2013 US Classic Results : Juniors

I APOLOGIZE BAILIE. I spelled your named wrong. I’ll fix it eventually. lol

Junior US Classics

Junior Start Lists
Video Link
Live Scoring

Top 3
Bailey, Amelia and Nica (will post scores when IG does)

Bailey Interview after win Anyone else think Party of 5 when you hear her name?

Videos by USA-gymnastics

69 Responses to “2013 US Classic Results : Juniors”

  1. Dee Says:

    hmmm…for juniors, I think my bet is on Amelia, but this Laurie chick might be a surprise. I don’t follow Bailey closely so I have no idea what she will be doing (oops).

    For the seniors…hmmm…I think my bet is on Biles, I think Kyla has a shot but only if she is totally clean and everyone else makes a mistake. That is, unless she upgraded something overnight that we missed. Without any upgrades I dont know if I would bet on her winning?

    Truthfully I haven’t been following gym closely since….London? So I guess this is me trying to get back in the loop.

    • Katie Says:

      If Kyla doesn’t show at least one upgrade on bars beam and floor, I will be surprised. We already saw the bar upgrade and I don’t think there is any way she wouldn’t upgrade from her double tuck. That ish wasn’t even hard back in ’92.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        More like 88 but this is the code’s fault. By valuing it so high we now have to see double tucks. Boring

      • Dee Says:

        I’m so tired of the double tucks. Especially as a beam dismount at the World/Olympic level.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        A double tuck on floor wasn’t good enough in 1992 yet in 2013 you can do a tuck and a pike and get tenths added to your routine. I agree with you especially off beam and on floor

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Me too I really wish double tucks were outcast. I wish Kyla would change her dismounts for bars and for beam, actually.

  2. Katie Says:

    Please please please live blog this! My mom decided to throw a wedding shower for my future sister-in-law and told me that my name would be on the invitations as hostess because it would be inappropriate for her to put herself on as hostess. Guess what, it starts at one. So while you all are relishing in Ross, Maroney and Biles, I will be manning the stopwatch on bridal pictionary.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I probably won’t be awake for juniors but I will try and do it for the seniors. If I stop updating the blog look in the comments section. I’ll do my best.

      The last fight I had with the boy was because I wanted to stay home and he insisted I go out. He now gets a schedule of gym meets just in case:) Try that with mom.lol

    • Dee Says:

      loooool bridal pictionary

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I’m sorry for you. Bridal showers are the second worse thing behind baby showers (the whole candy bar melted in a diaper is something I never want to experience again).

      • Dee Says:

        oh my god i just gagggggged, sanity. LOL

        i fear for the baby shower hoopla that my family will put on if i ever get pregnant. the fear of a hideous shower alone has been wonderful birth control so far. add the diaper candy visual and i’m set for the next five years.

  3. nero Says:

    Damn Jordyn has always been my main squeeze but if Mckayla continues to be a fierce bitch she might just move to number one.

    And I don’t understand the way people talk about Kyla. 90% of the people on the gymternet constantly complain about knee busting Amanars, chucked skills, ugly form etc. How they would rather see a clean DTY than a scary Amanar, good form over big skills….

    Then you have Kyla who actually does these things and they bitch and moan that she’s boring. I mean she finally got rid of the that double twist on floor, she’s been through a growth spurt and injury and it’s at the very beginning of the quad WHAT DO YOU PEOPLE WANT??!

    Can’t wait to see Kyla’s and Mckayla’s floor routines tomorrow.

    • Dee Says:

      I want rid of the double tuck dismount on beam. That’s really all I want from her, personally. (unless she recently changed it and I missed it). Otherwise I actually like her as she is, I just worry that with everyone else throwing the big, scary stuff she will get left behind.

      • nero Says:

        I’m just not sure what dismount she could do. Double pike I guess, she lands the double tuck so well maybe she could add a full twist?

        I just think people want Kyla and her coaches to push her while they are content with pacing her. Everyone thought she needed to upgrade last year for the Olympics, but why?

        If she would have competed AA she surely would have made top 10. She was one mistake from making bars finals and she technically did make beam finals. So if it wasn’t for one mistake and the 2 per country rule Kyla could have been in 3 individual finals.

        I think as long as she continues to improve bars she wont be left behind for any Worlds teams.

      • Catherine Says:

        But what’s the point if she’s automatically going to fall foul of the 3 per country rule? Except for bars. The difficulty we saw from her earlier in the year made her irrelevant as an all arounder in her own country. She needs to at least contend with Simone and whoever else. It’s not a perfect 10 code and it’s not as if Kyla needs any more mastering of her skills- she could do them in her sleep they’re so easy for her. It is ridiculous to think a gymnast of her ability could get left behind, hopefully her coaches have woken up.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Is it her coaches or is it Marta telling her not to upgrade?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        She almost got left behind at the Olympics for Nastia. Personally, that’s why I’m scared for her. Marta obviously has no “pull” for this girl and isn’t willing to take the risks on her that she would for others (Gabby, Nastia, et al). That’s why I fear she’ll be left behind.

        Marta was the one behind Kyla not having an upgraded floor in 2011/12 and Marta was the one telling Kyla not to do her amanar anymore (even though that may have been a good decision given everyone else was doing them and she was going through a growth spurt). Those two things basically put Kyla behind Aly, whereas before she was totally capable of beating Aly (and I think she did in the AA at one of the international meets leading up to the Olympics). It was after that that Marta was pulling her sh*t so for lack of trust of Marta, that’s why I fear Kyla will be left behind. All it takes is one good bar worker because that’s the gap missing from the US that Kyla now currently fills. If anything Kyla needs to upgrade bars so she’s not pushed aside for Gabby (if she comes back) or that Bailey chick (she’s the only other decent bar worker, right? I know she’s a junior now but I’m talking in a couple years…)

  4. EliteFan Says:

    Looking forward to reading the comments on here! Don’t have a day off work until next Friday, so I’ll likely be saving watching until then, but eager to hear all the commenters’ thoughts🙂

  5. kittykat Says:

    My bets/hopes are on
    – a surprise win by Nia Dennis in juniors (or Laurie, either would suffice)
    – a close race between Dowell and Biles, with Kyla coming in third

  6. sainabou nyang Says:

    For the juniors I’d say top five in particular order is l: Nia, Amelia, Bailey, laurie, polina. I would be shocked it polina won this competition.

    For seniors, my to five placements are: Simone, kyla, brenna, Lexie, plus a wildcard.

  7. mimi Says:

    is mckayla competing AA now? or is she competing floor and vault, and exhibition-ing bars and beam? she’s listed as AA on there, or am i misunderstanding the start list?

    seniors – simone for 1st AA but who knows with brenna stealthy building up her scores? i’m guessing simone 1st, brenna 2nd, kyla 3rd. i’d really like to see mckayla knock it out of the park with her routines and kyla to have some upgrades so that’s pretty standard hopes!

    juniors – this will be so fun, so much talent it’s crazy. bailey, nia, and laurie for AA but really high scores from norah on beam. i’m curious to see how amelia scores after lacklustre meet at jesolo, and i’m keen to see little maile o’keefe.. watched her videos on youtube for the past year and it’s nice to see someone unknown in the mix with more well-known gymmies! i really like emily gaskin’s style too.

    so excited!

    • Catherine Says:

      I believe everybody is listed as AA but she will scratch. Last year Nastia was scratching vault ha and loads of little girls screaming…

  8. mimi Says:

    ok i just realised my live stream for juniors will start at 4am for me.. to set the alarm or not to set the alarm.. these things get stuck up on youtube fairly quickly after the fact, yeah?

  9. exgymgurl Says:

    I actually think this is Kylas year. I think Simone has a mistake and Kyla executes everywhere and wins. Simone is on pace but has too many execution errors that she needs to clean up. Marta needs to show the international community that she values execution, experience, clean lines, and not just skill chucking. Brenna has big skills, but her form and execution will be killed by international judges. It would not surprise me to see Marta send her to worlds to let that happen a la Natasha Kelley but I think Brenna has maybe two more years in international elite. Tops. For the four member world team its McKayla, Kyla Simone and Brenna. With Lexie and someone from Texas Dreams as alternate. There really is no further depth in this field without Katelyn Ohashi and EBee. If Ebee goes to championships, shes the other alternate with Lexie or there are three Peyton, Lexie and EBee. No way Marta is going to name someone that isnt fully healed to the team if she doesn have to. This year is a throw away worlds anyway…..

    • mimi Says:

      so weird to think after all the katelyn hype as a junior she’s not even able to compete here as a first year senior! any news on how’s she is healing up?

  10. nero Says:

    PS, come Worlds I will NOT be surprised when Kyla’s and Aliya’s DTYs are scored the exact same or Mustafina’s scores higher. I wont be surprised in the least

  11. Case Says:

    I think this competition is Biles’ to lose.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      I think the nerves will get to Biles at least a little. McKayla was saying it just didnt feel as intense as last year. Duh. THere arent olympic slots at stake and you already did that. You have more calm and confidence in your abilities. Kyla is the same way. She has a lot of upgrades. Kyla and McKayla are already very hungry she needs to make Simone and Brenna more hungry.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah this is pretty much an exhibition type meet for Kyla and McKayla…they care mostly about pleasing Marta so they can be on that Worlds team and McKayla can prove she’s back.

        I’m really pleased she’s back by the way. You never know with the post-Olympic excitement if any of them would really come back (with the exception of Kyla).

        I still hope Jordyn comes back and then I’ll be set.

      • Dee Says:

        One of the girls, I think it was Brenna, was somewhat star-struck in her interview that I saw on youtube. She mentioned that she is competing with Olympians and talking about how cool it was to be at a meet with them and I hope that doesn’t get in the way of how some of them compete. I’m sure it’s exciting to look up and realize, oh hey, I’m competing with/against two members of the Olympic-champion team…maybe that will light a fire under some of the girls that might not seem as “hungry”. Especially if they get close to beating them.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      So do I and even if she falls I see her winning

  12. utgymfan Says:

    So my live feed is so blurry I can’t stand to watch it and I really have a project I need to be working on but I know you all will keep me posted! I’m hoping for Laurie Hernandez for Juniors and while I would love to see Kyla win the AA today, I think Biles might have it in the bag as long as she stays focused and doesn’t let nerves get to her.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Nothing is working for me at all so I am not watching juniors at all. I will try seniors but I don’t care enough to sit through blurry or non existent video like I am getting now. The page won’t even load.

      • Gymbee Says:

        When are the seniors starting btw? Twitter is abuzz of complaints about the feed. Apparently USA gym is “aware” of it and working on fixing it for the sr.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t know. I think 7 but don’t quote me and I love the comments on twitter. The USA-G should have had this fixed before the meet. Are they too stupid to test it before going live?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I hope it’s available on YouTube after the fact. And I hope it’s available in a means where we can see it.

      • Dee Says:

        Yea, seniors start at 7. I am just going to watch them. I hope the live feed works by then, my personal peeve is when I’m watching live feed beam and the gymnast lands a skill and the feed lags and you hear the sound the beam makes long after the skill has been landed, so it’s just random thumping in the middle of the routine when the girl isn’t doing anything. hah

      • Gymbee Says:

        Agreed – some usagym lovers on twitter are calling everyone mentioning the issue “brats” and “you can’t expect there not to be kinks for the first time”. Well usagym, test it before, also it’s not like live feeds are a new invention. It’s 2013, sort it out haha.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I retweeted someone that said something about usa gym using 1995 internet.lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        They are a professional organization and like you said, welcome to 2013. They should know how to do this bynow

      • Gymbee Says:

        Hahaha saw that🙂 now someone says ppl who complain about the fees are 4 year fans lol. Expecting a certain level of technology and I’m a 4 year fan as if haha!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Don’t advertise a meet you don’t have tickets too (like they are doing for Nationals) and don’t advertise a meet being live when you are too stupid to get the feed to work

  13. sanitynmotion Says:

    Think I just saw Laurie Hernandez fall on beam…it was blurry, but I’m pretty sure it was her.

  14. exgymgurl Says:

    Norah Flatley is kind of a surprise so far. Almost the same score on bars as Polina and Amelia with a 14.3 on bars and a huge 15.2 on beam. For a Jr thats great and I dont think it was expected from her by anyone but Chow.

  15. exgymgurl Says:

    Podium training is available on youtube in its entirety. Dont see why this should be any different. Still maybe Biles wins, and Kyla wins championships.

  16. sainabou nyang Says:

    I’m reading the live blog on AJ. Nia fell on beam and didn’t have a good FX.

    Laurie’s team mate Ariana fell on Bars.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Nia stayed up but she was really bouncy on every pass. The tucks and pike’s are too easy for her. Hell she had too much power on the double layout.

  17. exgymgurl Says:

    The Texas Dreams Leo Bailey is wearing looks like a boustier or a skaters costume. Not digging the shear on the juniors…. probably worse for the seniors

  18. exgymgurl Says:

    Congrats Baillie, Amelia, Norah, Nia and everyone else who beat Polina

  19. exgymgurl Says:

    We got her a gjob for the rest of her life…. say hello to Martas lackey….. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151334486542168&set=a.10151334486437168.1073741858.27029627167&type=1&relevant_count=29&ref=nf

  20. exgymgurl Says:

    A year ago she was competing, now shes a full on judge. Who does that that quickly shes not having to put years in judging L10 or NCAA…..

  21. exgymgurl Says:

    Im not sure which is worse…….

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      If I ever meet both of them I am going to feel like shaking them til their brains re-attach. SELL OUTS

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Chellsie is worse because she sold out. She had a great career and easily could have made a difference by talking. Anna is a nobody and graduating UCLA to work at your families gym is a waste of a College degree.Her selling out actually makes sense because her elite career was a joke. She made two teams as an alternate because of one event and she didn’t deserve to make either. If she whined no one would care.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Anna Li didn’t complain about ASACS fake medal being given to her so Shannon record would disappear. I guess silence has its price…and great minds think alike….

    • Dee Says:

      woooow….I’m officially over both of them. So ridic.

  22. exgymgurl Says:

    Pretty cool that USA gymnastics doesnt bother to spell Anna Li’s name correctly on Facebook though…

  23. JAS4 Says:

    From what I could see of it I liked Hundley’s floor hopefully she’ll add some more difficulty too

Leave a Reply

