Bulimer, Mitchell back in competition. Help Alicia pay for her honeymoon

You can help pay for Alicia’s Honeymoon. Yep the girl with loads of money and the guy with millions want fools like you to pay for their Honeymoon to the South of France. (Someone sent me the link)

I can’t even. I just can’t.

Both Bulimer and Lauren will be competing at the WCC Doha2014 World Challenge Cup This is a better line up than the American Cup.

3 US
will compete. Paul Ruggeri the only name I know (from the US.)

Lilia would like peace in her homeland. ( 52 seconds in) sadly Obama seems to want a war with Russia but that is a whole different discussion.


Probably the only Patriots fan not thrilled to have Revis on our team but I guess I should give him a chance to show up and do something before complaining. This guy is a big mouth jerk and I am usually more a fan of the Victorino types then the jackass types.

I woke up at 4 am this morning and checked my boys phone for some reason and was very startled by a 4 am wake up- call of Aqib Talib to Denver ( 4 hours into the free agent signing.)

76 Responses to “Bulimer, Mitchell back in competition. Help Alicia pay for her honeymoon”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    I say we leave Russia alone.

  2. Catherine Says:

    Can’t wait for Didi especially, and interested to see where Lauren is at.

    There’s always a negative though – Zeng Siqi has retired. And Madalina Blendea, awesome Romanian junior, is in doubt.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Siqi is my shining hope for the future. I refuse to believe she has retired. I know who Blendea is. Why is she retiring ?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        They say Siqi peaked too soon or something like that? Like she can’t manage the difficult tricks anymore? Seems too soon. I guess she’s going back to train with a home team and then hopefully maybe she’ll get some strength back and make a comeback. I hate it when they retire early!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Her problem is staying on. She’s a beautiful gymnast but way too inconsistent.

    • Catherine Says:

      It is definitely true. There are a few big factors – the firing of her coach last year, an ankle injury in 2011 that she never really recovered properly from (used to have a DTY) and general loss of enthusiasm. She declined quite badly last year.

      It’s always so sad when someone with such promise retires early. Blendea has had quite a lot of illness and injury hindering her so of it is true (no longer listed on the NT) then that’d be the issue there I’d say. But no doubt at all about Zeng Siqi, confirmed by numerous people in the know.

  3. sainabou nyang Says:

    I wonder what shape Didi will be in for Doha?

  4. JAS4 Says:

    I wonder why USAG won’t send any juniors to the YOG this year (I think its the same week as nationals but they knew far enough in advance that they could have changed the date for nationals) It would be a great opportunity for experience for some of the juniors especially some of them that don’t turn senior until the year of the Olympics who won’t have a chance at a Worlds before the Olympics

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Because were working on falsifying passports so we can send a team of 14 year olds to rio.

    • tulip Says:

      Because that would be a very smart move. Marta doesn’t seem to want to do these types of events that can only help. It more than experience, it’s getting the girls in front of the International judges and start those relationships. Let’s face it- the politics of face time is a big piece. Other teams compete more, which is a good move for them. But Marta won’t do it. What is it that scares her?

    • Catherine Says:

      I agreed until they sent Bailie and Laurie to Japan Jr. Not a big name competition but they competed against big name juniors who will be at YOG or shortlisted, and more of them since that comp allowed 2 per country and was much more open with birth years.

    • biyatch Says:

      they can’t send a 2000 girl, it would have to be a 1999 girl (so basically Bailie). Bailie will most likely get plenty of experience/exposure between Japan/Jesolo/PacRims/etc.

      USAG (WAG at least) definitely takes the stance that unless you can send girls in their peak condition, they don’t want to risk blows to their reputation in a sport that is very reputation based. i think, especially in 2010, they had no interest in sending Jordyn knowing there was a very good chance that she would have been beaten by Komova (who was really at her peak in 2010).

  5. gymnerd Says:

    Am I the only one here whose mouth dropped when reading “Brady & Alicia’s Gimme List”? Doesn’t he make, like, millions? Taaaaaacccckkkkky……

    • Akshay Says:

      I completely agree. I didn’t really dislike either of them before, but this is fairly off-putting. Both of them are fairly well off, yet want to rip off their fans?

    • Case Says:

      Yeah ASac is gross now. That looks like an attempt to milk their rich friends. I hope Brady invested well because he’s a sucky NFL quarterback and I doubt he will get anything above league minimum if he makes any teams going forward. And I highly doubt ASac’s sock business is a bazillion dollar empire.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Everyone does that for their wedding in the US. No matter how much $$ they have. Its not gross its just what is done. Her family is Italian and there were a lot of $30 items on there.

      • Short1 Says:

        @Exgymgurl Exactly. Several of my friends and acquaintances did that for their weddings, and stuff like that is usually geared towards friends and family. It usually goes along the with the gift registry as another wedding gift option (at least that’s what many of my friends have done). And I’m going to venture a guess that they weren’t posting the link to this on all their public social media sites and whatnot. In which case I would doubt the expectation would be that fans would chip in for that stuff.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        No, not everyone. I didn’t do it and have a lot of other friends who don’t do that tacky bullcrap, and our weddings have taken place within the last 5 years. Everyone knows it’s tacky but hide behind the whole “everyone else does it” nonsense.

        Even if it’s a $30 item, it’s still asking for money.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Several of my friends have done that. They were already living together, so they didn’t need all the house stuffily towels, dishes etc. My best friend had items such as “cupcakes at Magnolia Bakery” up to “night at so and so hotel”. The way I see it it’s just a part of the registry, to give an experience instead of a physical item. I don’t think it’s strange or tacky at all.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Sanity, don’t you think “asking for money” is the same as having a registry though? Ie wedding china / camel ride in Egypt is the same thing for me🙂

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I just think it’s tacky (in a general sense) to ask for money for your trip/honeymoon. I get that it’s done, and I’ve seen it around plenty of times, but I still think it’s tacky. Call me super conservative. Maybe more old fashioned. My parents didn’t even take much of a honeymoon; now it has to be some big fancy dancy exotic trip. The wedding industry is insane in my opinion. Especially with a 50% divorce rate.

        I had a limited registry but only provided it if someone asked; see I didn’t want to have an “expectation” of a present, which to me is indicated when you receive an invitation with registry details. Know what I mean? Plus it’s easy enough to go to the “token places” to find where someone is registered if you want to get them a gift.

        I hate the concept of a wedding shower, too. I didn’t even want one. I had helped my mom throw one for my mom’s best friend’s daughter so her best friend insisted on returning the favor. I totally side with Carrie Bradshaw on Sex & the City when she was pitching a fit on why people get “showered” with presents for making a life decision like getting married or having kids. It all just seems so materialistic anymore.

      • Catherine Says:

        Here you just give money in a card at the reception. Anyone who specifies amount or says cash gifts only on the invitation is generally seen as utterly classless.

        Registeries are very uncommon, most people don’t need stuff.

      • GymMom Says:

        Regardless of how many people do it, its wrong and tacky on every level.

      • mim Says:

        I’m getting married in June, we’ve asked for no gifts as we already live together and have all the necessary home items. No registry for us. However we’ve had so many family members and friends ask if money is okay in lieu of a gift, (which is actually fairly similar to the cultural traditions in my family’s mother country and it seems quite popular in Australia). We don’t care either way, we just want people to enjoy our day, celebrate with us and come away with happy memories.

        Nor are we forcing our friends to fork out money for hens/bucks(bachelorette/bachelor parties) nights or weekends away. The expense involved in some of these can be pretty ridiculous.

    • Cee Says:

      Tack-kay. Gross, gross, gross. I certainly don’t hate ASac (I have mixed feelings about her) but that’s just tacky.

      • Jessica Says:

        I haven’t posted in a long time…just read…but after seeing these posts, I had to share this story I saw a while back. It’s on Reddit and other places. This is unbelievably tacky on the part of the brides and I totally agree with the gift giver.

        Try not to get mad at this story”
        Consider this: you attend the wedding of a casual acquaintance. You opt for your go-to gift — a basket filled with fancy salsas, oil, biscuits, marshmallow spread and more. You sign the card, “Life is delicious — enjoy!”

        Later, you get a text from the bride — “I want to thank you for coming to the wedding Friday,” it begins.

        “I’m not sure if it’s the first wedding you have been to, but for your next wedding … people give envelopes. I lost out on $200 covering you and your dates plate . … and got fluffy whip and sour patch kids in return. Just a heads-up for the future.”

        It sounds like a Miss Manners hypothetical, but this was the drama that played out at a recent Hamilton wedding.

        Kathy Mason and her boyfriend gifted a food basket to Laura (who declined to give her last name) and her bride. When Laura suggested Mason poll “normal functioning people” about her basket-giving blunder, Mason brought the question to The Spectator and the Burlington Mamas Facebook group, where it garnered more than 200 responses in less than 24 hours. Even those who agreed cash was a more appropriate gift thought the bride’s reaction was rude.

        “We just appreciate the support;” Mason says, “the confirmation that what we did was thoughtful and not out of place.”

        Mason says she was second-guessing herself in the wake of the bride’s texts, which started out by simply asking for the receipt (one of the brides was gluten-intolerant).

        Louise Fox , an etiquette coach who has appeared on shows including Slice TV’s Rich Bride, Poor Bride , says even requesting the receipt was out of line. She says the couple should have offered the basket to family, friends or a food bank, then written a thank-you note that focused on the thought behind the act of gift-giving.

        Here’s a taste of the email exchange:

        Gift-givers: “… to ask for a receipt is unfathomable. In fact it was incredibly disrespectful. It was the rudest gesture I have encountered, or even heard of.”

        Newlyweds: “Weddings are to make money for your future … not to pay for peoples meals. Do more research. People haven’t gave gifts since like 50 years ago! You ate steak, chicken, booze, and a beautiful venue.”

        Gift-givers: “It’s obvious you have the etiquette of a twig, I couldn’t care less of what you think about the gift you received, “normal” people would welcome anything given, you wanna have a party, you pay for it, DON’T expect me to.”

        Newlyweds: “You should have been cut from the list … I knew we were gunna get a bag of peanuts. I was right.”

        Fox, the etiquette coach, says the newlyweds’ reaction is at the top of her list as far as rude behaviour goes. “It’s hard to top that. The wedding is never supposed to be about the gifts. It’s a celebration of the union.”

        “You should be grateful that you got a gift and that’s the end of it. You want to preserve the feelings of the giver.”

        Laura disagrees. She chalks it up to cultural differences. She’s Italian and her bride is Croatian. They’ve never been to a wedding where guests didn’t give cash.

        She says it cost $34,000 to host 210 guests at a local wedding hall. Mason was one of only two guests who didn’t gift at least $150 cash (the other gave a present in addition to cash).

        “I don’t know what day or century they’re living in … it must have been a regifted gift,” Laura says. “I just spent $200 for you and your guest to come and you guys must have given me $40 back.”

        She says Mason’s gift was the laughingstock of the wedding. At a post-wedding pool party the next day, friends and family stopped by the living room to get a look at the basket that’s still on display in their home.

        Keep’n it klassy there, Laura.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        What a couple of rude bitches. That’s exactly what I’m talking about though – that expectation that the wedding is being thrown so the couple can make money off of it.
        That should never be the case. The wedding industry is a multi-billion dollar industry because too many idiots get caught up in the “fairy tale” of a huge party. If you choose to have such a party, don’t expect your guests to pay for it.

        On the other hand, one of my close friends and her husband spent over $80,000 on their wedding (yes, a ridiculous sum; they even moved into her parents’ house for nearly a year to help pay for it). However, she was telling me that there were a LOT of guests who didn’t even bother to give them a card. She even said “they didn’t have to get us a present, but a $2 card would have been nice since we invited them to our wedding and they partook in the free meal and booze.” I totally get her point there. So yes rude can and does go both ways.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        When you accept an invite to a Wedding IMO you are obligated to give a gift. Its that simple.

        I actually went to a wedding with a friend once ( to make a long story short there was no original plus one invite but my friend didn’t want to go alone so she asked if she could bring a friend. I originally said I don’t even have to eat I’ll just go as a favor to a friend and the people who had the Wedding said yes) After the Wedding these people called my friend up and yelled at her for not giving a gift. Here is the funny thing she gave a gift and so did I (50 bucks a piece in cash from both of us) and I guess the card and money disappeared. Did I mention I flew to Florida for this Wedding.

        These people were incredibly rude for calling up my friend and yelling at her especially since she gave a gift and one of their friends they put in charge stole the money ( several cash gifts went missing)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah, I totally understand by accepting and going to a wedding you “should” bring a gift – I mean, it’s implied. It shouldn’t be spelled out in the invite what type of gift though – IMO. Any couple stating “cash gifts only please” is going to automatically get a crock pot.

        I mean, I got like 2 or 3 crock pots I didn’t register for and even the most ugly knitted blanket (store bought, not hand-made) that ended up being the cat’s blanket. Hey, we found a way to use it. AND we sent thank you’s to everyone, even the people that obviously re-gifted their crock pots.

        That being said, do you “have” to bring cash? No, not necessarily. I mean we all know it’s the preferred gift but as long as you bring something, it’s justified.

        It also is incredibly rude to call guests out on not bringing something – like you say, you never know if there was a misunderstanding or a lost item – but still, even if you send a thank you just “for coming to the wedding” it could trigger a reaction from the guest like “didn’t you get my present?” I did that a couple of times to my ungrateful nieces when I sent them checks for their birthdays, but that’s another story. In the end, you get the comfort of knowing your money went to where it was supposed to go.

        (and no, the next couple of years I didn’t send my nieces anything for their birthdays – call me an asshole Aunt, but after spending loads of money/time shipping gifts for birthdays and Christmas and not even getting a “thank you” text message, I figured they could learn a lesson or if they really didn’t miss the presents then I could certainly use the money) – that’s what you get though when your nieces have 3 sets of grandparents; they are spoiled rotten. Anyways, Tangent, I apologize.

        I kind of have the opinion too that if you’re flying somewhere to go to this wedding and spending money on a hotel and what-not, then you really shouldn’t be expected to give much of a present. Maybe karma bit them in the ass when their “friend” stole their money.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That reminds me I owe my Uncle a Thank you note. lol

        I always intend to send a real thank you note because I think a text, facebook or e-mail thank you is tacky and then I forget to do it at all but I never cash the checks either so its not like I am ungrateful I am forgetful.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know – but I have low expectations when it comes to my nieces, and was really pissed when they didn’t even bother to even send me a text or call me. They’ll call my parents to say thank you but they don’t call me. And they each have an iPhone, a iPad, and Facebook and email accounts so it’s not like they don’t have access. In fact one time months after one of my niece’s birthdays I finally texted my sister and asked if my niece got my birthday card (I noticed the check had been cashed, but I wanted to make a point) and she texted me back like “yes! She didn’t thank you for it?” …then my sister obviously logged on to my niece’s email and sent me some stupid lame excuse for not sending a thank you like she had so much school and work and got so busy she forgot. Yeah, OK. You’re effing 11 and you’re telling someone who has a full-time demanding job, family, and household to help take care of that you’ve been “too busy” to send a short thank you note. We all know you can’t possibly have “that” much homework and what’s worse is that her birthday is in the beginning of December – you couldn’t even thank me over your Christmas break? You know, one that I don’t even get anymore now that I’m in the working world…ugh.

        Guess that tells you a lot about society these days.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        My nieces and nephews are very good about the thank you. You can’t pick your family.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        All of my nieces and nephews but one is really young so they always say thank you (raised well) the older one doesn’t like gifts he likes cash. Last Birthday I filled his ridiculous truck’s gas tank for nearly 80 bucks. Not that I wouldn’t have spent that much anyway.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        My nieces were not raised well in that regard.

        Funny thing is I have a bipolar sister (my other sister) with a child and despite all of her issues with so many things, she managed to send an actual thank you card for her daughter on behalf of her when she was little for presents, and now she has her daughter send them herself now that she’s 8. The daughter has ADHD and all this other stuff too.

        It’s all about priorities.

      • Cee Says:

        According to Emily Post you don’t even have to give a gift. I mean, obviously everyone does anyway, I’m just saying you do not *have* to give a gift. (And if you do you should put *thought* and *love,* not money, into it.) This is why it’s improper to include your registry in your invitation–it makes it look as though you’re angling for a present. That’s what showers are for (the whole point of a shower is to “shower” the bride or mother with things they’ll need).

        But the main purpose of a wedding is not to stockpile cash for the future, it’s to share your beautiful day with those you love. But you wouldn’t believe how many people believe in that nonsense that “the guest has to pay enough to cover the plate.” I just can’t even. I am from Virginia and that hoorah simply does not fly there. The first time I actually heard about that theory (a co-worker was going off about someone at her wedding), my jaw dropped and I said “that is the tackiest, most acquisitive thing I’ve ever heard of in my life. How are people supposed to know how much you paid? And what if they got you a great gift but got it on sale–do they owe you the difference? See where this is going?” It just makes it so crass and gimmegimme, some sort of commercial transaction where this sum must equal that sum exactly. Gross. (And there are people who even insist just getting an *invitation*–whether or not you actually attend–obligates you to give a gift!) Even giving cash makes me extremely uncomfortable (because right there the couple know exactly how much you spent and it makes it seem more mercenary)–but after 14 years in NYC I get that it’s different up here🙂

        Jessica, I remember reading that story when it first came out, maybe six months ago? Just awful. I would be *thrilled* to get a basket like that, with so many fun little treats packed into it. Laura acted terribly, shamefully, and I’m glad she was called out. (And was she ever. I waded through a ton of posts at Gawker and Jezebel about that incident.) If indeed her other guests “laughed” at the gift, then they are just as classless as she is.

        “Newlyweds: “Weddings are to make money for your future … not to pay for peoples meals. Do more research. People haven’t gave gifts since like 50 years ago! You ate steak, chicken, booze, and a beautiful venue.”

        Nooooooo!!!! Weddings are to share your love with the world! Ugh, this kind of entitlement makes me ill😦 You should pay for the wedding you can afford–you can have even a backyard potluck and still make it tasteful and appropriate–it’s all in the spirit, the love that cements among you and your guests.

  6. Lithi Says:

    I really had no opinion of ASac until I saw that link. Fuck her.

  7. Case Says:

    GTT – Talib is gone but Revis Island has arrived. This free agency period has been crazy fast with the signings.

  8. sanitynmotion Says:

    I don’t know what’s going on with people anymore. It seems like it started maybe 10 years ago that newlyweds found it “OK” to blatantly ask for money to help pay for their honeymoon. To me it’s incredibly tacky, notwithstanding that the newlyweds in this situation have tons of cash already – way more than a typical couple in their 20s. Her friggin RING in and of itself is almost atrocious; like who are you trying to be, a Kardashian?

    My friend did one of these – exact same website. In principle I did not contribute. I never asked for money for my honeymoon; in fact I didn’t even insert registry information in our wedding and even my shower invite (which I also find tacky but now it’s commonplace today). You may as well just write on the thing “please bring me a present! But only please bring me one that I requested – no extra crock pots!”

    I also literally get told by future brides that they “expect” to get nice presents from their wedding guests because it’s the least they could do for getting invited to their fancy wedding and being able to take part in a “free party.” A fancy wedding was YOUR CHOICE; you don’t necessarily “need” a fancy wedding, and you shouldn’t expect your guests to help pay for it! Good gawd.

    It’s so disgusting how we’re becoming a “gimme” society. It’s all about me, me, me. So sad.

    • Gymbee Says:

      I do agree to a point about this. We didn’t have a registry, but we did say on our website that the guests mere presence was enough, but also to keep in mind that if they wanted to give something, we had been living together for years and already had all the sheets, cutlery etc etc🙂

      We still ended up with a ton of that but we gave it all to charity.

      But tons of people just gave us money anyway, and they said it was towards the honeymoon. My husband and I are from different parts of Europe (north and south), and relatives from both sides gave us money. It’s very normal in both countries. Where people said “here’s money to treat yourselves to a nice dinner on your honeymoon”, we sent a thank you card with a photo of us having said dinner.

      It’s interesting to see everyone’s views in this. I will see what Emily Post says about this lol (yes that book was a wedding present 😂)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        See I totally agree with your methodology. “Your presence is our present” type thing. If people want to give you money then that’s great and sweet and kind; but don’t ask for it. Don’t imply you expect it. It shouldn’t be expected. And don’t set up a website for money donations. It’s just stupid (in my opinion; I know not everyone agrees here).

        I see so many newbie brides these days literally have the expectation that their wedding guests should “contribute” for the sake of being invited to the wedding. The mentality of “well we’re paying $100 for you and a significant other to attend our ‘party’ so we would expect a present of like kind.” I think that’s atrocious. You don’t have to have a crazy expensive wedding. There’s a place called a courthouse.

        I’ve never seen an invite where it says “encourage cash presents only” and a recommended amount; I think I’d vomit on the spot and instantly have to de-friend that person.

      • Catherine Says:

        The galling aspect is that they’re paying a lot more to attend the wedding. Outfits if necessary, petrol, time off work, maybe babysitting, the cash present, accommodation if it’s not nearby and..drink. Here it would be standard to spend more on drink alone than they are paying for your meal. It’s a bullshit argument.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Exactly – although typically here (well, at least most of the time) the drink is covered too; it’s called “open bar.” I mean I get it – it’s expensive – but it was the bride/groom’s choice to have this lavish party and they shouldn’t anticipate or expect their guests to inadvertently pay for it.

      • Catherine Says:

        Ah. How expensive. Anyone who tried that here would have to file for bankruptcy afterwards, so many go overboard at weddings.

    • gymnerd Says:

      Well said, Sanity, both this post and the last one. Kudos.

    • Tortuga Says:

      At a friend of mine’s baby shower we were all asked to decorate a wooden letter. We were all assigned a letter of the alphabet, some of us decorated two because there weren’t 27 of us. She also had a registry and asked instead of writing a card write what you would have put in a card in a children’s book. Cute idea’s but to do all three is pretty expensive for a 20 something. I also can’t stand when acquaintances invite me to their wedding showers because it’s obvious they just want gifts and money out of you.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah, same here on the acquaintances note. If you barely know the person or just know them from a “friend through a friend” then it’s an obvious ploy for a present.

        I’ve even had someone go so far as to invite me to their babyshower via Facebook. You can bet your bottom dollar I ignored that and pretended I didn’t see the event request. Gimme a break. If you expect my time and a present have the decency to send an actual invitation, not a Facebook invite.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I got a Wedding invite through facebook.lol So tacky

    • Cee Says:

      Sanity: “To me it’s incredibly tacky, notwithstanding that the newlyweds in this situation have tons of cash already – way more than a typical couple in their 20s.”

      This to me is what’s so bothersome. I can see, in theory, setting up a registry of activities you’d maybe like to do on your honeymoon. But that is *private,* shared *only* with family and close friends–because only loved ones would want to help someone who needs no financial help. How are we, the general public, able to access it? Is she trolling for gifts like Shayla Worley was trolling for donations to Beijing? That is how it comes off and it looks really, really tacky.

      I can think of so many friends of mine who got married and took the honeymoon a few months later, or even a year later–because they wanted to budget responsibly.

      “in fact I didn’t even insert registry information in our wedding” Exactly, that’s how it’s supposed to be done.

      Gymbee: “But tons of people just gave us money anyway, and they said it was towards the honeymoon.”

      There’s nothing wrong with *giving* money (I personally am uncomfortable with it as I said above, but I get that some cultures do this). But demanding it or expecting it–*shudder.* It sounds as though you handled it appropriately, especially with the “here’s a picture to show you how we spent the money.” Whenever I get cash for the holidays, I do something like that.

      Catherine: “The galling aspect is that they’re paying a lot more to attend the wedding.”

      YESSS. Most weddings do cost money to attend–even if they’re in town, you might have to take time off work (as I did for a Friday afternoon/evening last April). Maybe guests should submit receipts to show how they offset the price of their wedding gift!

      I remember one year where I was invited to 5 weddings, and was in 3 of them. Luckily most of the time I was the singer so I didn’t have to buy too many bridesmaid gowns but the constant showers, proper wedding gifts and travel expenses really added up after a while, and I was POOR that year. I had to turn down a wedding for a good friend because it was five states away and I just couldn’t afford it.

  9. Exgymgurl Says:

    I think it would be funny to donate $0.02 to Alicia’s honeymoon just to comment

  10. Lithi Says:

    I guess I’m old fashioned as well. Blatantly asking for money like that? No. Sadly, I posted that link at a certain gym forum (ok, 2) and so far, the replies from one of the forums was all “Oh, that’s cool! What a great idea!” I’m gonna puke.

    • JAS4 Says:

      When I got married we started to plan a wedding but then realized it was far too expensive and stressful so we didn’t even have a ceremony we just signed the marriage license and had a notary sign it and turned it in. Just the thought of wedding planning gives me a headache lol!

  11. Katie Says:

    A wedding registry is extremely common. It is customary to bring a small gift (or go in on a larger gift with a few friends) for the shower (and that’s what they’re for) and bring money to the wedding. Typically, you have to ask a member of the bridal party where the couple is registered. It should NOT be printed on the invitation. Proper protocol is word of mouth from a member of the bridal party, as old fashioned as it may seem. And, yes, most couple prefer cash but they should ALWAYS register at at least one place because it is tacky to just expect cash. That being the case, I don’t know many people who register their honeymoon. To actually add that on your registry is tacky. I know that many people use the cash received for their honeymoon, mortgage, student loans, whatever, and that’s fine. I just think that should be a private allocation for the cash received. And I don’t think those two are exactly “rich.” They probably clear 500k a year before taxes and that’s just for right now.

    BUT I am saying all of this hoping that this registry was reposted from someone else from someone else like Natasha Kelley’s was and that she herself wasn’t putting this on her own personal page hoping that her fans and followers would buy her stuff.

    Also, how many people have ever been to a wedding with a cash bar? I would rather pay for ASac’s honeymoon than go to a wedding with a cash bar. Tacky of the tackiest.

    • Cee Says:

      Registries are common, I don’t have a problem with that as long as, like you say, the information isn’t in the invitation. I like to know what they need, and take my time to choose a gift that means something to me as well.

      You don’t think 500K isn’t rich? That’s half a million a year for two kids in their 20s–that’s a lot. That’s rich. If they invest that properly–set up a Roth IRA with maximum annual contributions then establish a diversified stock portfolio plus some high-yield CDS, and also invest in a residence, either so they can build equity or flip it in a few years (in the right area, of course)–they’ll do just fine. In this America, that is the 1%.

      “Also, how many people have ever been to a wedding with a cash bar?” Agreed, that is super tacky. Or the dance for dollars? OMG I’m ded from the tackay.

      • sportsfan Says:

        As far as the “dollar dance” goes, they’ve managed to make that a tradition. Has been for nearly every wedding I’ve attended.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Ew the dollar dance is soooo tacky. I haven’t been to a wedding in years that had one but there are traditions that are still tacky. That is at the top of the list.

        As for Brady and ASac sounds like they should be able to more than afford their honeymoon without the help of friends and family. Moochers.

      • Cee Says:

        WHAT. Seriously?

  12. Katie Says:

    As long as this “registry” wasn’t posted on her fan page or public page in hopes that her fans would contribute, then who cares? I hope this was just a link sent from a friend sent from a friend a la Natasha Kelley.

    OK watching Veronica Mars movie NOW! I really want it to be everything I hope it to be and more.

  13. Katie Says:

    LoVe all the way.
    Just needed to pause 15 minutes into the movie and ask what happened? The last we saw saw of the three, Logan beat up the ruskie and Piz looked at veronica looking at Logan watching them share a look and realizing that loVe couldn’t be broken and we literally saw him realize that. Ugh so many unanswered questions in the first 15 minutes!!!

    • Karlie Says:

      ZOMG ZOMG THE MOVIE WAS AMAZING. I just finished it. OH MY GOD so so so worth it.

      • Katie Says:

        Lives ruined blood shed

      • Karlie Says:

        spanning years and continents

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am kind of pissed at Veronica Mars right now. They said when you gave a certain amount of money you get a script and a download of the movie and now it turns out you don’t actually get to keep these you have access to them. You get to watch the movie once and get to see the script for 5 days.

        That is not what I gave money for. A download implies I get to keep what I download and no where did it say I only get access to it.

        I was going to watch the movie today before my nieces come and now I have to wait because I can only watch it once and I don’t have the time to watch it all right now.

        I wonder if anyone else is mad about this?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I would be, but I never watched Veronica Mars. Can you buy it on iTunes (the movie)?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        They are not doing itunes they are doing some other thing I have never heard of. I have to wait til later tonight to watch it but a lot of people are having issues downloading it.

      • Karlie Says:

        huh. I downloaded it from Amazon Instant without a problem…

      • Katie Says:

        I bought it on iTunes for 19.99 and it became available at midnight.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The downloads for people who gave money are not from Itunes. I wish they were

      • Lis Says:

        No, you can watch the movie as many times as you want – you own the download. You can only DOWNLOAD the movie once. Once it’s downloaded, you own it and can watch it over and over.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I swear my e-mail said that once you access the link for the script you can only access it five times before you can never look at it again.

      • Lis Says:

        Also, you get 14 days to download the shooting script. Once it’s downloaded, it’s yours for good.

  14. GymMom Says:

    Asking people to pay for your honeymoon is so tacky!

  15. JAS4 Says:

    I saw this on tumblr earlier and Afan’s bars are pretty decent here

  16. ilanchik20 Says:

    I was at the Mizzou vs. Florida meet yesterday. Sloan was super friendly in person– talking and taking pics with her fans in the bleachers. It was awesome to see!

  17. sportsfan Says:

    Asking money for the honeymoon is white trash, if you ask me, and in poor form for a couple of people who aren’t exactly hurting for money. I don’t know about her money situation, but Brady Quinn is an NFL backup, one who teams aren’t even interested in signing, so his money train is likely coming to an end. He managed to steal $7.5 million from my Cleveland Browns in guaranteed money when he was drafted, then proceeded to under-perform.

    He also, just recently, started doing a 1 hour segment during the lunch hour on the radio w/ his brother in law A.J. Hawk here in Columbus. So, me thinks he knows his career is likely coming to an end.

Leave a Reply

