While we were sleeping : The random edition


An interview with Aly Raisman that makes me like her again. She seems so genuine here its hard to hear the rumors and realize they might be partially true but regardless of outside influences Aly needs to take responsibility for her own actions and realize just who her real friends are.


According to my stats this blog was once visited by the Russian Federation. Yep has a picture of Russia’s flag next to it and says Russian Federation.

Price has her Amanar back.

Inside Gymnastics has their annual Readers choice awards out . Feel free to vote. Nastia is up for best commentator.lol

Simone Biles Simone will get the Kyla treatment on floor and get a new routine from Dominic Zito ( I wonder if he is related to Barry?)

Dwayne Wade does his impression of a gymnast. Too funny and pretty impressive for a 6.6 foot guy.lol

Shannon is honored for never shutting up as she saves the world from fat kids and cancer. Kidding aside its nice to see someone make a difference with a real issue.

Retired Chinese gymnasts
. I didn’t realize Sui Lu retired. What a shame. Jiang Yuyuan apparently had a B-day on November 1st. Awww

And just because I think it is sweet that a little boy knew enough about his favorite skater to know to give him this I am adding it to the blog. Hope the Shibutani’s don’t get the shaft at the Olympics like they have been getting the last year or 2. The Politics of sports sucks.

Shannon Miller Interview

Rumor has it Sabrina Vega is injured again.

42 Responses to “While we were sleeping : The random edition”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    Looking at Aly’s video it makes me wonder and feel sorry for all the girls who train like that and make those sacrifices and don’t even get CLOSE to the Olympics…like probably don’t even make the national team. I wonder how many of “those” there are.

    I’m glad Aly got her dream – I mean how cool is that – I am happy she loves the sport enough to want to make another go of it. I hope Marta doesn’t screw her over but she WAS a Marta favorite so who knows. If Aly is successful in her comeback/no injuries it will be very interesting, to say the least.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Aly will be consistent if not spectacular and earn her way on to any team she makes.

      • gymnerd Says:

        GTT, what are some of these “rumors” of which you speak? Did our Aly become a bitch?

      • gymnerd Says:

        Sorry, I posted this before reading your response to the same question below.

    • Short1 Says:

      @sanitymotion Good point. I’d also be interested to know how many of ‘those’ there are too.

  2. Short1 Says:

    “…its hard to hear the rumors and realize they might be partially true but regardless of outside influences Aly needs to take responsibility for her own actions and realize just who her real friends are.”

    What are you referring to? I feel like I’m missing something.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The rumors about Aly having an ego have been out there awhile since before the Olympics.

      • Short1 Says:

        Oh ok, I thought you were talking about something else.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The reason I wrote that had a lot to do with the obnoxious comments on the photo she sent Nastia and then Nastia made public. It kind of confirmed the rest for me

    • gymtruthteller Says:


  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    I thought simone Biles was getting zito not sabrina vega?.

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    You had Sabrina vega on the brain. Because shes soooo amazing. And should just take a scholarship right now before she loses that AND cirque de Soleil

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    Sui Lu retired – CRAP. I loved her. She’s one of my favorites if not my FAVORITE Chinese gymnast right now. She should have won gold on BB in London. And she should have won gold on floor in 2011 Worlds.


    • Akshay Says:


    • Karlie Says:

      I was so torn at 2011 worlds – I LOVE Sui Lu but I also really love Afan. Regardless, Sui Lu will be greatly missed!

    • tulip Says:

      ITA with you on the beam gold. She was robbed. Watching her cry broke my heart. I wish her a very happy life, starting with a normal teenage life.

    • DL Says:

      When her and Deng’s sheep jumps where shown side by side, it was so clear that she was robbed for gold in London. If only she had a tenth more in difficulty.

    • Catherine Says:

      Sui Lu is not a teenager, she is 21 and at university. She was an alternate at Beijing. Wu Liufang’s status is unclear but Sui Lu, Huang Qiushuang, Deng Linlin and He Kexin are all gone and at university.

  6. Exgymgurl Says:

    Chinese gymnastics is like menudo that kicked boys out at 16…. Except they kick girls out at 14

    • Catherine Says:

      Is that all Chinese gymnastics is to you, a reason to make a dig about age? There is so much more to their programme than questionable morals etc. Please watch Cui Jie FX or Luo Huan BB and enjoy it a little🙂

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        No I love chinese gymnastics. I just think they believe they are above the rules. If all other countries were cycling 14 year olds through and peaking them for the olympics it would be one thing. I think now once you make the Chinese national team they decide when your bday is and how old you are based on need. China just picks a team that has the best chance of medaling regardless of real ages. Im sorry and yes they’re gymnastics is beautiful but it doesnt follow the rules of FIG on age.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Sad thing is even with all the cheating they haven’t had the results. Beijing, yes – that was expected – but somewhat of an epic fail at Worlds 2011 and London. Even in 2012 their showing was not so great.

    • Case Says:

      I’m sorry but the Menudo comment made me lol. You are too much.

  7. tulip Says:

    GTT, If I may- being that this is the night before Thanksgiving here in the US, I’d like to say that I’m thankful for this blog. It’s the only blog of any kind that I read and regularly participate in. I appreciate that we can discuss the reality of the sport along with our love of it. Far too rare anywhere. and being thankful for this blog means I am thankful for everyone who participates here.

    Wishing everyone a very happy holiday season!!

    • Akshay Says:

      Agreed. Thanks, GTT.
      I’m thankful we have somewhere where we can discuss basically anything without having to worry about getting harassed or deal with BS like on GGMB. People here generally are able to disagree without acting like total morons.

      Have a great thanksgiving, GTT and everyone!

      • H Says:

        Ditto that, and have a great thanksgiving everyone!

      • Short1 Says:

        Agreed! And that’s what I really like about this blog. It’s nice being able to have discussions, and sometimes agree to disagree, in a mature manner without resorting to personal attacks.

    • gymnerd Says:

      I would like to add my thanks.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Same here. Happy Turkey Day to all!

  8. sainabou nyang Says:

    Yes! I read on FIG website that Ana Pavlova will now compete for Azerbaijan along with Yulia Inshina who I barely know anything about. She must have been blacklisted by thee Rodionenkos as well.

    Hopefully Azerbaijan has a good training facility.

    • Catherine Says:

      Inshina has had major problems with her back. A Rodionenko press release has stated she is injured and out of shape, as in, a recent press release. She must feel she has more to accomplish in the sport though which is great.

  9. JAS4 Says:

    Dominic Zito seems to do a good job choreographing routines to suit each gymnasts abilities and strengths so hopefully Simone will have an awesome new floor routine

Leave a Reply

