Simone Biles coach out at Bannons (With confirmed reply from Aimee)

Rumor has it that Simone Biles coach is no longer coaching at Bannons Gymnastics. Could this be why Simone is “injured” and out of the American cup?


Aimee Boorman will still be coaching Simone.

Stay tuned for any new info if I get it.

There is an official comment from Aimee in the comment section. (I have removed the comment for now but I posted them in the blog)

The E-Mail address has been confirmed so this comment was left by Aimee in the comments section.

Hi Everyone! This is Aimee, Simone’s coach.

It is true, we are no longer going to be at Bannon’s.

It is also true that Simone does have a minor shoulder strain that we are taking care of to protect her for meets that will be later in the season.

We try to avoid gossip, but we know that it will still happen.

Rest assured that Simone’s training will continue, even with the change of venue.

If you remain still, you will never grow, but sometimes growth is painful.

Thank you to everyone for your support as we make this transition!


Full Twist blog has quick hits from Podium training from the American Cup

Yuna Kim the Ice Queen not to be confused with :The Kween🙂

Gold medal winner in ladies skating is one rude little biatch. Yuna however is a class act but in this & A reporter mentions that Adelina walked out of the medal winners press conference while Yuna was talking. Real classy Russia.

Q: Sotnikova walked out during the press conference after the free skate. 

▶YUNA: It was a press conference where the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd skaters were together. Usually, we all walk out together when it’s over. It was the last question of the conference, and the question had come to me. But Sotnikovia went ahead and walk out. She had already been there and had started answering questions before I got there. She still had her dress on. And when she got up and left during the middle of my answer, I just thought, “What’s going on?” It’s up to the skater to do what they want to do.


95 Responses to “Simone Biles coach out at Bannons (With confirmed reply from Aimee)”

  1. Tortuga Says:

    Woah, poor Simone. I’m curious if she will follow her coach to a new gym or what.

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    You think she’ll follow this coach? I wonder why he/she left. That’s not good but makes sense since it doesn’t look like Biles is injured from her Instagram posts.

  3. Akshay Says:


  4. david0688 Says:

    I wonder if Yuna was born and raised in the U.S. and competed for the U.S., would she retire? Would she compete in 2018? I mean the fame and pressure would be different and she wouldn’t be so pressured by the media and the country(does her country pressure her?) to do stuff.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Her country pressures her big-time. It’s a completely different culture though. She has prospered highly from it though; she wouldn’t be the “Madonna” type of super star in the US as she is in S Korea. They all worship her over there.

      In the US she would just be another really great figure skater, and she would prosper (don’t get me wrong), but if the US treated her in similar fashion as they did the Kween, she wouldn’t have made it out so well. In fact who knows, she likely would have retired right after she won the gold medal (like Terror and Hughes).

      • david0688 Says:

        How did the U.S. treat Kwan? I thought she retired because she injured herself practicing for her third Olympics.

        I think Yuna would probably be less pressured to do stuff because there are different levels of fame and different circles people get famous in and fame is more distributed here so some people can live comfortably and not be harassed all the time.

        Heck, even if she was born in Japan she wouldn’t have the same pressure and attention.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Kwan was treatedlike crap for “stealing” Emily Hughes Olympic spot which was total bullshit

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        She gave it back and what did Emily do with it? Yeah, nothing.

        Michelle on a bad day would score leaps and bounds ahead of Emily on a brilliant day.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Emily only made the team because she was Sarah’s sister. No one else stoodout and Jenny Kirk was too inconsistent. Hell I think she retired before then.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        GTT would be the best responder here but basically the media would try and upstage Michelle for the next ice princess. It was like they got tired of her and wanted somebody shiny and new, but nobody was good enough to take that spot for an extended period of time. Either that or the newfound “ice princess” couldn’t put two clean programs together to save their life.

        They did that with Lipinski, Hughes to a degree, and eventually with Cohen. Maybe even Bobek earlier on but I can’t remember so well. The US didn’t know what they had when they had it, in other words. It was like the media wanted Michelle’s status to be challenged but she kept bringing it every time. Or she would falter once (and get silver) and then come back and get gold at Worlds or something like that.

        It’s kind of like what Russia was doing to Adelina before she won gold during these Games. They were all about this Yulia girl – she was the new “it” girl and being heavily over promoted as the next best thing in figure skating – totally ignoring Adelina. They didn’t even let her participate in the Team event otherwise she would have had two golds. And then they had to severely backtrack when Yulia fell in competition. Adelina actually saved the day for Russia because otherwise there would be no “Plan B” option for putting a Russian on the gold medal stand.

        And then there’s the whole thing where Michelle was robbed of a gold in 1998 because they didn’t want her to retire yet. They sure as shit didn’t do that with Yuna.

        There will probably not be another great like Michelle again (the constant cheating in this sport doesn’t help things when it comes to new, potentially talented figure skating prospects). Or Yuna again, for that matter.

      • david0688 Says:

        That sucks that she was forced to give it back. How much flack was she getting?

      • Cee Says:

        She didn’t give it back because of the flak (which I thought was from so-called fans, not the USFSA. They gave her the spot to begin with–she petitioned for it since she couldn’t do Nationals that year). She gave it back because it turned out she really was too injured to skate in Torino that year. Unlike Plushenko Michelle left plenty of time for Emily to come out (over a week).

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I remember that…I remember feeling sad about it because I knew it was likely the last possible chance for the Kween for Olympic gold.

        Seems like anyone who petitions and gets on the team is given flack, but this was MICHELLE KWAN. If she felt she could skate, she could skate. No reason to petition to be on the Olympic team and have a splat fest. You want to leave at a high point in your career, not a low point (otherwise you risk looking like Nastia, lol).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is the media story everyone was fed but everyone made Michelle feel guilty for taking the spot and I really think she would have competed hurt if people weren’t telling her she stole Emily’s spot

      • Cee Says:

        I remember she got a world of shit for it from, as I called them, so-called fans which pissed me off. As sanity says, we really should give the benefit of the doubt to MICHELLE FREAKING KAWN. If anyone’s earned her chance, it’s the Kween. I really despise how some fans seem to look for excuses to bash these people. Assume good faith unless you know otherwise. There were a lot of Tara fans that nursed this irrational hatred for Michelle, I can only assume it’s because Michelle was more beloved than Tara (I don’t hate Tara but that’s just the truth, Michelle’s legacy far eclipses Tara’s, gold medal or no). Dude, your skater got her gold and moved on. I suggest you do the same instead of fostering bad feelings. Some of them were like adult men! Indulging in junior high drama! Very strange.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The internet is Junior high. I am glad Twitter wasn’t around then

      • david0688 Says:

        I thought so. I that it was Kwan’s injury that kept her out of the 2006 Olympics. Of course she could’ve skated injured but what would happen.

        Back to the original question, I think that Yuna probably would have retired or kept skating had she competed for the U.S.

  5. sainabou nyang Says:

    Oh s**t! Drama. I swear with this sport expect the unexpected. There’s always some BS happening behind the scenes.

  6. Exgymgurl Says:

    Her coach is no longer on the web page as staff and Simones pic is not there either

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I only wrote rumor because its safer suing wise but its a done deal. She is still coaching Simone and no longer at Bannons.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Well if a gym takes down all their pics of a world champ except one thats tucked away in college prospects…yeah its a done deal someone I know with kids at Bannons said Simone hasn’t been around. I think that they stayed through the weekend so Simones sister could compete with her team. It explains Simones tweet of that poem about the gym being like family

  7. Exgymgurl Says:

    Simone is only listed as a college prospect….

  8. tulip Says:

    The good news is that there are lots of gyms in the Houston area that can immediately take someone of Simone’s caliber. I hope they are all okay and it was nothing more than a minor disagreement. I can’t imagine Simone with a different coach. They are so well suited for each other.

    • tulip Says:

      I meant Simone and Aimee right away

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Like cypress, or she could even quietly be training at the ranch. Natasha Kelley was at cypress…

      • Tortuga Says:

        That is what I was thinking is that she might secretly be at the ranch.

      • Case Says:

        Cypress would be a decent fit. Ugh, the ranch just doesn’t seem like a good long term solution.

  9. GymMom Says:

    Gracie Gold is nauseating! A cute guy from Malibu invited her to his prom. She said the “Stars On Ice” show in May precludes her from going to the prom. Billy Bush on Access Hollywood said she should still be able to make it to the kid’s prom. Gracie said “I’m the star in the “Stars On Ice” show…….blah blah blah…..ha ha. She sure has an inflated sense of herself. I can’t stand her!

    • gymnerd Says:

      Yes, I definitely get the “I’m all that” vibe from her. Ick.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Thats her paycheck gymom… I wouldn’t miss my one opportunity to make $$ off my bronze medal either if I was her

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I dont think its nauseating. A typical stuck up teen girl is not going to want to go to prom with a stranger. I think it was set up that now shes accepting, because someone told her she had to, or the guy has been vetted. Teen girls diss teen boys all the time.big deal.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I don’t think it was nauseating either. I don’t get why the public sort of expect celebs to go when there’s some guy who invites them. What if they don’t want to go to prom with a stranger?

    • Julianne Thomas Says:

      I was going to say that I’m not defending Gracie Gold, but I am. Gracie, even though she competes in figure skating, is not a public figure who has given up her right to decide what she wants to do and who she wants to spend time with.

      This is a stranger asking her out. A stranger. Being cute doesn’t make him any less a stranger. I would imagine that Gracie doesn’t have a lot of time to socialize, and perhaps her idea of a good doesn’t include being objectified and spending time at a dance where she knows no one.

      Gracie may be a self important b*tch. I don’t know. But I am going to stand up for her right to not be bullied into accepting stranger dates to a prom.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Saying no is not an issue the way she says it is just conceited.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah – to say “I’m the star” of stars on ice – give me a break. She only “broke out” this year with the NBC mania over her stupid name. Like she wouldn’t have been 6th place finisher if Yulia hadn’t fallen twice and Mao hadn’t messed up her short program. That’s where her “spot” would have been. The people who say she was robbed of a bronze are total fools. Even if she had landed her flip in the LP she would have been 4th, tops.

        I even kind of flinched when she was interviewed by Apolo Ono saying “I can’t wait to see what Pyeongchang has in store!” – like assuming she was already part of the next Olympic Games (Gabby Douglas style). She only has a bronze because of that stupid team event that shouldn’t have even been added.

      • Cee Says:

        Yes, the “stranger asks female celebrity to prom” thing can be cute but there’s also a lot of social pressure for them to accept which is not cool. If they say no, every loser on Yahoo is calling them a stuck up b*tch and as someone who absolutely hates it when strange men pay attention to me, I can’t fault her for retreating any way she think will avoid uncomfortableness. She can’t just come right out and say “are you kidding, I don’t even know you!” Maybe Stars on Ice is easier for her to use as an excuse.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is all she would have had to say. I can’t I will be on tour but thanks for the offer. Honestly these prom things are old by now. It happens all the time now.

      • Cee Says:

        Wait, did this really happen? Because according to this article:–abc-news-celebrities.html

        she said yes?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I believe she said no at first than changed her mind.

  10. Catherine Says:

    I thought this was no big deal as news that Aimee is not listed on the website because so many gym websites suck and are fresh from 2010 etc. But this sounds more serious. Goddamnit she is the best female gymnast in the world right now and it had better work out in her favour.

  11. Aimee Says:

    Hi Everyone! This is Aimee, Simone’s coach.

    It is true, we are no longer going to be at Bannon’s.

    It is also true that Simone does have a minor shoulder strain that we are taking care of to protect her for meets that will be later in the season.

    We try to avoid gossip, but we know that it will still happen.

    Rest assured that Simone’s training will continue, even with the change of venue.

    If you remain still, you will never grow, but sometimes growth is painful.

    Thank you to everyone for your support as we make this transition!

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Who GTT. You’re totally legit.😉

      Well at least Simone is staying with her coach. I would think that sort of transition would be tough 2 years prior to the Olympics, and it seems that they are a good team together.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Totally I am glad this is happening now and not right before the Olympics. Simone needs to stay healthy if she wants to last for 2 more years.

        All these comments by Aimee mean is that coaches google their students names just like gym

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        O geez I bet you get a lot of flack from those gym moms…

        Speaking of which, I do wonder about Gym Mom now and if she is the mother of an elite or someone like that, haha.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have had a few gym moms post here but neither came out and said they were the moms but only one flipped out and she was more concerned about herself since people figured out who she was without me telling (People she knew not people that posted here) I prefer the insiders stay anonymous because I cannot handle the ass kissing that goes on when someone is “famous” I lived through the Atler ass kissing.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah ditto on the anonymity. Then I’d have to go back and feel bad about my comments on Brenna Dowell and her lack of form.

        Anyone see her bars podium training video? WHY aren’t they practicing hitting those handstands? WHY?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I removed the comment for now. I can’t handle the comments that always come with stuff like this. I won’t allow these comments to stay and I don’t want to hurt anyones feelings by deleting the comments. We have had several gym moms post here in the past but luckily they haven’t come out and said who they were (They are clearly not internet savy moms either because they always use their real e-mail which is how I figured out who several of them were) There is only one gymnast I post about I truly can’t stand and we all know who that

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        So was this blog alive during the Atler hype? You mentioned something like that. Did some “Atler insider” post here or something/

        What comment did you remove? Mine about Brenna? I think it was on a previous post…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I removed the comment by Aimee nothing else. No the Atler stuff happened in the late 90’s way before we existed. Some of your stuff keeps going to spam so if something is missing let me know and I will check the spam folder.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Would it be fun to have real insiders post here all the time, yes but I can’t let this place turn into GGMB where gymnasts like Moceanu are off limits because they stalked her at gym meets and became friendly with her. That isn’t what this place is about. I like Simone but I don’t love everything about her gymnastics and eventually I would just end up pissing someone off by being honest.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I feel the same way about Simone. I actually like her gymnastics better than Raisman and MUCH better than Dowell, but there’s still room for improvement form-wise on all apparatuses. Her bars aren’t as awful-looking to me (actually she somewhat reminds me of Gabby with the height she gets on release moves) as others. Is she a Kyla? No.

        Gawd, putting together Biles and Ross in one gymnast would be epic.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I actually think she looks better. Her arms arent bent or they dont look bent. Id rather see straighter arms and slightly imperfect handstands with nice toe point and legs glued extension.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t. That routine is going to be killed by judges in a real meet.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I didn’t really notice bent arms before. I think I look too much at the legs. Still – it’s just not pretty looking form-wise, and that’s odd to me considering she’s a Gage gymnast.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Mckenzie wofford anyone? Much? Hey campers… Push through those stomach viruses….

    • Tortuga Says:

      That has to be the coolest thing that has happened on this blog since I started reading! Totally legit. I wish the best for you guys. No negative gossip on Simone or you in this corner, we all love you guys. You’re obviously doing a great job with the world champion and all. I’m sure whatever you decide well have her best interest in mind. It does make you wonder how many people we know have posted her under a pseudo name though.

  12. Tortuga Says:

    Old news but SCAM is coming to Dallas next year. I feel like I have to go even though most of the best competition opts out every year. It’s so close by. However it’s in the new Cowboys Stadium, I kind of wonder how that will work out. Are there no good seats in that situation? Maybe they will partition some of it off for a warm up area? Exgymgurl and is it terrigymfan are from around Dallas. Would you guys go to something like this? I worry about how expensive tickets might be at a place like this.

    • Cee Says:

      MAN. When the HELL is the Cup coming back to NYC???? Man, I live in the most densely populated city in the country, you’d think I could have better access to some gymnastics! All the big meets seem to be in either the South or the Midwest lately. As it is I’m gloomily contemplating taking a bus to Pittsburgh next August😦

      • biyatch Says:

        I would bet money on AC being at MSG in 2016. They like NY for Olympic years. I also wouldn’t be shocked if 2016 nationals or trials ended up in a mid-atlantic or northern eastern city (dc, philly, brooklyn or boston) based off the success of the kelloggs tour in those areas and the fact that theres been a lot of stuff in the middle of the country/west coast recently.

      • Cee Says:

        Fantastic! Good to know–I can easily get to any of those locations🙂 Yeah, they recently renovated Madison Square Garden and I was sad to see they no longer have the picture of Nadia (from when she won the very first AC) that used to hang in the hallway😦

  13. Gym Mom Says:

    Cypress – be real. Natasha only went there after she decided to not “go for the Gold”. Deana and Debbie ( of Texans – Bailey Keys and half the elite Texas Dream kids started with them) opened a new gym in The Woodlands and Deana had been helping Simon with Choreography, They just opened in January – they have had more kids on National Team than anyone in Houston. Their gym would be my bet.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      That would be a good bet then. They just opened in January kind of would tell me that.

      How do people “know” Simone is practicing at the Ranch? I wouldn’t want to practice there, with the crappy food and old facilities.

    • Natalie Says:

      Gym mom…. Its Bailie Key and I assure you “half” of Texas Dreams Elites did not come from Deana and Debbie. Kim and Chris might have something to say about that comment. Those girls all left those coaches too for a reason. Every gymnast needs to find the right fit. I pray for Simone and Aimee right now. Obviously it was not an easy decision, and the drama surrounding this has to be a distraction for both of them.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I usually don’t approve new comments but yours amused me. I am sure Kim and Chris don’t care what some random women on a random blog have to Gym mom is just giving her opinion.

  14. Case Says:

    Wow GTT, you’re the real deal now. That was nice of Aimee to leave us an update.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I don’t think she wants this to effect Simone. She is still her coach.

      • Karlie Says:

        Agreed. Also, though, I hope it works out well for them – Aimee’s been coaching at Bannon’s for so long, I wonder why she would leave. Do you think Simone and Aimee were getting the support they needed? It seems like SImone’s the first “big” star that the gym has ever produced.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Must have been something big to leave after that long. I doubt she wasn’t getting support. The best in the gym is always adored and treated like a mini celeb. It would be interesting to find out why. I thought she had two coaches though. A second male coach that does her vault and bars I think? Not certain.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Probably a large pay raise – it doesn’t necessarily have to do with something “bad” happening at the current gym; it could be the new gym wanting to attract a world-class athlete and her coach, and are willing to pay the big bucks. You never know.🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She was going to leave anyway. Something happened to make her do it sooner.

  15. Gym Mom 2 Says:

    Word on the street in Houston is they are going to AIM Athletics, Deana Parish and Debbie Kaitschuck’s new gym in The Woodlands.

  16. GymMom Says:

    GTT those are not my comments being made by “Gym Mom.” Imitation is the most sincere form of flattery. Ha ha.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      We know. She actually commented to you so I don’t think she was trying to be you.

  17. Gym Mom 2 Says:

    Yes sorry – not trying to be the “real gym mom” – haven’t really looked at the comments on this site before (shocking I know) and use Gym mom on another blog – so wasn’t really paying that much attention – until I saw it in print – did the “opps” and added the 2 to my next post -if I post again I will change it.

    WOW- someone is a bit touchy about Texas Dreams. My comments about Deana and Debbie and Texas Dream was really hyperbole to point out that the twins have a track record of training high caliber gymnasts – not a dig at Texas Dreams. Over their career they have qualified 40 kids to elite and 22 on National team and over 75 gymnasts into full ride scholarship – not a bad track record- and arguably the best in Houston – which was my point. If you discount coaches that gymnast have left- well— not many with tenure will be standing. Besides Simone did not leave her coach- they both left the gym – so proximity, accommodation, facilities and maybe a bit of mentoring/coaching that could augment Aimee would seem the goal. I guess we will all know where she lands soon enough – but gossiping is so much more entertaining. I just hope its a good fit that works for her.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      You are kind of bitter and I can’t figure out why. Twins? yes I am out of this loop. A certain other real gossip place apparently likes to read this bog for info. Its kind of funny.

      Oh back to whatever it is you are bitter about.

      Oh and you won’t be approved under another name because I approve all new comments and I won’t know it is you unless you say it.

      What are you mad about again?

  18. Gym Mom 2 Says:

    Must work on my presentation – not bitter or angry. I really enjoy your blog by the way – just recently discovered it. I only mentioned changing the tag – not the email so I wasn’t being confused with gym mom the original – not trying to be sneaky. Not sure I really care ( or know ) enough to comment on most things – just had some info so though I would share.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Please feel free to contribute I just didn’t (still don’t) understand why you seem mad. What did I miss?

  19. Tortuga Says:

    I’m not even really excited to watch Scam this year. Of course I still will being a fan. But I’m a sucker for balletic gymnasts and no one in this field is really doing it for me. However I am excited to see Giulia Steingruber.

  20. david0688 Says:

    I know this is off topic but maybe someone can explain to me why most the skaters come from back east or Socal? There’s been a handful of Northern California skaters like Kristi Yamaguchi and Tiffany Chin but most come from Socal or back east. Maybe it’s the power structure of figure skating or the money?

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I think a lot has to do with where the best coaches and facilities are. Gracie is from Illinois and she just started being coached by Frank Carroll (in So Cal) – so for most of her career I’m guessing she was actually in the Midwest being coached.

      A lot of elite figure skaters, like Gracie, are probably from somewhere else but train where the “big guns” are (in terms of coaching and good ice skating facilities).

      As you saw with the ice dancers (Virtue & Moir), a lot of elite figure skaters train in the US despite being citizens of another country. Even Yuna Kim practiced in the US (and Canada I believe) for a portion of her career.

    • david0688 Says:

      It’s kind of funny how people go to Socal to ice skate when Socal is not known for it’s winter weather. Lol. I also wonder how Yuna wound up training at Kwan’s rink even before she didn’t have a coach. Maybe it was set up?

  21. Simone Biles Leaves Bannon’s Gymnastix | Beam Dreams Says:

    […] A mild shoulder strain prevented Simone from competing in this weekend’s American Cup. The timing of her shoulder strain amongst the gym change led many to question whether or not Simone was actual injured or if she was pulled due to the turmoil. Aimee responded to those rumors on the Gym Truth Tellers blog. […]

Leave a Reply

