The In-between blog

I am going to post a blog later for the first day of the women competing but I wanted to put something ” in between” while I worked on it. As soon as the new blog is up please discuss all results and opinions of the first day of women’s competition in there. I will be at work tomorrow and if someone could please update Kyla’s performance for me it would be greatly appreciated. I got rid of my phone awhile ago and am taking my boyfriends to work with me tomorrow so I can see how she did.


So lets get started.


Here are the start lists for the next two days of competition.  Kyla’s first event is vault. She is up 4th in her rotation. She is up second on bars in her second rotation. Up second on beam in her 3rd rotation and first on floor in her last rotation. Other names I recognize are Sanne Wevers, Kaitlyn Hofland, Siqi Zeng, Huang Huidan, Maegan Chant and Alina Stanila who I only know from the other day. I need to go watch her on youtube.

I expect Kyla to have one of the top 2 on vault, bars and beam and at least top 3 on floor to have any chance being relevant in the AA discussion of this competition. Siqi is amazing when she hits on beam and Sanne Wevers has a decent start value too. I am assuming that Alina Stanila is decent on floor and the North Koreans are always someone to watch when you don’t know their names. There might also be some French girl with a routine we might find out about too. You just don’t know.


Watch this gif and figure out why there is no way in hell that Moors gets this named after her. It is not even close to being laid out.


The US men have done pretty well on day one of competition with Sam in second place 2 points behind gymnastics personified, Kohei Uchimara. Kohei is everything this sport dreams of being but sadly no one else in men or women’s gymnastics got that memo. He amazes me more and more every time I see him.

Brandon Wynn is leading rings. Dalton had some messy vaults and hops on floor and is in danger of not making either event finals depending on who does what tomorrow.Fabian Hambuechen is in sixth in the AA but set up to make some event finals (High bar)

35 Responses to “The In-between blog”

  1. exgymgurl Says:

    Poor Mr Hollie Vise. I cant wait to see Kyla.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Mr Hollie Visewill see no event final. I want Legendre to fall on his ass twice:)

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    I still don’t understand why quals are spanned over 2 days for women.

    At least it looks like Kyla will have a good amount of rest between beam and floor…I hope. I have to admit I don’t like her rotation.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Her rotation I can live with its her subdivision I want to strangle. At least poor Ziqi and Huandun are stuck there with her. I hope they don’t all get lowballed.

  3. sainabou nyang Says:

    Sam did very well. Big improvement from last year.
    I heard Jack has an injury that he’ll have surgery on after worlds.
    Still waiting fr Zanetti to compete but the Us could possibly medal on Rings.

    OMG I am praying Kyla hits to the best of her abilities. Earlier I was rooting for musty to win, but really my attitude is may the best gymnast win.

  4. Flippateer Says:

    hey GTT,

    I posted a comment on the last blog with some video clips of Kyla’s Amanars, and it says “awaiting moderation” – is this because my comment had multiple links? Thanks.

    On this blog – yeah, I’m also nervous about Kyla being in the first subdivision given her low SV. Of the three Americans, I think Simone is probably best positioned to be in the first subdivision. Stupid question: I assume that the coaches can only enter one gymnast per subdivision? If the first subdivision is bad due to score deflation and there are only three Americans, then why not enter them in 2, 3, and 4?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I can’t find it but I will look again.

      • Flippateer Says:

        Thanks it’s posted at 10:20 PM blog time. Let me try posting it here and see if it goes through – if not, I suspect there’s some sort of restriction on posting multiple links?

        Looking back at Kyla’s 2012 Amanars, though, I can see why Marta might have told her to switch back to the DTY:

        Olympic Trials Day 1, E score 8.000:
        Classics, E score 8.800:
        Kellogg’s, E score 8.350:

        Now when she could hit the Amanar, it was gorgeous, as here in 2012 PT:

        … but all things considered, she was scoring as high or higher with a DTY than with the Amanar in 2012 (total score here 15.250):

        She actually seems to have had better luck with the Amanar in 2011, with E scores over 9.000 at least.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I still can’t find it from earlier but I approved this one. Yes more than one link is a word press no no.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        The fact she was hitting amanars at Trials but was having difficulty during competition the next day tells me her issue is all mental, none physical like some have stated to believe (with the growth spurt).

        Now we all know where most of the mental hang-ups originate from.


      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Need to add here the commentary “was told by Marta not to go with the more difficult vault…”

        ‘Nuff said.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        The countries got their spots by draw. Then they pick who to assign them to. I dont really think it matters except Kyla gets more rest.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        They say the sdame thing is skating yet Kwan was always first.:)

  5. Flippateer Says:

    …yes, it again says, “Your comment is awaiting moderation” on this post, so it looks like too many links are a no-no.

  6. exgymgurl Says:

    Im not worried about Kyla being in SD1. I dont think judges scores build anymore except in NCAA. Especially now with 3 up 3 count and predetermined D scores….I also think there is no way McKayla makes AA finals. I think she falls.

  7. Rose Says:

    Changing topic a bit, but I had a question. I was watching Mckayla’s floor routine from podium training and wondering whose idea it was to change the dance from when she was originally training it at the ranch before Classics. I think the choreography was so much more interesting and had actual dance and now it looks like more poses and jumps and less dance. In my opinion, the original was better.
    I’ve noticed this before. Who decides to make these subtle changes that affect the overall flow and look of the routine.
    See if you notice the changes.

    • Dee Says:

      I thought she changed dance too but I thought I was just being crazy!! It could be an endurance thing….too much dance with the harder tumbling might have been too much? Either that or it had to have been Marta…for reasons no one would understand. Haha

      • Rose Says:

        Hello, Dee…. Yes, perhaps it is due to endurance. I don’t see why she would have had to take out the little Aliyesque moves after she is already on the floor but I think it is because it is sassy and Marta must keep anyone from even appearing a bit rebellious even in a dance move.

    • H Says:

      The first one is made by a choreographer, the second version is most likely adjusted by them (Mckyla, Marta etc) or the choreographer without any sleep for three weeks or so. The reason is due to endurance. The second version is, well how to say it in a nice way, i don`t know:-(

  8. Dee Says:

    Not gonna lie, kinda excited about sam and Brandon. Would be awesome to see someone from the USA come home with a medal on rings. Personally, if I got second behind Kohei I’d consider myself the champion haha because he is untouchable and to be second to him would be pretty great. God I can’t imagine if he wins again…so crazy!! Would be out of this world if he won all the world AAs in this quad too.

  9. Rose Says:

    I guess the changes are very slight, but I thought the original had more sass…perhaps Marta doesn’t like sass:)

    • Dee Says:

      It’s funny you mentioned it because I thought the current routine has less sass, too. It had to have been Marta. She always prefers the no-sass, all business routines.

  10. exgymgurl Says:

    Marta ruins everything….

  11. Karlie Says:

    Aliya apparently submitted the Triple Y Turn – a different type of TTY.🙂

    Hong Un Jong submitted the TTY vault. This should be interesting.

    • Karlie Says:

      Also I just watched Musty’s PT bars (full routine) – it’s phenomenal but she had a REALLY scary landing on the dismount. It’s a blind landing and she almost twisted into the mat. Between that and her twisting form…I fear for her knees.

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      We knew Maroney should have gone for it this year…she has nothing to lose this early in the quad. It’s smart of Jong to go for broke and try it now. If she succeeds, she will have stolen it right out from under Maroney…and I actually applaud her for it. I would have love to have called it a Maroney, but if she doesn’t want to do it now it deserves to be called a Jong (or whatever). She should have worked on a TTY instead of the AA. An element named after you is much cooler than getting a chance to fall of bars/beam during qualifications. Bad choice.

      • Dee Says:

        Agreed, I’m not surprised someone else submitted the TTY before Maroney. In the advent of her perfect TF amanar in London it was only a matter of time before someone one upped her with a TTY. I think it would have been Maroney but with all the surgeries it might not have been possible.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        The sad thing is…if Jong does it…I bet it will be chucked and not all that fantastic (form or landing wise). Maroney gets so much height on her Amanar that i bet she will end up doing a cleaner TTY if she ever actually attempts it.

      • mim Says:

        given her previous injuries it’s amazing mckayla is even AT worlds.

        I’ll be so cut if hong gets it. most of her amanars look hell scary. same with moor’s dtdl.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I agree that her comeback from injury is amazing…but if she can do an amanar still and upgrade floor than she could have also upgraded vault. I agree with Sanity…this is a Marta scheme.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        It was possible Maroney was landing them at camp apparently on competition surface. I’m calling that this was a Marta “play it safe” choice.

        Yes, Marta ruins everything.

  12. uglyfatkid Says:

    If Moors gets the DTDL named after her with those obvious form issues I’m going to freak out. I watched it yesterday (not in slow mo) and it looked bad. When you slow it down it looks even worse. The knees are bent the whole way through and she pikes at the end. It’s tucked to me. I wouldn’t credit it if I was a judge.

    • Karlie Says:

      Agreed. I knew Skinner would never make it, but it’ll annoy me to see Moors get it, because her form is literally terrible. Her knees are bent, she pikes it down, and she can’t usually control it, flying out of bounds.

  13. uglyfatkid Says:

    @GTT – couldn’t agree more about Kohei. I adore his clean, beautiful… yet difficult gymnastics. I want him to win with Sam as second.

    It’s sad that Kyla could be a Kohei, if only she upped her difficulty more. No one could touch her with her execution if she upgraded…but alas we are beating a dead horse. We’ve been over this more times than I can count.

  14. JAS4 Says:

    Marta is the anti-sass so maybe that’s why McKayla changed it some

Leave a Reply

