It’s that time of year everyone. GymSkate Craptaular time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


We get to watch out of shape Nastia do a front walk over on floor and a bunch of skaters I have never seen before (at least not enough to remember. Good thing I am only going to the Ladies LP at Nationals this year)


NBC will show us the craptacular on January  5th but I will be waiting until stalker boy puts the entire thing on youtube a day or so after it airs 9Sorry stalker boy but I hold grudges when people don’t except my heart felt apologies🙂

Someone searched my blog two days in a row with the following quote,

sean likes bailey even though she’s a loser and doesn’t exist.

My advice to Sean. If you like Bailey and she exists then don’t wimp out because some friend thinks she isn’t good enough for you. A real friend would support you. You like who you like. Good luck:)

64 Responses to “It’s that time of year everyone. GymSkate Craptaular time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

  1. Catherine Says:

    Beth Tweddle will be skating🙂 Maybe she’ll be awesome and do both.

  2. sainabou nyang Says:

    I just want see what kind of shape Jordyn is in even if she is doing watered down routines.

    They must be getting paid a nice amount to hold this in a small town like Jamestown NY.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She looks out of gymnastics shape in that video.

    • JAS4 Says:

      I kind of wonder if Jordyn is planning on trying to come back for Rio if she might just finish this year of college and then take time off to seriously train to try and compete again in 2015 I think Rita mentioned something in one of her blogs about Jordyn wanting to get through of at least one year of college before trying to make a comeback

  3. Lithi Says:

    Who’s the guy in the background around 1:04 with the bowtie? Looking at him gave me a terrifying Valeri Liukin flashback with that cowboy shit on.

    Speaking of the name Liukin, Nastia’s not wearing pink? Shock. For some reason she popped into my head earlier when I saw Kaley Cuoco’s (Big Bang Theory) wedding gown on DListed.

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    Its Nastias butterfly kisses that worries me. And the debut of her travis wall choreographed floor routine she never did in 2012

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    There is nothing that will convince me to watch this shit. I just hope someone tells me if Jordyn looks to be in better gymnastics shape, and that is basically all.

    Nastia’s front walkover wasn’t even that good.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Maybe Nastia will do a back walkover. And a cartwheel….
      If we are really lucky.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Or she can do her stripper rope dance from the Kellogg’s tour…because that was chock FULL of gymnastics (blank stare).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Why does NBC keep putting this on? Someone needs to start a petition to have this banned from even being filmed.

      • Jennifer White Smith Says:

        It’s kinda funny because I live in the Indianapolis area and the NBC affiliate scrapped the show to have a live report about the snow (I mean, because it’s NEVER snowed in Indy before) and USA Gymnastics is in Indy so it’s a slap to their face. I heard that it was horrible anyway and I’ve heard other’s say it was the best one yet. I’d like Paul Ziert (who produces it) get with the Klaus family and do more of the gym challenges.

  6. sanitynmotion Says:

    GTT did you post an Every 4 Years blog and take it down?

    Why do you hate Scott Hamilton? I actually liked him. I met him once (this was when I was a huge ice skating fan) and he was very nice. His win preceded my “obsession” watching but I always enjoyed him; thought he was funny and a good performer on ice.

    The 1998 Olympics crushed me when the Kween lost to idiot-face who shall not be named. Looking back it was obviously fixed when she had to skate FIRST in that group. It should be where if you are first going in to the long program you should get to skate last. This “draw” is flawed and full of shit. It’s known fact judges hold back their best scores for the last couple performers. Nobody could touch the Kween’s artistry, nobody. Sorry I’m ranting on a blog that might not even exist because when I clicked on it it said “page not found.”

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I didn’t mean to post it. I didn’t like the direction it was going. I have already written about Michelle being screwed. Still working on it.

      Hamilton is an idiot. He might be nice to the fans but as a commentator he sucks.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Worse than Dick Button? I remember liking him overall but found him very very critical of some people (couldn’t help but think if that were my daughter he were talking about I’d want to rip his head off).

        I just really, really disliked Irina Slutskaya. And I had no clue where they found 5.9 points in artistry for Lipinski’s program. Her jumps had barely any height too – she got them around so fast because of her size. It was no surprise that months later when she had a growth spurt she was having hip issues and couldn’t compete at that “caliber” anymore. Freakin one-hit wonder, like Sarah Hughes.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        At least Tara had a world title (should have been Michelle’s but that is a different discussion) Sarah was the one hit wonder

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I dislike terror Lipinski, but she didnt fall and her program was harder than kwans. Combine that with a sucky draw. Sarah Hughes hit the program of her life at the olympics with more difficulty than kwanand slutskaya …..Michelle Kwan reminds me of Kyla Ross… it doesnt matter who is leading the short… They never win.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Tara had harder jumps and that has nothing to do with the presentation marks where there is no defense for any 5.9’s and I can debate 5.8’s and don’t get me started on Sarah had two flips in her short and never should have been in the discussion.

        Skatings old rules are nothing like todays gym, No comparison at all.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        …and there were many times Michelle was leading short and went on to win long. Because she was the best.

        You’re probably in the mindset of when Sasha Cohen was competing, lol.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Sasha! I had completely forgotten about her. Did she ever amount to anything? I can’t remember. The only big thing I can remember about her was that she kinda of looked like Christina Reeci (spelling??) to me. LOL

      • Cee Says:

        Sasha was a gorgeous skater but maddeningly–MADDENINGLY–inconsistent. She would have flawless SPs and then always fall apart in the long. She started making you angry after all, like why do I bother to invest any emotion in her, she will always let me down? Kind of like an emotionally abusive BF, now that I think of it😉

  7. lol Says:

    Tara had one more difficult combination than Michelle that does not equal a much more difficult LP . They calling the sport Figure SKATING not figure jumping. Michelle had better edges. Better quality jumps and better overall presentation.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Yup. Tara’s triple loop triple loop combo (dammit, still remember) was very hard and nobody else was doing it but the only reason she could do it at the time was her size. Her jumps had no height almost. Then she grew and couldn’t do the jumps anymore.

      Everyone was on Kwan all the time to do a triple triple combo but she didn’t need it, the rest of her skating was so damn perfect. You’re right, it should’ve been called figure jumping if that’s all they cared about, and it seemed like that’s all they cared about. If you had the jumps you were a great skater. Look at Slutskaya. All she did was skate and jump. It was awful. Yet she won many titles. So gross.

      • Karlie Says:

        Out of curiosity, what was your take on the whole Lysacek/Plushenko thing? I don’t follow figure skating at all but I seem to recall a lot of conversation about the technicalities of skating vs. jumping prowess

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Hrm…I quit following men a long time ago – like, think circa Michael Weiss…if Plushenko is that blonde Russian dude with the big nose I could never get behind him, not a fan. He was too exorbitant for me. I saw some of Evan’s work and it looked pretty good. I guess I’m weird; even though men’s figure skating is really a feminine sport I do appreciate more masculinity to it. That Johnny Weir stuff creeped me out.

        I kind of think it’s sad these days there’s so much focus on the quad jumps because most of the performances I do catch have falls in them. It’s like whoever falls least wins.

        My mom to this day has a huge crush on Brian Boytano, lol.

  8. Karlie Says:

    Oh man…that Sean/Bailey drama reminds me of exactly why I don’t miss high school. I liked your advice, though.🙂

  9. Case Says:

    Lol at the Sean/Bailey shout out. We’re in your corner Sean.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The real question is why did this search item end its way to my

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I am officially an old person. I have no idea who and the hell Sean and Bailey are. To solidify my oldness, I don’t care enough to even google about them.🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        We don’t know who they are either. Someone searched my blog for something about them so I gave my advice. I don’t even know if they exist

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        LOL. Oh, I figured it was some tweeny bopper couple that I didn’t know about. I like your advice though.🙂

        If possible, can you post a link to the craptacular when that kid who doesn’t accept your apologies posts it? I too am interested to see what shape Aly and Jordyn are in.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Someone will link it here but I literally try and stay away from Nastia stuff because then it motivates me to write about her and it is never Not that it should be.

        I am sure someone will send us links but hopefully only the good ones where we can make fun of this shit. I want to see Beth but am not searching for this on youtube. I can’t bring myself to do

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Lol. I am FULLY okay if you write bad stuff about Nastia, in fact…I would welcome it!

        No worries with the link. I just didn’t know if this was something we could YouTube, or something that you had a secret connection to get.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think the comments about Sean and Bailey were linked here because of Bailie Key not that it has anything to do with her personally. The name is unique.

  10. Flippateer Says:

    Kyla training a BHS-Arabian on (low) beam:

    • nero Says:

      Beautiful. Nothing would make me happier than seeing Kyla become an individual world champion on bars or beam (or both!)

      Especially after all the shit she gets for being ‘boring’ Sorry a gymnast would rather do beautiful, safe and clean routines. Especially since everyone and their mom complains about the code rewarding difficulty over artistry.

      I hope Kyla continues to upgrade slowly at her own pace and kills her competitors with consistency.

  11. Akshay Says:

    Nastia is STILL on these awful Subway infomercials, which air during the NFL Playoffs? can she just go the hell away already?

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      LOL. I’m still pissed that she is commentating now instead is Elfie. I thought we wouldn’t have to endure her after her belly flop at Trials, but boy was I wrong. I wasn’t in love with Elfie, but she is the lesser of two evils. In fact, I might write a blog about one of these days if GTT is up for it.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      UGH I know! Why is Subway still pushing an Olympian from nearly 6 years ago? I’m wondering if it’s because at first they were pushing RGIII and we all saw how he’s turned out this season.

  12. Karlie Says:

    If anyone here wants to feel better about him/herself, U just woke up and it’s currently -25 degrees F here (with a “real feel” of -55F). WHYYY MINNESOTA

    • Karlie Says:

      *I just woke up…not u…🙂

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I’m sorry to hear that. Yesterday it was high 60s in CA; I was wearing shorts and a t-shirt outside. I know you want to hate me but at least you can probably afford a house with more than 1,000 SF, or even a house at all.

  13. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    I read an update on Aly’s training this morning so I thought I’d share. It’s from the wat’s good gabby tumblr site.:

    So feel free to ignore this if its annoying but I was wondering if you’d heard anything recently from your friend who works at Brestyan’s about Aly’s training progress/if she’s actually in the gym/where she’s at in the process/ if a national team camp is on the horizon any time soon.



    Not annoying! After I got this message I texted my friend and I have a lot of great inside info for y’all. My friend told me:

    Aly is at the gym every day. Doing two-a-days a few times a week. She is keeping her reps low. Doing yurchenko fulls. On beam she is doing BHS back layouts on low beam and side aerial back tucks. Double backs off high beam onto mats in a pit. They only allow her to do certain things on high beam and they are playing everything really smart/safe. Doing double arabians, double backs, and triple fulls off tumble strip onto high resi landing (not doing landings on floor). Bars is coming along more slowly. She’s doing lots of giants and kip cast handstands, blind fulls, etc. Everything is very solid.

    And…. Aly plans on competing at P&G Championships this summer. My friend thinks her goal is the Olympics but nobody is really pushing her, she’s pushing herself and taking it meet by meet.

    Sooooo yeah that’s the scoop.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Nice. Wow, it always amazes me how long it takes to get back into it and get your skills back. It sounds like of the FF, all but Gabby are really taking a comeback seriously (Jordyn is still up in the air but at least we know she’s working out).

      BTW, did anyone see those NYE specials on TV? Gabby was on one of them and I was like “why?!!!?” – they just showed her face but I don’t think she’s ever gonna come back. I guess why would she, she’s living large in LA and thinks she can ride the rest of her life on that one AA gold medal…

      • Flippateer Says:

        Really glad to hear that 3-4 of the FF are serious contenders for Worlds going forward and maybe even Rio. But I understand re: Gabby – not only does she not have the same stable family structure as the others seem to, but she also has the least to prove. She earned the ultimate prize, and it seems to be very hard for most people to justify the time, the wear and tear and risk to their body, and the blood/sweat/tears past that Olympic AA gold. Can’t fault her if she chooses to go out on the ultimate high note. And the others all didn’t quite do everything at the Olympics that they might have dreamed of doing, so their returns are equally understandable.

      • Tortuga Says:

        The thing is though, I felt like Gabby had room to improve and was not at her best yet. Her bars were great but her beam and floor were wonky. I thought maybe with a little more maturity she would dance and flow better. I also believe that gymnasts with dark skin tones have to really pay attention to their feet because they’re more noticeable with a lighter skin tone on bottom, just like gymnasts with beam shoes feet stand out.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Hmm I feel Gabby has a lot to prove still. To me, she’s a “one-hit wonder”. She should come back and prove she wasn’t just a fluke.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I feel the same, but that’s the reality of winning an AA gold: what’s the point of coming back? You already made all of that sacrifice, and odds are so against you ever being able to do anything near a repeat. Gabby probably had some of the most potential but unfortunately I don’t think we’ll ever see it, and part of me doesn’t blame her. Why not take advantage of this new exciting lifestyle? It won’t last forever; the more time that passes the least relevant she’ll be, so take advantage of it now. We all saw how Nastia did it.

  14. Lis Says:

    I actually skimmed through the Craptacular once it got posted on YouTube and Jordyn: YOU ARE WAY TOO GOOD FOR THIS!!! Nastia’s “floor routine” looked awful. It might have been good if a good dancer had danced it…

  15. Exgymgurl Says:

    Do you have a link for it Lis? Im sure searching craptacular on youtube wont get me there.

    • Lis Says:

      Here you go Nastia is at about 14:30 and Jordyn is at 28-ish (I think).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I should remove that NO ONE should be watching this shit:)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        It’s so bad I feel embarrassed for them. Although I have to say Jordyn looks pretty damn good. She was doing pretty tricky skills on beam given there’s no lighting…I think she might be seriously training for a comeback. Her beam “routine” if that’s what it can be called had more difficulty than Nastia’s stupid floor.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I need entertainment. #sorrynotsorry

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Hashtags only work on

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Want to write a blog about it? Like review? You should be sorry for watching that

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        A review of this would be way more entertaining than watching it. Why do they even allow this on TV?

      • Lis Says:

        I don’t get why they air this shit and yet don’t air World’s qualifications or even some of the World Cups.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Because craptaculars have heavy sponsorship $$. World Cups do not. The FIG needs better sponsorship…

  16. Exgymgurl Says:

    Whatever Beth Tweddle did on floor frightened me. Please tell me it gets scarier and ill save it to watch at haloween

  17. Exgymgurl Says:

    Yes I desperately want to write a review. Oh please. It would make it oh so much better

Leave a Reply

