G.T.T’S top moments of 2013

To end the year on a high note (not discussing why I am blogging on freaking New Years eve instead of getting drunk) I am currently writing this blog titled, G.T.T’S top moments of 2013. Instead of doing the usual like Kohei winning his 4th straight World title or Kyla doing well at worlds I am attempting to make this list a bit different. We will see how that goes.

Here you go

Liking Simone Biles: When I first heard about her existence the only thing that came to my mind was here we go again. Another overrated overscored junior turned senior Marta has decided to hype because she can. GAG ME! but then I saw her compete at the American Cup and she wasn’t as vile as Marta’s past pets would suggest she would be. Simone actually has decent form (she needs to work on the toe point) she actually has some substance to go with the power Marta loves to hype and an extra bonus is she isn’t trained by the devil in training himself. The good news is Simone’s personality matches her gymnastics so actually liking her and her gymnastics is easy.

Falling for a sap story: I hate sap stories. If your mom wouldn’t get up to drive you to gymnastics practice so you have to live with your coach or your dads a deadbeat there’s a good chance I won’t root for you to stay on beam just because you had a tough life but at Worlds this year when it came down to the last event I actually said to myself, I hope Simone stands up her floor routine. She deserves to win. Don’t think highly of me just yet people I actually wanted Simone to fall off beam so Kyla could win but when she actually stayed on I apparently had a change of heart.

The United States 2013 World Championships team For the first time in a long time I actually like all four members of the US’s world team. I might not like everything about their gymnastics and while Mckayla can get on my nerves sometime all 4 girls are hard working and likable. Last time that happened ? Never.

Bringing back the old / Routine of the year With every new code its inevitable that something from the past will be rated higher than it should be then code whored to death by everyone and their brother (Think the Onodi or Side somi) but Yao Yinnan bringing back the Mo and hitting it in the All Around is exactly the type of move I am happy to see back in action.

A year without the big mouths Jonathon Horton. Chris Brooks INJURED. While I would never wish an injury on someone for me this year was awesome because I didn’t have to watch these two spend more time chasing the camera than working on their gymnastics. Not that we didn’t have people like that this year that are even more obnoxious ( I am looking at you Sam Mikulak) not having to watch these two was pure delight:)

Best Gymnastics Moment of the year Simone Biles parents reaction to her winning the AA. I am sure all parents act like this but we got it on tape this time. I am sure they were crying as much for Simone as they were for her winning knowing that she hasn’t had the easiest life.

Team of the year (Sorry Case) BOO YA

Last but not least Thanks to all of you for making this blog last another year. I don’t want to name names because I will forget someone important but all of you make this blog what it is so Happy New Year:)

10 Responses to “G.T.T’S top moments of 2013”

  1. Exgymgurl Says:

    I loved what Simones dad said about ferlitos comments, that they were wrong, but that Simone didnt need to address it and he would do it for her. Thats what a dad is supposed to do. I think Simone shows such class and every time I hear her coach speak, Im like yes…. Because its obvious its not about her. Simones coach reminds me of Kylas coach….

    • Akshay Says:

      I really like Simone’s coach. I think she and Simone work well together, and I don’t feel like Simone is performing skills she should not be performing. I think Simone’s coach understands Simone’s limits and strengths, and works with her accordingly.

      Happy New Years everyone!

      • H Says:

        Thanks for a good and funny blog. Happy New Years everyone:-)

      • JAS4 Says:

        I agree about Simone’s coaches they seem to be trying to pace her well even though she may be training some crazy skills(like the TTY and double double off beam) they don’t push her to do them unless she is ready

  2. sainabou nyang Says:

    Happy New Year to all! Heres to another year of fugly gymnastics, pretty gymnastics, overscores, unscores. I want more videos 9f Marta trash talking chinese gymnast, more fake giggling from Nastia Liukin, more stupid statements from Al and Tim.

  3. gymnerd Says:

    Happy New Year, everyone, and GTT, thank you so much for this blog.

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    I can’t wait to hear the ATT american cup where stars emerge….

    • Karlie Says:

      I swear I remember Al saying something along the lines of “no Olympic Champion has won the Olympic All-Around without first winning the American Cup…” in the 2012 competition and I remember literally choking on my sandwich at the blatant untruth of that statement.

      Happy 2014, everyone!🙂

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    Happy 2014 everyone! Hope it’s full of good things and of course, snarky gym blogs by GTT🙂

Leave a Reply

