2013 Worlds prelims thoughts day 1

2013 Worlds prelims thoughts day 1

AA after first 2 subdivisions

First I would like to thank all the people who gave scores and updates this morning especially DL. I was reading along with all of you this morning while I was supposed to be working. I couldn’t post because I forgot to approve my comments before I left. A Typical me:) I guess I could have signed into wordpress but it wasn’t my phone and I didn’t want anything compromised so I didn’t. Not that the boy would have done anything but I just thought it would be better.

The good news is tomorrow I called in sick to work so I will be home though I am not sure I will be up.

Okay back to the gymnastics.


Since you all know what happened I won’t bother with the specifics I will just get to my opinion.

I thought Kyla did a great job this morning considering the situation she was put in. According to Marta she expected better execution scores for Kyla and while I agree her bars deserved better execution (Form issue on the Van Lewen. Missed handstand after the Van Lewen) and beam I was thrilled beyond belief with her floor score. It was way more than I expected her to get at Worlds. I won’t say that Kyla was robbed but I really think she was underscored just not by as much as everyone else thinks.

I look at Huang Huidan’s UB score and wonder what the judges were smoking to score this the same as Kyla. She is extremely messy and while Kyla wasn’t perfect she was light years ahead of this. As for beam I also think Kyla deserved better but gymnastics has been this way for years with the execution scores. If you do more difficulty they excuse your mistakes and sadly this is a lesson not learned by Kyla yet. is it fair? HELL NO but it is what it is. The real problem I am going to have is if the judges get easier on the gymnasts in tomorrow’s subdivisions and it screws Kyla out of a shot at beam finals. Overall I could not be more thrilled that she is not only in the lead over Yao Yinnan )who even with the fall should have been behind Kyla) but that she is top 2 on all 3 of her events.

I have not seen much of anyone else except the Chinese gymnasts and Rodionova but it seems like the scoring was tight all around and as long as it stays this way through all of tomorrow’s competition I will deal with it. Scores are placeholders and if Kyla is only capable of a 8.733 uneven bar execution score I hate to see what Simone and especially Mckayla will be getting.

Now we have to talk about Marta’s mouth in this uneven bar video. I don’t know about you but I loved it. I love her opening her mouth and being shown to be the idiot we all know her to be. Intlgymnast magazine even tweeted the link according to someone that sent me an e-mail.

A reminder to anyone that wants to post. You need to send me an e-mail with a real e-mail address and a facebook link to your profile to prove you are you. (The facebook page has to have been around a long time since everyone has facebook) I will never give out the information I just need it for proof


16 Responses to “2013 Worlds prelims thoughts day 1”

  1. Case Says:

    I’d agree that as long as the scoring remains consistently tight through all subdivisions, I’m good with it.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Now we just have to hope they actually do it. You know Mustafina will get these ridiculous scores.

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    Ditto, ditto, ditto.

    Given the tight E scores I actually think it should be tight between Kyla and Simone; where Simone gets points for D scores she lacks the finesse for higher execution marks. So Kyla’s lower vault score should be made up with her bars (over Simone’s) and Simone’s higher floor score should be made up with Kyla’s beam (over Simone’s). Not sure that made sense, but my gist is that the AA should be close between Kyla and Simone. But we’ll see. I really don’t see McKayla being much of a factor in the AA unless Simone falls. I can see Simone falling in the finals though vs. the quals (I know, I’m horrible).

  3. Dee Says:

    Soooo along with Shannon Saves the World and STFU Sam you need a segment called “Marta’s Mouth”, GTT. That video made me LOL, I’ve watched it a few times today. Could you imagine the tension on the sideline between coaches? Especially if Marta is walking around making snide comments like “cute baby”. Ahahah. God I love this bitchy sport.

    I am actually going to drag my ass up tomorrow morning and watch the prelims while I study. I sort of can’t wait, haha. I am more excited for this competition than I was for London.

    I do have to agree with the Marta interview, however. If Kyla is getting 8’s on execution, WTF will the rest of the world get? Kyla has been one of the cleanest gymnasts I’ve seen in my lifetime, even when she was a junior she made me sit up and watch.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Maybe I should just write a blog that says, Only I can talk since everyone else needs to shut up.lol

      • Dee Says:

        ahahha, that could work, too.

        I am secretly hoping more “Marta’s Mouth” videos surface. Wonder what she has to say about Musty.

      • Akshay Says:

        Probably something about how she can’t pirouette or do a pak salto like her princess Nastia could.

    • Gymbee Says:

      Haha I loved it, I wonder what USAG thinks with her admitting to snide comments like that! (Well not really admitting since she didn’t know.)
      But still, hahaha!

    • Case Says:

      “God I love this bitchy sport.”

      Me too! The sideline drama just adds an entirely different level of entertainment. And “cute baby” is hilarious to me. Distasteful, but this is Marta we are talking about.

      As much as I despise Marta, I’m pretty sure the Russians and Chinese talk all kinds of shit too, we just can’t translate it.

  4. DL Says:

    I love Marta being caught on tape being an ass. The whole passive aggressive “cute baby” stunt is a pretty lame thing to say to a girl on another team–smacks of a poor sport attitude. True colours.

  5. uglyfatkid Says:

    Just realized Kyla doesn’t do a combination pass..is that not required in this code of points? If so I must have missed that.

    Thank you everyone who posted today, your posts saved me today since I’m stuck at work. Damn work.

  6. mimi Says:

    if the judges are consistent then i can stop being mad at them. im still fairly new to watching so their BS gets me every time.

    excited to watch tonight! really hoping both girls bring it because i want simone in the final and i like mckayla and wouldn’t want her replacing brenna to be all for nothing.

    i wonder how judges would have scored brenna if kyla’s E scores were mid 8s..

  7. Brouhaha Says:

    Guys, I am so worried about McKayla. I really love her as a gymnast, and while I do want to see her grow into an AA gymnast, I don’t think she’s ready to perform bars/beam at WORLDS. Maybe if she had done AA at classics and nationals, I’d feel better, but Martha is setting her up for potential failure by shoving her onto events she’s not ready for. McKayla is set to rock vault and floor, and possibly take home two gold medals

  8. Jennifer White Smith Says:

    There is a lot of “poor Brenna” chatter on fb. Even Kathy Johnson made this speech about dignity and character. yawn. Is it me or does this seem, dumb? Kyla was the alternate for Gabtastic who was horrible in event finals. Gymnasts serve their time.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Poor Brenna yes but she’s in a sport where this kind of thing is commonplace. If everyone wanted to make a difference they’d do something about Marta but nobody does they just cower to her and she has ultimate supremo power so it is what it is.

      When someone finally has enough balls to step up and say something and get a crew together to out this regime I will be happy but I don’t think that will ever happen. Andy Memmel was the closest to saying something about it but at the end of the day he shut up because USAG was paying his daughter off, and he had a club/reputation to protect.

      At the same time, even if Brenna had competed bars/beam I doubt she would have made any finals. Even so, Marta made the decision I’m guessing thinking that McKayla was the best insurance against a Simone headcasing disaster.

Leave a Reply

