Pick your Jeselo Line up

These are your team members who do you think does what?

Gymnasts Competing from other Countries. (Andreea Iridion is a Junior on the Romanian team)

Live Video of the meet

Last years Results

Team and AA
Event Finals

Last year was a 6 member team and everyone competed (One routine must have been exhibition)

Alyssa Baumann
Madison Desch,
Peyton Ernst,
Rachel Gowey,
Madison Kocian
Maggie Nichols,
Kyla Ross,
Mykayla Skinner,

Juniors
Jordan Chiles,
Nia Dennis,
Norah Flatley
Emily Gaskins
Bailie Key,
Ragan Smith,

71 Responses to “Pick your Jeselo Line up”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    What’s the format is it like 4up 3count?

  2. Melanie Says:

    It’s interesting that this doesn’t seem to be a very vault-strong team. Skinner’s probably the strongest, but with her atrocious form, Ross will score better than her. I’m happy to see so much strength on bars and beam.

    • Karlie Says:

      Skinner’s DTY was actually fairly nice and her Cheng isn’t terrible – the only major problem is the block, but she gets it around fine and her twisting form in the air is decent. I feel like she’ll be fine.

      • Karlie Says:

        Got cut off. Her amanar, on the other hand, is scary…like it makes me want to physically grab my knees and cringe. She actually gets a good block there but it’s bizarre, it’s almost like she starts twisting too late because she does the last half twist really fast and barely gets it around. Yikes. Either way her Amanar will probably still score higher than the Cheng if the judges are still overscoring Amanars since I wouldn’t say it’s any worse than Aly’s or Gabby’s, but…terrifying.

      • Melanie Says:

        Yeah, they’ll have to use her on vault regardless, because they don’t have many other options. Their biggest vaulters (Price, Biles, Dowell) are resting, so it’ll just be a weird competition where the Americans don’t blow everyone away on vault. I mean, they’ll still be fine, but it’s not like we’ll see a string of Amanars one after the other.

        Unless Kyla has some upgrades she’s willing to share with us? I wonder if she’ll bring the Amanar back this year.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I don’t think we will ever see the Amanar from Kyla ever again. With her growth spurt, I just don’t see it happening. Plus she scores fairly well with her DTY, so it doesn’t make sense to push upgrading vault…especially when she is so weak right now on floor.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I agree, but at the same time if she can’t up the ante on floor or bars or beam (geez, there’s so much room with Kyla, it’s frustrating), she might decide to bring the amanar back if she can. I believe there was talk of it at one point during some interview a while ago.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Before worlds last year I thought she needs to upgrade ASAP but then at worlds she was judged pretty easy. Maybe waiting is the right answer but I wish she would get a damn new dismount off beam because she looks ridiculous with that double tuck.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Her entire beam routine is almost ridiculous considering she’s capable of far much more but yeah that dismount is so child’s play. I get that she’s being paced but I can’t help but think why hold back so much on one of your strongest events. I get holding back on floor/vault but what has she to lose by going for more on beam. Oh well.

        I’m starting to think that Marta would be stupid to screw her over for Rio though considering she might just very well need Kyla for her bars (and even beam) in 2016. Kyla has proven she’s mentally tough.

        Speaking of mentally tough, I wonder how Aly is doing on her comeback. She’s legitimately coming back, right?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Allegedly Aly is coming back. Who knows at this point. She’s in the gym

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        After watching NCAA beam dismounts all season, I’ll take the double back. : ) If I saw one more 1 1/2 twist or gainer 1 1/2 off beam I am going to scream.

        I was pleasantly surprised at some of the floor passes though. I saw a few Arabian’s, full ins, DLO’s, and I even saw a piked full in. It’s too bad they don’t require anything more difficult on beam though. It’s my favorite event…and it was mostly a snooze fest.

        But in reality, you’re completely right in regards to elite. Every time I see a double back or even the 2 1/2 twist that Jo does I always cringe. Especially when people are doing triple fulls, full ins, and double Arabians off of beam. Hell, I’d even take the double pike even though everyone and their dog is doing it.

      • Melanie Says:

        I don’t really think we’ll see Aly this year. She’s apparently still getting in shape, so it’ll be a long time before she can put together full routines, especially with the new rules in the code.

  3. sainabou nyang Says:

    Id like a team of Kocian, Baumann, kyla, maggie, maddie desch, and ernst. Both Skinner and Gowey would do exhibition.

    • Tortuga Says:

      I like your thinking and agree!

    • Karlie Says:

      I agree and think you’re probably right but I will admit I’m super curious to see how Skinner’s floor would score internationally…maybe it’ll actually be the wakeup call that her coaches need.

      • Tortuga Says:

        True if Marta put her in and she got hammered by the judges maybe they would take a different approach than just chucking everything. I know it’s been awhile but ever since I saw that video where she said the beam was 6 inches wide I just cringe at her. lol.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Me too Karlie! Gymnastike is saying Skinner might have the highest d score on fx with her upgrades. I have to see this because if she scores anywhere above a 14.5 on FX with her routine at Jesolo I’ll be shocked.

      • mim Says:

        exactly- it’s like there’s almost no point having that d score if you can’t even execute the routine. same issue everyone has with pena on vault almost.

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    Its a FIG event this year so it will probably be all jacked up,somehow.

  5. Karlie Says:

    Question – does everyone have to do AA in the team final, or can they place different gymnasts on different apparatuses (Worlds-final style)?

  6. sanitynmotion Says:

    I don’t remember Alyssa Baumann at all…I guess I’ll have to hope for YouTube videos again. For whatever reason I don’t see many of these seniors making 2016 except Kyla. Maybe Gowey – she’s that “phenom” at Chow’s right? Or am I getting confused? Maybe I’m getting her mixed up with Flatley.

    • Tortuga Says:

      Baumaan had a pretty brutal Classics last year if I remember right. But her beam at the WOGA Classic was pretty to watch. Look up that if you can.

    • Melanie Says:

      I think Flatley’s the phenom you’re thinking of, but Gowey is another leggy graceful beam-type. She has a really pretty set. I don’t remember how she looks on the other events, though.

  7. biyatch Says:

    Norah Flatley is the phenom, Gowey has some interesting skills (7/2 on floor) but lacks elite experience. I’m pretty sure she’s committed to Florida. Last year was her 1st year senior and I think she got hurt right before classics maybe.

    I thought the same thing about this US team generally lacking the vaults above 5.8. I can’t really see any of those senior girls necessarily upgrading their vaults based off their DTYs, but you never know. I wish the judges would give Skinner a 0 if she doesn’t block with both hands, I just feel like thats a accident waiting to happen.

    With the US actually having a few girls that can put together decent bar sets, it appears to me that the hole could move over to beam this year. Lots of girls seem to have plans for ambitious sets that they can’t necessarily hit with all the connections. They need an Aly type who can hit, and hit with high D-score, during a 3 up, 3 count.

    • Catherine Says:

      They can’t, the part of the code that states ‘Vaults must use two hands to block’ was removed last year. Quality FIG decision making again – and they also removed the rule that gymnasts are allowed to balk on their vault run without a score penalty. Pena balked during London and probably saved herself from harm.

      They can hit Skinner on other stuff in that vault, if they bother to.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Why the heck would they remove that? It’s an injury waiting to happen. And now that it’s not against the code sites like gymnastike are giving her props for it and encouraging her even more. Her and her coach must thing they’re really on to something.

      • Karlie Says:

        Agreed, it’s incredibly stupid. If they want, they can hit her hard for a bent elbow on the arm that doesn’t block (it gives her a terrible shoulder angle) as well as the lack of height and amplitude, but they can’t take away for the one-armed block anymore. Le sigh…

    • Karlie Says:

      I think Gowey fractured her back last year before nationals, which is why we haven’t seen much of her since 2012.

  8. Case Says:

    GTT, not only do you beat us to win the pennant, you sent us a shortstop with two broken legs.

    Not off to a great start this Spring. 😦

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      This was in the spam folder for some reason. Its okay its only spring training. The Sox have only won like 3 games.lol Its all good. You will be fine. We will be fine.

      • Case Says:

        So, Iggy has two broken legs and he is literally out for the season. You will be fine. Us…I’d say we have a big flippin problem and Drew is not the answer.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Pessimist. You have been hanging here too long. The Tigers have the best pitching in baseball and some pretty good hitting I think the tigers will be fine.

  9. EliteFan Says:

    http://tripletwistblog.tumblr.com/post/80100320264/quotes-from-international-gymnast-magazine

    Interesting stuff in here from Jordyn and McKayla — does anyone subscribe who has read the full articles?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Way to throw your BFF under the bus. Kyla deserved her score your coaches screwed up. Doesn’t she know that?

      Mckayla has an ego on her that really needs to be reigned in.

      One of the twins works for Inside gymnastics (She interns) so it is probably in their magazine

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I didn’t understand that whole segment either on why her floor didn’t make it over Kyla’s. She sounded whiny to me. That whole part about the judges liking to take world champs out of the final? What? Since when were you a floor world champ, McKayla? And they can do that to you in 2014 if they want. Obey the damn code.

        Not to change the subject but did anyone see the new floor codes? I saw some video that Gymnastike (I think) posted on FB. Not really a fan; now the choreography is going to look weird and all the same. I’m fine with taking away the random arm flailings but something’s going to go down by taking away the “breathing room” in the corners. I wish they’d put the lunge back in too.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Mckayla will be irrelevant by 2016 is she doesn’t all of a sudden become more consistent on bars and beam. Even if she has a triple yurchenko she is basically a one event gymnast (Possibly 2 if you want to count floor where I find her highly overrated) The Olympics only gave her a few tenths over the other Amanars even if it was that much better it is never going to be scored that much better. Blame the judges.

        I guess she could be the vault floor to Kyla on bars and beam but that would mean the US had 3 other gymnasts that are real AA-ers and we currently don’t have anyone even close to being equal on all 4 events. As great as Biles is her bars and beam was very good but not close to her tumbling and vaulting.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I totally agree. The McKayla/Kyla mix worked for London (and the team was basically that: 3 AA’rs and then those two) but it’s not going to work for Rio. Even if Aly and Jordyn come back, because now you have Biles (who vaults just as well as McKayla), who seemingly could fit the “Gabby” portrait; however she’s not as strong on bars/beam as Gabby was (even though we all know Gabby’s beam benefited GREATLY from idiot judges).

        Basically what I’m thinking is that Biles fits the vault/floor spot much better than McKayla, and on top of that she’s got decent beam/bar routines – so McKayla is easily left behind here. McKayla really needs to step up her game and be more consistent on bars/beam to be on that team with say Biles and Ross. I don’t even know what the juniors have up their sleeves that’s going to factor too. It looks more like the US’ weak spots will be on beam and bars in Rio.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The Unknown junior we have never heard of that Marta likes has still not be revealed yet. There is no way to predict the Olympic team now. I highly doubt Aly, Mckayla, Jordyn and Kyla will all make the team again. Way too much talent and not enough bar workers in the mix. Kyla needs to keep up the upgrading on bars.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Haha I know what you mean on that dark horse junior.

        I thought Kyla would have no fighting chance of making Rio but now I’m not so sure, only because she has really clean form on bars. If she can work up her bars (like you said) she’d have such a great shot. I of course am rooting for her like no other but I have to set my expectations back because Marta does what she wants. I also like Biles’ vault and even her bars don’t make me ill. Of course her floor tumbling is monstrous but I’m not a fan of her dancing…that can change in 2 years though, it all depends on the choreo.

        Plus you have the whole injury factor. That always gets someone. I’d love to see Jordyn come back too but I get a sense Marta will do to Jordyn what she did to Shawn last time around.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Simone will have some major upgrade on bars eventually she doble be the second bar team final girl with Kyla. OMG Its way too early to discuss this.lol

      • Melanie Says:

        I think that juniors will factor in more than any of the Fierce Five. Key, Flatley…these girls have great beam sets and probably will be able to put together strong bars. Kyla has good bars, but desperately needs upgrades. Her beam isn’t anything to write home about unless she ups the ante there too. As far as McKayla is concerned, I’d be happy if she got the TTY, made one more Worlds team and got it named after her and then faded before the Olympics. She doesn’t really have a place on the team as long as Biles stays healthy.

      • mim Says:

        I heard on GymCastic (is that the right name for it? the podcoast) that Marta has said that Alyssa Baumann is her ‘pet project’.. not the unknown junior of course but potentially a new fave?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She’s from Woga which means a free pass for life unless your name is Hollie Vise.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      That is interesting – is it recent?

      McKayla sounds super bitter about her floor at Worlds/2013. Her comments make her sound a bit whiny, especially when she says how Kyla got the same floor score every time but each routine she did was different. I don’t really know what went wrong with McKayla’s floor either – wasn’t it over time? – but it’s gymnastics and she should have made everything else cleaner then. I don’t know. She was lucky to be competing AA in the first place. I’m glad to hear she’s upgrading her vaults though. She really needs that in order for her to be considered for Rio otherwise Simone will cover her, easy.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It was Inside gym so it probably wasn’t recent.lol

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I feel like Mckayla is the Alicia Sacramone of this quad. I can see her being pushed to the back by next year if she doesn’t clean up bars and beam.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I agree and Alicia was actually a world champion on floor so if she has been healthy would have been a decent answer on floor

      • Karlie Says:

        To answer your question – she had at least two 0.3ish steps out of tumbling passes and a few subpar splits, plus some bent knees on twisting and, of course, the overtime music. Without the steps, she would have gotten over a 9 in execution. It didn’t look at all unerscored to me (I just watched it on youtube), but given that it was IMO pretty overscored in the U.S. i can’t say it’s shocking that she’s surprised/confused about the scoring.

  10. biyatch Says:

    Yeah those comments about McKayla came off super snotty to me as well. She was over scored domestically on floor last year by like a full point compared to international judges, which is somewhat ridiculous. Especially with Simone’s two vaults, McKayla is easily the most replaceable person among the contenders, especially with Simone starting to outpace her a bit on vault. I wonder if McKayla is silently hoping that Jordyn and Aly in no way get close to real comebacks because both of them (plus Simone) easily outscore her on floor plus are way more consistent.

    Jordyn’s reluctance to commit to any actual plans regarding her comeback kind of make me skeptical but it could be interesting. Out of curiosity do y’all think Simone or Jo have the better bar set? I’m inclined to say Simone because Jordyn’s just got so muscled after her early 2012 growth spurt. Jordyn has the edge on beam imo over Simone.

    Aly’s comeback should be interesting as well in its legitimacy. Judging from recent pictures its obvious the girls been doing something as it looks like she’s dropped about 25lbs from late last year but if we see her back is anyone’s guess. I’d be a little more inclined to think she’s going to be back because why else would a 20 year old with piles of DWTS/endorsement cash sitting around still be living with her parents taking a class at a local college because of its proximity.

    • Case Says:

      I’d favor Simone’s bar set over Jo’s as well. Neither of them knock my socks off on bars though.

  11. Exgymgurl Says:

    Because of injuries and Martas favorites I think its VERY hard to say who will make Rio. Its a different picture because Jordyn and Aly are not really around and McKayla is hurt and who knows what she will be able to do long term and consistently. Look how fast Ohashi fell apart last year. Bailie Key is the only real junior thats impressive and consistent. Of the 2010 worlds team only Aly made the London squad. So who’s to say anyone that makes 2014 worlds will be around for Rio?

    • Tortuga Says:

      So true. Also as we know no one has made a second Olympic team since Sydney. All of the 2008 team got back to competition shape and were competing in 2012 (except Shawn?), I think we could very well see that again this time. I have strong hopes for Key because she is winning everything. And I hope Norah just gets stronger everywhere and swoops in, she’s a cutie and I love Chow. Other than that I’m too scared to make predictions and be completely wrong. I don’t think I was able to make an educated decision about the last quad till the 2012 season.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Peszek retired from elite though didn’t she?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Hah, well I was never able to make an educated decision because even a few months prior to the Olympics I was basically figuring the two All Arounders would be Ross and Weiber. What do I know. I think I pretty much figured though that the mix-up would be comprised mainly of the 2011 World Team, minus Vega. I honestly didn’t know what kind of games Marta was playing with ASac.

        Shawn did compete in 2012 but “retired” shortly after because she saw the writing on the wall (left home for Worlds in favor of VEGA) and then of course her knee issue. I’m still angry at her for leading all of us on with her “training is wonderful, can’t wait to show off my floor routine,” but water under the bridge now.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Oh yeah, Peszek. She was the only one who didn’t make a comeback attempt of any sort. I forgot about her but then again, she really didn’t do much at the Olympics. She basically went to UCLA (does she even compete for them anymore?)

      • Tortuga Says:

        She made the world team in 2009 but had to pull out due to injury. Then went to UCLA, she was injured last season but is competing this season.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Sorry she did not make the world team it was the National team haha, then pulled out due to injury. I was reading wiki too fast because I didn’t remember.

  12. Exgymgurl Says:

    Its going to be peszeck vs Sloan for the AA crown at NCAA. Unless one of those two falls, I dont think anyone else has a shot. My money is on Peszek, just because shes a senior and Sloan won last year.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      They are both overscored big time especially Sam. Go Bridget

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Utah started blatant score inflation last year at home and with the number of 198+ scores teams have gotten it is ridiculous. Once they all line up against eachother hopefully it evens out once we get past regionals. Florida, Oklahoma and LSU are the only schools with enough difficulty consistency and quality to win. The draw will matter and who comes out the best that night. Bama Georgia and Utah or UCLA depending on who makes super 6 dont have a chance against those 3. Nor does michigan. I think they will give the AA to Sam when her team doesnt qualify mostly because of who her mom is in USA Gymnastics. UCLA may not even make super six. But Utah didnt last year and Georgia didnt the year before.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        For whatever reason, I haven’t been able to get behind Sam. I feel…indifferent towards her. With that said, I am rooting for Bridget.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Does this mean Oklahoma no longer ends their bar routines with double backs? I have not watched them at all this year but I usually root for the, for some reason.

      • Case Says:

        I’m rooting for Bridget because Sam’s Mom is Marta’s prison wife (per one of the most epic comments on GTT’s blog.)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Occasionally my dingers are classic:)

      • Gymbee Says:

        Haha Case, then her daughter was ASac’s prison wife!

    • Catherine Says:

      What about Grable and Courville? I haven’t watched any meets this year since free streams have been dumped. Pfft. Just the odd clip.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Some of the schools getting ridiculous scores with certain gymnasts in the AA will be lowballed when Nationals starts. What seems to happen every year is scores start out normal until one school like LSU this years goes ballistic on the overscoring and then every school does it. By Nationals these gymnasts will be going against each other and the judges will be scoring differently.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        For the life of me, I STILL don’t get NCAA scoring…bloated or not. I sat through countless routines this season, and I still couldn’t figure out how the blue blazes they score these things. With almost every girl doing a single yurchenco on vault, it would appear pretty easy to distinguish the crap from the good ones. However, I would be shocked half the time with the scoring. Great form, stuck landing, good block, good height/distance…9.85. Then the next girl would come up with crappy form and an ALMOST stuck vault…9.25. What? Seriously? What French/Russian judge is scoring this thing?

        I gave up in he end trying to figure out the scoring. I was always comparing it to elite (which I know much more about) and It would drive me crazy. She missed that handstand, her feet came apart, her leaps weren’t 180, etc. All the things that I look for didn’t seem to matter all that much, so it felt like a lost cause.

        And can I say that part of me hated the overabundant comradery that the teams had. After EVERY vault for instance, they would all run down the runway and hug the vaulter…REGARDLESS of the quality of the vault. I get it, team spirt…bla bla bla…but after every time it got old…fast. I get congratulating or cheering from the sidelines, but the whole run onto the mats thing seemed fake and forced most of the time. To me, save the whole team running down the vault runway to congratulate the girl when she does a perfect vault, or clinches the game for them. If everything gets the team to run on to the mats, how does it make it special or real? It might make me the team cheer Nazi, but it got on my nerves.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        All that cheering annoys me too.lol Its so damn phony.

      • Melanie Says:

        I don’t even bother watching NCAA. Maybe that makes me a Grinch, but sitting through an entire meet means I have to see way too much butt cheek, way too many FTYs, and way too many “run on the mat” cheers. Oh, and I’m just not a fan of the overdone hip hop moves on the floor. Just a personal opinion.

Leave a Reply

