While I was sleeping : My Favorites Things

Preview for Mckayla’s episode of Bones.


With her singing career over before it ever should have began Carly Patterson is now whoring herself back out to USA-Gymnastics. She will be appearing in the Pittsburgh My Macy’s Holiday parade.

Aly Raisman is hanging out with Big Papi at the Kayne West concert. Sorry but this child has clearly lost her mind🙂

Athletes that should have their own shows. This person is smoking crack.lol

Boston Globe has an article titled, My Favorite things. The sports sections list has a few things I agree with so I thought I would put what they said here. (Article will be gone by tomorrow)


■ Koji Uehara

He was the oldest guy in the Red Sox bullpen, the closer by attrition. The man didn’t say much, but there was nobody on the mound to talk to. K-K-K-Koji just threw strikes, one after another after another, all the way to a most unexpected piece of autumnal jewelry for his bushy-faced mates. And he proved that you didn’t need a beard to be feared.

■ 1980 US Olympic gold-medal hockey team

They were a bunch of no-name post-adolescents from Winthrop, Mass., and Warroad, Minn., and points between who had no business beating the planet’s best hockey team. “The common man goes nowhere,” their coach told them. “You have to be uncommon.” So they were for a magical fortnight in Lake Placid in 1980 when Mike Eruzione and his amateur playmates won the most uncommon Olympic gold medal of them all.

■ Michelle Kwan

She was a ponytailed 12-year-old when she jumped into a women’s global sport and made it her own for a decade. She was a graceful and gracious sportswoman who left figure skating’s global stage to become an ambassador to the world with a master’s in law and diplomacy. Diplomacy is the better for it.


I know the sport is dead right now but I am working on a new blog I think you guys might like. The title, Top 10 : Biggest assholes in gymnastics. Should be up by Monday or Tuesday. Probably Tuesday

41 Responses to “While I was sleeping : My Favorites Things”

  1. sainabou nyang Says:

    What does Carly Patterson do for a living? I think I remember reading about her going to college to study communications or something like that.

    • mim Says:

      i thought carly was enjoying being a texan housewife/lady of leisure. she doesn’t strike me as a career type. i can see her becoming an annoying ‘mommy blogger’ or something.

      • mim Says:

        I could be totally wrong on this! she just bugs me and seems the type.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        She married a well off Texas boy from a good family. She was going to college. God knows what she is doing now. I think she would be more of an annoying mommy tweeter…

  2. gymnerd Says:

    Are Gabby & Nastia #1 and #2?

  3. JAS4 Says:

    I am kind of surprised things are so quiet in the gymnastics world right now usually Valentina starts up some new controversy every few weeks lol

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Oh no she did a recent article last week. Its on rewriting Russian Gymnastics. Its all about her big plans for the girls next year. In her opinion Romania is not a big threat, thw US is.

  4. Case Says:

    Haven’t been this excited for a new blog post in some time. Go get em Tiger!

  5. mim Says:

    biggest a-holes currently, or of all time?

    can’t wait for your post!

  6. Exgymgurl Says:

    Bela Karolyi. Marta Karolyi Valeri Liukin MLT Valentina
    bellu+ Bitang for injuring out gymnasts in event finals, john geddert for not fixing jordyns beam, Tatiana Gutsu, Gabby Douglas, Nastia Liukin

    • Karlie Says:

      I’d go with all of those except for Gutsu…what did she do? My understanding was that she was simply subbed in under her coach’s volition and then did what she was capable of. Did I miss something?

    • Catherine Says:

      Gutsu LOLOLOL. I forgot how much control she had in 1992, it being the last hurrah of the Soviets with big pressre and all. It was her decision to lie about Galieva, of course.

      • Catherine Says:

        B&B also had Gogean and Marinescu compete underage. No mention about that, which is proven, considering your beef with unproven Chinese underage rumours?

      • Catherine Says:

        I’m too snippy today, too tired. It’s your opinions I have issue with only and that I am challenging, not you at all.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Gutsu was kind of a joke B+B also for everything you said. Marinescu was subbed out of a finals spot in Atlanta…..Gutsu just beat Miller and well…… b+B are just bad, as are the Chinese coaches… But I don’t know chinese coaches names. I go back and forth on the whole underage thing. You have Chuso, Ferrari, Tweddle and they still compete past their early 20s. I think 16 if paced properly gives every exceptional elite a shot at the olympics. if the age is lowered back to 14 I think if paced properly we maybe get two olympics out of a lot of gymnasts. Maybe if the age limit was vanessa atler is a member of the mag7 and we look at her totally differently and she makes the 2000 team also. I honestly think it should be 14 with everyone on the same page. Im torn, because to me its a shame we may never see some of Katelyn Ohashis mad skills at the olympics. And so I go back and forth. But its a rule and every country should follow it

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Miller was not beaten by Gutsu she was screwed over by her cheating coach and the judges. Atler is the most overrated gymnast of all time and her fans thinking she was so wonderful she would have won the AA or anything if only she had MADE THE TEAM is just stupidity. The best she ever did was 7th prelims and she even hit bars.

        Nothing pisses me off more than Atler excuse makers.

        Atler was not doing AA if she had a shot at the 96 team. She really had no place because her beam was shit and her bars were a joke. That leaves vault and floor and who got kicked off the team would have been either Chow or Borden. Amanda could have done bars and beam and Atler floor and vault but Chow was never doing floor.

      • Catherine Says:

        Gutsu herself did nothing though. Alexandrov subbed her in, because he was under immense pressure to produce golds and she had the better shot. Unfortunate situation yes of course, but the gymnast is never to blame..for subbing in, or for age.

        I would agree with 14 turning 15 that year. Or at least bring it back for the pre-Olympic worlds. It helped Shawn Johnson and Ksenia Semenova for sure, for 2015 it could help Laurie Hernandez, Norah Flatley, and a whole lot more.

        My position on underage cheating is I admit, that I just don’t care. If they are good enough, they are good enough. Not that I agree with cheating or disagree with a level playing field..I am just totally neutral on it? I just get fed up with hearing about it all the time. In relation to Chinese gymnastics, it’s tough to have a conversation about who’s doing what etc. and their gymnasts without age being brought up, and it does get annoying. I just want to talk about their gymnastics!😀

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        He was not under immense pressure. The Soviet Union didn’t even exist when they decided to compete that way to take all the medals. I hate when people make excuses for cheating in situations like this. He had a choice. He screwed Roza who was a pretty damn good gymnast in 92. If they had put their power behind her she could have medaled in the AA. She was horrible after that IMO but in 92 she was actually watchable.

        I don’t blame Gutsu except for thinking she actually deserved to win but her coach is 100% to blame. Every Country is under pressure. His was no harder.

      • Catherine Says:

        I know it didn’t exist, but it was the ‘last hurrah’. He has stated he was under pressure and it makes sense to me, it’s not a decision that’s made lightly. Especially inventing an injury.

        Not saying Galieva was bad, but that Gutsu was better, and that was borne out.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Go back and watch Roza on youtube. I think you will be surprised at how good she looked in 92. Every coach is under pressure. I am so sick of his pressure being more important then anyone elses. The Soviet union was over. Pressure is his excuse.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think lowering the age to 14/turning 15 would give the athletes longer careers on the senior stage. It would be positive to the sport too because of that. It’s hard enough to have staying power as it is, but when your elite/senior career is 2 years max, how are you going to get a following?

        The only reason Nastia had a longer career of more than 2 years was because she happened to be one year younger in that 2004 cycle (not like she would have made the team, but I’m sure she believes she would have if the age limit were lower). Even Shawn had a longer career because she was allowed to compete at Worlds one year prior to her being 16.

      • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

        I remember in his long interview recently he did say that since it was the last time they would be competing as the soviet union there was a LOOOOT of pressure to get as many medals as they could. Doesn’t excuse it but I can see that considering the legacy soviet gymnastics has.

        I never blame the gymnasts in that situation. Its not Dong Fongxiao’s fault she was underage at the 2000 Olympics (and 1999 Worlds) it was her coaches for making that choice

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      You people think you know me so well.lol

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Im just naming my aholes of gymnastics… Not predicting yours

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I know but others were guessing my list and I am doing my best to be creative with this list but it just isn’t happening.lol

  7. CMR Says:

    “I know the sport is dead right now but I am working on a new blog I think you guys might like.”

    You typed “blog” and I think you meant “blog post” but if you are starting an entire blog dedicated to the Top 10 then I wholeheartedly support that decision. I’d read it like the Bible.

  8. Gymbee Says:

    Camp is happening – McKayla seems to be absent.
    Do you think she got a vacation from Marta?
    Also Simone posted a pic of herself, Kyla and Brenna getting their world rings. Must be weird for Brenna.

    • Catherine Says:

      Rumour of slight issue with knee. Tripletwist said so on tumblr, they have sources. I dont see why she wouldn’t be there if there was no issue.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      I wondered if Marta wasnt pinching Brenna and whispering to her to smile….

      • afroette Says:

        hehehehehe My thought was that she definitely said something to her and then squeezed a reminder to smile. That ring is such a slap in the face!

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Amelia and Lexie are both home also….

      • Catherine Says:

        Lexie used it being off-season to have something done to her big toe, minor minor surgery I believe. Amelia..rumours she tweaked/sprained both her ankles but just rumours..no idea. Nia is also dealing with something. And Ariana though she’s not on the NT, she fractured her foot.

  9. Karlie Says:

    I’m actually oddly excited for that episode about gymnastics…now maybe my family won’t think I’m so weird for talking about gymnastics all the time (they all watch Bones). haha

    • H Says:

      which season/episode is it ?

      • Catherine Says:

        I hope it goes up online somewhere. I doubt it will be shown here at the same time as in the US.

      • mim Says:

        it’s on in two weeks, the most current season (season 9). you can watch it via proxy on Hulu a week after the air date, what I do from aus.

        I’m a die-hard bones fan and a mckayla fan so I’m looking forward to it!

      • H Says:


  10. sanitynmotion Says:

    Does McKayla have any lines in Bones, or is she just flipping on the floor?

    At first I thought she was playing the dead girl, lol.

Leave a Reply

