WINNER: 2013 Sportsperson of the year: Kohei Uchimura

WINNER: 2013 Sportsperson of the year: Kohei Uchimura

His 4th World AA title in a row and no one comes close to his form, technique and artistry. There has never been a better male gymnast and why some may argue there were more successful (and I might even agree. Hell Kohei agree’s with you ) Kohei to me out shines everyone because he does everything talent wise and he does it during the most ridiculous code of all time.

I’ll change my mind tomorrow:)

Thanks for all the nice comments during X-Mas time while I was away. You guys make this blog so keep commenting.

23 Responses to “WINNER: 2013 Sportsperson of the year: Kohei Uchimura”

  1. Exgymgurl Says:

    Kohei rocks and he got the longines prize..

  2. JAS4 Says:

    Can’t argue with Kohei he is crazy good! Lol

  3. Uglyfatkid Says:

    What I greatly respect about Kohei is his balance of high difficulty while still maintaining fantastic form. There is nothing better than watching difficult elements done with such precision. I also really like how he carries himself…he seems nice, down to earth, and an not full of himself. He knows he’s good, but he lets his gymnastics do the talking…not his mouth. That’s my impression at least.

    Does anyone know if he is shooting for Rio? I would love to see him continue as long as he can.

    Great to have you back GTT. I was beginning to think you might have slipped into an egg nog induced coma.🙂

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Hes definitely not like gabby douglas. Thats another reason to like him….

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I wish. I originally took 4 days off after X-Mas (from both jobs) to rest and re charge and SLEEP but instead of doing that I ended up spending four straight days with my nieces doing all kinds of fun Auntie stuff. I am more exhausted than if I had gone to work. I guess I’ll sleep when I’m dead P

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        What jobs do you do GTT, if I may ask?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have a “career” that I wish not to discuss and I have a part time job in retail that I work one or 2 days a week ( saving for a “house” but we really aren’t)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Phone sex operator? Joking! lol…

        It must be rough working in retail. That and being a server would really suck (I was a server once and it taught me that I’m not a “people” person).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        People suck is my I have a great voice I would be the perfect phone sex

      • Karlie Says:

        Ugh, I worked as a server in high school and the beginning of college and the rudeness you have to put up with is mind-boggling. To this day I find myself so turned off by people who are unnecessarily rude to their waiter.

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        I can relate. I took my brothers kids for the weekend a few weeks ago, and it was exhausting!! When I have kids I’m screwed…I won’t be able to keep up with them. At least your going to be their favorite aunt.🙂

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        Lol. Phone sex operator…LOL and gross. You crack me up Sanity.

        I was a server for 6 years. I’m a very calm and collected person, but I was a raving a-hole by the time I quit. You can only take people so much crap before you snap. Oh the stories I could tell.

        I have always thought that everyone should be required to serve tables, work retail, and clean hotel rooms for a time. I think people would come out more compassionate, understanding, and overall be “Better” people.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I had to clean hotel rooms too. For a day. For my education. Long story. I never, ever, ever want to do that again. From that day forward I made sure to tip the hotel maid every time I stay at a hotel.

      • Karlie Says:

        ha, I agree. It’s weird, though – while in retrospect it made me a lot more empathetic and understanding (I think…), at the time it just made me cranky, haha. I could tell some ridiculous stories about serving as well…like the time a couple let their little kid run around their table and he knocked SOMEONE ELSE’S really expensive wine bottle (I worked in a French restaurant). Then they refused to pay for it, claiming it was not their wine so it wasn’t their responsibility even though their kid destroyed it. This all happened while I was in the kitchen and when I came back with their waters I got screamed at by both tables (and no tip from the parents, who felt “persecuted for bringing their child.” Sigh.)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That’s the reason why there are so many kids these days that refuse to take responsibility for their actions. Just look at parents. Everyone just points the finger elsewhere because it’s never anyone’s fault.
        Has anyone heard of that kid in TX that got let off for drunk driving (at age 16) and KILLED 4 people plus significantly injured others…he only got 10 years probation and the judge cited “affluenza” meaning the kid never had to take responsibility for his actions before…his parents coddled him too much…so how can he be expected to take responsibility now. I mean, this is the society we are now living it.

      • Catherine Says:

        Yup, there should be a mandatory 6 month stint in retail. With a refresher course for middle aged women who are the WORST.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I wasn’t a server but I was a Barista through out college and let me tell you, people are really anal about their coffee and the price. I know it gets ridiculously expensive but you chose to go to Starbucks and have expensive modifications made to your coffee. I remember one customer in particular hadn’t been getting charged right for his beverage and the manager made sure we got it right on his next visit. The man was so livid about the extra charge to his drink that he threw it at the drive thru window in a rage and drove off! Starbucks expects great customer service from employees and I personally really tried in that aspect and because of that I always try to be as nice as possible to anyone in customer service.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        yeah people are such bitches when it comes to their coffee. I just hope karma bites that asshole in the arse…

      • Case Says:

        I knew I’d never cut it as a server so my first job was as a grocery bagger. That had its moments too. Also had a brief stint in retail.

        Kudos to those of you who worked in the service industry for an extended period of time. It’s a tough, tough world.

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    BTW if Chellsie shows up for camps and what not after her surgery and as she recovers leading up to classics does she get a pass to visas like Nastia did? In retrospect Im wondering if it wasnt punishment for not playing the game.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Wait, didn’t’ Chellsie retire?

      It wasn’t like Nastia played the game. She went to what, one camp at most? And it was right after she announced a comeback so it wasn’t like she was hard-hittin’ it and all. That whole thing was a joke.

  5. Catherine Says:

    Kohei is fantastic to watch live. Hopefully I’ll see him again in 2015. I’d be fairly optimistic he’ll be around for the whole quad. He has hopes of home games 2020 but that is kinda mental how far away it is..who knows.

  6. sanitynmotion Says:

    I really don’t follow men’s gymnastics at all but if a woman did what Kohei did, she’d not only be sportsperson of the year, she’d be sportsperson of the decade.

Leave a Reply

