While I was sleeping: The baseball will be the death of me edition

The Disclaimer

I have been a little busy with work and baseball. Sorry for the lack of blogging but hopefully this will go on for another two weeks. I will gladly give up my game 7 tickets to win in 6 games so Red Sox please save my sanity and win the damn game. Case probably hates me right now and I don’t blame her because after game 1 I was ready to rant away but I am being good.:)

Lexie Preissman has picked LSU for College. Picture from Instagram. Georgia seems to have fallen and hopefully Lexie can do for LSU what Elise Ray did for Michigan.

Jordyn Wieber video.

Biyatch noticed this blog is linked on one of John Gedderts websites. We should keep track of this for the future because I have been pretty hard on John and his stupidity regarding Jordyn’s beam before the Olympics. If we suddenly disappear from the links on this site we know he reads here and knows he’s an idiot.:)

Gabby Douglas has invaded my facebook. She is doing something with David Ortiz and I had to unfan him to get her to go away.

More proof Aly is a fake Boston sports fan. Who the hell schedules a charity event on the night of game 6 of the ALCS?

136 Responses to “While I was sleeping: The baseball will be the death of me edition”

  1. exgymgurl Says:


    EBee commits to Stanford fall of 2014….

    • Catherine Says:

      No, her aunt has corrected this several times already. She has basically been accepted purely on academic terms, no committing. So it’s unclear if she will go with them for NCAA or cast around a bit more. Lexie has committed to LSU, originally she committed to Georgia.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Hah, you have to have way more than academics to be accepted at Stanford…so what I’m saying is if she goes there, I’m sure she’ll be expected to be on their gymnastics team.

        Why does her Aunt always speak for her – are her parents around, or do they just prefer to have the Aunt be the rep?

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I’ve always wondered that too. Why in the H is the aunt the spokesperson? I have some pushy relatives, so I always wondered if she “appointed” herself to the role like a few of my crazy relatives would do.

      • Catherine Says:

        Probably because she’s into social networking etc. and is a gymnastics fan. I think she’s lovely.

        Anyway, the news is Ebee has an offer from Stanford on non-gymnastics terms. I’m sure she could commit to them for NCAA but she hasn’t yet anyway.

      • mim Says:

        she’d be crazy not to go for stanford, gymnastics or otherwise. what an amazing accomplishment and opportunity for her!

        i know Americans are all into about schools being a best fit and all that, so of course she’s still be considering all her options. but still amazing!

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Meanwhile in Palo Alto…. EBee and Kyla…..

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        THAT would be a kick-arse team.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        And again…. http://instagram.com/p/fqBHWxGcd8/

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    Aw, she’s alive! Figured last night’s win might be a sigh of relief.

    Thank you for blogging because I’m super bored at work and love the opportunity to read new posts. And respond to them, of course. That way I’m typing…nobody’s wondering what I’m doing (not doing) and it’s all good.🙂

    I wish Jordyn would make a comeback (she would have REALLY put a flame under Simone/Kyla) but I know that no matter how many times I say it, it’s up to her. The video only shows her training at Geddert’s it looks like so I’m guessing a lot of it is older. I couldn’t help but think too that the video did NOT do any sort of justice to Rita Wieber…she was either having a very bad day or forgot the under eye cream, not sure.

    Gabby Douglas has to do stuff now because she’ll be irrelevant in a few years – if she isn’t already.

    Oh, and I came across this with Shawn Johnson news:


    Kind of confusing because I thought she was going to college? Vanderbilt, right? Somewhere like that?

    I’m really just posting this in the hopes to cue Gym Mom.

    Yes, I am bored.

    • byrdisthewyrd Says:

      I read an article from Jordyn’s mom recently where talks about being at the U.S. Classic and not having to be a nervous wreck since Jordyn’s wasn’t competing and then looking back on Jordyn’s first Classic competition. At the very end of the blog she says this, “It was nice being a relaxed spectator for a change- but oddly; I’m looking forward to being that nervous-wreck gym mom again as Jordyn chases down her future dreams.” I don’t know if it’s just wishful thinking or what but that makes me think that Jordyn really does have plans to make a comeback. I’ll post the whole blog but that last line is a real teaser, I think. Your thoughts? https://www.gymmom.net/Blog/tabid/88/articleType/ArticleView/articleId/48/Jordyns-first-US-Classic–a-look-back-at-2006.aspx

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Ah, I don’t know what to make of that. Part of me gets excited to read that lone statement but after reading the entire blog I’m thinking maybe she’s meaning that she’s looking forward to being a nervous wreck during Jordyn’s “future” endeavors – whether they be related to gymnastics or not. But she leaves the reference to “gym mom” so I’m not so sure.

        I have no clue what Jordyn’s doing now but maybe she is going to come back…just a matter of when. Obviously something went down with Geddert and she felt the need to leave that situation (just didn’t make sense when she was doing double doubles one day and then the next day she was putting on the breaks). I’m thinking she probably figured she could leave, go to a different part of the country, and “get away with” training under a new coach eventually even though she did claim that if she were to come back to the elite scene it would be with Geddert. His own fault that she couldn’t do that. Part of me really thought that she was going to put off UCLA for another year or so and try to make that comeback with Geddert this year. I think Geddert’s “thing” caused for a last minute change of plans. Just the question is now…now that she’s going to UCLA and has a completely changed life, does she still want to do gymnastics?

        I still say it’s too early to get our hopes up.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I’m always going to hope…I don’t know why. Perhaps it was missing the AA at the Olympics, but I have always felt that she isn’t done. She seems like she has tons to prove still, and I hope she will in the end. In my eyes, she’s doing it the right way…even though it bugs the hell out of me (’cause I want her back now). She’s taking time for personal stuff, yet still in the gym keeping in shape. Jordyn doesn’t seem like the type to just show up an hope for the best (Nastia). She prepares, and only comes in knowing she can contend. She will come in prepared to be in the top 3…or she won’t be back at all. If Jo can’t compete with the “big girls” she’s not coming back.

        In the end, my hopes and wishes will ALWAYS be on her coming back. Until I hear from her mouth that she is completely done, I won’t believe it…I will always hope.

      • mim Says:

        yeah it was really odd. she just sort of slunk off to UCLA very suddenly and quietly, with little excitement or fanfare. you’d think it was all planned out she’d have called more attention to the move but it seemed like she was running away to cali and hiding out at uni. just my impression.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I think Rita means Jordyn coming back to gym. If it was her future “endeavours” that is sort of ongoing in Jo’s life. She just moved to Cali, so Rita shouldn’t have to be a non-nervous wreck now if that makes sense.

    • GymMom Says:

      Not really sure whats going on with Shawn?

  3. Short1 Says:

    Slightly random (and probably a little nit-picky), but I found the wording, “university of LSU,” funny!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Well yes that is what happens when you blog while watching two precocious little girls that expect your attention on them and not the computer.

      • Short1 Says:

        ? I was referring to the caption in Lexie’s post (that you posted the screenshot of)…not your blog post.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It sounded like something i would write I just assumed I did.lol

  4. Lithi Says:

    I’m actually amazed this blog is linked from Geddert’s site, considering he’s a money-grubbing, greedy-ass pig who deserves criticism and scorn.

    Something just occurred to me: he is most likely like a certain so-called “celeb” (with a huge ass, that should narrow it down) that as long as he’s being talked about it’s okay. Even when he’s being raked over the coals. Any publicity is good, that’s what I fear about him. Maybe from here on when he or Jordyn is spoken of, censor out his name or just refer him as something else.

    Just a thought.

    • H Says:

      Do we know anything for sure about what he “did or did not do” do.
      Or is it more dislike because he has an ” interesting ” ego?

  5. uglyfatkid Says:

    Random comment – but I was re-watching worlds and had to ask…did it bother anyone else when the guy commentating for universal sports (I think his name is Bart) would say “twister” when he was talking about twisting elements. “That was a 2 1/2 twister.” Ahhhhhhhh! I’m not sure why, but it bugged the hell out of me!

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Bart is only relevant because of what he did for the US men in the70s 80s and hes married to Nadia. And they own IG…

  6. uglyfatkid Says:

    I just had to say, I’m glad you are alive GTT. I worried for a little while there. I too am like Sanity…this blog is a staple in my life.🙂

    And…I hope your Sox do well!

  7. mim Says:

    good to have you back GTT.

    was reading lexie’s twitter and man she looks like a late-twenties mother of two in her twitter pic. how does she look so much older? can’t tell if its the tan or just the way her face is (which I can’t then fairly snark about as that can’t be helped unlike fake tan).. she just does not look 16, blows my mind.

    • Katie Says:

      I think it’s the tan. She would look a lot more youthful and fresh if she laid off the tanning beds.

  8. exgymgurl Says:

    Lexie and Amelia both look like college seniors. EBee is also accepted at Alabama and deciding. I think shed be crazy not to go to Stanford. Alabama has good academics…..but I still think she would be crazy not to go to Stanford…

    • Karlie Says:

      Stanford would open an unbelievably large number of doors for anyone. I’m sure Alabama is great, but she’d be insane not to choose Stanford.

      • mim Says:

        she’s be cray to go to alabama over stanford.

        surely these girls don’t prioritise the quality of the gymnastics team over the quality of the education/academics?

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Alabama has a great engineering program. And Academicaly is a great school…. Believe it or not

      • biyatch Says:

        While rankings aren’t everything… Stanford is ranked #5, Alabama is #86. There is a certain cache and prestige about being an alumni of a university with the reputation of Stanford, not to mention the resources and networking that a Stanford degree opens to you. Also… Palo Alto > Tuscaloosa

      • mim Says:

        I wasn’t specifically referring to Stanford vs Alabama but more generally about what the gymnasts are driven by when committing to a college.

        there’s something to be said for name recognition though. it matters in particular professions unfortunately.

  9. exgymgurl Says:

    Lexies sister apparently got a dance scholarship to LSU and Lexie was recruited to Georgia under Jay Clark…. So there you go. Congrats Jay. Im sure Danna and Georgia appreciate you stealing her. You are starting to see more and more world elites in NCAA. Aone of the Florida freshman competed in Antwerp for Spain. I think this is awesome, if it happens more. Id love to see more Brits, Aussies, and any other girls with enough english to succeed at american universities compete NCAA.

    • Catherine Says:

      Apparently she was recruited to Georgia after Clark left. Interesting about the sister though! It’s an odd decision but maybe very wise, Georgia are a bit crap at the moment and LSU are on the rise.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        She committed to Georgia verbally after he left last fall, Jay Im sure had started the recruiting process long before that. nabbed her sister for dance, and the rest is history. hes a master recruiter….

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Does Jay now work for LSU? I am confused.

      • exgymgurl Says:


      • exgymgurl Says:

        Jay Clark is dd breaux’s assistant coach at LSU since like a month after Georgia canned him last year. He is why LSU got super consistent and heckuva lot better last year on bars and beam…..

    • Catherine Says:

      Sylvia, she’s a freshman I think. She got the sideways side aerial named for her.

  10. Akshay Says:

    Congrats on the ALCS win!

  11. exgymgurl Says:

    Intersting how the Parkettes website grid does not include Nicole Harris amongst their scholarship winners

  12. GymMom Says:

    Shawn Johnson at a dinner in NYC with Andrew East, a Vanderbilt football player in September. Why does she think those short dresses look good on her? Someone needs to tell her the truth in a nice way, that a longer dress would look better. She chased after a University of Iowa football player, now its someone from Vanderbilt. This guy will use her like the guy from Iowa did.


    • Gymbee Says:

      Or maybe Shawn is using him🙂

      • GymMom Says:

        Its not a dating relationship, I know that for sure. She tweeted about some kind of 7th grade prank she pulled on him yesterday. Poor Shawn. She doesn’t get it. Guys don’t like over-eager females chasing them. I wonder if she set her sights on him previously, which explains why she enrolled at Vanderbilt? That interview about her waiting for an acceptance letter must have been done a while ago.

      • GymMom Says:

        Oh look, Shawn & her parents belong to the #AndrewEastFanClub. Her Dad looks uncomfortable. Who does this? Shawn acts she’s 14.


      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I can’t see the pictures unfortunately (fortunately?) but who is Andrew East?

      • GymMom Says:

        I saw a photo of Andrew East at the Indy 500 from May. Guess who else was there? Hmmmmm. Do the math. She met him in May & voila’….she’s enrolled at Vanderbilt in September. Then her “full-court press” starting with inviting him to the Nick Buonicotti dinner where many celebrities will be & where he will be photographed. She did that with Ryan Edwards too at Iowa. I am embarassed for her. And its funny that Ryan Edwards never acknowledged her as his girlfriend, in spite of her repeated efforts to portray him as such. Its sad. It doesn’t seem like she is a serious college student? I saw her wearing a sorority shirt, which means she joined a sorority. But she travels way too much to get any studying done. I think she met this guy in Indy and she is chasing him. Thats what we did in junior high.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        If that is true, that is scary/sad/yikes…chasing a college dude?

        But part of me thinks it would be really funny if she married him, had his baby, and named him/her South. Nickname could be Suri lol.

        Just sayin’. And then she can have play dates with the Kardashians.

  13. GymMom Says:

    Great series. D’Angelo Ortiz shagging balls balls during BP last week at Fenway. Love this kid!


  14. GymMom Says:

    Sanity…Andrew East is a Vanderbilt football player from Indiana. Same exact type as Ryan Edwards, the last guy she was chasing….good looking football player who has zero attraction to her.

  15. GymMom Says:

    Sanity, can you see this photo of Shawn with Andrew East. He has his hand in his pocket and Teresa Edwards, another athlete at the dinner behind them. Body language tells me this is not a romantic relationship.


    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Yeah, he’s only leaning towards Shawn for the sake of the camera; he doesn’t have his arm around her or anything. Definitely not a romantic relationship and definitely he has no interest.

  16. GymMom Says:

    Someone tweeted this to Shawn.


    • sanitynmotion Says:

      OMG too funny. I don’t know Shawn at all but I guess her good girl image isn’t lasting over there. Interesting.

      • Tortuga Says:

        If you go read that guys other tweets he seems like a crazy stalker. He tweets her all the time about how much he loves her but also talks about her like she’s a whore. Seems really creepy.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Ya I just saw that! His other tweets to her are super creepy.

      • GymMom Says:

        I have read about Shawn passing out at “football parties” at Iowa & Iowa State previously. She kind of has a “reputation.” I saw another photo of her with another Vanderbilt football player…James Franklin, so maybe she tried him out first?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        It’s weird considering her mom seems to be really close to her and have a hold on her of sorts. Then again, Shawn has proven to be their meal ticket so they probably let her do whatever she wants.

        I just hope Shawn uses condoms and has good birth control. Herpes never goes away – ew, ew, ew.

      • GymMom Says:

        She doesn’t have a “good girl” image in Iowa. She has done alot of partying. Thats all I am saying. Draw your own conclusions.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Spill it lady. We want details

      • Catherine Says:

        College girl in acting like a college girl shocker.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Hey I think it’s a bit nasty to slut shame someone like this. If Shawn was a guy no one would react. So what if she’s done a lot of partying, no shame in that! Pretty standard college behaviour.

        Just the feminist in me talking.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I see what you’re saying, and I totally agree – a male Shawn Johnson would be called a “player” but nobody said the word “slut” here. Just that she parties a lot and was heard to act questionable for a girl who’s been signed on by multiple big-named corps for her “good girl” image/brand – I mean she was a Nike spokesperson for a while after her retirement…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I say equal rights. We need to shame all sluts:) Gym Mom is the only one here was a complete negative view of Shawn. I actually like Shawn. Its her life but if she is being an idiot College co-ed she better believe it will get out.

      • Karlie Says:

        I’m with Catherine/Gymbee here – college girl, acting like a college girl. Shocking. College is a time when a lot of people explore/become comfortable with their sexuality, I have no problem with it.

        That guy seems like a major creeper, and what a nasty, jealous(?) thing to tweet. Ew.

        Shawn can do whatever she wants, and she has a right to do so. Even if she is “chasing” him like you say, so what? If she gets hurt, she’ll learn from it, and move on.

      • mim Says:

        shawn can party it up and still be a nice or “good” girl as far as im concerned. just hope she’s being safe or being relatively sensible about it.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I know sanity, and I’m glad🙂
        Just referring to the charged “done a lot of partying” “has a reputation” “draw your own conclusions” etc.
        it must be difficult to have to live up to the “good girl” image. Although like with others, I absolutely don’t think “good girl” and “parties a lot” are mutually exclusive.

  17. GymMom Says:

    Jessie DeZiel just spent the weekend with Shawn at Vanderbilt. So Shawn is enrolled there.

  18. GymMom Says:

    Sanity this will not end well for Shawn. This guy will marry an anorexic-type like Giselle Bunchon. They all do! Handsome football players don’t marry or even date short stocky girls….even Olympic gymnasts.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Well unless you look like Alicia Sacramone.🙂 But Asac isn’t built short/stalky.

      • GymMom Says:

        If you’re a guy & someone famous(Shawn) invited you for an all-expense paid weekend in NYC to meet celebrities, get your photo taken etc, wouldn’t you go?

      • Karlie Says:

        I’m short and somewhat stocky (body type a la Aly Raisman; I was a D1 soccer player)…and dated a handsome football player in college. What is this, the 1970s? Some guys, believe it or not, like a woman with curves.

    • Akshay Says:

      LOL Gym Mom, I think it’s funny you brought up Gisele as GTT is a Pats fan.

      I will never forget “My husband can’t f***ing throw and catch the ball at the same time!”

      Not to mention they haven’t won a Superbowl since he married her.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She is an idiot and the only reason Brady is even mentioned outside of sports is because he married her. Your husband didn’t exactly throw the ball very well either but don’t get me started on that Superbowl or I will have to go find the video that shows the game should have ended at that sac but the refs screwed up the time. Someone made a video on youtube a few years ago that proved the game should have ended at the sac but the umps kept screwing around with the time.

  19. GymMom Says:

    Shawn with Jessie DeZiel from last weekend. Check out the group or should I say “groupie” shot. Andrew East has his arm around another girl & Shawn is kind of randomly in the photo.

    Great weekend! @jessiedeziel brought the good luck against Georgia! Woot woot! #vandy #godores

    A photo posted by Shawn Johnson East (@shawnjohnson) on

  20. GymMom Says:

    And here you go…..from Shawn’s Instagram account…a photo of her with Andrew East at the Indy 500 last May. She met him & then enrolled at Vanderbilt.

    #indy500 #indy500orbust @ttrahan7 @jordyn_wieber @toribronson @AEast34

    A photo posted by Shawn Johnson East (@shawnjohnson) on

  21. GymMom Says:

    GTT, Shawn has developed quite a reputation at both Iowa State & University of Iowa. Reading the guy’s twitter comment about her “doing the entire football team” was similar to what she became known for here. That “good girl” personna is for Nike & her other sponsors only. Her weight issues are due to excessive drinking. Its sad that some girls make choices to make these choices, but its more the norm than the exception. Shawn is not attractive to guys her age. If she is willing to wait a few years, that will change. Frat-boy mentality is dangerous for girls like Shawn. But she is of age & should know better.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I wonder why her real persona hasn’t leaked elsewhere – but then again, I heard the same about Natalie Portman when I was going to college (the Ivies talk) and she has that good girl/smart girl image/reputation, too.

      I guess that’s why those PR people make the big bucks.

      Makes sense that if she’s working out so much and eating “clean,” the reason she doesn’t look like a “total” fitness freak (think like 10% and below body fat) would be alcohol – the fit freaks stay away from alcohol, with maybe a “cheat” every once in a while of having a shot of tequila over ice and water. And Shawn’s body physique does not allow for more than that as a “cheat.” We’ve all seen her ability to get that way (10% and below body fat) as a gymnast – even in her comeback she was very svelte, sporting a six-pack and everything.

      I wouldn’t say Shawn is not attractive to guys her age though – I mean blonde hair, nice eyes and smile…part of me wonders if she isn’t attractive to them “because” of her good-girl image (in general) but then again, what do I know about what college boys want these days. When I went to college all of the boys I knew just wanted to get laid, it didn’t matter really what the girl looked like.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I try not to believe rumors because they start small and turn into much more but thanks for telling

    • allie Says:

      Well, when the “weight issues” you refer to don’t exist, I doubt the core of your story. Shawn doesn’t have a weight issue. She’s a little chubby, but it’s certainly not an issue for anyone but GymMom.

      It is very normal for young women to gain a little bit of weight in their late teens and early 20s. You’re away from home, potentially for the first time, the cheap and easy food is also the food that is terrible for you, and it’s also a stressful time. You’re trying to figure out who you want to be when you grow up. I was a lean athlete my whole life, and I gained 15 pounds between ages 18-20. I’m only 5’3″, so it was a HUGE difference. I ended up losing it all and then some in my mid-20s, and now in my early 30s I’m fitter than I ever was. I run a division in a company, and we’ve hired girls fresh out of college, and age 23-24 seems to be the magic number…they come in a little chubby, and then totally slim down a year or so after their senior year. I think it’s normal, and it bothers me that people are so ruthlessly picking on Shawn. I know it’s unlikely she’ll see this, but I do think that there are probably other young girls reading this blog, and it’s a bad message. Gaining a bit of weight as you figure out your body is NORMAL. It doesn’t mean Shawn is binge drinking. (And disclaimer, I don’t know Shawn or her family at all. She could be binge drinking, but I would think it’s likely more probable that she’s just going through what many of us do at her age.) Just my humble two cents. I think, GymMom (ahem!), that it never hurts to be kind. You never know who’s out there taking to heart what you have to say.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think Gym Mom is talking about Shawn’s weight issues after she retired the first time, which Shawn was open and honest about (i.e., gaining weight for the first time since being a hard-core athlete and dealing with peoples’ reactions, and how hard that was…) She did gain a lot of weight at one point and was “chubbier” than she is now. Was she fat then? No, not at all. But everyone had this perception of her being a little gymnast and that was doubly hard on her since she doesn’t have the body type that makes it easy to hide an extra 5 lbs here and there.

        Since then, she’s been this “fit monster” of sorts and with that comes another perception. Trainers and those associated with the whole Nike fit thing (or any “fit” product, to be honest) typically have very little body fat – let’s face it. Seriously, they eat 1,200 to 1,600 calories a day (max) high in protein and work out at least 1-2 hours per day, 6 days a week. There is no room for error, and their bodies show it. Look at any of the trainers for P90X or any celebrity trainers. No fat – or very little if any. All muscles are defined, even at rest.

        Shawn doesn’t have this physique (which I would say is more normal) and it’s likely because she doesn’t do the diet thing that most of these trainers do. She obviously works out, but any trainer will tell you that diet is at least 70 to 80% of the entire program of having that “ultra fit” physique.

        I wouldn’t put these expectations on Shawn either – I mean, to me life’s too short not to have a margarita here (or a few on Friday nights, haha) or a chocolate bar there, but that’s what these trainers have to do for their lifestyles. Shawn can’t be both (trainer lifestyle and college girl lifestyle don’t typically mesh well), so whatever.

  22. biyatch Says:

    Well, Alicia’s going to have to move again… Brady was just cut by the Jets. I might have been creeping on her wedding website… http://www.theknot.com/wedding/Alicia-and-Brayden/view/8481095284038129/38243683

    • Akshay Says:

      LOL it has the address listed. Now I’m tempted to crash it.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      There’s like nothing exciting on that website but I guess she has to keep it simple to avoid us crazy stalkers.🙂

      At least he’s a cute football player. And maybe he made like a couple million being a bencher. She can always hope her sock company takes off or something. I dunno. Oh wait, doesn’t she have a job at USAG?

      • Akshay Says:

        He definitely made a couple million. His net worth is said to be around $15 million, and he was a first round draft pick, even though he was a total bust. Unless he was reckless with spending his money, he should be fine. Not to mention I wouldn’t say she’s struggling for cash either.

      • biyatch Says:

        I don’t think they’ll be hurting for cash… Brady might suck but he’s been in the NFL for 6 years where the minimum salary averages around $600k. This is without even considering he was a 1st round draft pick and made way more than the minimum for the first few years. Alicia’s been getting endorsements since 2007 and she still is able to have relationships with some of those companies, plus when UA signed her she probably was given stock options.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I will give Alicia a little credit she was smart enough not to tweet, go Jets on her twitter.lol

      • Akshay Says:

        Yeah, quite a conflict of interest, right? From Boston and a Patriots fan, but cheering for the Jets?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        They both probably knew it was short lived.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t think she ever said a word. I wouldn’t call it a conflict of interest as much as I would call it the end of anyone in Boston giving a shit that she exists. Then again she doesn’t really exist anymore thanks to Gold medal Aly. I guess conflict of interest fits

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      How in the hell did you find that.lol I so want to send Alicia a wedding gift when the registry opens. Maybe I’ll sign the card, thanks for putting Nastia Liukin in her place love the gymternet

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        p.s. you owe us a book now on Marta K.🙂

      • Anonymous Says:

        speaking of Alicia & the Jets/living in NJ… as of early last week she was coaching at Northstars… that was short lived for those girls.

  23. GymMom Says:

    When did it become acceptable to get drunk & sleep around aka “acting like a college girl?”

    Having raised 2 daughters, one still in college, I will never consider that to be “normal” behavior.

    Star athletes, whether in high school or
    college for the most part, date slender girls. Whether we like it or not, that is a reality!

    I wish it wasn’t like that, but unfortunately it is. I can’ t stand Giselle or her Ugg-wearing husband. You will mostly see “perfect looking skinny women” with professional athletes too. Some black athletes like women with curves, but not anyone overweight.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      You can hate on Tom Brady you can hate on the bimbo wife but when you hate in UGGS you get banned from this blog !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!🙂

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I agree. It should not be the norm. It might be how it is with some College kids but not all.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I don’t think it’s necessarily the “norm” either but it is prevalent across campuses with big party atmospheres. Just because it happens often doesn’t make it normal or like “everyone does it, so who cares.”

        You still have to own up to having a brain and some integrity at some point. I mean everyone gets a stupid pass but if you keep using the stupid pass you’ll just end up looking…well, stupid.

    • Catherine Says:

      In college here, if you don’t drink you will find it very hard to make friends or socialise. The drinking age is 18. As for sleeping around, you’re basing that on rumours, and we all know that often a reputation like that is completely misconstrued. And if she is, so what? It IS standard behaviour in college. She is not a robot. Is she only allowed be a pioneer in a long term relationship or asexual and anything else is a disgrace?

      • Gymbee Says:

        Same here Catherine. Having attended university in 3 different countries, drinking and partying is definitely the norm, if people want to socialise. Of course you can sit at home studying, but people who do only that will be excluded pretty fast.
        Now, whether that is right or wrong is debatable. But that’s how it is.

      • mim Says:

        my experiences of college in Australia and France are different. yes socialising is centred around going out as the drinking age is 18.. but it’s sort of separate from the university experience unless you live at a residential college (which I did at 17 and got most of the drinking out of my system) except for the occasional event.. as for sitting at home studying, law school practically demands that even at 18/19 years old so it’s not uncommon for people to ditch partying in favour of studying. gosh knows I did. however my incredibly successful artist friend lived at the uni bar most days so it will differ from student to student😉

        In France, the students who drank most where the Americans who were excited to legally drink while everyone else was focused more on good wine and cheese haha.

      • Gymbee Says:

        My professor at uni in the UK said that his students who generally had most success at uni and afterwards were the ones who knew how to “work hard, play hard”🙂

        Anyway. I don’t think Shawn has any weight “issue”, and she definitely doesn’t look like alcohol is in any way ruining her life. So to an outsider at least it looks like she has a pretty good balance.

      • Catherine Says:

        Sometimes the people in the most stressful courses were the ones who went nuts, and I went to a seriously prestigious uni. France, Schmance…they don’t binge drink, they have a healthy relationship with alcohol :p

        I don’t think it’s a great idea to sleep around excessively, but we have no idea what she’s doing. Nothing wrong with a bit of it though, at that age. It’s too easy to give someone a reputation, girls who refuse often get one. And look at the extreme example of the Steubenville case- she was given a rep. It happens.

      • Short1 Says:

        @Gymbee I agree with the “work hard, play hard.” From my experience in college as an undergrad it was all about finding a balance between working hard and still having fun.

        Personally I never did a ton of partying, mostly because of the demands of my academic schedule…it was never more than the occasional drink or two. And it was kinda funny because the psych department at my university more or less encouraged partying (to a certain extent) and hosted several parties throughout the school year where there was no shortage of alcohol, granted you had to be 21+ to attend. And when we went to a psych conference at the end of the semester our supervising professor bought us drinks and everyone was also given drink vouchers (although this was only for senior research teams).

        I guess the point of my little ramble (coming from someone who graduated back in 2011) is that balance is definitely key, and you can still have fun without partying to a degree that it becomes a problem.

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        I went to college, partied a lot, studied a lot, and even as a full-figured woman, got myself some lovin’ too. It’s okay for female students to have fun. And come on, let’s not be prudish, the ladies have needs too! All of these things can happen and she can still study and get good grades. It doesn’t have to be all or nothing. Shawn might as well have some fun now before full on adult-hood takes over!

  24. mim Says:

    ruby harrold verbally committed to LSU also! http://instagram.com/p/fvuMFmsvcS/

    this makes things interesting!

  25. Akshay Says:

    Just a general comment, and this is certainly nothing new, but I think Shawn is going through a stage in her life where she is honestly unsure about what she wants or what direction to go in. Nastia, for example, is pretty much being groomed to be NTC in the future (or at least involved). She has some direction, and it’s in a field that is still at the very least familiar to her. Shawn on the other hand, seems to be completely pushed out of the picture. With how her comeback ended, with her realizing that Marta was not going to take her, etc, I think she genuinely is thinking “what’s next for me” and is having trouble deciding to a degree.

    • mim Says:

      agree – its clear she’s totally lost. she didn’t have a chance to get some of the insecurities out of the way as a teen like most do. however I think she is clinging to the idea that success equals fame in some way. there nothing wrong with not being in the public eye anymore. she might even be happier if she wasn’t.

      shawn, you’re not a failure if you go to college and stop being “famous” !

      • GymMom Says:

        Its not that Shawn is overweight. She wears all the wrong clothes for her body. She is a slave to fashion instead of wearing what looks good on her. My daughters ask me how things look on them & I tell them the truth. We’re all short. I’m 4’11 and there are alot of things that I can’t wear because of my height.

        The “rumors” about Shawn have been verified by people who know her. I don’t think she had any friends growing up because she spent all her time in the gym.

        Shawn wants to host a talk show & open a gym when she’s done with college. I will be shocked if she actually finishes college. She is still flitting around the country. Vanderbilt is not a “party school.” Shawn was accepted there because of her Olympic accomplishments etc.

        Shawn is known as a “bitch” in West Des Moines. She is not nice to people unless they are her “equal.” She is also “nice” for the cameras.

        When Brooke Shields & other well-known child stars attended college, they did it under the radar & didn’t work while they were getting their education.

        It seems like Shawn followed this football player to Vanderbilt, which is never a good idea.

      • utgymfan Says:

        I have to disagree with all of this. I’m from Tennessee and Vanderbilt is definitely a party school. While no they don’t party as hard as other SEC schools, they are still an SEC school and since the school is in Nashville there are definitely tons of opportunities to party. I have several friends who have gone to Vanderbilt who worked hard and played hard. Many of them ended up going to medical school yet they still found time to have fun throughout their undergraduate studies. Shawn didn’t get into Vandy for lack of wit considering I had a friend who had a 32 ACT and 3.9 GPA who was not accepted there. We all had fun in college and who cares if she parties? She’s 21 and it’s legal.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I guess Shawn is just a chubby girl who needs to go to an all girls school and never have any fun what so ever. Sorry I just get annoyed at the expectations being held here. Who cares what she does? She is her own person. She is of age so she can drink if she wants. She is entitled to have sex if she chooses. Yes she should be careful. Linking a tweet from an obviously crazy stalker is not really justifying her having a bad rep or getting around. He is just insane because he will never have any of those women he tweets about. And unless you have pics, video or ejaculate samples I don’t think you have proof of her sleeping around. Sorry I just don’t. There is video of Alicia punching some dude at a party from a long time ago that I’m pretty sure she was drinking at. There were 30 pack beer boxes in the video. I’m also pretty sure it’s safe to say she was sexually active by then also, but no one gives a damn.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I heard through the grapevine ASac slept around too (lots). Before Brady I guess.

      • Akshay Says:

        You know, besides that Evan guy, I have not heard of many other people being linked to Nastia. Many she just scares everyone off.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I would think she’s very intimidating. Plus you got that forehead. I mean her “serious” face makes it look like she wants to kill you. And she thinks she’s better than anybody so the only person that she’d be willing to date would probably be the likes of Michael Phelps, who’s dating a model (shocker) so screw that.

      • Akshay Says:

        I’m sure the fact she’s completely self-obsessed too wouldn’t help matters either.

  26. CMR Says:

    Check this out: http://deadspin.com/gymnastics-robot-is-here-to-ruin-your-shit-1450158374?utm_campaign=socialflow_deadspin_twitter&utm_source=deadspin_twitter&utm_medium=socialflow

    A gymnastics robot! Who wants to give an over/under before Russia/China start trying to enter these into competition?

    • Tortuga Says:

      Saw that, lol! Luckily a robot can never have artistry. If that happens we should just all give up haha.

  27. sanitynmotion Says:

    Another interview with Shawn:


    I think Gym Mom would love this quote:

    Glamour: Four-foot-eleven! you can rock some pretty high heels if you want to! Any style tips for girls who are under 5 feet?

    SJ: I have everything altered. A couple of inches can do a shorter girl justice. We can definitely pull off short skirts!

    She also is wearing some fleece thing (probably the Nike comfy/cozy line she talks about) which I have to question because it doesn’t do her ANY justice but then again, who knows if she knew she was being photographed that day.

    What’s crazy to think about is that she’s only an inch taller than she was in Beijing.

  28. Katie Says:

    Fanisshortforfanatic just translated a Rodionenko interview. He compared vault finals to the 100m dash because there were four black vaulters. He also confused Simone and EBee. And lots of American insults. Those two are both nuts

    • exgymgurl Says:

      That is an awful racist tirade that makes Carlotta Ferlito look like a bad cartoon

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Can’t wait for the Russian fans say it must be the translation.lol

      This is my biggest problem with Russian gymnasts and gym people in general. Skating too. They come here and say all the right things then go back to Russia and act like themselves.

      • Catherine Says:

        Tough to explain it away, no doubt some will try though yes. But internally I don’t see a fuss happening, this was posted on their sponsor’s website, which is telling.

    • Akshay Says:

      In light of this recent Russian drama, I have a great solution to propose that would be highly beneficial to both parties:

      I say the Rodionenkos are fired, and Valeri Liukin return to Russia to become the head of the RGF. Russia can have him.🙂

      • Tortuga Says:

        Cheers to that. But who would you want taking over here? This isn’t really related but what ever happened to Steve Nuno? I know he was nuts but did he retire after 2000?

      • Akshay Says:

        To be honest, I could stomach most people, except anyone whose last name was Liukin or MLT. I’m not sure who realistically could get it who I’d want, but if it could be anyone, I might opt for Mihai or Chow. Both of them have seen their gymnasts get played by Marta (Alicia and Shawn), and considering how close they were with both gymnasts, I think they would at least end the game playing. It would also make my life if Chellsie’s father got it (that, however, is NEVER going to happen). Valeri certainly won’t end the games as he’s complicit in many of them. Nastia? Give me a break. She has rode the wave of corruption and favoritism for years now, so why would she change a system that she benefited from?

        I honestly don’t know who has a chance to get it who I’d like, because I’m fairly certain it’ll be Valeri, which really bugs me, because Valeri is basically getting his reputation off of his darling daughter’s success, while he broke Rebecca and basically abandoned Katelyn (not to mention the McKenzie Wofford situation). I realize Katelyn has lost some of her own drive, but I’m not sure she would have lost it if her coach didn’t suddenly say, oh hey, I have bigger and better things to do.

        So yeah, I personally would like for Valeri to replace the crazies at RGF. Russia of course, will then be dreadful at vault, weak on floor, and have bar routines with pirouette after pirouette. Essentially, every Russian gymnast will have the standard WOGA Stock routine.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I can’t say I’m a big fan of Valarie either but it still pisses me off that as soon as Nastia came back in the picture Valarie did not care about Rebecca. He even had them compete for the same spot knowing that Nastia would get pass after pass from her 2008 accomplishments. Then leaving Katelyn high and dry for “better things.” I was excited for her senior career and it was over in a hot millisecond. Getting your daughter an AA Olympic Gold is special but isn’t it a one hit wonder type of situation? And coaches kids will always go further because they get pushed harder. They can’t really escape.

        I would love to see Chow take over, Mihai is great too. I would like to see a coach that can produce a good combo of power gymnasts with difficulty/ graceful & artistric. But the only coach I can think of that produces a lot of those is Al Fong and he breaks people and starves them. But really the director just makes suggestions and team decisions. He doesn’t coach day in and day out. I’m not really sure who I would pick.

      • Katie Says:

        @tortuga- he was the head coach at Oklahoma, recruited holly vise in 06 and then immediately resigned afterwards. No clue what he is up to nowadays

      • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

        I wouldn’t blame all of Rebecca or Katelyn’s problems on Valeri. He is stupid with vaulting. Rebecca was never going to beat Jordyn in 2011- doing the double when it was tough on her was not a good idea. Katelyn doing it the next year wasn’t good either but at least she didn’t get injured. When Marta is telling you to downgrade vault to be safe for now, you should freaking do it.

        That being said I don’t blame him completely for Katelyn possibly not doing elite anymore. Lauren from TCG was saying on her tumblr the story she heard was that Katelyn wasn’t really liking elite gymnastics and was thinking of not doing it which is why he took the developmental job when he was offered it. The dude isn’t perfect for sure but I think the Rodionenkos are WAYYYYY WORSE. WAY WORSE. Aliya shouldn’t have competed at UNiversaide or done 2 vaults at Worlds with that knee pain. Afan shouldn’t have done Universaide with her leg injury that they knew about. Nabieva shouldn’t be doing tumbling that’s too hard for her where she lands on her head.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I’m not saying he is what caused all of their problems. But I do think he set them both up to peak a little early and upgrade too fast. Katelyn was probably too burnt out already, but damn it she had so much promise. I was hoping she would make it to at least one worlds. Bross wouldn’t have beat Jordyn but she could have had a lot better shot at the team had she not been injured and taken down to two events. The injury destroyed her confidence.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Looking back I have to wonder if Bross would have made it on the London team even if she had been full peak/healthy. Let’s see…decent bars/beam but still not consistent. Aly and Jo were consistent to a tee and Maroney was going no matter what for her vault.

        Marta obviously wanted Nastia for bars/beam specialist, but Kyla would have had that spot regardless over Bross (and let’s assume Bross was going for AA, not specialist).

        That leaves me to say that if anything, Bross would have gone up against Douglas as the 3rd AA’er – both inconsistent but had good D scores and were solid all arounders. We all know who was winning that race.

        No matter what Bross was screwed/out of a spot for the Olympics. Maybe not “screwed” like she got jobbed, but she wouldn’t have had a spot no matter what – and I think Marta saw that she had no potential for getting to that very confident state, whereas she somehow brainwashed Gabby to get very confident to peak at the right time (via prompting domestic judges to give her high scores and ignore her mistakes, so that going forward her confidence would be higher than before and she’d hit).

        Bross going for that bars/beam specialist position was a joke. I think everyone saw the writing on the wall when she came back and stated that was her new mission.

  29. GymMom Says:

    In that interview Shawn contradicts herself. She says she lives in sweats but later says she’s a girly girl with her heels. NO Shawn you cannot pull off short skirts..,at least not the styles you have been wearing.

    Sanity….that was at an event for the Nike Fuel Band recently. She knew she was being photographed, but chose that oversize ugly hoodie anyway.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Yeah it’s like she’s still afraid to “show” herself as not the fit/toned gymnast she once was. I mean, give credit to Aly she gained weight but still looked cute and wore things that suited her (for the most part…I mean we all know she doesn’t make the best fashion choices but it wasn’t like she was wearing a bag).

      Compare the way Shawn dresses while not a gymnast to the way she goes about while one.

      This photo proves my point best, taken during her comeback:


      Compared to this:


      She doesn’t hide herself when she sports a six-pack. Just sayin’. Maybe she’s still having mental issues with her body. By the way she dresses, it sure seems like it. Like she’s embarrassed about herself or something.

  30. sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

    I’m sure Shawn is confused about what she wants to do right now because you know what? She’s like 21, 22. No one knows what the hell they’re doing at that age. I certainly didn’t and even if you do it usually changes as you get older. Especially if you’re someone like Shawn that had such a huge goal dominating your life that you met already.

    Michael Phelps is kind of in the same boat. He’s my age, 28, and has accomplished more than what should be humanly possible in his sport and now he’s kinda figuring out what else he wants to do. He stays involved in swimming and still works out to stay healthy and travels, dates some girls and such but no one yells at him for what he wears (or doesn’t) or how many people he has sex with.

Leave a Reply

