An open letter to the TV Show The Mentalist

An open letter to the TV Show The Mentalist


This is my open letter to the Television show the Mentalist.

Dear The Mentalist,
I have invested 6 years watching your show for the soul purpose of seeing Rigsby and Van Pelt end up alive, together and happy and now I am hear rumors you are going to turn Van Pelt into a member of Red John’s acult? I don’t think so.

Do you think I have spent six years watching this show for nothing? Hell no. I have sat through numerous years of bull shit and no contact at all between these two hoping for the pay out and you seriously have the fucking gaul to make her a bad guy ?

I am telling you this if you turn Van Pelt or Rigsby ( my own personal opinion on what is going to happen) into a member of Red John’s messed up universe I will never watch your show again. I will never turn on CBS again. Hell I might never turn the TV on again.

You may think everyone watches your show for Simon whatever his name is but that is not the case. I always turned into the show for Rigsby and Van Pelt and between seasons 3 and 6 I pretty much watched for nothing since you did everything you could to keep them a part.

So if you wish to keep me and other fans watching the Mentalist you will let Rigsby and Van Pelt happily fade into the sunset,

Love your soon to be ex fans

Tags: , , , , ,

36 Responses to “An open letter to the TV Show The Mentalist”

  1. Karlie Says:

    Oh god I could write SO MANY letters to producers of different television shows being angry that my favorite characters didn’t end up together…It’s like, when I like a couple, that automatically means they won’t end up together, haha. I’m still holding out hope for Veronica and Logan in the VMars movie.

    I love Rigsby and Van Pelt. They better f***ing end up together or I will be PISSED. I feel your pain.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      They better end up happy. I might just go postal if they don’t. KaPOW!🙂

      Everyone seems to think Van Pelt will be the bad one but I wouldn’t put it past the show to make Rigsby the bad guy and send Van Pelt off alone and up-happy but they don’t want to play these games with the fans. I will not be a happy camper if these two don’t end up together, alive and happy.

      There is no reason to make them end up unhappy. Neither are coming back why not make the fans happy and let them be happy?

      I still can’t find out why they are leaving. Do they want to leave or is it the show. No one will tell the fans anything.

      I have been pretty lucky on the fandom front at least what I can remember. Brenda and Dylan didn’t end up together thanks to that whore Kelly but I am pretty sure I quit watching after Shannen left.

      I won’t even go into my soap opera

      • Akshay Says:

        Which Soap Operas did/do you watch, GTT?
        I don’t watch any, or anything, but some of my friends still obsess about fandoms from soaps from like 10 years ago.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I watched them all at one time or another. I have not watched in years except a little DOOL when Jack came back but they they killed him off and I vowed to never watch again.

        My fave were AW and Santa Barbara but I was way too young to be watching soap opera’s back in those

      • Akshay Says:

        Ever watch AMC, GH, or Passions?

        There’s also Revenge and Betrayal on ABC now.
        Me personally? I enjoy Arrow.😛 Apparently ASac agrees with me too, since she posted something about liking it a while ago haha.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I did watch Passions. I HATE GH but used to watch and same with AMC minus the hate but I still can’t watch the actress who played Babe on anything else without screaming at the TV YOU SUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!🙂 Same with the girl who played Teresa on Passions. She was a freaking stalker and she still got the man and they made Gwen the bad girl. Oooooo that show made me mad:)

        I still love Jason George thou. My future husband

      • Akshay Says:

        LOL see Passions was one show my ex-gf watched, and as a result, I heard about it all the effing time. The show sounded like an utter trainwreck to me, and for the life of me, I cannot understand how anyone would have the patience to watch that love triangle for 10 years or whatever it was. Regardless, my ex was on Team Theresa and seemed to really enjoy Theresa’s nutiness. From what I remember hearing, the guy (forget his name) was incredibly obsessed with her too and posessive.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have no respect for anyone that dated a pro Stalker girl

        The show had some normal people but for the life of me I can’t remember any names.

        The guy that is now on Days that used to be on Passions I loved him with the blond girl who’s name I can’t remember.

        My memory is shot

      • Akshay Says:

        Lol, she was pretty crazy herself. That feels like forever ago now that I think about it lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It explains a lot that she watched Passions but I don’t know what it says about At least I didn’t support Teresa.

      • mim Says:

        my friends and I would rush home after school to watch passions. Teresa with her “but Ethan we’re meant to be together!” BS was hilarious. my fave was the bitchy cousin of crazy chastity… Kay I think?

        DOOL is a classic, but in Australia we’re all about our own soaps… home and away or neighbours. but they’re crappy, full of bogans and practically every teen girl winds up having a teen pregnancy. major. eye. roll.

        I love Nashville it’s basically a soap.

      • mim Says:

        Ah charity not chastity!

      • Gymbee Says:

        Mim, “home and away” was big in Norway when I was in middle school and high school! I watched that a lot. After a while I stopped watching though and years later some Aussies I met told me Sally had ended up a teacher! I was shocked lol.

      • Akshay Says:

        See, when I was dating my ex and heard about the Passions storylines, it was when Theresa was with some other guy and Ethan (?) was making a fool of himself stalking her, following her around, being jealous, etc. She seemed relatively normal by Soap Standards at the time.

      • Karlie Says:

        Oh god I used to watch an embarrassing amount of GH when I was waaaaay too young to be doing so. And it’s a soap opera so obviously everyone that I liked together ended up dead or married to/pregnant by someone else within six months. Go figure.

        I do like Revenge though. Haven’t seen Arrow yet but maybe that’s because I used to be a Smallville fan and I’m still a little mad that they didn’t pick Justin Hartley for the role…haha.

  2. Exgymgurl Says:

    That Theresa chick really creeped me out and Timmy and charity and Miguel…..

  3. lol Says:

    I can feel in my bones they are going to make VAn Pelt bad. I will be heartbroken if Rigsby is heartbroken. I want to cry just typing that. I read on wikipdeia an old review of an episode that makes me think SPOILER the Captain is Red John. It mentions how Van Pelt wanted to go to some class and the captain said no than he changed his mind and that made me believe he converted her that weekend but I am with you GTT I am never watching this show again if they make Van Pelt part of Red John. I love Rigsby to much to see him that sad. It will kill me. I like your idea he is bad. That would be a big plot twist. He can be bad NOT sad.

  4. sanitynmotion Says:

    I wish I had time to watch more TV, but sadly every show I end up investing time in and watching ends up being cancelled or tossed. Anyone watch that show What About Brian many years back? Freakin LOVED that show and then they cast Tiffany Amber Theisen (she’ll always be Kelly to me) and BOOM done. And they just left it all hanging too.

    Same with Brothers and Sisters – they should have just fired the writers and got new ones.

    I wanted to watch Revenge but figured it might be having the same fate. Is it good? Did the main girl (who used to be on Bros and Sis) die? I saw on a TV promoter she got shot.

    • Akshay Says:

      I watched like one episode of Revenge and it honestly didn’t really do anything for me. Then again, you probably have entirely different taste from me.
      I’ve heard okay things about Betrayal, which is like right after Revenge, but I have never watched it either. To be honest, I think ABC overloads with one type of genre and then cancels half of them anyway, so what’s the use watching and getting invested?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I watched the episodes where Dilshad Vadsaria from Greek was on it and got bored and quit watching. I don’t know why everyone thinks Emily is evil. They railroaded her father and then had him killed. The revenge sounds fine to me.

      • mim Says:

        that’s when I stopped watching revenge too.

        oh how I do miss Greek though❤

  5. Uglyfatkid Says:

    Holy hell! I’m totally out of the loop GTT. I’m an avid fan of the mentalist, and had no idea what was happening.

    So, both Rigsby and Van (or rather, the actors who play them) are leaving the show at the end of the season? I love them both! I hope this isn’t true.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Not the end of the season the middle of the season. Yep I am sad. They are why I watch.

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        Mid-season!?!?! Damn CBS!

        It looks like the actress who plays Van is/was pregnant recently. I wonder if she wanted out to spend time with her family?

        Has either of them said anything publicly about why they are going?

  6. exgymgurl Says:

    In other news the GMW pilot started filming yesterday…..

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      In other, other news Jordyn Weiber re-stated she’s committed to making a play for Rio (wants to start competing again next year). I would tag the interview but I’m too lazy and I already closed out the window. I think USAG posted it on their FB site though.

      Whee, Weiber Fever!

      I know I know – I’ll still believe it when I see it. They showed a pic of her though and she looks to be in pretty damned good shape. Good for her to juggle all that with college. And she’s taking a Sociology course with Sam Peszek (lol) – Sam’s so smart. Seriously. Sociology 101 as a junior in college. My gawd.

      • Akshay Says:

        Sam could be just like Nastia. Nastia is taking high school level math and I believe first year Rusisan (I know she is definitely in a Russian class) DESPITE the fact she is 100% fluent?

  7. Flippateer Says:

    Jordyn on life at UCLA, her goal of competing in Rio, and her “last-minute” decision to leave Geddert to go to college:

    • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

      yeah definitely not last minute. i don’t think she could get into UCLA in august. that’s way too late to get a roommate and sign up for classes.

      I do think that if she does come back Waller is doing a good job with the training. She’s doing her old skills and some new ones and keep the body healthy.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        The “last minute” quip was likely to save some face for Geddert. Of course he’s bummed she can’t train with him anymore but he should have thought about that before whatever it was that he so obviously did.

  8. exgymgurl Says:

    Actually if you are an Olympic athlete you could.decide that in may or June and yes they’d for you…. especially if she met with waller. and as a student coach, shes probably a huge help to the team….

  9. afroette Says:

    well I think it’s possible. I was admitted to a college and given a fancy full ride scholarship that well exceed the cost of tuition and living well after the application deadline. I was also offered a dorm room though the dorms had long been full. This is a college that was so at capacity they had made a lot of dorm rooms “temporary triples.” The college was willing to do this for me because I was a National Acheivement Scholar, i.e., a stat that they could quote to make the college more desirable and prestigious. I think UCLA would bend over backwards for Jordyn. That being said, whether or not her decision was “last minute,” I think she left Geddert to avoid any backlash.

Leave a Reply

