2013 US Nationals Podium Training from Tonight

Hollie Vise has a new job. Didn’t they hire Jamie Dantzscher once before too?? (Rumor was she got fired)

26 Responses to “2013 US Nationals Podium Training from Tonight”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    I’m really liking Maroney as a floor worker too. She just needs to control those landings a bit more.

    • gingercrush Says:

      Her leaps need more extension. For such a good twister she relatively doesn’t actually twist that much. In Mag all she’d do is twists.

  2. biyatch Says:

    Watching the podium training videos I actually preferred Kyla’s floor to McKayla’s. (Btw, the Under Armour leo Kyla was wearing was so nice, why don’t the national team ones look like that?)

    Inside Gymnastics ran a series that Ohashi might be petitioning to the worlds selection camp. That makes things certainly more interesting. http://www.insidegymnastics.com/content/show/2013-US-Championships.aspx?articleid=1717&zoneid=94#.UgroOBZyfac

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Wasn’t she not even training for weeks at a time not that long ago?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Ohashi needs to stay away. If she petitions Marta will take her just because and that is not fair to the girls training. Katelyn just got back in the gym there is no way she is ready on more than one event by September. No way she has bars

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That and it’s not like Ohashi was a former champion who got injured and sidelined for a bit before recommencing training. She doesn’t have (any?) international experience as a senior. It wouldn’t be fair, either way.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        But she won the American Cup.lol

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Haha, oh and so did Gabbbbbbby! I can’t believe I forgot! lol.

      • Akshay Says:

        Kind of a dumb question, I realize. But what are Ohashi’s bars like (well prior to her injury)? I mean for all you hear about how WOGA is great at training bars, etc. I never felt like her bars were all that impressive. I thought with her it was her beam that was her big event.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        They ruined her shoulder by trying to turn her into Nastia. Code whored the UB routine. She had one sequence that gained like 7 tenths.

      • Sara Says:

        That’s so true GTT! I somehow didn’t even realize that’s probably what screwed her shoulder up. I swear if Valeri breaks her too… He pushes his gymnasts to the limit too often, unless of course you’re related to him.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Here I was thinking Valeri was turning around and wanting his athlete to heal before trying to return to competition, which I thought would be next year. It definitely looks like he pushed her too fast and is breaking her in the process. Her bars have probably struggled from this injury for awhile. It’s not her fault if Valeri is pushing her into going to worlds but it hurts her the most out of the whole situation. He’s pushing for his pride. He needs another woga star after Nastia and Bross bottomed out. I believe pushing Ohashi to worlds at this point is going to possibly end her career. What if they take her just because they want another bars person,(even though her bars aren’t as great as they should be) she blows it then Marta is done with her. She shows a lot of potential if they would just settle down. It’s still early in the quad. This years worlds isn’t a big deal in comparison to Rio IF that is really in the cards for her.

      • mimi Says:

        I wonder if we’ll see her changing gyms in this quad. go to texas dreams katelyn! wishful thinking, ha.

  3. sanitynmotion Says:

    Argghhhh yep they took out Kyla’s whip-back to double tuck pass, made it a simple double tuck for the last pass. The double pike is now the third pass. She does some different leap at 0:58 that looked cool (not sure what it is, and I’m not even sure if it wasn’t at Classics maybe it’s just a different angle). But yeah, looks like Kyla is definitely playing it safe on her floor routine and I doubt her routines will change between podium and the real competition. I don’t think her coaches would do something “risky” like that.


    Sorry, I know I shouldn’t start harping yet but I can’t help but be frustrated.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Feel free to post as much as you like.

      We are all frustrated with Kyla because she has so much potential but that heel injury was worse then people knew a few months ago. I will keep faith in the fact that a few months ago her floor was a 5.3 and now she has added more to it. I am not ready to write her off yet

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I won’t write her off until she goes to college, but still – the whole thing is aggravating. And I have to wonder how much of this is Marta.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      I’m having a dejavu moment. I think Marta is pushing for Simone to win AA at nationals and worlds. Kyla is looking more like the new Bridget Sloan.

  4. sanitynmotion Says:

    Sorry to be commenting as I’m watching the vids. Looks like Kyla is babying her heel on the beam.

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    Why is Price only doing a DTY?

    • Akshay Says:

      I thought she was only planning on doing beam and bars? So her vaulting is news to me.

  6. sanitynmotion Says:

    Maroney’s bars look pretty weak but I guess that’s to be expected.

  7. sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

    interesting that biles didn’t do the half turn in her double layout

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I noticed that. Maybe she will do it tomorrow. Or it isn’t in the code yet so maybe she took it out til worlds

  8. JAS4 Says:

    I could see Marta taking Ohashi even if it were for just BB. I saw the video of Priessman’s Amanar and I have to say it looked much improved!

  9. CMR Says:

    Morning, everyone! I noticed the lack of the half turn in Biles double layout as well…I’m hoping she has a big weekend, seems like she was out of sorts in Chicago.

    Read this article this morning (http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/olympics/2013/08/13/mckayla-maroney-enjoys-fans-returns-to-gymnastics/2650875/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+UsatodaycomOlympicsCoverage-TopStories+%28Sports+-+Olympics+Coverage+-+Top+Stories%29)

    Pretty generic, but a couple of highlights:
    – “Without it I would be gone. I would be forever gone,” – Maroney, on her relationship with Twitter
    – Kyla grew two inches since the Olympics (which we knew) Marta says her body is like a “model.” McKayla was asked about Kyla’s height and said she could grow two more inches and be fine. I laughed at that. Eternal optimist.
    – “Douglas won a Teen Choice award last weekend and had a star turn in this week’s episode of Kickin It, Disney’s martial arts comedy (Gabby drops by the dojo!).”

  10. mimi Says:

    I have a feeling Simone will take out the AA based on nothing but pure gut feeling… which means im probably totally wrong and kyla will win. it’s interesting that after I read someone’s views about perhaps Brenna being used to push others I can’t shake the feeling that maybe she really won’t be factored into a worlds team unless she pulls a Memmel or something.

    I’m really curious to see how Peyton and Abby go. It’s nice there are some fresh faces in the mix. I find Maggie a little boring but I’m no expert. It would be interesting if someone less obvious found themselves on the team.

Leave a Reply

