While I was stuck at work: The random edition

I hate working nights.

Interesting read by Jeremy Abbots mom about what it is like to be an Olympians mom. Sure is expensive. You would think the federation of which ever sport it is would set aside some hotels and such for which ever skater did make the team so blindly buying ahead of time wouldn’t be an issue.

Here is the schedule for the Olympic skating. Amazing times for all us East coasters if we didn’t have jobs during the day. If this was the Michelle Kwan era I would have planned ahead of time and known this schedule at least a month in advance but thankfully all I have on my Olympic wish list is a Daisuke Takahashi, Gold medal (and a Patrick Chan debacle) so planning ahead was not needed. Thank God for free Wifi at work🙂

Aly Raisman thinks she is Shannon Miller and plans on saving the world one eating disorder at a time.

I am in the process (thinking process) of doing a blog on the future of USA-gymnastics based on the unknown names at the most recent camp and I ran across this gif of Catherine Lyons. I know the world seems to think this little girl has potential based on an alleged amazing artistic floor routine I personally don’t see yet but I actually like the skill she does in this video. A full twisting Geinger with pretty good form (until the end but she is clearly trying to do this skill with her feet together) so I appreciate the attempt. Now let hope she fixes the form so I don’t have to be a bitchy blogger🙂

The second most beautiful Yurchenko full I have ever seen. Well its probably the 5th best but the other 4 were all done by the same person so I will lump them as one. How did this not get a ten?

I think it was Catherine that loved Lloimincia Hall’s floor routine last year where I thought it was complete crap well Lloimincia is back with a new floor routine and I actually love this one. FOR COLLEGE. The expression on her face is pure gold til the end where it gets old but I love the dance before the first pass. The double layout was beautiful too.

25 Responses to “While I was stuck at work: The random edition”

  1. sainabou nyang Says:

    It’s interesting that you’re doing a blog on usag future. I’ve been thinking about the usa depth compared to the rest of the world and I really hope to see countries like GB rise up because I would hate to see USA completely dominate for the next few years.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The US has so much talent its almost unfair but the rest of the world also has a lot of talent coming up too but we will see. The rest of the world has not caught up on the US’s vault talent that is for sure.

      • Karlie Says:

        I agree – and frankly, I wonder why other countries aren’t trying to get more US coaches to come over and help them with vault. The US has girls who would easily make world/Olympic teams if they were in other nations, and could probably make event finals, but they don’t even crack the top 10 here. It’s kind of crazy.

  2. Exgymgurl Says:

    Wait until some smart parents start exporting their gymnasts to live out the olympic dream.

    hey Aly?

    Yes who is this?

    This is kathy Rigby’s, Kathy Johnson and Nadia we are putting you in our conference call,

    Wait Nadia and who else?

    Well, we wanted to tell you we have more olympic medals than you and we’ve all had eating disorders and worked to change the system. no one speaks in favor of eating disorders except the Olsen twins who rely heavily on chain smoking but thats another story. Bottom line is we are survivors and we’ve covered this. No need for you to ” raise awareness”. Everyone’s aware.

    Nadia: and I was even fat

    Aly: huh? My agent was trying to get me some free publicity is all, Mihai gave me a tapeworm years ago so I wouldnt have to starve or barf….

    Kathy R: wait what?

    Aly: yeah alicia had one too. Its the best diet ever but its not classified as an eating disorder so I think Im good. Im not hypocritical or anything. I got fat on DWTS like Shawn did, so its all good.

    Kathy J: a tapeworm helps you diet? Really?

    Aly: yeah I gotta go nice chatting Mihai has me vacuuming today bye!!!

    • H Says:

      Early in the morning over here, but this ” Aly: yeah I gotta go nice chatting Mihai has me vacuuming today bye!!!” made my morning lol

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Mihai and his vacuum are the best part of the Aly Raisman documentary….

      • Gymbee Says:

        I feel him. We had one of those at our gym lol. Always the vacuuming!

    • Tortuga Says:

      Hahaha! These phone convos you’ve been doing lately are hilarious. Especially Mihai with the vacuum. I think I saw somewhere on tumblr someone made logos for popular elite gyms and Brestyan’s was a silhouette of Mihai vacuuming lol! I always felt Aly would mature fast when she stopped the rigorous training. She was pretty developed compared to most elites, her and Jordyn both actually. Gabby just seemed naturally skin and bones. McKayla and Kyla were pretty naturally thin as well and not as frail as Gabby.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t get the vacum reference?

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        In Alys NESN pre olympic bio documentary Mihai was always vacuuming. There is a fake hilarious Mihai twitter where he’s always vacuuming ……

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Are you Sarah! ….????

      Tapeworm, lol.

      Speaking of eating disorders, did anyone watch the Biggest Loser finale last night? Seriously the person that won looks like she developed an eating disorder and is now on the other side of the spectrum. Went from 260 lbs to 105 lbs and she’s 5’4″…it was actually really sad to see. So you have a major network (NBC) now promoting eating disorders. Nice. I guess I can’t fault someone starving themselves for $250k.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I went and looked at pictures. It does look like she developed an eating disorder. Her head looks a bit large compared to the rest of her body. That’s supposedly a sign someone is malnourished or has an eating disorder. I’m 5’4″ and almost 30 lbs heavier lol. I love food too much to ever give it up to that extreme. I’m sure it would be tough to stop if you lost 155 lbs though.

  3. mim Says:

    i know it’s college and she’s supposed to be amazing (and she’s clearly having fun with her routine, good for her!) but i just find college floor really amusing.

    she can pull off the dance moves and the actual gymnastics is good, but i can’t help but giggle. i think i haven’t been exposed to college gymnastics enough..

    • Exgymgurl Says:


      This should really make you giggle…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Say what you want about Noel but I give that girl mad props. While big time recruits like Shayla sucked or others got injured Noel sprung into action and competed when she was never meant to see the floor at all. Hate on her all you want but I have mad respect for Noel because she was never meant to be anything but a bench warmer and she did better than anyone could have expected.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I dont hate Noel..l she got an award at nationals from the Star Wars society for this. Jersey gym dog brought it for four years more than Tanella or worley …. Shes awesome. Theming a routine around StarWars is funny in a good way

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I agree with you overall. I hate College floor routines and this girls last routine was horrible but for some reason I like this one.

  4. Catherine Says:

    I can’t help smiling at Llomincia’s floor. Her passion for it makes it awesome and her tumbling is very strong for college.

    Woga classic on Saturday🙂 Interested to see Madison Kocian, the Chinese- Lv Jiaqi, Yuan Xiaoyang, Xie Yufen and three of the Brazilians- Rebeca Andrade, Flavia Saraiva and Julie Kim.

    • Tortuga Says:

      I’m going to the Woga classic. In past years a lot of up and coming us junior elites have competed, Laurie Hernandez has competed in it a couple of times I think. But I haven’t heard of any other US girls yet other than Woga girls and Woga is kinda of dying as far as having who’s who gymnasts other than Kocian. I was a little disappointed by that. But still excited to see GB and China!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Take pictures and please share. Too bad Nastia isn’t going to be there to be a bitch to everyone again.:)

      • Tortuga Says:

        Yes! I will take pictures for you guys. Nastia won’t be there, but Carly will! Lol. Thank God for Sochi.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The best part of meets is the people watching. Too bad Nastia won’t be there to make it more fun.:)

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    I find all college floor routines embarrassingly cheesy. Like too cheer-leadery for my taste.

    • Cee Says:

      I *so* agree. I just cringe at the face logos and the obligatory post-routine congratulatory mobbing. I can appreciate the talent but it just seems so…cringe-inducing, in a kind of Up with People way.

  6. Exgymgurl Says:

    Someone commented on Naustea’s pic with Michelle Kwan and Evan… Oh look Michelle Kwan in Sochi with two other people how cool!!!

Leave a Reply

