Worlds Podium Training


Thanks Tortuga

Bailie won all 4 events at the Japan Invite. My new favorite to watch Romanian took second on bars. This kid needs to be more consistent. I am hoping she becomes that as a senior which isn’t for awhile. (Lets go Iridon) Laurie won a bronze on vault.

More reasons to love Beth Tweddle.

The US is wearing pink jackets at worlds. As far as pink goes they are not too bad but they are still pink.

This link (if you are signed into facebook) has the entire schedule for Worlds up. There will be live video for the All Around and event finals. I might be around for the women All Around but I have my nieces over on Fridays so I don’t think I will be live blogging. We will see.


KittyKat put this in the comments section and I must agree with her when she says wow. Look at this little girl tumble a beautiful double front and end her floor set with a double layout. Amazing

This is Bailie Keys floor. If you click the bottom right corner and go to the youtube link there are other videos on the right.

35 Responses to “Worlds Podium Training”

  1. tulip Says:

    Kyla’s form is gorgeous. Overall there I see a huge improvement since Nationals in each of them. And I like the way Simone swings bars. I’d like to see her and Kyla in bars finals.

  2. kittykat Says:

    New Mai Murakami? That double front was stunning.

    • Tortuga Says:

      That double front had Ivana Hong form! And she still had soo much power after the DLO on the last pass! How old is she? Hopefully she is eligible for Rio and peaks then.

  3. sanitynmotion Says:

    You guys post videos and I want to watch so bad only I’m at work. ARrrghhhh…

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      lol I feel the same way. I got rid of my phone to save money and now I have no clue what is going on til I get home.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I would cry without my phone and this blog. It’s the only thing that keeps me sane at work.

        We should start a GTT phone fund raiser. I’d chip in.🙂

  4. sainabou nyang Says:

    Kylas is looking strong, Simone as well.

    Brenna is the one im worried about. She could literally not make a final. Im just praying no one falls and hits their routines.

    • biyatch Says:

      i’d think brenna is more likely to not make any finals then she is to make one…

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Agreed. I’m not counting on anything from her at worlds to be honest. I really wished they would have taken Ebee.

        I don’t have any ill will towards her, I just would have rather have seen Ebee there.

      • Case Says:

        I think Ebee had more potential too. Nothing against Brenna.

  5. exgymgurl Says:

    mckayla is pissed because she isnt hitting handstands….. she looks bad on bars….Brenna needs to get over being so worried shes going to screw up. Her coaches reaction is like oh you fell>???

    • Tortuga Says:

      I wonder if bars is just completely out of the cards for McKayla or if she just needs to focus on it more. I don’t know about beam because I haven’t seen any of her beam work in so long. But maybe the video was taken near the end of a work out who knows. I don’t think Brenna has a chance at making a final but at least she will hit her routines without terrifying people. It’s a shame Ebee is once again the alternate but I wouldn’t want her to push her self too far too fast after injury.

    • Dee Says:

      Bars is so hard to get back after being out of the gym for a while. I bet she had to do whatever parts of routines she has on each event during training, whether or not she is competing that event. It wouldn’t be good for her to not train bars/beam for these few weeks, so it was probably just to stay in shape. I think she will improve…what she has already done in this short amount of time is pretty awesome.

      I think if Ebee was totally healthy, Brenna would have been the alternate. I have no idea what she is going to show us these Worlds, I just hope she makes a final of some sort or it’s most likely ‘see ya’ for her. Has there been any US gymnast in the past few Worlds that did not make a final at all? I can’t think of any in the past few quads.

      • Karlie Says:

        I don’t think Sabrina Vega made a final – did she? I could be wrong. Then again, that was a team competition.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        To my knowledge, Vega didn’t make it to a final. Vault – Maroney, Bars – Jo and Gabby, Beam – Aly and Jo, Floor – Jo and Aly.

        She could have made beam or bars, but the 2 per country rule was applied.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Did Gabby make a final? I don’t remember.

      • Akshay Says:

        I thought Gabby made the UB Final in Tokyo, but placed like 5th (after Jordyn lmao). I’m probably wrong, but that goes to show how much I actually pay attention to what Gabby does.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Lol…you’re not wrong. That totally happened.🙂

    • biyatch Says:

      Vega had the point total to qualify for AA but was the 4th best American behind Jo, Aly and Gabby in 2011.

      In 2010 both Macko and Mattie didn’t make event finals.

      2009 everyone on the team took home an individual medal.

      2007/8 finals spots were dominated by Nastia and Shawn plus Alicia.

      The US team was a hot mess in 2006, but Chellsie getting hurt meant that everyone else had an individual final.

      In 2005 Jana was only brought for uneven bars to compliment ASac on vault, beam and floor. She did not qualify to any finals but had the score to make the bars finals if not for the 2 per country rule.

      Brenna is most likely Jana 2.0.

      Interesting post about who was bumped by the 2 per country rule last quad:

      • Akshay Says:

        I still cannot believe Kayla Williams winning vault in 2009. She literally disappeared just as fast as you heard about her.

      • Dee Says:

        woah, duh me, totally forgot about Matte and what happened to her in 2010.

  6. utgymfan Says:

    I was kind of surprised Mckayla’s bars were so bad. It was kind of hard to watch but I guess it’s been so long since I’ve actually watched her on that apparatus

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      What part of Utah are you from utgymfan? Do you go to the Utes gymnastics games?

      • utgymfan Says:

        Ha my name is actually pretty misleading. I went to the University of Tennessee so i just included that in my name and right after I did it I realized since we didn’t even have a gymnastics team that was a silly name to choose. I live in Alabama now about an hour away from UA and I’ve been dying to get to one of the meets in Tuscaloosa…just haven’t had time yet with school!

    • Case Says:

      Agree, I expected more from someone with supposed AA aspirations.

  7. JAS4 Says:

    I think McKayla really wants to be better on bars and beam but it just takes time and more focusing in those events

  8. nero Says:

    ooooh Simone lands forward on her second pass. That has been where the double layout has been in her routine, could she be putting the double layout 1/2 back in?? YES PLEASE YES PLEASE

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      I hope!!! And I forget…is she the first to do a DLO with a half? If so, she better do it and get it credited/named now.

      I can’t help but smile while she did that routine. Yes, it’s not the most artistic thing ever, but she makes it so damn peppy that I have to smile. I love her personality. I hope good things happen for her at worlds.

    • Karlie Says:

      Wouldn’t a forward landing indicate a regular DLO?

      • Karlie Says:

        fail, I was watching the first pass. Don’t know where my brain has been…

    • Dee Says:

      oh wow, yea I think that is possible! Unless she just changed the order of her passes?

      She is super cute on floor…I hope she does well!!

    • nero Says:

      No, if she was doing a DLO she would have her butt facing the corner like she does in her first pass.

      I don’t think she changed her passes, 1st backward, 2nd and 3rd forward, 4th backward.

      To me that indicates; double double, DLO half, 2 1/2 punch front, full in. I hope she is doing the 1 1/2 to full in because that would be sick. It’s a tough last pass though.

  9. Catherine Says:

    GTT, Iridon is dealing with pain in her wrist..growth pain, growth plate..something like that. Her vault always sucked before she did a piked yurchenko here though. Munteanu is recovering from injury too, so no DTY. The Russians have no excuse for generally being shoddy though, that we know of.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I watched a video of Mustafina from 2006 and she wasn’t impressive at all (It was a floor routine and she started with a double pike) perhaps Russia will start chucking skills for their knew generation soon enough.

      I like the Romanian girls they have great potential and they have a few years to get it together too. Komova is a perfect example. She had such messy form when she came on the scene but she improved a lot. I have to remember to be patient

      • Catherine Says:

        Yeah but Kharenkova is senior in a few months and Bondareva the year after. There are 3 Russian juniors that I love though, Seda Tutkhalyan, Ekaterina Sokova and Evgeniya Zhukova.

Leave a Reply

