Let the Olympic year begin. US Nationals Figure Skating:Long Program (Updated)

Long Program Start List.

1 7:12PM Vanessa Lam, All Year FSC 18 48.98
2 7:20PM Caroline Zhang, All Year FSC 19 47.87
3 7:29PM Rachael Flatt, St. Moritz ISC 20 46.57
4 7:37PM Yasmin Siraj, SC Of Boston 21 44.67
5 7:53PM Agnes Zawadzki, Broadmoor SC 13 54.18
6 8:01PM Franchesca Chiera, Panthers FSC 15 52.81
7 8:10PM Courtney Hicks, All Year FSC 16 51.69
8 8:18PM Kiri Baga, SC Of Boston 14 54.02
9 8:27PM Joelle Forte, SC of New York 17 50.53
10 9:02PM Samantha Cesario, SC of New York 11 54.88
11 9:11PM Barbie Long, Illinois Valley FSC 10 55.55
12 9:19PM Angela Wang, Salt Lake Figure Skating 12 54.40
13 9:28PM Leah Keiser, All Year FSC 8 57.41
14 9:36PM Hannah Miller, Lansing SC 7 57.49
15 9:45PM Mariah Bell, Rocky Mountain FSC 9 56.72
16 10:00PM Christina Gao, SC Of Boston 6 60.91
17 10:09PM Ashley Wagner, SC of Wilmington 4 64.71
18 10:17PM Ashley Cain, Stars FSC of Texas 5 61.45
19 10:26PM Polina Edmunds, Peninsula SC 2 66.75
20 10:34PM Mirai Nagasu, Pasadena FSC 3 65.44
21 10:43PM Gracie Gold, Wagon Wheel FSC 1 72.12


Last night was pretty boring. Sat next to a bitch that kept crossing her legs and kicking my niece so we switched seats and then did it to me. Dirty looks made no impression so I hope the gum I put under her seat somehow ended up on her shoe:) Okay I didn’t do that but I did think about doing it.

Saw Kimmie Messiner on the way out. She and about half a dozen guys that were probably old skaters I just didn’t care to notice who they were pushed their way out of the “Fleetcenter” like they owned the place. Kimmie was very loud too like she was trying to get noticed because I heard her way before I saw her.

They gave some kind of award to Michelle which was of course no where near my seat. Found Aunt Joyce in the crowd with a loud red sweater taking notes.

Overall everyone skated well enough with only a few falls. Rachael Flatt hit jump after jump in the warm up stepping out of only one (almost fell) but she messed up come the actual competition. Her dress was really pretty but you could tell there was no way they were letting her or Caroline Zhang near the front of the pack even if they were clean.

Gracie Gold is as frumpy a skater in person as she is on TV. She did a great job with the jumps but a 73 is a travesty of a score. Nagasu was great last night. Only true standing ovation of the night. The whole crowd was ready to stand up the second she finished her last jump. I still can’t figure out what the judges were thinking when they gave Polina Edmonds second place. Fish out of water. Nice to see Agnes Zawadzki finally get the scores she deserves. She wasn’t held up last night. Its about time. One little girl reminded me of Sasha Cohen (looks wise) I forget her name. I heard Ashley Cain was a horrible skater before I saw her skate last night and she wasn’t nearly as bad as I had heard. Yasmin Siraj was a total melt down last night. I remember her from last year where she did a great short but she was in last place last night. Thought Barbie Long was a bit underscored. Before Nagasu it was the only program I actually watched without looking at the clock to check the time. and last was Ashley who was not impressive last night. There was no connection to the music at all. She wasn’t overscored per say but she needs to step it up because it looks like USFSA wants to promote the jumping beans again. I can’t see them leaving her home from the Olympics because she easily deserves the spot due to the last 2 years where she held this program together.

Start Lists

Joe Inman is still judging? He is judge number 3. I expect to get a picture of him to slam his ass on this blog for the future.

1 7:57PM Ashley Cain, Stars FSC of Texas
2 8:04PM Franchesca Chiera, Panthers FSC
3 8:11PM Barbie Long, Illinois Valley FSC
4 8:18PM Joelle Forte, SC of New York
5 8:25PM Mariah Bell, Rocky Mountain FSC
6 8:39PM Caroline Zhang, All Year FSC
7 8:46PM Vanessa Lam, All Year FSC
8 8:53PM Yasmin Siraj, SC Of Boston
9 9:00PM Leah Keiser, All Year FSC
10 9:07PM Rachael Flatt, St. Moritz ISC
11 9:46PM Courtney Hicks, All Year FSC
12 9:53PM Angela Wang, Salt Lake Figure Skating
13 10:00PM Mirai Nagasu, Pasadena FSC
14 10:07PM Christina Gao, SC Of Boston
15 10:14PM Gracie Gold, Wagon Wheel FSC
16 10:28PM Hannah Miller, Lansing SC
17 10:35PM Kiri Baga, SC Of Boston
18 10:42PM Ashley Wagner, SC of Wilmington
19 10:49PM Agnes Zawadzki, Broadmoor SC
20 10:56PM Samantha Cesario, SC of New York
21 11:03PM Polina Edmunds, Peninsula SC

I don’t believe for a second these things are randomly drawn. What a coinkydinky that the ones in the hunt all skate right around each other. You can tell who USFSA.org doesn’t want on this team. Might as well have stayed home 1-12

45 Responses to “Let the Olympic year begin. US Nationals Figure Skating:Long Program (Updated)”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    It’s just not the same without the Kween lol

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    I don’t even know if I’ll bother to watch, and I used to be OBSESSED with this sport. I can’t handle it since Michelle retired. The underlings now just don’t even hold a candle to her.

    I bet they put the “players” together because it was requested for the cable networks? Just a guess. They probably won’t bother showing everyone and want to get the “real competition” all in one fell swoop.

    They seem to be playing up Gracie Gold a lot. How’d she do in last year’s worlds and nationals? I don’t even know, lol.

    I am actually bummed Lyndsey Vonn is out. Yeah, I know – wrong sport.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Lindsey Vonn is a over botoxed overhyped skier. Julia Mancuso is better, and well comes through when it counts because she isn’t concerned with dating tiger woods having plastic surgery or overselling her sponsors.i dislike LIndsey Vonn her emotion and passion for the sport are as fake as her hair and her wrinkle free face.

      • Karlie Says:

        Still, I wouldn’t wish a torn ACL on anyone and in an Olympic year – that really sucks. Plus Vonn is only 29…I doubt her lack of wrinkles is due to Botox, haha.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Oh, I only followed her four years ago when she won gold in downhill. I thought it exciting. I don’t pay attention to her personal life – she’s young to be having plastic surgery!

        I remember Julia Mancuso too though – she also pulled through in ’10! Is she back?

        I read there’s a new girl, another Makayla, that we should all look out for in alpine skiing. Like she’s the real thing or whatever.

    • gymnerd Says:

      Forgive my stupidity, but is this being televised live, and if so, on what station? Thanks.

    • Dee Says:

      Haven’t posted in a while because gymnastics is slow right now but glad I checked today…I forgot about figure skating. Guess that would give me something to get into while I wait for gym to pick up again.

      Sanity you are probably right that they put all the big names together for tvs sake. I am surprised to see Rachael Flats name on that list.

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    Why would they want rachel flat or mirai nagasu?

  4. Tortuga Says:

    Sorry I don’t follow skating, but did you guys see the tentative lists for Scam?


    It kind of pisses me off that they’re inviting Carlotta after her comments at worlds. It’s kind of a slap in the face to Simone. I don’t think Carlotta really even has a chance of beating Simone at this point anyway though. It’s just the principal of the thing. Just my opinion. However I am excited to see Larisa, Roxana and Giulia.

    • gymnerd Says:

      I think that’s kind of the idea.

      • Akshay Says:

        LOL I guarantee you, Carlotta will try and take a selfie with Simone. She’ll post it like everywhere too, just to show they’re “cool” now.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Akshay you’re probably right. That kind of stuff just makes me mad. She’s a sore loser and shouldn’t be praised for it.

      • mim Says:

        And you know Simone would probably give her a smile and hug because she’s so much more friendly and professional than Ferlito could even imagine to be.

        Once everyone recovers from injury and the younger ones turn senior Ferlito won’t even be factoring into the picture.

      • Cee Says:

        “Carlotta will try and take a selfie with Simone.”

        GROSS. And mim stole my words, I was going to write “And Simone is far too well-mannered and nice to tell her to go away.”

        Something I find hilarious is how in all the pictures of Carlotta online (certainly all those in the stock pile that gymfanconfessions uses), she even LOOKS like a villain–she has this sneaky look to her smile. I just think it’s funny, like she’s right out of Central Casting, the villainous gymnast. Ugh, go away!

    • Catherine Says:

      They are not inviting Carlotta. Carlotta gets an automatic invite for placing in the top 12 at worlds. It goes top 8 then if spaces the next 4. After that it opens to the top 4 teams at the last team final, i.e. London, but it’s been filled..Roxana placed 12th.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I know they invite top 12 but I feel like they could chose to not bring her if they really wanted to. Maybe the rules are stricter than I understand. They have changed things up in the past but now it’s considered a World Cup event right?

      • Catherine Says:

        Yes, it follows FIG rules so USAG can’t interfere with invitees.

        I hope nothing happens. It would be such a low for the sport I think for an athlete rather than a shoddy score to be booed. And NBC will have a field day if they’re allowed..I hope they’re not, too much fuss already.

  5. Case Says:

    Shout out to Hannah Miller. Woot woot!

    • lol Says:

      Do ytouy know her? Doctor Larry has talked about her a few times on his facebook. I have never heard of her.

    • Case Says:

      Her Dad played on the 88 Olympic hockey team and also in the NHL. She’s Michigan’s winter Jordyn Wieber. Other than that, I don’t know much about her.

  6. mim Says:

    My knowledge of figure skating extends to that random teenyboper movie Ice Princess (as unrealistic as it gets i’d imagine!) and Lorelai’s references to Tonya Harding in Gilmore Girls. And there’s those girls Nastia hangs with who were skaters so I’m assuming they’re annoying.

    All the figure skaters look amazing to me unless they completely fall flat on their face.

    Not enthused for Sochi but I guess I’ll tune in occasionally. I’m actually keener for NCAA due to gymnastics deprivation.

  7. Exgymgurl Says:

    I think Gracie gold is leading….

  8. gymnerd Says:

    Kimmie Meissner was loud and snotty? I always thought she was such a nice person… :\

  9. sanitynmotion Says:

    Didn’t Kimmie only win worlds because there was like no competition?

    So who won? I liked Mirai a few years ago. Think she’ll get a spot?

  10. Exgymgurl Says:

    Finals are tonight .. I hope jeremy Abbott comes through for men. The women are all pretty much a snore…

  11. H Says:

    Sidetrack …

    The body department ?
    Shawn J.

  12. Exgymgurl Says:

    Ashley Wagner sucked. They will probably send her to the olympics over Mari nagas who they didnt want to send to begin with

    • gymnerd Says:

      Yeah….I’m wondering if they’re going to screw Nagasu, basically the only one to put out two perfect programs (no falls/turnouts IIRC), or the young’s. Can’t STAND Gold, I wish she’d been the one with multiple falls instead.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I have always liked Nagasu, and was cheering like crazy for her tonight. However, she is a basket case at times…and that scares me. She’s hot or cold, and even when she’s “on” she is short of rotation quite a bit on her jumps. Ashley does the same thing, except instead of under rotating her jumps she does two foot landings.

        If I could pick, it would be Gracie, Ashley, and Marai for the Olympics. Gracie and Ashley, only because they are the reason we can send 3 people, and Marai because I can’t help but cheer for her. To be completely honest though, I really don’t care who they end up sending…because I want Yuna and Mao to win 1 and 2. Everyone else is really just playing for third as long as Yuna and Mao are healthy. Plus, none of the US girls really have my full backing. If Marai was more consistent, then she’d have my vote all the way. She reminds me of Larissa in gymnastics, talented…but never really comes through like we know she can.

        Does anyone think if Ashley makes it, she’ll continue to be a head case? Or do you think she can pull it out in the end? Right now my money is on her basket-casing. Marai is the same for me. It’s sad that our most consistent and capable one at the moment is Gold, and I really am so impartial when it comes to her.

        Skating used to be fun. Where the hell is the next Kwan already? I want to fall in love again with skating…but until there is another Kwan, I don’t see that happening.

        PS – Great call on Gold winning GTT.

  13. utgymfan Says:

    I just watched the UCLA FL meet and I can’t believe Bridget Sloan fell on beam! I guess with as much consistency as she’s shown in her NCAA career so far, I forget mistakes are still possible. I’m very happy Florida won though because I absolutely cannot stand Sam Peszek

    • mim Says:

      what’s this about mattie larson retiring? how does that work with scholarships/their recruitment and stuff?

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I think if miss Val gave her a medical mattie stays on some kind of scholarship but does not compete and the team gets a scholarship back. Its not like what she did to beckerman.

      • Catherine Says:

        I’m so annoyed colleges have switched to the Pac 12 network. The only illegal stream of that was AWFUL and unwatchable. UCLA used to internationally free stream so nicely😥

        Mattie has retired. No idea how that works out for her with college..they might be able to reach some sort of deal as regards fees, allow her to continue or pay reduced fees or something?

      • biyatch Says:

        Can being a head case earn you a medical retirement?

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I think with Mattie’s injuries if because of her head casing she really cant train or compete well, they could justify a medical.

  14. Exgymgurl Says:

    So Wagner puts up two splat fests and goes to the olympics over nagasu who didnt fall once. Way to go usfsa. Same as if USAG had put Nastia on the 2012 olympic team over Ross. Congrats Marta. USAG is less corrupt than USFSA…

  15. biyatch Says:

    Kinda love this

  16. Akshay Says:

    GTT, I’m going to have to root for your Patriots next week. Can’t stand Manning. PLEASE CRUSH HIM.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      We will do our best:)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’m calling it Patriots vs Seahawks…even though I’m liking the Niners this year.

      • Akshay Says:

        I’m tempted to root for whoever comes out of the NFC, but I will be less upset if the AFC wins and it’s New England than if it’s Denver.
        Manning is great and all, but in my opinion, most QBs would be fairly good with that kind of supporting cast. Brady has had like no supporting cast this year, and has overcame so many odds to make it this far. I cannot stand Tom Brady (or Mrs. “My husband can’t throw and catch the ball at the same time” OR his awful, awful Uggs), but I’ll take him over Manning.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I have no ill will against Manning. He comes off as a good guy at heart and someone I wouldn’t mind my kid (if I had one) looking up to as an icon of sorts. His comeback from that neck injury was pretty impressive, and he plays well under pressure for the most part. Is he the best QB in the league currently? No – I agree with you about his “cast.” There are other QBs that are just looking mighty impressive and to be honest there were times in yesterday’s game where I was like “Manning just isn’t doing it.” But hey, he closed when he needed to.

        Manning pissed me off when his Colts went to the Superbowl against the Saints and they basically got ran all over the place. That was not a Superbowl game to me – looked like Manning and the Colts didn’t even want to be there. That year was also the year the Vikings were finally looking to be contenders but the Saints were all about throwing illegal punches and trying to hurt the Viks (which is one of the reasons that coach of theirs was suspended for a bunch of games – was it this season or last?) Anyways…meh.

        Tom Brady – totally not a fan of his character (unlike Manning) but I do appreciate Bellechick (can’t spell) and the rest of the team. They are fighters. I really would love to see them spank Seattle because Seattle is all cocky right now (as is their head coach) but the reason they have been so strong is their home field advantage – I feel like if the Hawks make it to the SB, they won’t be used to the opposing team not effing up every other play because they can’t hear for shit.However if Brady makes it to the SB and loses – that’ll be his what, 3rd SB loss in less than 7 years?

Leave a Reply

