2013 Worlds. Day 1 Event Finals

2013 Worlds. Day 1 Event Finals

8.30 AM on a day off. I don’t think so gymnastics. I don’t have any predictions or hopes for vault but I hope Kyla medals on bars. Yao Jinnan needs a bar medal too.

Start Lists
Qualifiers and scores
Universal Sports

93 Responses to “2013 Worlds. Day 1 Event Finals”

  1. Case Says:

    I want Mac to win the vault gold, just because.

    • Dee Says:

      I want her to win too, Not sure how that would go over if she looses her status as Vault Queen. Wonder if that other girl will throw the TTY?

      I’m super pissed that I can’t see the finals live, I have a massive test tomorrow (comp test instead of a thesis, ick) and of course it’s from 8-12 so I’ll miss the final. At least I have something to look forward to googling as soon as I get out.

      • H Says:

        I want her to win as well. Hopefully is she super focused, and get the job done!

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I hope EFs are as exciting and as good as the AA was

  3. Case Says:

    I hope Simone finds herself back on the podium today. She’s so stinking cute and likeable….that’s the sweetheart America’s looking for.

  4. Case Says:

    Silver for Jake Dalton on floor. Not too shabby!

    Am I the only one awake this morning?

    • Gymbee Says:

      I am here!🙂 I was impressed with Jake! He looked a bit disappointed when he was beaten by Kenzo, but COME ON haha. No one can beat that.

      Come ooon McKayla!

  5. Gymbee Says:

    Pena sits her vault. Quelle surprise.

    • Gymbee Says:

      1. 14.466
      2. 13.466 (Double Yurchenko landed and took steps and rolled back.)


    • DL Says:

      My feed is frozen. Thanks for the updates!

    • Rose Says:

      Phan going now. She didn’t do so well. She messed up 2nd vault and 1st was low. Stenburgen(sp??) in 1st. Chuso 2nd.

      • Rose Says:

        Oh, dear….not good final. The girl that just went messed up vault fell and hurt herself? landed funding and took steps and sat down. She held on to right knee:(

      • Rose Says:

        Simone hit vault really well!!! Maroney might be nervous. They have been scoring close with steps.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yeah, the Dutch girl, Chantyssa Netteb (sorry if I messed up her name!)

        15.933 for Simone on her amanar. really good! no hop forward, but a tiny hop back.

      • Rose Says:

        2nd vault now . Simone hit cold!!! Medal for her I think!!!

  6. Rose Says:

    Poor Pena. That was so bad:( Love Chuso! How old is that woman now? Did she hit 40 yet?

  7. Gymbee Says:

    Simone second vault great! Vault score: 15.595.

  8. Rose Says:

    They love Simone. She is doing well but you don’t always get such great scores at your first worlds. Good for judges!

  9. Rose Says:

    Hong, big step on Amanar. Shouldn’t score as high as Simone!

  10. Gymbee Says:

    Hong un Jong: amanar with a big step. V1: 15.566

    Half on, 1,5 off. Nice vault, step on landing. Together: 15.483

  11. Gymbee Says:

    McKayla sticks her amanar cold!

  12. Rose Says:

    Hong in 2nd!! Wow!!!!

  13. Gymbee Says:

    Good second vault! 15.724. Gold!

  14. Case Says:

    US going 1-2 here again?

  15. Rose Says:

    Mckayla!!! Yes!! Redemption:) Great job Simone!!!

  16. mim Says:

    oh man i barely have 3G so only following on twitter. I missed AA finals and it’s killing me!

    YES MCKAYLA. so happy for her. im sure she’s pleased but bet she’s still hungry for Olympic gold. and thrilled for Simone it sounds like she was amazing on both vaults.

    happy Jong didn’t go for the TTY. mckayla please do this next year!

    is bars up soon? debating whether to wait up and follow twitter commentary or go to sleep haha.

    • Gymbee Says:

      mimi, bars is in 30 minutes. You can get a quick nap in🙂

      I am happy too that Jong didnt do the triple. This should give McKayla a boost so she will go back and perfect the triple!

      • mim Says:

        fantastic thanks gymbee! in that case I’ll wait up. I want to know how Kyla goes, really really hoping she medals. how were Aliya’s bars looking the past few days?

        in all honesty I’d rather mckayla get the TTY than become an AA but hey, it’s her career and dream not mine. hats off to her if she does both.

      • Gymbee Says:

        No problem! I hope Kyla medals too. Aliya’s bars were looking good in AA finals as far as I remember!

        Same here, I think she can make more of an impact. She is only 17 though isn’t she? Maybe she wants to go for AA a few more years. I guess she will see what Marta wants. haha.

  17. exgymgurl Says:

    So cool how simone and McKayla both threw their flowers into the audience after like the guys did. Made some fans day!!!

  18. Rose Says:

    II hope Aliya or the Chinese win bars. Love the Americans, but the others have more creative and beautiful bars.

  19. mim Says:

    hope simone and kyla do well!

  20. Gymbee Says:

    Simone: 14.716 bars

  21. Gymbee Says:

    Kyla: 15.266

  22. Rose Says:

    Love that last routine. They really don’t reward that creativity! Did she mess up anywhere else but the dismount?? Love Kyla, but her routine looks much too easy for her and simpler than the rest who are so innovative. So happy for Kyla though. Another US medal!! Why did Mustafina score so low? all i saw was a little mistake on the dismount?

    • mim Says:

      I read she was tentative and missed connections.

      I’m THRILLED that kyla is doing well. a combo of gorgeous execution and a LOT of key players being injured but her coaches’ strategy worked, lucky for her. hopefully she’s in marta’s good books and gets to upgrade for next year!

    • Gymbee Says:

      She missed the connection after the shaposh. Did an extra circle.

  23. Gymbee Says:

    Thrilled for the US girls. So far between the 3 of them they have 5 medals!

    • mim Says:

      they really are fantastic. i feel an affinity for them moreso than the aussie gymnasts (sorry so unpatrotic), probably because they fight so hard just to get to this level, let alone compete at this level.

      simone 4th on bars! go girl, that’s fantastic for her “worst” event.

      • mim Says:

        shame for yao though😦 I like seeing the Chinese do well too!

      • Gymbee Says:

        Same here. I am from Norway (not much to cheer for there to be honest haha – but I did enjoy the uneven bars medal for Sweden at the Euros!) But I’ve lived in Britain for the last 7 years. I do like the British girls a lot, but my favourite are the U.S girls.

    • H Says:

      Hei Gymbee.

      Jeg glemmer alltid at du er norsk. Ønsker deg en fantastisk helg!
      Og kanskje en dag i fjern fremtid kommer det en norsk … i en finale:-)

      Vel, det er lov å håpe. Tidligere hadde vi jo deltagere i VM, vet ikke hva som har skjedd med norsk turn.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Hei! Samme her🙂 tror det er et lite generasjonsskifte kanskje, etter at Hanssons og Ostad la opp! Men fortsetter å håpe, guttene er jo på vei litt!

        Sorry for the secret language GTT😉

  24. biyatch Says:

    Biggest thing I would take away from event finals today is that McKayla better be trying to upgrade and soon because Simone is gunning for that top vault spot and I would be shocked if Simone doesn’t pull out the Cheng next year.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Maroney needs something better and newer. Bars final was shocking. All three medalists no huge risky skills. Mustafina was divine but did not stick. Im glad kyla medaled… hopefully it quiets the critics that said after quals she wouldnt make finals.

    • Case Says:

      Maroney will throw a TTY in competition within the next year I’d bet. She’ll realize her current vaults won’t hold up for Rio.

      • Tortuga Says:

        The only reason I think McKayla hasn’t upgraded was due to all the injuries. She didn’t have time to learn a new vault and perfect it in time. Same goes to her AA preparation. And no offense to Simone but I wonder if she’s peeking way too early or if she has a lot more in her to stay on top.

  25. nero Says:

    Oh God I can’t with these dumb asses on tumblr. Asking why Aliya didn’t file an inquiry, she was totally robbed etc. And they cannot comprehend why Kyla had a higher e score. BECAUSE HER EXECUTION IS BETTER YOU DOLTS. Even if Aliya did all her connections I still think Kyla should have beat her, she was just better today. Can you imagine if Yao hadn’t fallen? Aliya would have been off the podium. The meltdown would have been Biblical!

    And yes, people are talking shit about baby Kyla.

    Very disappointed Hong won bronze over Giulia Steingruber. I thought her vaults were sloppy, especially her 2nd one. And the fact she was 2-3 tenths close to Simone and Mckayla was a joke.

    So happy for Mac and Simone, well deserved. Mckayla knows how close Simone is to her and that she will upgrade, Mac will too.

    And I’m really happy Hong and Aliya didn’t throw the TTY. One, because they would have killed themselves and second because there are a few certain people out there who were cheering for them to throw JUST so it wouldn’t be named after an American.

    • Gymbee Says:

      Nero, that’s horrible, no idea people didn’t like Kyla. Aliya missed connections and were hesitant on some turns. Easy as.

      I’m thrilled Hong didn’t do it. When it’s done, I want someone to do it that can control it perfectly, not something chucked and sloppy. I think Steingruber was more precise than Hong too.

      I thought it was confirmed though that Aliya never trained it, but there was some translation error, and Rodionenka was saying she did a triple Y-turn?

    • tulip Says:

      Nero- thank you about the bronze vault comments. I couldn’t agree more. Hong got a 9.233 E on 1st vault? She took a minimum of 3 steps on the landing and nearly fell. She shouldn’t have had a 9 anything on that vault. Guilia was robbed. Her vaults were technically proficient and pretty to watch. Had she been anything than 1st competitor, I think she would have had the bronze.

      General thoughts-

      Again, Pena and that awful vault. Why do they encourage her by giving her credit? Her E score should be a maximum of 5 but I’d prefer a big fat zero.

      Musty was either hurting or mad. Or both. Regardless, she’s gotten on the podium in both of her events so far which is a very worthy accomplishment.

      Simone is hot on McKaylas heels with the vault. Simone is such a great example that you can be incredibly good at something and have fun doing it. She looks like she just loves everyone and everything involved with her sport. And she’s cute as she could be.

      All 3 UB routines showed that good form counts for something.

      Anyone know what happened with the men’s rings/Brandon Wynn inquiry rejection? It seemed like it might have been filed too late. On the feed it sounded like his coach said “I didn’t get it” then it got rejected. Anyone have more info?

      great morning of gymnastics and looking forward to tomorrow.

      • Rose Says:

        I love Simone’s vaults and she does them with such power but being nit picky, I wish she would not cross her legs!! Does being shorter make it easier or harder to vault? I never noticed how much shorter she is than all the other gymnasts until they were all standing together before bars finals:)

      • Jessica Says:

        Uncle Tim has a great little recap of what went wrong with Wynn’s rings. http://uncletimtalksmensgym.blogspot.com/2013/10/2013-world-championships-on-brandon.html

        On the men’s side, Jake Dalton was robbed on floor, imo. The gold medalist had higher difficulty, but Jake stuck most of his landing and didn’t look sloppy. I also thought it was kind of shitty that before the score was even posted, this kid and Kohei were posing for pictures throwing up number 1 and 3 signals. How cocky!

        Anyways….if anyone on here remembers me, I am not a Kyla fan. Good for her that she’s doing well, but I am just not impressed with her. Personal preferences, I guess. LOL
        In my heart of hearts, Shannon Miller will always be example I measure US gymnasts against.

        But Simone….I am blown away by her. I too hope she isn’t peaking yet. And if she continues to dominate, that’s a true life movie I’d pay to watch.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Jessica, I thought that was extremely cocky as well. At least wait to do 1 and 3 hand signals till the scores are in. I thought it was disrespectful.

    • Tortuga Says:

      Yes, Aliya stans on tumblr can be just down right mean if she doesn’t win. They want to make excuses for her mentioning she’s in pain and has been sick. I’m not disagreeing, but Kyla appears to be sick as well. I’ve noticed the camera caught her coughing and sniffling during competition. She’s also been battling her heel issue all year. Everyone has battled through something I’m sure. I liked Aliya more before I started frequenting tumblr.

  26. Rose Says:

    Maroney just said in an interview that before she leaves the sport she wants a skill named after her. She said this after being asked about vault upgrades.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      So nasty congratulates Simone and mckayla….. And just can’t stand that someone else medaled on bars. And no tweet for Kyla her fierce five replacement.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        How rude but expected.

      • Dee Says:

        wow. she probably didnt even watch the bar finals.

      • mim Says:

        I found it interesting/funny that during vault and bar finals mykayla skinner was retweeting people saying how great she was instead of cheering on her national teammates. i know she’s definitely not obligated to cheer them on and random fans (i.e ME) shouldn’t expect that, but retweeting comments about how great you are at the same time just ain’t classy.

      • Gymbee Says:

        And retweeting someone who says “you do it better anyway” (the Moors), after she says she was ok with not getting it named the Skinner haha.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      She also said she was close friends with izbasa.

  27. EliteFan Says:

    Interview with McKayla:
    “[some people] thought it was one of those fake-y comebacks because a lot of gymnasts have done that” … Hahaha love it!

  28. Case Says:

    Gotta tell you GTT, the Red Sox look like they’re in a class of their own in the ALDS games.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I will admit they do look good but the Rays are our enemies and this team knows after the last 2 years we will not forgive them if they do not give their all against this team. The Sox have a way of making it look really easy only to turn it around and make it look really really hard. I feel like screaming during all these games .lol

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Your team has better pitching and a better middle of the line up. I think our later guys are better hitters but you know you win World Series on pitching and Lackey being our second guy scares the crap out of me. Uehara is amazing.(Closer)

      • Case Says:

        Ehh…not so sure. We have two exceptional starters in Scherzer and Sanchez. If Verlander pre-2013 shows up for the playoffs he will help us too. Fister is fine as the 4th starter. Our bullpen besides the closer is not great.

        We’ve had a big problem scoring runs. Doesn’t matter how good our pitching is if we can’t score. Miggy is hurt and battling a groin injury. He’s basically been a singles hitter since late August. If we progress through the playoffs it’ll be on the backs of Torii Hunter and Victor Martinez, two veterans hungry for a ring.

        I hate Oakland. They are scrappy as hell and those types of teams are dangerous in October.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am confused by your comments about the pitching because it sounds like we agree. Your pitching is better. We have Clay who is amazing but everyone else pretty much is hit or miss and I don’t trust them.

        We have the same bullpen as you. UEHARA is the most amazing man ever but everyone else, hit or miss.

        Our hitting line up outside Papi and Pedroia’s is pretty good and all unknown and not given enough credit. Even our no names like David Ross tonight I like but like I said, pitching wins titles.

        We will see.

        I forgot about Martinez being on your team. He was here a few years ago and I love him. I wanted him to stay in Boston and he loves to kill us.

        I agree about Oakland. Scrappy little group on pains in the butts. Josh Reddick, played here. Jed Lowrie, played here (was amazing when he wasn’t hurt which was 80% of the time. Funny how he is never hurt in Oakland) COCO CRISP, LOVE him but will have to hate him if we play him. ( I am still team Coco over Gomes the punk who now plays for Boston. He played for Tampa and there was a brawl and he was sucker punching Coco while 5 other Rays players were on top of him. It was bush league so I have been team Coco since then and I was pissed when we signed him. I still hate him even when he hits:) Brandon Moss, played here. Those are the names off the top of my head (We stole money ball from Oakland:)

  29. Case Says:

    I like our starting pitching but after watching you beat up Price tonight I think we might be a touch overrated. I’m really, really worried about our bats. Gotta score more runs. Especially off rookie pitchers in their first postseason appearance…yes I’m looking at you Sonny Gray.

    Crazy how many As played for Boston! I knew a few of them did but you listed a ton. The only A I like is Coco…who doesn’t like Coco?

    We are ready for another ring in Detroit. Last one was in 84. I’d also like to see them win it for the owner, who is super old and frail. That guy opened up his checkbook for the city of Detroit when no one else would and I’d like to see them win before he dies.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      A lot of people didn’t like Coco the player but the person? everyone loves him oh and don’t worry about my Sox and hitting. If they hit these many times against the evil devil rays we won’t hit against the tigers until game 4.lol

      Price was due to get his ass kicked.

Leave a Reply

