Marta and Bela celebrate 50 years together, awwwww

Marta and Bela celebrate 50 years together, awwwww GAG ME

In the last few days Bela and Marta celebrated their 50th Wedding Anniversary. They had a big party and a lot of Bela’s favorite pupils flew into Texas (I think) for the party and the only thing I could think of when I saw this picture was really?

You people really want to celebrate this man and the child abuse he has inflicted over you as children? You really want to celebrate Marta and the head games she plays on teenagers like Brenna Dowell or Mackenzie Wofford?

I know Kim Zmeskal wants to be the next Marta but what excuses do Chelle Stack and Kristie Phillips give when partying with people like this?

My next question is where the hell is Nastia? guess she doesn’t need to show up and kiss ass anymore.

I get that Bela is a great coach and motivator to those not being trained by him full time without parents being around and while I understand you need a coach to push you if you want to be successful I just can’t believe how many ex-gymnasts Bela treated like crap actually showed up to celebrate him.

I don’t understand Kim Zmeskal at all. She’s a coach, she has kids would she really send them to Bela if he was still coaching?

Back in the beginning days of Kim Zmeskal’s coaching career the rumor was Kim Zmeskal acted just like Bela but she was confronted by some parents and realized she needed to change her ways. You would think by now she would grasp the concept that she was mentally and emotionally abused by this man and she would move past attempting to still get his approval.

I wonder if Dominique Moceanu was invited🙂

Swiss Cup Results

37 Responses to “Marta and Bela celebrate 50 years together, awwwww”

  1. Gymbee Says:

    Sick. Two words: Stockholm syndrome.

  2. Katie Says:

    I am surprised by Bogi. She is pretty good friends with Dominique and has given interviews confirming that alexandrov taught domi everything for the Olympics

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I’m not totally surprised by by Bogi. In the recent interview someone posted on here, she said somewhat complimentary things about Bela — that he was “inspirational figure” when he did come around — even though she did point out that Alexandrov taught Domi everything. Plus, Bogi was a lot older and mature when she got involved with Bela. She was never a little girl under his thumb like most of the other girls were. Also, she lives in the Houston area so it didn’t take much effort to drive up to Ranch for a few hours. I’m sure she thought, “Why the hell not, it will give me a chance to catch up with all these girls I haven’t seen for awhile.”

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    Nadia?? Teodora?? Dominique Moceanu?? Kerri Strugg? Betty Okino?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      A lot of people at the party are still involved in the sport. That could be why. Kristie is a judge. Kim wants to take Marta’s job.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Everyone seems to want Marta’s job but it looks like she’s priming Valerie Liukin for that, no?

        Watch these bitches band together and go after Marta AFTER they realize they don’t get her job.

        It would kind of serve them right. They all just kiss her ass for selfish political reasons in the hopes that they can be in her position one day. At the end of the day, the messed up kids don’t matter – most of them probably used to be one themselves.

      • Akshay Says:

        I remember reading in an interview that Marta specifically said Valeri should get it.

        I am hoping it’s anyone without the last name Liukin. I would take Kim over Valeri any day.

      • Flippateer Says:

        Yeah, it does look like Marta’s pick is Valeri — but given Kim’s age, I was assuming she was gunning to be next in line after him.

      • Catherine Says:

        Kim has too much invested in her elites. She has like 7 of them? So maybe she’s up for it in the future, but it would be too much of a wrench to fade out from coaching now, like Valeri has already done. Bailie alone would be enough to say…eh no, don’t leave her..

      • Jennifer White Smith Says:

        This “reunion/anniversary party” was Kristie’s brain child.

      • gymtruthteller Says:


      • Jennifer White Smith Says:

        There is a group on fb that started as a way for anyone with a Karolyi to reconnect. Now it’s been a couple of years and it’s becoming less of a “everyone’s included” to “our story is more important than yours” deal. There was talk about getting a reunion together, everyone included. Then it became an anniversary party. Then it became an elite reunion/anniversary party except team coaches were included. The backlash has been that team members (on Karolyi’s teams of the 80’s) were not included (but their coaches were?) and it’s ruffled some feathers.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Sounds like High school trouble to me. Who wasn’t invited that is bitter?

      • Jennifer White Smith Says:

        Class gymnasts. (Not rec class but old school level team gymnasts who were on team when MLR and the others were in the gym as elites.) Some camp coaches might have felt left out but we are planning our own thing. I understand wanting to keep it mostly small so everyone has a chance to mingle and chat. But what was shocking to me was a couple of the gymnasts who have publicly criticized Bela and Marta were there. Hypocrisy much?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You mean Chelle Stack:) So you were a gymnast?

      • Jennifer White Smith Says:

        I was actually thinking of Erica Stokes. She was featured in the “Little Girls in Pretty Boxes” book. I was at the ranch when the book came out. It wasn’t pretty. So for her to be at the ranch, smiling and reunionizing with Bela and Marta makes my head spin.

        And yes, I was a gymnast. But nothing to write home about. 🙂 I was much better at coaching.

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    Nadia and Bart are still in the sport. Teodora is a coach….

  5. Lithi Says:

    When someone has an absolute stranglehold on a program like Marta has, it’s either kiss or be killed. It’s like the Mafia, speak out and although you won’t be dumped in a lake wearing concrete shoes, your career, gymnast or coach, is dead. Utter garbage.

    I wonder if Marta, after she dies, will have her head preserved a la Futurama still giving orders. There needs to be a coup of sorts, although I don’t know who will have the cast-iron balls to do it and succeed.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Nah they might freeze her to preserve her body and place her like a statue inside the training camp so whenthe national team us training they can look at her for inspiration.

    • Tortuga Says:

      Hahaha, if she only has her head she won’t be able to pinch the girls on the back of the neck when they perform poorly. A coach would have to take responsibility of carrying her head around during each rotation lol! Imagine the interviews!

  6. terrigymfan Says:

    For some of these girls I believe there is definitely a little “I still need to be nice to Bela and Marta” or else I’m through in the gymnastics world that is part of this, but as Gymbee said there is a lot of Stockholm Syndrome going on too. Children almost always crave love and affection from the significant adult figures in their lives and want to believe they have their best interests at heart. I think a lot of people who are abused as kids later delude themselves into believing that “maybe this person wasn’t so bad after all, maybe what he/she did really was with my best interests after all.” So they actually seek out a relationship with the abuser, blocking out the bad things that person did to them.

  7. Case Says:

    Was Chelle Stack’s Mom invited?

  8. Lithi Says:

    Interesting. Moceanu’s wedding anniversary was the 4th. I was scoping her Twitter and she retweeted this from a fan.

    “Just heard the song ‘Reach’ by Gloria Estefan & I thought about @Dmoceanu . This song & this woman inspired me to become what I am 2day.”

    Double gag.

  9. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    I have to admit, I had no idea who Chelle Stacks was before you guys mentioned her. So I googled her and found yet another gem from this very blog. If anyone needs a refresher or doesn’t know about this gymnast, this is quite an interesting blog from GTT, including the unofficial story by Chelle’s mom. The comments are also extremely interesting. Another great thread by GTT with excellent comments. And, of course, it made me even more disgusted with USAG and the Karolyi’s but I have to tell myself it can’t be like this everywhere. I’d like to think that today’s elites have it much better with their coaches. I’m sure they’re pushed, it’s no doubt, but you can clearly see how much coaches like Jenny Zhang, Mihai and Chow care about their athletes. Or maybe I’m just being naive.

    • byrdisthewyrd Says:

      Oh and a LOT of the people in the picture are mentioned in the biography/blog!

      • GymAnon Says:

        What a fascinating and disgusting read. Thanks for linking that. And I agree, I think today’s elites have it much better, thank god.

    • Flippateer Says:

      Thanks, I didn’t know either. Off to read your link.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I remember that post – it was a good one.

        I have to believe though that the politicking STILL has to be as bad as ever. The same players are playing the game. Sure, it’s not as painfully obvious (with Bela at the time pretty much being the sole elite coach you’d better believe he and Marta could get away with just about anything), but I’m sure enough shit goes on behind the scenes to equally repulse us. For whatever reason though, there are too many “bodies” or potential blackmail candidates that much of it is kept silent. The coaches know if they say anything their programs are done.

        I mean, I have to wonder about the whole ASac situation, why she went on after her injury when it was so obvious to us at home that she wasn’t making that team. Mihai had to know too so why didn’t he spare her then? He obviously is close with her. I wish I could have known what happened with all that. I’m sure there were conversations between those two.

        I feel like Chow spared Shawn; probably told her if she’s being left home now (2011 Worlds) and with other promising juniors coming on the scene in 2012 she’s got no shot at the Olympics.

        I feel like most of the drama/politicking now is probably more passive-aggressive; in other words no shouting matches with Marta; just a reserved “feel” for what Marta is going to do, and silent reaction. All of the coaches still bend over for her at the end of the day. Sure she will allow them “some” decision-making but then if it goes wrong she sure as heck doesn’t take the criticism for it (thinking of Mattie Larson being the 3rd floor worker at Worlds 2010).

  10. terrigymfan Says:

    BTW, I always thought Kim Zmeskal was a bit of an odd duck personality wise. She probably didn’t actually like Bela’s verbal abuse but I think she had the ability to stand there like a statue and just allow it to flow in one ear and out the other and not get to her. Kerri Strug was the same way. Most girls are not like that – verbal abuse gets to them. Maybe that’s why early in her coaching career Kim thought acting like Bela was a dandy way to treat young girl gymnasts. I at least give Kim credit for realizing the error of her ways and changing for the better (even if she maybe had no choice after the parents confronted her).

  11. sportsfan Says:

    Am I the only one who’d love to see a ESPN 30 for 30 documentary on the Karolyis? I’m pretty sure that’d be must see TV.

Leave a Reply

