Gymnastics article on Event Finals

Not Mentioned

Kocian : (Team AA- Mixed groups)

6,100 (8.850) 14.950 (Uneven Bars)
5,700 (7,300) 13.000 (Balance Beam)
5,800 (7.850) 13.350 ( Floor)

(Which Junior is missing from the scoring?)

Bailie Key won the junior AA Kyla Ross won the senior AA. She balked a vault and lost a point but still pulled out the victory when Skinner fell on floor (her double Arabian). The link for the AA for the Seniors is to a twitter that has the scores in their pictures until the real results link shows up online. (Thanks lol)

I missed Kyla on vault and bars but she hit beam (missing her connection on her front walk over/ Sheep) and was underscored IMO compared to the other beam scores. She then hit floor and had the second best score of the day. She didn’t do the full in (double pike) as her second pass.

I didn’t pay attention to anyone else enough to report I do remember lots of issues on floor with going OOB (I think it was Kocian that went out twice including with two feet) There was not a lot of impressive going on in this meet. Lots of falls off beam and OOB on floor and a lot of bad form. We better hope Biles, Ross, Price and Maroney get healthy and stay healthy because none of these other girls are ready for a World team.

Kocian hit bars and beat Kyla but from what I read (didn’t see) Kyla downgraded her bars for this meet. I find Kocian very messy on bars but I doubt Marta cares since she is a Woga girl.

(I can’t find Kocians score anywhere now but it was listed as a 14.950)

Of all the gymnastics I saw I guess Maggie impressed me most I think she was underscored compared to some of the Ernst stuff I saw. Its interesting because I think Ross, Biles and Price will be our bars line up the real issue for me is a beamer. Between Ross, Biles and Price we have Vault and bars set which means we will need a Floor worker (If Maroney is not healthy) and at least one beam worker (Price is not a beam worker)

What do you think?


You can watch it live tomorrow morning at 11 AM ( Eastern time) The juniors are at 5 am but I don’t believe that is being broadcast.

I’ll be asleep:)

Link 2 and 2 below have live coverage but its from Italy so those looking for the NBC biased like coverage you won’t be seeing it. At least not for the US team. Not sure if there are any live updates on scores.

Link 1 and Link 2

56 Responses to “2014 Trofeo Citta’ Di Jesolo . Team ,All Around and Event Finals with Results”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    It will be interesting to see how Skinner scores and if Kyla has any upgrades

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I wonder if Skinner is even on the team. She always seems to be far right when I see any pictures.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Who knows with Marta lol I wouldn’t be surprised if she has them fighting for spots to compete up until the last minute like she did with McKayla and Brenna at Worlds

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am sure she is.

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      If there are zero upgrades from Kyla I am going to freak the hell out. I get pacing, but give us SOMETHING new and improved. I don’t expect all new routines or anything, but she better have a few new tricks or I’m going to lose it! :o)

      • Lis Says:

        Since Kyla’s just coming back from a back injury, I’m not expecting upgrades. Also, this is Jesolo. I’m assuming that upgrades will come later in the year. Yes, I’m holding out hope.😉

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        That’s true, a back injury could derail things. However, I don’t think saving all of your upgrades for the end of the year is a good idea. It would make more sense to me to slowly work them in trough out the year, especially at these small meets where she can afford to screw them up. Kyla could win this with her eyes closed, so it make more sense to try a few things out while the pressure isn’t so high. If she messes up, oh well…it’s just Jesolo.

        If Biles were there, I bet we would see an upgrade or two. My fear with Kyla is her need (or her coaches need) for perfection…it seems to stop her from upgrading. Not that I want her to go out and just chuck stuff, but there has to be a healthy medium between perfection and chucking when it comes to new skills. Her routines at worlds are not going to cut it once the field is deep again. With Afan, Vika, the US comebacks, and the other unknowns she should be worried. I adore the girl, and it pains me to say this, but if she is having problems with upgrading she might be better suited to stop competing in the AA. She could focus on bars and beam, and spend time on just those events. If anything is going to punch her ticket to Rio it’s bars. If I were her I would be working up a bar routine that would blow Marta’s old person diaper off. Hell, if I were ANY of the girls I would be focused on bars right now.

        I hope I am wrong, and we see a few upgrades from her tomorrow though. I’d even take just one. She really is a good gymnast, I just don’t want to see her get left behind.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I feel the same way about Kyla but she’s been talking about upgrades and skills all year and I wouldn’t think she’d be saying all that if it weren’t true. Unless shes Shawn Johnson haha. I’ll bet we see something come nationals. A back injury is something you have to take it easy on. Its her first meet of the season right so why pull out anything now. And its Jesolo. And Biles is resting.
        I agree though her ticket to Rio will be her bars.
        What did she do wrong on her vault?

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        From what I understand, she started her vault run, then stopped for some reason. She went back, started again, and did a nice DTY. I haven’t seen it, but that is what I have pieced together.

        They changed the code recently, so any “restarts” on vault cost a full point off. You used to be able to start a second vault run without a penalty as long as you didn’t touch the vault table.

  2. JAS4 Says:

    Not to mention I wouldn’t be surprised if she some competition going on at camp as well!

  3. uglyfatkid Says:

    I can’t watch live tomorrow, so if anyone cares to do some quick hits of the top players it would be greatly appreciated! Especially if Kyla has any upgrades! :o)

  4. Lis Says:

    I wish they’d show the junior competition! I’m most excited to see these new girls!

  5. Catherine Says:

    Kyla does not have upgrades. Her bars are a little lower actually and she has dumped the tuck full on floor. It’s replaced by a 1.5-front full and I don’t know what that’s worth.

    I have quick hits from the training videos on my blog. Skinner is looking good and her leaps have improved a bit. Beam was watchable. Bars not so much. Her floor id reordered but the passes are the same, no longer crunching the Silivas into the ground. Vault- amanar is back. Deep landing but not bad.

  6. Karlie Says:

    Junior results: Bailie, Nia, and Norah swept the all-around, the USA won the team event.

  7. Karlie Says:

    Kyla balked on vault! Oh my god I didn’t see that coming…f*** that stupid new rule.

    • Karlie Says:

      never mind, she got another try and did it nicely, the commentators just made it seem like it was a 0. She had a very nice vault. Phew.

    • Melanie Says:

      Aaah, I’m sitting at stupid work and can’t watch, and I nearly had a heart attack when I read your comment! Kyla’s usually such a calm competitor. Thank goodness for the next comment, haha. I appreciate the updates!!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She balked and lost a point. Guess that is the new rule

      • Melanie Says:

        Just saw a scoreboard on Twitter, but it only had three events…looks like Peyton is giving Kyla a run for her money. Of course, if Kyla hadn’t lost that point, it wouldn’t be quite as close.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Kyla lost a point for missing a vault or there would be no real competition. Skinner was closer until she fell on floor

      • Karlie Says:

        Had Skinner brought in a bigger floor number it would have been closer. I actually missed the end – what did she fall on?

        Glad the balk was only 1 point, not an automatic zero, but still I prefer the old rule…it was actually really weird though, she took a step forward like she was about to run, then stopped and stepped back, then actually started her run and balked. Something was up even before she started the run. I was still really surprised though, glad she hit it well enough when she re-did it (would have had a 15.3 without the 1.0 deduction).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Skinner would have won if she did not fall (she fell on the arabian) She had a small step on her first pass but nailed her second pass. Her beam and bars scores were low but her vault score was a 15.560 (?) for an Amanar but I read somewhere she did the Chang too.

      • Melanie Says:

        I’m happy for Kyla, but I hope she doesn’t take this as proof that she doesn’t need upgrades. In fact, Skinner would have beaten her without the fall. And Key outscored her too. I want her to be on the 2016 team, and hopefully her back doesn’t prevent her from introducing some new skills this year.

        Now for rant of the day: WTF is up with Gymnastike? I knew they were stingy with their “workout Wednesday” vids, but they’re seriously going to charge me for even podium training vids? I’m scouring YouTube from work for the few clips I can find. I feel like a drug addict or something, and Gymnastike is the drug: I hate it, but I need it.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Check the Italy link on my blog. They might replay the whole thing (a you tube link) Nothing was thyat impressive tonight really.

        Kyla balked her vault and was deducted a point for it (she hit her DTY after) so Skinner’s win would have been because of Kyla’s balk but I still hope it is a wake up call but hell, I said that last year and she was scored fine at worlds. We will see.

      • Melanie Says:

        Just found the archived feed. Wowza, that’s some make-up on the Italian team.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Use your phone, a lot of people watch gymnastike told on their phones free. Some kind of bug.

      • Melanie Says:

        Sadly, I am a cretin without a smart phone.

  8. H Says:

    I must say that I have become a Skinner fan. She might turn out to be the next Raisman. I think she have cleaned up well, which is amazing due to the lack of basic technique …

    It would have been so fun/wakeup call if she won the whole thing ..

    • Karlie Says:

      Me too! I was surprised by how much I was looking forward to watching her. Unfortunately I missed her floor but her beam was hugely improved – there was only one leap that was noticeably a little under (I think it was a Johnson 1/2?) but the rest were pretty nice. Some bent legs on the BHS-full, but she hit it confidently enough. I was impressed.

      Whoever predicted that our “hole” would move to beam was right, though. Overall beam was pretty messy. Even Kyla missed a few obvious connections (though she was still pretty solid). Baumann missed a ton of connections and counted a fall, and Kocian had quite a few sub-180 leaps. Someone else fell too, although I don’t remember who. Hopefully they’ll iron it out in the next few months!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Kyla missed one connection but she needs some upgrades regardless. I didn’t see much improvement with Skinner on beam. She is all bent knee’s the entire routine. I hope the results with D scored show up so we can see what Skinenr got credit for.

        The beam scores were really high today for the mess the gymnasts competed except I really think Kyla’s score was too low comparing to what everyone else got credit for.

        I know it sounds bad but I wanted Skinner to pull out the win because Kyla needs to upgrade. This year she might be able to coast a little but next year if she doesn’t upgrade she is going to be left behind. A little wake up call (losing to Skinner) might not be a bad thing for a push.

      • Karlie Says:

        Fair enough, but compared to her beam last year I thought it was much better. The front leaps (with the exception of the Johnson) were all 180, and she took out the hideous tuckstand spin and replaced it with a (still not great but significantly better) single L-turn. Her double turn in PT also looked decent so maybe she’ll compete it when she’s ready, eh.

        Kyla missed at least one obvious connection (aerial to sheep) – I thought I saw another but maybe I was wrong. Regardless, a lot of the other beam sets were scored WAY too high, I agree. Kyla should have been much higher up there.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I hate bent knee’s so maybe I think they should be scored more harshly what the code says but I can’t handle an elite gymnast that can’t do a simple layout with a straight leg. They should have learned that in level 5 and that is my huge pet peeve with Skinner. She makes me call Kerri Strugs form decent and she wasn’t even close.

    • biyatch Says:

      The problem with comparing Skinner to Raisman is that Aly had the “hit factor.” When team scores were on the line you knew Aly would hit a routine (and on beam without sacrificing much of her D-score connections.) Skinner has yet to show an ability to do that. You wonder if changing that middle pass to a double tuck would help some of the consistency. Theres no point in having the highest D score in the world if you end up on your bum.

      I agree GTT that the US needs someone who can do beam. Kyla is your lock there but after that it gets a bit iffy.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Skinner also has to compete with Brenna Dowell who is better on bars too. The US was not as impressive today as their scores say but even the lower teer US team was light years better than every other gymnast save a Romanian on beam or so.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Also Aly was just so solid and fluid on beam. I really loved her beam style. I just can’t get into Skinner’s style but I am glad she is improving so much. I really hope Kyla’s coaches plan is on the the right path and pulls through because I’m getting really scared. I haven’t cared so much for a gymnast to have longevity since Shawn. Which wasn’t long ago but still.

  9. mim Says:

    so I just woke up to the news that skinner was 4th in the AA and close to winning? i need to see this for myself!

    I am rooting for her to do well I can’t help but like her for chucking big skills and I’m guess she’s cleaned up her routines a bit.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      didn’t look cleaned up to me but Karlie thought her leaps looked better

      • mim Says:

        i just watched her beam and the bent knees were heinous. she’s only got a shot for worlds if something happens to simone and mckayla.

  10. JAS4 Says:

    I don’t know when Aly is planning on.competing again or what kind of shape she is in but if she could put together a decent beam and maybe a floor that could be her ticket to Worlds same goes for Jordyn but I think.if she competes again it will be at least next year

  11. kittykat Says:

    Both Maddie Desch’s and Skinner’s vaults (Skinner’s amanar) are knee injuries waiting to happen. Both got very lucky today that they walked away from it! Now do my eyes deceive me, or did Skinner get the second highest beam score out of the US girls?

  12. uglyfatkid Says:

    Sorry GTT, I know nothing about the Broadmoor (literally…I have never even heard of it). Can you elaborate on why it’s interesting for us ignorant folks please? =]

  13. gymtruthteller Says:

    Why was Skinner in the floor final when four other gymnasts finished ahead of her?

    • H Says:

      Probably an intern change Marta did between Skinner and Baumann.
      Both of them fell yesterday floor/beam, and they got a chance to fix it? Skinner gave away her beam spot and Baumann her floor spot?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The problem I have with this is Skinner did not finish second or even third. If you replace someone it should be with the next person not the 5th rated floor worker even
        if they did switch them.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Thats my point. We have become Romania China and Russia.

        Just replacing people willy billy because of another gymnasts better shot at medalling. In both cases both girls were WAY. Down on the lists in qualifications.

        Didnt Marta say at 2013 worlds we dont do that ….. So Maroney didnt replace ross on floor? Guess what now we are like that. Awesome. Individual achievement means nothing.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Peyton Ernst was next on floor and beam. Do you think Kimbo is going to fight that one???

      • H Says:

        Maybe I have misunderstood … but Skinner qualified for the second spot in the beam final and Baumann qualified for the second spot in floor final(?) Since Skinner did not do well in floor and Bauman did not do well in beam they (Marta) gave them a chance to go again (in apparatus they normally had potential to place well in) I think this is smart done coaching wise if you think in a larger perspective/down the road. They build confidence bla bla .. etc

        How do you see it?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Skinner finished 4th from the US on floor. If they were going to take out the floor gymnast it should have gone to the next gymnast in line which was either Peyton or Maggie. Skinner fell on floor.

        I get the idea of switching gymnasts in events but Skinner was second on floor she was at least 4th.

  14. uglyfatkid Says:

    What happened to Ross? A 13 on beam for EF? Did she fall?

    I am also happy that she got second on bars. If you play everything safe it will bite you in the as$ at some point. I hope this has been her wake up call.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Ross fell off beam but her bars score was 4 or 5 tenths lower than her usual start value. The fact that the judges couldn’t tell the difference between her and Kocian’s form on bars is disturbing ( though I think Kocian had a few tenths on Kyla at this meet)

  15. sanitynmotion Says:

    Is it just me or does that Baumann chick have bent knees all over the place on beam? Like WAY worse than Key’s. And not consistent on the toe point.

    Kyla looked like this was just a warm up for her. The whole meet.

    Skinner still looks all over the place. Wild and scrappy. I hate her landings; they always seem rushed. I hope she can get someone to help her with form.

    Bailey Key’s DTY is really nice. Had to say.

    I didn’t think Kocian was as messy but she did miss a couple handstands and she has the same issue with giants as Nastia did. I think her whole bar routine could use a re-working but that’s just my opinion.

    Kyla’s bars were a bit messy too (in the prelims) – missed handstands. But there’s something about Kyla (long legs w/pointed toes?) that will always look better than anyone else. Like I said before, all of her routines looked way too easy for her. I did wonder why her feet were bandaged up on beam though.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Watch Kocian from the side. Her form is atrocious and her giants are Nastia-esque

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I totally see the atrocious Giants (I even said same issue as Nastia in my last comment) – which is really too bad because I kind of like Kocian for whatever reason. I can’t find a video that features her from the side angle though.

        I think it’s ridiculous though that she should have those Giant issues; Kyla’s are so clean and Kyla is much taller.

        What do you think of Baumann? I was not impressed with her beam at all.

      • Melanie Says:

        Seems to me WOGA has gone down the crapper. Not that they ever had REAL superstars (bad form Nastia? bad form Rebecca? robotic Carly?). But they did have big names, at least. Now they can’t seem to scrounge up any big names at all. Baumann was tentative and sloppy with bent knees, unpointed toes on nearly all her leaps…definitely not impressed.

        Kocian is only in the mix because she has some difficulty on bars. All I can say for her giants is that at least she doesn’t have of many of them in her routine as Nastia did. Her routine from WOGA Classic is from the side angle, so you can see the same crappy giants, but at least she has mostly stalders.

        Wow, I’m excited for the day that WOGA dissolves into the dust. If only Valeri would go with it. People are starting to realize that Texas Dreams and Chow’s are the places to be.

Leave a Reply

