While I was sleeping: The I like baseball edition

Romanian Nationals took place this weekend.

AA Podium Picture

Andreea Iordache finished 1st with a 58.550. Andreea Munteanu finished second with a 57.300 and Andreea Iridon finished 3rd with a 56.400. Both Munteanu and Iridon are juniors.

Bulimer had knee surgery and is most likely out of worlds which sucks.

Izbasa only competed floor (and now I can’t find where I read that before)

Chinese Games Team Finals took place.


Yao Jinnan and Shang Chunsong tied for the AA. No video of the whole meet so far.

Full Results

Videos of Event Finals and if you look further down there are probably AA videos too.

This youtube has videos

I am not quite sure to say about this.lol

Tokyo gets 2020 Olympics. Thank God it wasn’t crazy ass Istanbul. Sending athletes there would be dangerous.

Junior Japan Meet has a list of competitors. This looks better than Worlds to me:)

The Nominative list for worlds is out. The US has the top 3 from Nationals and Maroney. This list is supposed to be random but it usually comes close at least for the US the last few years.

Missy Marlowe thinks her team was robbed of the bronze medal. Yes and no.

Awww. The end of an Era. I still love you Jiang Yuyuan. My first both will be named Jiang

Lehrman and Wofford think they are funny. I didn’t watch. Are they?

Rumor is it that Komova is out of worlds. I am pretty sure this is old news.

Aly Raisman does a Q&A

Shannon Milller thinks she is a SuperHero, saving the world one cancer at a time.

A 2 minute commercial from Kyla Ross for her choreographer.

Did I ever mention Jaylnne Dantzscher is pregnant again? Well she is.

Mr A-Sac loses his job again but Jets might re-sign him next week.

21 Responses to “While I was sleeping: The I like baseball edition”

  1. katecoursey Says:

    Can you elaborate more on 1988? I actually trained under Missy back when I was a gymnast (she had her own gym in Salt Lake City called Missy Marlowe’s). Why do you say yes and no to the idea of team USA being robbed? I’m genuinely curious, since it’s not something I’ve ever really heard people discuss.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Rhonda Feighn (sp) was on the podium to long and the US lost points because of it. (I believe she stayed up there after she went to remove a spring board or mat) Those points ended up being the difference between the bronze and no medal. The lady that did it did it because Bela was being an ass in 84 and breaking the rules and when she told him to stop he wouldn’t. She got revenge 4 years later by screwing the US.

      The reason I say it is yes and no is because there was a rule about not staying on the podium so technically she had the right to deduct but the reason she did the deduction was to screw Bela because she was pissed at him breaking the rules in 84. There are also a lot of people out there that believe the 5th place team Bulgaria should have won the bronze

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It is kind of pathetic that the wikipedia page on the team event doesn’t even mention what happened.


      Here is a short review of what happened

      It doesn’t mention though that in 1984 Bela was seen practicing jumping the sidelines so he could run to Mary Lou if she won and that he was warned to stop but didn’t. He knew there was no way she would be able to deduct points IN the US and she was very pissed about it.

      • Katie Says:

        Ugh. That guy. Don Peters told him to settle down bc they could technically be deducted for his antics and then he freaked out on don and told him he was just jealous of his coaching success. And then in 88 when Rhonda got the deduction, the Karolyi’s threw her under the bus big time instead of acknowledging that it was bela’s role as head coach to know the deductions that could be incurred as a result of minor technicalities like that. I hope no one thinks I’m defending don peters or anything, but at least he fulfilled his duty as head coach and knew what was up.

  2. exgymgurl Says:

    What about Bulimars knee….? The surgery was reported at Romanian Nationals and she isnt competing…. I think the whole romanian team should stop getting injured.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She had surgery is all I heard.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        yes but I think shes out of worlds also. Too little time to recover a knee

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She needs 6 weeks according to what they said on the Romanian Nationals broadcast but they didn’t say out from what I read so I didn’t want to just assume.

      • Karlie Says:

        NOOOOO DIDI. I’m crushed, she’s one of my favorites D:

  3. exgymgurl Says:

    Yeah I think thats Martas team unless Brenna gets her arse handed to her at camp. Ernst EBee Skinner and company are all competing for an alternate spot that doesnt exist……

    • Karlie Says:

      I really want Ebee to get that bars spot, dammit.

      • biyatch Says:

        ditto. Ebee has a higher bars D-score then Brenna. Ebee’s highest at nats (with a week of training mind you) was 6.3. Brenna’s highest was 6.0.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I guess it all comes down to what Ebee shows at camp? I mean she was iffy at nats so maybe if she can really prove to Marta she’s healthy again for bars…that would be great. I agree Ebee would be a better asset for team USA over Brenna.

  4. sanitynmotion Says:

    That Kwan video freaked me out. Looks like Iordache watered down her floor quite a bit…but maybe that was the plan for that meet?

  5. Case Says:

    I’d like baseball too if I were you. The Sox are smoking hot right now!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I really want to sweep the Yankees REALLY REALLY but it ain’t gonna happen and the freaking Patriots are losing to the damn Bills who ran there mouth a few days ago and they have not beat us in years. We better wake up.

  6. Akshay Says:

    Hey, GTT… you’re not back on Tumblr are you? This Tumblr account is active: http://gymtruthteller.tumblr.com/

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      No I am not back on tumblr but I got a few e-mails telling me about this. It has been reported but it isn’t like they will do anything

  7. JAS4 Says:

    I really like Bulimar but at least they aren’t rushing her back for Worlds so she can heal

  8. Catherine Says:

    I couldn’t figure out what was wrong with your Romanian aa podium..finally, too many Andreeas!

    Iordache watered down everywhere except bars I think, but she made a mistake there. She has only been training a week apparently..hopefully she can regain difficulty. Her full potential difficulty is the highest of all at the moment actually, but is looking more and more unlikely. Munteanu is a must watch on beam and floor and Iridon on bars and beam. Both will be at Japan junior.

    Shang Chunsong won floor gold and bronze on beam. 3 golds, 2 bronze. Her family is very poor- these medals set her up for life, and them too- it means a great university for her, and a lot else besides. I love hearing things like that.

    The news about Komova definitely being out is new. The source is her own vk- Russian facebook- page. She was always in question though.

  9. exgymgurl Says:

    Shang Chunsong had a beautiful meet. If she can build some consistency for the next few years she has a legitimate shot at Rio. Im surprised she was age eligible for London and not taken, but I know shes had consistency issues.

Leave a Reply

