Goodbye Cruel World

Last night after spending hours on Tumblr I decided to delete my account. I was spending way too much time on the site and decided that I need to put life’s priorities in order. Tumblr not being one of them.

It really bothers me when people get into blogging to be-friend gymnasts and I honestly do not want to turn into one of those people that write just to befriend which is why a few minutes ago I also deleted my twitter.

I write this blog for you, for me, to get out my frustrations on the sport and its participants and I want to make sure I keep it that way.

This is not a suicide note. I waited to write this blog until after I deleted both accounts so it wouldn’t turn into one of those situations where everyone begs me to stay. Though that seems to be going around lately.

Two points to anyone that can tell me where the quote, “Good bye cruel world comes from? HINT, Its a TV show from 9 years ago

Answer, Veronica Mars. She had to write a paper for her class and created the perfect murder and the character in her paper committed suicide typing the words, Goodbye cruel world. Get it:)


Katie wins. This was her post in the old post I had to delete:)

Goodbye cruel worldzzzzzzzz fake suicide letter attributed to dean oโ€™dell but really faked by tim foyle to get revenge on professor landry. gotcha back girl.

34 Responses to “Goodbye Cruel World”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    I completely understand about the twitter/tumblr thing it’s easy to spend hours on them I have caught myself doing the same things so I’ve tried to limit myself on both.

  2. Karlie Says:

    YOU’RE A VERONICA MARS FAN?? I love that show so much, I watched it when it was on and bought all 3 seasons when it was cancelled. Are you excited for the movie?

    • Katie Says:

      Omg karlie I was a kickstarter contributer. I seriously can’t think of a better written/funnier/noirey show. Season one was amazing. Don’t buy into the “season 4” YouTube videos. Im holding out hope for the movie. My two most favorite things about season three was when her and Logan shared a look after he kicked the ruskis ass. Piz saw it and kind of realized you can’t come between LoVe. The second great thing was how Veronica realized Keith took the heat for her and would be run out of sheriff once again. And she was walking through the rain to vote for him,

    • Katie Says:

      Obviously I hate season 3, but building beaver up in season 2 to be such a sociopath was mind blowing.

    • Karlie Says:

      Hahaha I was too! I ADORE Veronica Mars, I still think Season 1 is some of the best television ever made. I loved Season 2 as well – definitely didn’t catch on about Beaver at all (side note: his name is beaver and his brother’s name is Dick…lolz). Season 3 was pretty meh for me, but I really didn’t like Piz and I liked the 2 moments that you mentioned.

      I hope the movie gives me my LoVe ending. Have you seen the preview yet? It looks SO COOL ahh omg I can’t wait.

    • Lis Says:

      I’m a huge VM fan as well! I actually got to visit the set during the second season; I was friends with Michael Muhney, the guy who played Sherriff Lamb. It was AWESOME. I agree, the first season is one of THE BEST seasons of tv ever. I just finished a rewatch of it. I actually liked Piz. I know, I think I’m the only person.๐Ÿ™‚

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Yes you are the only person that likes Piz. I HATE I can’t believe they brought his character to the movie. It almost makes me not want to go see the movie when it comes out.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        He’s now on Young and the restless right? Lamb was such an

      • Lis Says:

        Lamb was such a wonderful asshole. So sad they killed him off. And, yeah, Michael’s now on Young and the Restless and doing very well. If you watch any of the Comic-Con panel footage, you’ll see that Chris Lowell is aware of all the hate. It’s actually adorable. The cast is full of wonderful, kind people. Percy and I got into a (friendly) argument over UNC v. Duke (I went to Duke). Kristen is a doll (and tiny) and Jason is super nice.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I hate Lamb. Not the actor. You went to comic con? I will admit to giving money to kickstarter but not enough to get anything I love Percy and am a huge L.O.V.E fan so I hate Piz and Chris Lowell was fine at first but now I think his game is old and tiring. I hate him on Private Practice to and I didn’t even know him from Veronica Mars when I watched it. (I was late to Private Practice)

      • Karlie Says:

        I loved Lamb, he was such a dick but also hilarious and awesome to watch. And I also found Piz to be extremely annoying but found it funny that at Comic Con Chris Lowell was wearing a “Team Logan” shirt while Jason was wearing a “Team Piz shirt.”

        Have you seen the preview? It looks like there’ll be plenty of LoVe so I’m excited.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I hate the way they are acting like Piz was some huge part of Veronica’s life when it reality he was her boyfriend for maybe 6 shows and the rest of that year before she went to Stanford and law school. The scene they show in one of the coming attractions is Veronica seeing Piz and looking shocked which means I hope they have not seen each other in years. Anyway I love Logan and I love the car scene in the preview

      • Lis Says:

        I wasn’t at ComicCon, but a good friend of mine was there and all the panels are on youtube. My interactions with the actors were from my set visit. Teddy Dunn and I got into a serious discussion about the state of our education system. Nerds:)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Now see I liked Duncan. I liked him with Veronica, at first.

  3. Gymnerd Says:

    I would much rather you had posted a picture of GABRIELLE flushing herself down the toilet….

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Like what Gymnerd says but would prefer Dawes….. Just because I think Gabrielle fades out in a year of so. Dawes and her three olympic teams has stuck around like gum on your shoe. If Gabby is really that modulated where she can only think about one thing at a time shes a great puppet. Im sure Marta likes that. “Okay only think about beam. Gee I fell on beam in event finals. And every other important meet except visas and american cup and trials in 2012. Oh well I had 5 or 7 or maybe 13 complete beam routines. I wonder if I can wear a wig on beam? Maybe some acrylic nails”

  4. Catherine Says:

    I can’t really get into tumblr. I made one to keep track of the few blogs on it I actually like but it’s still a big pile of meh to me, oh and horrible people. I hope I don’t get into it, I spend too much time on gymfever, twitter and my blog already.

  5. Tortuga Says:

    I’m just glad your not deleting your blog. I really enjoy it here. I’m honestly not really invested in twitter or tumblr, I just dabble in it. But I could see it getting out of hand. Thanks for this outlet and keep up the good work!

    • Gymnerd Says:

      ^This. I look forward to reading here every day – usually the last thing I read at night because it ain’t gonna get much better than this. Seriously!!

      • mimi Says:

        I look forward to it too, I always check it after work๐Ÿ™‚

      • Gymbee Says:

        Ditto. I love this blog! And the people that comment. I check it mornings on my way to work, cause that’s when you Americans are up and writing!๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Case Says:

    As long as you 1) keep your beautiful blog and 2) beat the surging KC Royals tonight we will be fine. Rock on, GTT.

  7. sanitynmotion Says:

    I still am trying to figure out what exactly Tumblr is. But to agree with everyone else, just please whatever you do do not get rid of this blog. It’s like my therapy outside of swimming.๐Ÿ™‚

  8. mimi Says:

    I’ll be devoed if you stop blogging! It’s so nice to find people who don’t think you’re strange for watching gymnastics and who can view the sport with a critical eye.

    Everyone excited for nationals? Hoping the girls bring it more than classics but I’m sure they will. I feel like Marta will have her eye on Simone the most… Here’s hoping she can keep her cool!

  9. CMR Says:

    I understand the Tumblr/Twitter thing. I never got into Tumblr but the few times I went on I found myself 4 hours later asking why the heck I was still there. It absolutely sucks you in…Deleted my Facebook a few years ago and haven’t regretted it once. Sometimes you just have to limit the amount of things you have access to haha…

    Glad to hear this blog will still be here. I love the mix of gym updates, other sports, and political snark. Agree with literally everything you post…(except maybe the Yankees hate…)

    Good luck with your post-Tumblr/Twitter prioritizing!

  10. Short1 Says:

    I understand why you deleted your Twitter and Tumblr, because it’s definitely easy to get sucked into both and waste way too much time! There use to be a time when I spent several hours on Tumblr at at time, but now I check it maybe once or twice a day and only follow a few blogs that I enjoy talking to and ones that don’t get caught up in the ridiculous drama. Personally I’ve never spent that much time on Twitter, I almost never log in and usually just send the occasional tweet from my phone and get updates from a few accounts.

Leave a Reply

