Mai Murakami

Sorry but Mai deserves her own blog for this lovely performance. I love this little girl not for just the amazing gymnastics but because she makes me smile. How many gymnasts make you smile? For me it was Jiang Yuyuan and Mai with this floor routine.

Great routine even a bit underscored. I hope it makes finals. I will be back with my opinion on day 1

14 Responses to “Mai Murakami”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    I thought she was outrageously underscored. If her name were Mustafina her score would be high 14s/low 15s. She reminds me of Shawn Johnson circa 2007.

    And I mean the ending/her reaction…I would have given her an added tenth bonus just for that.🙂

  2. exgymgurl Says:

    Marta is so funny. I think all Kyla really needed to do big picture is impress Marta Karolyi. I think she has accomplished that. She delivered four routines better than London last year. She makes a good case for a Longines prize if she doesnt win the AA which would be a coup in itself for team USA because it would be a first I believe.

    • Akshay Says:

      LOL, didn’t Shawn get the Longines though? I’m pretty certainly she did.

      • Akshay Says:

        *certain. Also, I wasn’t laughing at you (sorry if it came off that way), I was cracking up because the award is for elegance I believe, and while I like Shawn… elegance isn’t something I associate with her.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The awards is not always given to gymnasts with artistry. I am pretty sure Carly won it in 2oo3

      • Akshay Says:

        Seems like Nastia got it too actually. But if Carly got it, then that confirms it.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        When did they give it to Nastia?

      • Akshay Says:

        I’m confused because I read in a few places that Nastia and Carly got it too, but Nastia’s wiki page says she was a Longines Sports Ambassador of Elegance, so I’m not sure now.

    • Dee Says:

      When I saw Kyla today in the leo with the lipstick and that floor routine I instantly thought Longines award. Porgras also won it.

    • mimi Says:

      marta did sound suitably impressed with kyla, and rightly so. i really hope kyla has marta in her corner because with that there’s just no stopping her.

      she didnt sound too convincing when talking about brenna i must admit.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I think in order to be successful in USAG you need one of two things:
        1: Marta backing you/being a Marta favorite
        2: Being so good you leave no other choice for Marta

Leave a Reply

