Bad Tude? Nah

Canadians now whining about losing to Russia

US calls the judging issue laughable.


NBC is so desperate to create another Superstar skater they are lying through their teeth about the ladies skaters and people are buying it hook, line and sinker. All I can do sitting here watching this competition is scream at the TV in disgust.

Yulia Lipnitskaya is a pretty little girl but she is not an artist. She’s a jumper and she is no threat to Yuna Kim if the judges do their job so why is NBC acting like the second coming of Michelle Kwan in 1996 is upon us?

There was nothing captivating about her LP performance. She did a great job jumping through an emotionless journey of nothing but that was it.

The comments about Gracie Gold are not any better. Julia makes Gracie look like a Ballerina that is how overrated Gold is as a skater. Gracie has no grace. In fact both these girls look like they are trying too hard.

I suppose what annoyed me most was an article from Yahoo about how Gracie vs Julia was the newest Skating rivalry. Julia won by 11 points so this is not much of a rivalry and it is dis-respectful to Yuna Kim who has been the only watchable skater of the last 4 years.

I guess I am mean blogger today and I blame this on NBC. Every 4 years they promote this sport in the most unrealistic way that it annoys the hell out of people that follow the sport more than every 4 years.

Bad Tude? Nah

Mckayla thinks this meme sucks

Someone gets it.

Speaking of creating another rivalry NBC has decided that Ashley Wagner is the Tonya Harding of skating and the rest of the media is helping the trend.

I am not making excuses for Ashley’s bad attitude but guess what, she is what she is. She is feisty, cocky and she speaks without thinking and she makes no excuses for it.

NBC is loving this new version of an old Rivalry. Ashley is the mean bitch who didn’t deserve her spot and Gracie Gold is fucking Cinderella.

I need to stop watching the

Gymnastics News

Katelyn Ohashi has spoken.

Rebecca Bross has too.

The Woga Classic has gone on without a hitch but sorry you can’t watch any of it. Nice of Gymnastike to link to the videos only people with 120 bucks can watch. I understand making money but why advertise videos you are not allowing people to watch?

Someone else put of videos on youtube.

Olympic bronze medalist Pheobe Mills is a judge at the Olympics.

Tags: , , , , , ,

30 Responses to “Bad Tude? Nah”

  1. Tortuga Says:

    So first off, I feel terrible for Ohashi and Bross having to answer those questions. I feel like they both probably hid somewhere and cried after those interviews. Maybe I’m the only person that thinks that. I imagine Ohashi doesn’t want to write checks she can’t cash if she said she wants to go to elite. I think her approach is best, but it sounds like she just wants to make it to UCLA. Also I have some pics, they’re kind of terrible because they were on my phone. And I also took a few videos till my phone died. So I will email them to gtt soon.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Thanks. I hope you people watched and got us some good dirt

    • Karlie Says:

      Poor Ohashi, that sounds like absolutely terrible luck. I tore my hip labrum and it was brutal – not 100% sure how it matches up with a shoulder, but wasn’t that the same injury Chellsie had? Either way, I wish her best of luck. Sounds like Valeri and the WOGA training system really broke her, it broke my heart when the interviewer said “so you’re healthy now” and she kind of paused and said “well…healthy for a gymnast.”

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Valeri never understood that every gymnast is different. He killed Katelyn/

      • mim Says:

        she’s just so damn personable in interviews, i really like katelyn. i hope she’s healthy enough for college – that sounds like her focus and motivation. i think it would be deveststing if she was so injured she couldn’t do level 10. fingers crossed for her recovery.

      • Catherine Says:

        Sounds like the back injury puts the shoulder injuries in the shade. If it’s all about pain tolerance and taking it day by day, I can’t see her making elite again. Depending on the severity of the back injury, she may not get granted a full scholarship, just get cleared for 2 years. Sad interview😦

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I loved that blog you linked to that pointed out Valeri gave everyone Nastias bar routine to learn…

  2. Adex Jasette Garza Says:

    I agree about Gymnastike. It’s complete bullshit what they’re charging for ~training~ videos and other bullshit on bullshit dipped in more bullshit. They have ads all over their website, you’d think that’d be more than enough… The greed is real within them.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I don’t really care about the greed but they lie about it. They link to videos and you can’t watch them. They are dishonest.

      I think we should boycott.

    • flippateer Says:

      Eh, I’d rather have the content for free, too, but there is clearly desire to have access to the content, so I can’t blame them for charging for it. (I went ahead and subscribed a couple of months ago, and I don’t regret it.) I wouldn’t mind some kind of compromise option, where people who don’t want to pay (or want a reduced rate) would agree to watch additional ads or something, in addition to content. But if they’re working to deliver content that people want to access, I don’t think it’s “greedy” for them to seek compensation for it (any more than the rest of us are being greedy to expect to be paid for our work).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am not interested in enough to what they do to justify 120 bucks a year on it.

  3. sainabou nyang Says:

    Rebecca girl just admit that you are retired. The US has so much depth that there is no room.
    Ohashi imo elite career is done. Get in shape for UCLA.

    Gymnastike making the woga classic available only through their gold series is a joke. Its not a major event so why not stream it for free?

  4. gymnerd Says:

    I agree with everything you said, GTT. Furthermore, Lipi-whatever looks like a ferret. A mean little ferret.

    …Yes, I do pick on little 4-foot ferr…uh…girls.

  5. flippateer Says:

    Bross knows it’s over; I think she just isn’t emotionally ready to say it yet. (Or am I just biased from having just rewatched the 2012 trials?)

    That Ohashi interview was hard to watch. Caused me to reflect how much this sport takes from girls. Some part of me wants her to come back elite, but in watching that video, it sounds like she is mentally through with elite and is just looking ahead to college.

    • Case Says:

      Bross should be done, but this is a girl that cannot freaking let go. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…someone please save her from herself.

  6. sanitynmotion Says:

    I am not a Wagner fan at all. I find her form a bit sloppy, her expression overdone and kind of like she’s trying too hard to be sexy, and her jumps aren’t even that high or well executed. Her spins are heavily traveled and that one spiral with her leg “straight” in the air (I put that in quotes because of her bent knee)…I mean shit if you can’t do a 180 with that leg don’t do it at all. Ugly. Anyways, not a fan. On her best day she can hope to get 4th or 5th on the world stage. Why she was shocked with her score is beyond me.

    As for Gracie I’m still on the fence because I’ve only seen her skate once. Her jumps were at least high and clean but that’s all I remember.

    All I know is that the days of Kwan are over. It makes me sad.

    On the other hand our ice dancers are in a league of their own. So there’s that.

    I haven’t watched the interviews but based on the comments I have to feel bad for Katelyn. She had such potential. So she has a back and shoulder injury? I wonder if they were from over use/ bad training techniques or if one element/accident caused them.

  7. GymMom Says:

    It was pretty funny watching Gracie Gold and Ashley Wagner on the Today Show this morning…facial expressions told the story.

  8. Case Says:

    You know, I’m just soooo disinterested in figure skating this year and I’m not sure why. I don’t think I’m going to even watch.

  9. tulip Says:

    Don’t know if this has been discussed- Shawn is a commentator for this season of Big Ten gymnastics on the Big Ten network. Watched her this weekend for the MN/Ohio State meet. She did a good job and looks good. She was very respectful and complimentary of the gymnasts.

    • byrdisthewyrd Says:

      I think she does a pretty good job too, Tulip! Although, she might be a bit too nice as a commentator. She has a hard time critiquing the athletes and I think it’s just because she doesn’t want to say anything negative. She’ll get there though!

  10. uglyfatkid Says:

    Is SCAM here yet? I’ve been closely following skating all year and even I’m bored as hell. Does anyone else think this Olympics is a snooze-fest so far?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Yes I do. So boring and Scam won’t be much better

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Agreed, but I am hoping we will see some upgrades from Kyla and Simone. That is what is keeping me excited for it.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Kyla had upgrades last year she never used them. She was hitting consistently a double layout and never used it in competition. No one knows why

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I remember you alluding to upgrades she was working on but never introducing. I didn’t know it included a double lay-out. Pretty impressive given her height. Would have been nice to see. I still don’t know why she can’t get more than two twists around on floor. Her floor could be SO good if she’d upgrade (and it’s obvious when her not-so-difficult floor routine can evenly score Maroney’s on world stage).

Leave a Reply

