Camp Hell

Camp Hell

First camp of the new year:)

The first camp of 2014 is happening as we speak and a little birdie told me there will be videos. ( Okay so it wasn’t really a little birdie someone read it on GGMB) but below is a list of gymnasts at the camp (according to USA-gymnastics) but take that full list with a grain of salt because the right hand of USA-Gymnastics doesn’t always know what the left hand is thinking and they have been wrong in the past. I know ironic

Ariana Agrapides, MG Elite
Alyssa Baumann, WOGA
Simone Biles, Bannon’s
Nadia Cho, WOGA
Nia Dennis, Buckeye
Madison Desch, GAGE
Christina Desidero, Parkettes
Brenna Dowell, GAGE
Peyton Ernst, Texas Dreams
Norah Flatley, Chow’s Gymnastics
Sarah Finnegan, GAGE
Ashley Foss, North Stars Gymnastics Academy
Emily Gaskins, Cincinnati Gymnastics
Veronica Hults, Texas Dreams
Madison Kocian, WOGA
McKayla Maroney, All Olympia
Abigail Milliet, Denton
Lauren Navarro, Charter Oak
Abby Paulson, Twin City Twisters
Elizabeth Price, Parkettes
Lexie Priessman, Cincinnati Gymnastics
Melissa Reinstadtler, Rebound Gymnastics
Kyla Ross, Gym-Max
Emily Schild, Everest Gymnastics
Polina Shchennikova, TIGAR
MyKayla Skinner, Desert Lights
Ragan Smith, Texas Dreams
Deanne Soza, Arete
Olivia Trautman, Twin City Twisters
Alexis Vasquez, Chow’s Gymnastics

88 Responses to “Camp Hell”

  1. lol Says:

    I loved the tweet from last year by Mckayla when she tweeted that they heard a helicoptor and Kyla hoped it was there to save them from hell. I sent you a hilarious picture from twitter. Check your mail.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      LMAO That picture is the funniest thing I have ever seen. In such bad taste but so true.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Can this be shared? I wanna laugh.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You have to be a Patriots fan to see it and we know you aren’

        You wouldn’t think it was funny. Only us Patriots fans get it:) I will show you if you like anyway.

  2. mim Says:

    I know this isn’t necessary the most official list (despite it being USA) but I wonder why Bailey, Laurie and Amelia aren’t on the list. I’m fairly out of the loop though, are they okay injury wise?

    And seriously, what is going on with Sabrina Vega? Did anyone ever find out if she was actually NCAA eligible or not? She’s such a mystery that one.

    I’m also curious to see how Brenna goes this year after Al’s blog posts during/post-worlds. Glad to see Sarah is back, it will be interesting to see if she

    • Catherine Says:

      There’s a comment on the Sarah Finnegan post on TCG from someone’s daughter who goes to Gage and she says that Sabrina needs kneecap surgery. Can’t guarantee a comment like that of course but it would explain the long absence.

      Amelia had ankle ligament replacement surgery a while ago, so that’s her absence. On the other hand, Maroney and Priessman and finally Finnegan are back from injury, and Dennis and Agrapides too. It’s not known why Nichols, Key and Hernandez are missing. This camp is supposed to focus on dance, and it’s possible some girls need more work to tweak their floors and beam to the new rules before appearing at the important camp in February, the selection camp for Europe and Pac Rims, and possibly one where the Chinese juniors will be, they’re completing the exchange by coming over soon…location isn’t clear but the ranch is an obvious suspect.

      • mim Says:

        Thanks for the info Catherine!

        I knew I forgot someone there (Maggie Nichols)! Interesting they are having a dance focus at camp.

        (and oops, just notice my previous comment cut off – it will be interesting to see if she factors into any international teams this year)

      • GymAnon Says:

        I’ve seen comments to the effect that the girls who went to Mexico were given a pass for this camp.

      • Catherine Says:

        But Peyton is there, and Nica. Hmmm.

      • biyatch Says:

        Laurie broke her wrist so she’s probably out for Jesolo/ Pac Rims. Word is Key is hurt as well.

  3. sainabou nyang Says:

    Wow I’m surprised to see Ashley Foss on the list. Good for her if she received an invitation to camp.

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    Some dodobrain on triple twist tumblr asked how the girls afford to buy plane tickets to camp. Hilarious Because they dont USAG does.. I doubt if vega ever goes to camp again. or Buecler, or…Kyla looks tall. And big. Stanford for her and EBee.

    • biyatch Says:

      Im pretty sure USAG only pays for the girls on the national team going to camp, all the others are paying out of pocket like they would if they were going to a level 10 meet.

      I agree Kyla looks super tall but the fact of the matter is even if she loses everything on floor and vault (and beam to some degree) there is going to be a place on the team for her as like as she can hit a bar set. The only one who seems to be on the radar now who is gunning for the “bars spot guarantees me into the team” spot is Paulina and her E scores are worse than Aly’s so…

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        No USAG pays for all the training camps, for the national team. The non national team girls dont get training paid for, but if you are invited they pay plane fair for you and a coach.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Have you ever posted here under a different name? Either that or you are seriously starting to remind me of

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    Ugh, Polina…no way.

    Sad how 8 years into this “USA needs a good bar worker” we are still having this problem. Kyla fills the void to some extent but like everything else she’ll need serious upgrades to be a World contender for podium in the next 2 years. She got away with it last year because everybody else either watered their routines down or weren’t at 100% shape-wise, and the next 2 years will bring more crops of competitive juniors.

    Gabby Douglas would have an easy spot to fill here too if she ever got her butt back in the gym. I think it’s officially over for her to try and make a go for Rio – it’s getting down to the point where there won’t be enough time for a full comeback. It’s not like she’s training in a gym every day like Raisman or Weiber.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Umm Polina?

      Yes exgymgurl?

      I have a message for your parents ready?

      Yes go ahead

      Just because you have a Russian sounding name doesnt mean you make a US olympic team, so make sure your daughter is bright enough to at least go to georgia or Alabama like poof and keely mcneer M..K?

  6. uglyfatkid Says:

    Random question…

    Does anyone know if Jordyn travels with the UCLA team to meets? They are playing Utah on Saturday and I just realized she might be there. I have season tickets this year so I hope so. I’m really excited to see Bridgett when they play Florida in a few months. In fact, that’s why I got the tickets. Lol.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Make sure you take lots of pictures and maybe you can share them with the blog. I’ll send you a Patriots shirt and you can have Bridget sign it. She LOVES the NOT

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I am happy to take pics and share them with everyone! I’ll email you after the comp with some pictures.🙂

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Strike that…no pics. I got the flu over the weekend and didn’t end up going to the meet.😦

        I’ll for sure take pics of Bridgette when the play Florida though.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Dammit!!! I just realized they are playing Georgia NOT Florida. It was Florida last year. I seriously only bought them to see Bridgette. LOL. Oh well, at least I get my gymnastics itch scratched a bit by going. I can’t believe I did that. I no read good.🙂

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am not sure

    • Case Says:

      I think Jo travels with the UCLA team but don’t quote me on that.

      Part of the US “bar worker” problem lies in the feeder gyms. Other than Chow who else consistently cranks our decent bar routines? I’m surprised Marta hasn’t choked somebody over this yet.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I love how you ignore my questions about You won’t offend me at all I know a lot of people hate him I just don’t know why people think he is arrogant when I have never seen him say a bad word about anyone.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        It’s the granny sweaters he wears at press conferences. It’s arrogant to think a grown man can pull that off.🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I always thought it was the I still say it is the Yankee hat.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Giselle has metrosexualized Brady and neutralized his abilities in football. Giselle took Leonardo decraprios manhood until he had the brains to dump her. Its been a process removing his balls from her vice….

      • Akshay Says:

        WORD, exgymgurl. WORD.

      • Catherine Says:

        WOGA, Gym Max..although the latter is a bit of a stretch, very few elites ever. The hyped ex cheerleader turned gymnast Laney Madsen is training there, I doubt hers are any good.

      • Case Says:

        IMO, Brady acts like a whiny bitch when he loses. I’d agree that he’s not disrespectful to other teams. He just bugs me. Oh and everything exgymgurl said, lol.

        He’s basically Giselle’s whipping boy. If only he could throw and catch the ball at the same time.

      • Case Says:

        Catherine, I guess maybe WOGA would qualify but after the Nastia comeback debacle their bars reputation is forever tainted in my eyes, lol.

      • Akshay Says:

        I think WOGA and Valeri, specifically, are good at building up (aka code whoring) their way to a high D-Score on bars, but that execution is honestly not that good.

        Whether it’s Nastia’s giants, her leg separations, her overarched Pak Salto, her missed handstands, that low tkachev, or that HORRENDOUS dismount from hell (it was the worst), I was never enamored by Nastia’s execution on bars. Her d-score was one thing, but that execution did not deserve the consistent 9.0+ E-Score it seemed to always get. Remember how she got a 16.9 during TF at the Olympics? I mean her other scores were way too high too, but that one was just monstrously wrong.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Amen! Preach it Brother!

  7. mim Says:

    Off topic – no idea if this translated/paraphrased interview with Komova is real but here it is:

    I particularly like the last paragraph: “She admits that her personality can be horrible – she even calls herself a bitch” LOL. Nothing like a little growth and self-awareness.

    Not that I’m saying she is a horrible bitch. Just funny that she thinks she might be.

  8. lol Says:

    Yankees save money on AROd and get to buy Tanaka. Why do we watch MLB again GTT? They will do anything to make sure the Yankees succeed.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am looking forward to Selig retiring. The games he just played with A-Rod to help the Yankees should have everyone up in arms.

  9. Tortuga Says:

    I haven’t seen it mentioned yet so I thought I would ask, have you guys seen the Q&A with Beth Tweddle from yesterday? I think it was through Sky Sports or something. There was a storify made by someone where it showed all these misogynistic tweets from men. I feel awful for Beth. No one deserves those kinds of comments. Especially not hard working athletes like her. It makes me so sick to my stomach.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      That sucks. She seems like a genuinely nice person too.

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      People are disgusting. I love how people (it’s just not teens) feel big and macho when they tear people down via electronics. Yet most of these assholes don’t have to guts/balls to step up and do this face to face. Electronics are breeding a world of cowardly mean Aholes.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Exactly, the audacity for people to act this way is just absurd. People are just showing less and less respect for anyone or any thing. I don’t really want a child to grow up this way. Makes me think even more about not having children.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Honestly if you are thinking like that then your kids will be fine. It’s people like you who SHOULD have children – not those who think this kind of behavior is “normal” and condone it. To me, people are just so much more selfish these days. For instance, before boarding a plane the announcement was “please stow away your larger item in the carry on compartments and your smaller item under the seat in front of you, since we will have minimum capacity and this is a sold out flight.” What do people do? Not only do they put ALL their crap in the carry on compartments (purses, jackets, SHOES, back packs) BUT they put their crap at the front of the plane before heading towards their seats in the back. So what do people like me have to do, who happen to be sitting in the front half of the plane? I have to put my crap at the back of the plane and then take my seat. And of course I kept my computer bag with me to put under my seat; I didn’t take up more carry on space than I had to. So basically at the end of the flight I had to wait until EVERYONE got off before I could retrieve my bag. This went for other people as well. I wanted to hit EVERYONE.

        Sorry – I’m having an “I hate people” kind of day.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        People are selfish and no parent ever wants top admit their kid is an animal.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Agreed GTT. I love my mother in-laws approach to parenting…You are GUILTY until proven innocent. She was the first person to say, “Yea…my kid probably did that.” I fully intend to raise my kids like that. My sister in-law on my side (whom I love for the record) tends to be completely oblivious when her kids do bad stuff. It’s always…”He wouldn’t do that” or “She didn’t mean to do that.” I get it…kids accidentally do stuff, but when you SEE the kid intentionally smash their gum into a grill of a car…it’s NOT an accident. My favorite part of that story was that my sister in law cleaned it up…WHILE the 12 year old kid stood there and watched. I remember thinking…nice way to teach him about the consequences of his actions. “Look son, if you knowingly vandalize a car, I am happy to come and clean it up for you.” Give me a break.

        @Sanity – I would have been sooooo pissed. I love how people have no problem inconveniencing others as long as their not affected. There should be some rule about that by the airline. Your bags go over YOUR seats unless there is no room, THEN you move them to another location. People suck. Lol.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Ugh, that sounds awful. Sorry you’re having a bad day. You’re right everyone is so selfish these days.

    • Catherine Says:

      This is truly horrendous, but misogny and basic troll behaviour is common in British soccer fandom, sadly. I think they are mainly just pissed sky sports was reporting on women instead of more premiership.

      Sickening to read. Beth made a truly classy response of course.

    • Cee Says:

      Disgusting. Effing trolls, they probably live in their mothers’ basements and suck down wings (or whatever the British equivalent is) all day. GROSS. So angry she had to suffer through that. Beth, we love you! You are a world class athlete and we thank you for your contributions to the sport!

  10. lol Says:

    So basically you are both jealous Tom Brady is prettier than you are.

  11. Exgymgurl Says: McKayla is too sexy, Kyla is more well spoken, and Sarah Finnegan needs a nutrition program. Cute though

    • Catherine Says:

      What’s wrong with Sarah? She’s been out of the game for so long, she’d hardly be in peak Olympic condition.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I think she looks fine, especially for being out of the game for so long.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      That made me internally gag. What are they, all robots? It was like sticking a toddler in front of a camera after telling them to memorize a sentence for hours and after the fact they were so sick of it so by that point it was just like:


      McKayla and Simone were the most genuine but McKayla is trying too hard with her low-cut t-shirt and her hair (which kind of looked bad/stringy, I have to say – time to get that shit a trim). Kyla looked like she would have rather been anywhere else.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        The whole thing was terrible. You can tell the marketing guy at USA Gymnastics is trying to keep the program relevant by hitching it self to the winter Olympics. It was WAY to forced.

        By the way, I thought Kyla looked beautiful. Way better than Mac.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Kyla is actually much prettier than Mac – no offense. She just doesn’t have Mac’s “look at me” personality so most people don’t really notice it. But when you see Kyla w/her lipstick she outshines Mac by leaps and bounds on the gym floor.

        I find that Lexie and Mac post a lot of pics on Twitter and Instagram and such; wondering if they might not get along in real life because they both seem to have that “look at me I can wear lots of makeup” trait. Lexie even more so. But Mac’s selfies are just so obnoxious. Ok, we get it – you have pretty eyes and what not. I wonder if they ever rub each other the wrong way like let’s compete over who’s the prettiest gymnast, lol.

      • mim Says:

        i noticed mckayla got all into mentioning God and praying and stuff in social media a few months ago. which is fine and all, but it seemed like a sudden, deliberate thing, rather than being genuine.

        it just bugs me.

  12. Exgymgurl Says:

    I wonder if they will be able to get out of Houston today….

  13. Exgymgurl Says:

    So Maarta gets a bonus day of torture… Gee wonder what thats like

  14. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    And just like that, Kyla is out of the American Cup. Again. Do you think there’s any truth to this injury?

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      That competition is so lame anyways. Nobody from Russia is coming. I hope Iordache beats everyone, lol. Ok, I take it back for Simone’s case.

      Kyla’s coaches probably want her to be healthy for Worlds, screw this competition. Even if she weren’t injured it’d be smart to make one up to bypass this competition presuming Marta made that call. I don’t find it unbelievable but if Kyla does have a bad back she should take care of that before participating in a competition, especially one like SCAM.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Lol…dammit Sanity. You beat my reply (below) to Byrds comment by 2 mins. Oh well, great minds think alike right? We usually say the same things anyway. LOL.🙂

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      Oh wow. It is a bit weird since the comp is more than a month away. Wouldn’t she try and wait to see if her back is better and pull out closer to the comp?

      Or…maybe her coaches are playing it safe and don’t want to risk anything. They seem cautious with her, which has helped her in the past. They seem like they really have her best interests at heart…so hopefully they are losing the battle (SCAM) to win the war (Nationals/Worlds).

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think so; I think that’s exactly it. And it’ll allow Price more time to prepare for Scam. Price has more to prove competition-wise than Kyla does so this is a really smart move on behalf of her coaches.

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        And maybe Kyla is just perfecting all those upgrades she’s going to stun us with at Nationals.🙂

      • Karlie Says:

        Sad for Kyla, but I adore Ebee so I’m happy for her to have the opportunity.

        Kyla’s coaches are usually pretty safe with routines, upgrades, etc., so it makes sense that they’d do so here. Think she got hurt at camp??

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Since Kyla is not professional, and wont get any money it doesnt make sense for her to go to SCAM. She needs to focus on school, and it wouldnt surprise me to see her not do Jesolo this year so she doesnt have to miss so much school. If you are Kyla Ross, right now none of this is important. Rest, rebuild, dont peak for a competition that really means nothing.

      • Catherine Says:

        Well, Simone, Ebee and Sam are not professional either.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Hmmm a slight back injury? Since when?
      I smell a GTT rant coming.

    • biyatch Says:

      Im an Ebee fan so I’m glad she gets to compete but I also wonder if Ebee competing speaks to a low quality of 1998ers. Marta likes to use the AC to make a statement about who her up and coming impact gymnasts are going to be (Aly- 2010, Jo-2011, Gabby-2012, Ohashi & Simone-2013) and rather than doing that she went with the establishment. This year seems like a rather weak class of 1st year seniors but it will certainly be interesting if they announce an exhibition after the next camp.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Polina, nica, Amelia (hurt), alyssa…. Hmmm no national junior champions. no one on that list that could beat Iordache. Im getting worried, that besides Key and Hernandez no one in Juniors is showing anything. I wonder who gets chosen for pac Rims this year. Pac Rims 2010 had 3/5 of the olympians + Bross, Sloan, Vega. Jordyn and Ross were Jrs and Raisman competed first yr senior.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Didnt Jordyn win SCAM as a jr in 2009?

      • biyatch Says:

        Jordyn did win in 09 before it was an FIG world cup event.

        My Pac Rim team would have Bailey, Nora and Nia on it, as Laurie probably won’t be ready and then maybe Simone, Kyla and Lexie or Ebee. Everyone else can go to Italy.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Also Bross fell on beam Sloan on bars, and in think vega fell somewhere or was like the lowest scorer on the team. Interesting that the falls and lowest score didnt go to London. Jordyn Aly and Kyla went 4/4

  15. uglyfatkid Says:

    I was thinking the other day about the last worlds. In my opinion, the worlds after the Olympics tend to be weak (in regards to the competitors that are there). 2009 is a great example. I don’t think Bross or Sloan would have faired as well had more of the competitors from the Olympics been there.

    So, do you think Biles and Ross were flukes? Would they have faired as well had Vika, Aly, Jo, Ponor, or Gabby (shutter) competed (assuming they were not retired/injured/taking time off)? If they were in the playing field for worlds, would Biles and Ross still be 1 and 2 in the AA?

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Hard to say because the year before the Olympics everyone is trying to “peak” to get on the team or, if making the team looks pretty good, the peak is aimed for during the Olympics themselves.

      I think we all know that by 2015, Kyla will need to be able to demonstrate a lot of key upgrades in her bars/beam work to be a contender. If she wants to be an AA contender she’ll need her amanar back as well.

      I think Biles is almost peaking too soon, which is a bit worrisome. If she were like how she was last year in 2012 during Olympic Trials (assuming she was of age) she’d most definitely be a contender, and I could easily see her having a spot. Probably McKayla’s spot but still. She has to be at least this good three years from now, and that’s going to be hard. She also cannot have one of those growth spurts because that can threaten her chances too. It sucks for people like Biles who age up right after the Olympic year.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think Biles will be fine as long as she doesn;t grow. Her coaches already have upgrades ready and she said she is taking ballet so IMO she will be fine as long as she stays short and healthy.

        Bross was always inconsistent and by the time the Olympics came around people passed her because she was a train wreak still not because she wasn’t capable. Its a shame she can’t see what Liukin did to her right in front of her eyes.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I think you are both right. Kyla wouldn’t have faired well, but Biles would have held her own (assuming she had her head casing in check at that time).

        The growth issue is for sure the issue with Biles. I think she should try for the TTY this year if she is ever planning on doing it. Once she hits her growth spurt I don’t see it happening for her.

        Sanity had a great point…is Biles taking Maroney’s spot? If Maroney can’t get floor in check, what’s the point in having her on the team? She filled a spot once upon a time, but she is quickly becoming the Asac of the group….replaceable. Vault used to be a weakness, but now it’s a strength. If you aren’t a contender in other events…your out. I maybe wrong, but even with heavy practice I don’t see Maroney contending well on bars and beam…she head cases to much and the difficulty isn’t high enough. She may prove me wrong later, but right now I don’t see those events working for her.

        Next question. Would Biles floor routine beat Aly’s if she was at the Olympics?

      • mim Says:

        i think if mckayla gets the TTY before simone, she stills factors into the discussion, but not instead of simone but with simone. if simone gets the TTY, she’s the key player and mckayla will be out.

        i have no idea how coaches plan (i.e. an gymnast’s natural talent for an apparatus versus the needs of the team on a certain event), but you would think instead of having mckayla focus on AA, they would get her TTY, clean up her floor a bit and focus on improving her bars so she could be a more competitive bar worker. goodness knows the US needs that!

        it doesn’t seem like anyone is actually trying to actively fill the bars gap at this stage.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Biles would have killed every Olympian IMO. Kyla never would have done the AA without upgrades. It isn’t always weak. In 93 it wasn’t. Even Lilia competed. In 2005 it was beyond weak.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Sorry GTT…my gymnastics knowledge isn’t as mature as yours. I really only started after 2004. I did recently go back and watch the 1996 games. That was great to watch. Shannon is beautiful. Every time I see her nail that full in off beam it amazes me. What was with her bar score during team finals? It was gold to me…but they scored her low. Why?

        Can you (or anyone else) recommend any other worlds/Olympics to watch that are older?

Leave a Reply

