While I was sleeping: The Yankees Suck edition

Worlds team for the men was just named

.@usagym names Mikulak, Leyva, Wynn, Dalton, Naddour and Legendre to World Championship team. Penev, Orozco and Ruggeri alternates.


Jordyn Wieber off to UCLA article via TripleTwist’s Twitter account.

While we weren’t sleeping Nabieva won the Russian Cup against No one.



Aly Raisman takes over the articles section on google.

[Cancer Fundraiser]

[ New York Times (from July)]

[Exhausting Summer]

[Parade Article]


If the Red Sox blow this game tonight there just might be an OT blog filled with complete disgust. A few swear words might appear also.

Best thing I ever did was end Tumblr and Twitter because I would be one pissed off baseball fan tonight.


30 Responses to “While I was sleeping: The Yankees Suck edition”

  1. sportsfan Says:

    So, its now official that Jordyn is going to UCLA. I wish her the absolute best, but I fear that Rio may go by the wayside. The way I read that article that her health is playing a role in the decision right now and she thinks that this is the best coarse of action.

  2. exgymgurl Says:

    II wonder when Gabrielle Douglas’s new home in Los Angeles is featured in a magazine after disney teen decorates the whole darn thing. Im sure its smaller than the Kardashians empire pad…. I could make jokes but Im not…..Sounds like Jordyn made a very sound decision especially wtih Geddert being unavailable to train her…….

    • Akshay Says:

      Agreed. We’ll just have to see what happens from here. I honestly don’t think gabby is serious about her comeback. If she was, she’d stay training with Chow, who turned her into AA champ from the headcase she was. She’ll just say she is training or whatever just to keep sponsorships. I also think in all fairness to gabby she has little reason to come back. She won the AA, and there is no way she repeats, so she can only go down from here. Nastia’s joke of a comeback tainted her reputation with many people and hangs over her accomplishments. What’s fresh in people’s minds is nastia falling off bars at trials, not her winning medals in Beijing, no matter how gifted they may have been. So gabby might fake a comeback for sponsors, but I don’t think she’ll be serious or get too far with it (but that might be my wishful thinking hehe. I just want her to ride off in the sunset, only to be heard of every four years).
      As for Jordyn, she actually has something to prove, so I think she’ll be serious. I think they’re only using these various reasons since the Geddert situation isn’t like widely known yet, but I do think she’s itching to comeback, even though the article made her sound double minded. According to the Couch gymnast, Rita said something like Jordyn would never step foot in gedderts gym again.

      • mim Says:

        wow that sounds really serious (never stepping foot in geddert’s gym again)…

        I really think jo will have an amazing time at college just being a college student and all the fun that entails but I bet she’ll miss competing. maybe only being allowed to help coach will fuel her desire to compete elite again.

    • Case Says:

      Jordyn’s parents have always been very realistic about the role gymnastics plays in her life and also have made several comments about the long odds of making it to the Olympics. Those odds become even longer when you are talking about a second Olympics. This is a great decision for her. She gets to enter college with kids her age and pursue the other dreams she has in life. She can still train and see where it takes her. If she never competes again her gymnastics career has been a tremendous success and one that most girls can only dream of. She’s a bright student and I think she’ll love UCLA. There’s more to life than gymnastics and her parents haven’t treated her like a cash cow they need to milk forever so it would not surprise me if they encouraged this move.

  3. JAS4 Says:

    I hope things work out for her at UCLA and I hope she does make a comeback this quad after all!

  4. sainabou nyang Says:

    I like the mens team for worlds. Especially that Orozco is the alt. This guy needs to learn mental toughness before hes put on another world team. He needs to be sent to a coupl world cup events. I will be really annoyed if the put Danell in the AA. Hes been crappy all year while Jake and Sam have been consistent.

    • Dee Says:

      Yea I like the team too. I would have been annoyed if both Lleyva and orozco were on it but this is a nice mix of somewhat-new guys and veterans. Orozco and the knee still make me nervous (even though they say he is healed) so I’m glad he has more time.

      Have been awake reading the USAG Facebook page comments on the team and I am LOLing. Everyone thinks orozco should have been on the team “because he went to the Olympics!!”. Ah endless entertainment.

  5. Case Says:

    I hate the Yankees and I hate A-Roid so I was thrilled to see Dempster let that pitch slip out of his hand. Lol.

  6. Tortuga Says:

    Yay Milliet is going to Worlds selection camp! I know she doesn’t have good chances of making it but I’m still glad she is going. To me it means she isn’t written off.

  7. Catherine Says:

    Bailie Key and Laurie Hernandez are being sent to Japan Junior, Sept 22-25! Laurie’s first intl assignment coming up quick. I wonder what they’ll make of her floor. This meet usually has big names so should be good experience for her. Bailie too though she’s been to other meets etc.

    Worlds selection camp is the Maroney, Ross, Biles, Dowell, Ernst, Baker, Skinner, Price, Desch and Miliet. Priessman and Kocian invited, but both injured so Kocian is out of contention. Note- Ohashi not invited so she’s 100% out and check Will Graves twitter..kinda ominous statement on her, can’t link on my phone.

    So either Maroney hits in the aa like Marta already said, Price ups her bars a little bit or Ernst is taken for experience.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Interesting. What did Will Graves say?

      I just hope Kyla kicks butt at Worlds and takes names later.

      • Akshay Says:

        @WillGravesAP: @Kadoo12345 Let’s just say I’m not sure we’ll see her in competition again.

        By her he is referring to ohashi.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      I read on another blog that there is a rumor that Valeri passed Katelyn over to Landi Kociana coach and that Kstelyns parents were not happy with it.

      • lol Says:

        Valeri must want Marta`s job.

      • Akshay Says:

        I’ve heard the same rumor. It’s all over twitter and tumblr – that due to his work with the national program, Valeri isn’t going to coach katelyn anymore. People have said this is the reason we haven’t seen katelyn in the gym (although I thought she was injured…?). Some person even said that it was unlikely we’d see katelyn perform again, which I am not sure I buy, but yeah. Heard that rumor too. Personally I think Valeri is a one hit wonder.

      • Catherine Says:

        Valeri is not coaching any elites anymore. But big deal, he’s only had one major senior success, his daughter. Katelyn has already been broken more than once. Not that Marchenko had a super duper hit record, Patterson yes and Vise mostly yes..but there’s a whole crowd of other elites that never went anywhere. Odd gym I think.

      • mim Says:

        honestly… im not overly surprised by this. GTT was it you that was commenting on the dynamic between katelyn and valerie at scam? about her looking quite unhappy on the floor, unhappy in her interactions with valerie… and i know we only get the smallest of smallest glimpses into these gymnasts lives through social media but she hasn’t seemed all that cut up about being injured/not competing. just a feeling.

        is her possible not competing because of a coach change or an irreparable injury? if she left WOGA for another gym (texas dreams? gage? aogc if she’s still keen on UCLA) it would probably be wonderful for her. no more valerie “i break my gymnasts” liukin would be good.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Ohashi left gage to go to woga. She really did have shoulder surgery, I doubt they would lie about that. It seems kinda selfish of Valeri to quit coaching elites after Nastia is done. Kinda adds to their bad reputation. I still hope Katelyn is successful if she comes back from injury. And does anyone know if Yevgeny is coaching elite anymore? What’s this one and done routine about?

      • mimi Says:

        I know she had shoulder surgery but I’m curious if even after healing she’s been advised by doctors not to compete. she might be healthy for everyday life but not for taking a hammering every time she trains/competes. I wonder if THAT is why she migh not return.. I feel like that’s more plausible than never competing again because her coach quit on her but who knows.

        Also aware she left gage for woga which is why I’m also wondering if she would consider returning if she’s able to compete but unhappy not being trained by Valerie.

        such an interesting and dramatic turn of events for her!

  8. CMR Says:

    Obviously not in their shoes but don’t you think seeing McKayla and Kyla back competing, and successfully at that (especially McKayla w the injuries and late start) give Jordyn/Aly/Gabby a little more incentive to get back? I mean not only are Aly and Gabby’s 15 minutes fading fast but Mckayla and Kyla are becoming the face of US gymnastics. I guess I’m just surprised they wouldn’t at least try and compete. Maybe I’m off the mark…

    • CMR Says:

      And obviously I know Mckayla and Kyla are still in high school so their other plans are “put off” anyway while jordyn wants to do the college things, I get that. But Gabby and Aly were trotted out for the Hall of Fame thing and then sat back while “McKyla” stole the show and cleaned up the medals. I guess I feel that would motivate me…

    • Tortuga Says:

      I think Aly is trying to follow Alicia’s handbook rules of taking a complete year off before going back to the gym. Looks like sh’es not budging on that freedom for anything.

      • biyatch Says:

        I don’t think there is anything wrong with that. She said in an interview that Mihai wants her back but only if shes really back, I don’t think he’s going to put up with a half in, half out thing. The girl should take advantage of all the opportunities she can get/wants to but I think she is super aware that you can’t have one foot in and one foot out. It doesn’t work.

        While I do think (and hope) she’ll be back, if she’s decides to retire she’s had a super successful career and has more Olympic gold medals than everyone but Gabby and Shannon (suck on that Nastia.)

        It seemed like Jordyn really got to experience some normalcy this spring, being a high school student, spending extended periods of time with friends, etc. and she seemed to really enjoy herself. I think that, probably combined with the Geddert rumors, led her to the decision to go to college. I would guess she’s probably done with gymnastics, but thats just my hunch.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think Shannon, Aly and Gabby each have two gold medals (so all are tied).

        Shannon – team, beam
        Aly – team, floor
        Gabby – team, AA

        Nastia could have tied if she took Kyla’s spot, which thankfully did not happen.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Aly could definitely go either way and be understood. She could come back to show she has something to prove. Or if she decides not to return to gymnastics she had a successful quad and Olympics. I feel the same about Jordyn. No she didn’t qualify for AA for she is still an Olympic Gold Medalist.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Jordyn’s a world AA champ, too.

        I don’t think Aly should come back to be honest. I think she did the most she was capable of doing, and I’d stop there. I feel like if she came back she’d just be passed up by a younger girl.

      • biyatch Says:

        Sanity I disagree about Aly being passed by for a younger girl, at least next year. Plus Marta LOVES Aly (and Mihai has a lot of political clout with her). In a TF situation, Aly is invaluable on beam because she’s going to hit. You can have her leadoff (2010), go in the middle (2011) or anchor (2012) and she’s going to hit with a decent score 99 out of 100 times.

        I actually think Aly’s beam and floor are more valuable to Team USA than McKayla’s vault. Especially based on vault scoring last year and with the projected progression of Simone on vault.

    • mim Says:

      my impressions from nationals: aly enjoyed merely being a spectator rather than a competitor, and was happy to support her friends but i have a feeling she wants to move on to bigger and better things; gabby will rest on her AA gold laurels and milk it as long as she can without going back to the gym for serious training; jo probably has had an incredible time being a student, spending quality time with her family and friends but i feel like she’d be the one to miss gymnastics most from the three.. UCLA is probably bittersweet if the coaching situation has pushed her to make decisions about her future that she might have otherwise not needed to make yet.

      purely speculation of course!

Leave a Reply

