Shannon Miller had a broken wrist in Atlanta says Peggy Liddick


Didn’t know that. I knew she has issues but a broken wrist and the pulled hamstring. Just more proof Shannon is not given as much credit as she should be.



Article on Elizabeth Price.

Grishina is out of Worlds and Nabieva is in. Komova is sick and just got out of the Hospital allegedly but I wouldn’t be surprised if this is BS. Seems like a lot of hiding is going on when it comes to Komova. She seems to be always sick. Hope she isn’t being poisoned by Nabeiva to steal her Worlds

Michelle Kwan article. Well its not really about her but she is mentioned so its a Kwan article.

Media day at Nationals. (TripleTwistBlog)

Did I miss Chris Brooks at Nationals? I just realized I heard no screaming lunatic on the sidelines.

He went to Nationals

56 Responses to “Shannon Miller had a broken wrist in Atlanta says Peggy Liddick”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    So Shannon can win 2 golds on a broken wrist…and Nastia, fully healthy and with the judges bending over backwards for her, can only win one (tee hee).

  2. sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

    Komova posted pictures of an IV on her instagram that some creepy people put on her tag on tumblr somewhere the other day. i think that part is legit.

  3. Akshay Says:

    Bad news, GTT. Seems like ASac is getting married in Florida. Looks like you won’t be able to crash that wedding after all unless you head down there or something.😦

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      LOL No thanks. What a bitch she is to not have the Wedding in her home state so I can be there but it doesn’t surprise me. She seems like she follows Brady like a puppy. I bet his home state is Florida.

      I wonder if Nastia will be invited????

      • Akshay Says:

        I thought Brady’s home state was Ohio? Because I remember before he got drafted, he kept going on about how he rooted for the Browns as a kid and wanted to go there.

        I was wondering about that the other day actually! I’m interested in seeing who does end up getting invited to her wedding (and Chellsie’s as well).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        If he isn’t from Florida why the hell is the Wedding happening in Florida?

      • Akshay Says:

        No idea. I was wondering about that myself.

      • Sara Says:

        She said in the interview that she lives part-time in Washington and in Florida most of the time. So I guess they consider Florida to be their home. It’s in March too so I guess it’ll be better weather down there than up here haha She also said in it that she’s been coaching part-time at a gym in Seattle and working for TOPS so its good to know she’s finding her place.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Thanks Sarah. I guess this means Brady must be a seahawk bench warmer. I lost track where he has warmed the bench:)

      • terrigymfan Says:

        With a lot of these athletes the fact that Florida has no state income taxes and low property taxes makes it the ideal place to establish residence.

  4. JAS4 Says:

    I’m waiting for Nastia to find a guy and announce her engagement before long (and I wouldn’t be surprised if she had an extremely extravagant wedding lol)

  5. Uglyfatkid Says:

    That article on Price was interesting. I didn’t realize that selection camp was in the middle of September. I though it was much sooner than that. If what they said is true, Price might really be able to secure that 4th spot. I was hoping that would be the case. With a few more weeks she might be able to really work on a few things. I wouldn’t spend my time trying to get the amanar back right now though (the article stated she was working on it). She’s not a lock for AA or VT finals, so she doesn’t need it. She should focus on bars and beam right now. The DTY is fine at this stage. Next year she can focus on the Amanar.

  6. Uglyfatkid Says:

    Off topic, but I was thinking about it lately and I want to get everyone’s thoughts.

    1) Does Maroney REALLY have a TTY up her sleeve right now?
    2) If so, do you think we will see it for worlds?
    3) If not, was there ever any actual proof that she could do it? I only remember talk, no videos or anything. Not just potential for it, but solid proof that she can complete it successfully.

    • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

      1. According to people who also train at AOGC, yes she has been training them and landing them on competition surface.
      2. I’m hoping we will. I think if she does do it it’ll be for vault finals.
      3. There isn’t any video of it because AOGC is pretty strict when it comes to that, but I remember her coach talking about how she almost had it competition ready last year befor the Olympics but didn’t want to risk injury and do it then.

      the thing about mckayla that is hard to tell is that she is a little gamer in interview so you can never be sure what she’s going to do. Like earlier this year in March or so she was saying that she could only do a FTY and handsprings on beam and that was obviously a lie considering how prepared she was at her first Camp at the end of May. So even though she’s said that she won’t be doing the Triple this year, I won’t count it out til after vault finals at Worlds is over.

    • nero Says:

      I personally think Maroney has been throwing triples for some time now but only in the pit. She didn’t need it for the Olympics and she doesn’t need it for this years Worlds so there is no point in her seriously training in on a hard surface.

      There is no way in hell she does it for Worlds. The girl is less than a year removed from a broken leg and all she has to do is stand up her two vaults to become World Champion.

      That being said there is no doubt in my mind that she will throw it some time before Rio. The girl has too much talent and spunk to not at least try to be the first woman to do it. Not only will it add to her legacy but it will also give her an advantage for the Olympics.

      With the Amanar being downgraded the USA loses .6 on vault alone. The TTY would be like a 6.8 right or higher? So she would make up the deficit. I think if she has the TTY her chances for Rio skyrocket. The USA needs to obliterate the field on vault in Rio just like they did in London and with more teams pushing for Amanars Maroney might be the ‘secret weapon’ come 2016.

      Just my opinion. I really really hope we see her compete it and land it well just for the fact that it would be amazing to see.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Your thoughts about McKayla are spot one Nero. Agree entirely.

      • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

        she’ll definitely be trying it before rio happens. that’s why i think she’ll be around the whole quad no matter what because if she can pull that off, she has an even more massive scoring possibility. I think it would be around a 16.8 if we go by the DTY and Amanar D scores. I feel like it should be the same as the Produnova though. It’s just so freaking hard to do.

    • Sara Says:

      I think she will do it at 2015 World’s. Marta is probably telling her to hold off until then so they can slam their scores up right before the Olympics. It’s what the US did last quad and it worked quite well, so I imagine it will happen that way again.

  7. Uglyfatkid Says:

    Thanks for your comments Nero and SJ. There has been so much talk about it that I wasn’t sure what I believed at this point.

    Next question, what stage of competition are new elements counted? Meaning, can it be performed and counted as a new element during qualifications? Or does it have to be in a final (AA or EF)? I know that it has to be performed at worlds or the Olympics, but I am not sure if there is a rule that it must be done in a event final or not. Anyone?

    • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

      The only rules that I know of is that it has to be done just at a Worlds or Olympics. I don’t think it has to be an EF. But you also have to be the only one to compete it as well. Like the Mustafina vault isn’t actually called the Mustafina in the COP because Nabieva did it during qualifications and EF as well so they just named it after no one.

      So I think you just have to do it at Worlds at some point and of course not fall during the skill and have no one else do the same thing and it’ll be named after you

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        You say that and I’m thinking then McKayla should do it at Worlds this year because otherwise Simone could do it in the same year and it wouldn’t be named after her.

        Plus if she does get injured she has time to recuperate before the next Worlds cycle. I would say this would be the year to do it if I were going to do it at all, but that’s just me (and that’s assuming I have it down to where I have been landing it consistently on competition surface).

      • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

        That’s basically why I want her to do it this year. I really want that vault to be named after her and next year Simone or some crazy North Korean might attempt it

      • Catherine Says:

        It’s actually because that vault was already in the COP. Pavlova tried it in 2004 and someone else so they lobbed it in. The 2.5 tsuk is there but nobody has yet done it.

        But yeah, there can only be one submitting it at the same competition. Wasn’t always the case, the DTY was luck of the draw. But Baitova is never really named in connection with her skill by default.

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        I tend to agree Sanity. Even though she doesn’t “need it”, if she wants it named after her this year would be the time to do it.

        So lets say for the sake of argument that she is going to do it at worlds this year. So…when should she chuck the skill assuming she is only doing quals, floor final, and vault final?

        I think I would chuck it during quals. I would completely take advantage of the jacked up rule that got her a silver metal last year. Chuck the TTY on your first vault. If it goes bad but still hits feet first and doesn’t fall, she will still get a big score (in the 15s). If she put the second vault to her feet she wouls still make it to finals for vault. So, she would get the vault named after her, AND can still participate in VT finals. She could perform the amanar in EF and still take home the gold.

  8. Brouhaha Says:

    Off topic, but man, so many gymnasts are falling out of contention for Worlds b/c of injuries — it’s like a Martha Karolyi trial camp. All my predictions (from January) are skewed.

    Who’s out:

    Jade Barbosa
    Georgia Campana
    Gabby Jupp
    Mariya Livchikova
    Katelyn Ohashi
    Madison Kocian
    Lexie Priessman
    Nastia Grishina (apparently)

    anyone else?

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Shannon is incredibly strong. I mean Brenna Dowell had a broken wrist last year at trials and couldn’t hold a candle to Miller in 1996…

    • Catherine Says:

      Barbosa is back in, not as serious as previously thought. I don’t mean on the team but she’s not firmly out of contention anymore.

      Celine Van Gerner is out, and Lisa Hill. And Anne Kuhm. Finnegan and Vega. Grishina is back in the race according to her own coach. Being on Valentina’s shitlist is as much an obstacle as her back but we’ll see. Komova is majorly in question, her diagnosis was viral meningitis and she’s not back training yet. Iordache is a little bit in question, she’s uncertain for an upcoming friendly meet as she is ‘receiving treatment’.

      • Brouhaha Says:

        That’s great about Barbosa!!!!!

        Do you know if Janine Berger has healed yet? I remember she tore a ligament and missed out on Euros.

        I didn’t know Lisa Hill was injured — such a shame, I really do like her bars.

        I wouldn’t bet on Komova being on the Russian team at all, even if she recovers in time to resume training, she’s so fragile anyway that being so sick probably caused her to loose a lot of weight/muscle.

      • biyatch Says:

        Berger was in Boston at Brestyan’s last month where Germany held a national team camp. There also pictures of her vaulting so she’s probably got her eye on worlds.

      • biyatch Says:

        German team at Brestyans pic

      • Catherine Says:

        Berger has competed this year- Anadia maybe? Watered down but hopefully back to full strength soon.

      • Tortuga Says:

        So Komova had viral meningitis, isn’t that also what Nastia had after visiting Round Lake? And what was Musty hospitalized with? I know more of them have also been sick. They seriously need to check their cleanliness standards or something. That’s way too much illness in a short amount of time.

      • Catherine Says:

        Mustafina had a bad flu.

  9. ShutUp Says:

    Shannon was great and so under appreciated.

  10. CMR Says:

    Brady Quinn is from Dublin, Ohio, which is not too far outside Columbus. He is currently bench warming for the Seahawks, he actually went in late in their preseason game last night. Wilson (the QB in front of him) is a stub so Brady won’t see much, if any, time this year. I have no clue why the wedding would be in Florida or why he and Alicia would have relocated there. He is a high school friend of a coworker of mine and there is a chance we may be at the same wedding next summer. Ill be sure to report if I run into Alicia!😉

  11. sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

    The russians have lost their goddamn minds. Everyday its something different. Now they’re saying Grishina has no chance of getting to Worlds because she had a pinched nerve at Russian Cup and withdrew. Her coaches are saying they did it the right way and at this point I believe them because everyone else talking to the press sounds insane. A former gymnast whose name I can’t remember right now, sorry, who commentates for them said that losing the gold in London is Grishina’s fault.

    Excuse me?! Losing that gold was at fault to everyone on Russia’s team. Paseka for messing up the vault, Mustafina and Komova for messing up on beam, Grishina and Afan for their falls on floor. But even if they had hit everything, USA still would have won. Grishina’s start score on floor was only a 5.8 or something I think. That never could have compared to the USA even if she did hit.

  12. exgymgurl Says:

    THis IS funny… Grishina was put out there with routines she had no confidence in and was ill prepared.

Leave a Reply

