While I was watching the Red Sox win the World Series : The Gymnastics edition

Gymnastics existed and things happened. Who knew the world didn’t stand still when I had my mind on a different sport?


Here is some of the things that happened over the last two weeks since I was gone.


Pheobe Mills will be judging Snow boarding at the Olympics. I don’t know about you but I find this kind of cool.

Beckie Downie has a new combination on bars. Pretty impressive. I didn’t see any bad form issues thanks to the angle but it will be interesting to see if she can actually hit a bar routine when it matters.

Leyva has a new vault.

Aly Raisman thinks she is Shannon Miller and is attempting to save the world.

Larisa Iordache won the Authur Gander Memorial Its too bad she could not have performed like this at Worlds.

Women’s All-Around VT UB BB FX Total
1. Larisa Iordache 5.8 15.000 6.4 14.900 5.6 14.250 44.150
2. Giulia Steingruber 5.4 14.450 5.9 14.100 6.1 14.950 43.500
3. Elisabeth Seitz 5.8 14.700 6.0 14.100 5.4 13.450 42.250
4. Kim Bui 5.0 13.900 6.0 14.150 5.4 13.500 41.550
5. Chiara Gandolfi 5.0 14.000 5.3 13.650 5.0 13.100 40.750
6. Shang Chunsong 5.0 13.900 6.3 13.800 5.2 12.800 40.500
7. Maegan Chant 5.2 14.050 5.7 12.900 5.7 13.500 40.450
8. Raer Theaker 5.0 13.550 5.7 13.500 5.4 13.250 40.300
9. Ilaria K&aum;slin 5.0 13.850 5.1 12.450 5.5 13.150 39.450
10. Angelina Kysla 5.0 13.700 5.3 12.650 5.2 11.850 38.200
11. Manon Cormoreche 4.9 12.750 5.4 12.800 4.6 11.650 37.200


If anyone is looking for me tomorrow I will be at a parade🙂

42 Responses to “While I was watching the Red Sox win the World Series : The Gymnastics edition”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    Good for Aly. Although were there rumors abound that she was acting kind of like a brat at Worlds?

    Not sure. Although she is only 19.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Only 19 doesn’t cut it. I do know not everyone can be nice all the time but I wouldn’t be surprised to hear this has all gone to Aly’s head a bit.

      For me it is simple. When we start hearing you are a bitch to fellow gymnasts and think you are entitled to special treatment because years ago you won a few medals that is when you don’t get excused.

      It is normal to have all this attention go to your head. If you learn from it then I don’t have a big issue from it. Certain nameless people still think they deserve special treatment and those are the people you want to get theirs🙂

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        coughNASTIAcough right?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        🙂 I am so glad I don’t really watch the winter Olympics. I can’t believe NBC is promoting this idiot but I am not surprised. Look at the obnoxious they have on that network.

      • Akshay Says:

        She won’t freaking go away! Now she’s on NBC’s team for Sochi.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She’s like a cold. She keeps coming back.

      • Akshay Says:

        Lol gtt, we typed that at basically the same time.
        Yeah I cannot stand NBC’s obsession with Nastia. She should learn from Carly (didn’t think I’d ever say that someone should follow Carly’s example): have a third rate singing career and fade away into the land of obscurity.

        Or she can go replace Valentina at RGF. I’m pretty sure they wouldn’t mind taking her back.

    • Tortuga Says:

      I heard she sent that private tweet to Nastia about the young looking Chinese gymnast but what else did she do that was bratty?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I heard that, and I heard that she was kind of walking around acting like “yeah, I know I’m famous.” I think there were a bunch of girls or something yelling at her/for her, and she ignored them. I wasn’t there though so I’m not going to say this happened for sure.

        Basically I heard she had that “nose in air” type of appearance and attitude, but whatever. Like I said, wasn’t there. When she makes a comeback it’ll be easier to see if she has the Nastia arrogance or not (“I can do one beam set and maybe a watered-down floor and still make Worlds, right?”)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She has no shot at making the 2016 team so if she is acting this way she will be knocked down pretty quickly.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Her comment during the gymnastike interview about how she should have had four medals was something else.

        Hers, Jordyn, and Gabbie’s so called comebacks will be fun to watch.

      • biyatch Says:

        Not trying to be the Raisman defender but I don’t think there’s anything wrong with what she said about having 4 medals… she said that gymnastics is the only sport that breaks ties at the Olympics and she tied and got bumped off so she said she felt like she should’ve had that 4th medal. Its not like she said that she deserved that medal over or instead of Mustafina.

        I just don’t understand why people are trying to vilify Aly over what seems like nothing, oh wait because its Aly… I think it was GTT who said at AC earlier this year she was going out of her way trying to wave and smile at all her fans.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        People have been trying to vilify Aly for years but that doesn’t mean she isn’t becoming full of herself. Like I said earlier until she becomes mean to little kids it doesn’t really matter.

      • mim Says:

        I always take “snobby” rumors with a grain of salt because there are so many insecure people in the world who can’t handle self-assured, confident types and get butthurt at the smallest nothing thing.

        she’s 19, as a teenager she might have had her moments but she just comes across as confident to me. not at all smug just very sure of herself.

      • Flippateer Says:

        I thought her comment about the AA medal was totally legitimate given the tie. It’s not like she questioned the scores she received or said she should have been scored higher than Musty. She only implicitly questioned the rule that tries to distinguish arbitrarily between two gymnasts who received the same score. In her shoes (or Ponor’s), I’d do the same.

  2. Flippateer Says:

    I’ve heard the rumors of Aly acting badly at Worlds, too, and if so, that would be very disappointing. On the other hand, I’m delighted that she is using her current prominence to raise money for important causes. 150K for lung cancer at 19 ain’t bad – much more than I’ve been able to raise for charity in my twenties. 🙂 Most of us aren’t going to save the world, even Aly and Shannon, but the world tends to be better when we give it a shot.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      What rumors and where did they come from?

      • biyatch Says:

        Someone who was a volunteer posted on tumblr (the most accurate source of information, obviously) under the username “party raisman” said that Aly “gave off a snooty “im famous” vibe.” So that might be a source of the rumors combined with Nastia posting on twitter about a text message Aly sent her. I could see that as, Aly has sometimes comes off a little bit JAP-y imo, but didn’t sound like she actually did anything and just emitted a vibe.

        There were tons of pix on instagram/tumblr floating around of her with foreign gymnasts/fans so its not like she was totally blowing people off.

      • Catherine Says:

        She seemed like a totally normal person when we were having breakfast together.*

        *In the same room…at different tables. We could have had a moment at the communal toaster but I decided to leave her in peace :p That said, I’m not happy with the SCS thing. Yes, I think it’s fairly obvious who she meant.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You don’t find it phony that she acts one way in private vs how she acts behind the scenes?

      • Catherine Says:

        Sure, I just don’t really know enough about how she acts. The rumours are disappointing and the worlds photo thing definitely is.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I just smell Nastia’s influence on her.lol

      • mim Says:

        she’s young enough still to be influenced by someone vile. she’s also young enough to learn to get over herself (if she needs to) and not let herself be influenced by others.

        unfortunately some people let themselves go along under someone’s spell well into adulthood.

        hopefully aly realises nastia is, well, nasty.

    • Lithi Says:

      You made me think of an Olympic swimmer from Beijing who won gold and afterword, tried to spread the gospel of the foodie. One of his tweets said something about him trying to change the world, and I thought “Dude, you won gold in a sporting competition sponsored by McDonald’s and Coke, good luck.” Unfortunately, he tweeted that 4-5 years ago and I can’t find it.

      My point? Just because you won Olympic gold a catalyst for world change makes you not.

  3. exgymgurl Says:


    Nastias reaction at 1:50 thinking she lost bronze….

    • Akshay Says:

      Both her event finals (UB and FX) medals were total gifts. I remember hearing she thought Yang Yilin got gold at first on UB, and then she probably thought Jiang Yuyuan got bronze here. Either way, she thought right. Both of them were robbed. Nastia shouldn’t have medaled in either.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I agree but shes an amazingly sore loser. 2007 visas night one where she falls on everything is my favorite competition of hers

      • Akshay Says:

        Lol, agreed.
        Plus we can never forget the fallout of the 2005 AA.🙂

        Also, this is after BB in 2008:

  4. exgymgurl Says:

    Why did Steingruber do such a low rated vault?

  5. GymMom Says:

    Shawn is in Tijuana Mexico helping to build a house with some sports group this weekend. Is she pretending to be enrolled in college? There is no way she is travelling all over the country & going to college simultaneously?? She was pictured wearing a sorority letters on a shirt in August. Only sorority members are allowed to wear the letters of that sorority. I wonder if she’s filming a reality show about her going to college but she’s not really enrolled? Or maybe she’s getting some required credits she needs to actually enroll as a full-time student? She posts photos & talks about spending time with her new puppy at home in Iowa. It’s not like West Des Moines Iowa is close to Nashville for repeat trips home? All the speaking engagements; trips home to Iowa; helping build a house in Tijuana…..nobody could maintain college level course work at the same time. And in that interview in September, she referenced “enrolling at Vanderbilt”…meaning in the future. Some people tweeted back in February that Shawn was going to be going to Vanderbilt. If she’s filming a reality show, those tweets & some more recent tweets about seeing Shawn on campus could be phony tweets from the production company. The whole thing is weird.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      I think she lives off campus with her dog. Flying in for a day and a half appearance is no different than a part time job spread over the week. many college students do that. I worked 25 hrs a week and went to school full time and did not have study time in that. With internet and computers she can sit in a hotel room and probably get more done without the distraction of being close to campus.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Well to be fair, right now is usually fall break for most colleges…so she might just be doing that Tijuana trip as a means for her fall break…

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I think gym mom thinks she went there as an excuse to drink heavily stopped at a construction site and kidnapped a few kids along the way😉. Just kidding gymmom

      • GymMom Says:

        Fall break? What is that?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I never got one of those either.lol

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        We got one; happened around this time of year (well, more like the second week of October, around my bday). It was two days off and took place after our mid-terms.

        Then we had Thanksgiving break and then of course winter break, which was a month long and I stretched it out as much as I could (like literally returned to school last minute, first day of second semester classes type of thing).

        I was in an Ivy school (don’t hate – it wasn’t one of the super snobby ones) so maybe it was just for them? I know Harvard and Yale got them too.

      • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

        The ivy league or bigger schools have those after their midterms are done.

  6. GymMom Says:

    The film project “Chalk It Up” Shawn was involved with failed to raise enough money by the July deadline.

  7. exgymgurl Says:

    Larissa did awesome bars at Swiss cup

Leave a Reply

