17 years ago today

I am the Queen of forgetting things. I forget my car keys daily I never remember what day of the week it is or where I left my sneakers but thre are certain dates that always find a way into my head regardless of what my life is like at that moment. Those days are, October 20th 2003. October 23rd 2004, October 27th 2004 and today July 23rd.


17 years ago today the Mag 7 were born and while ironically I wasn’t rooting for them to win this date is one of those days I just can’t forget.

Happy Anniversary Mag 7.

27 Responses to “17 years ago today”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    Dude IOC blocked your video. But nice Tribute to Mag 7 – can’t believe it’s been that long already!

    For whatever reason, there’s something about the Mag 7 (for me) that will always trump Fierce Five – I think that’s because when I was celebrating Mag 7, Marta and her collusion and manipulations weren’t apparent (to me) at the time. They were probably still there, but just not as noticeable. And I was a lot younger and had access to way less information in general.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The first is always the best.

      I took the video from youtube it wasn’t mine.

      • JAS4 Says:

        If only Shannon could have won the AA then it would have been even better lol

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I agree, plus I miss all of the silly vignette pieces on the gymnasts.
        The atmosphere at the Georgia dome was so much more exciting than at the Nortg Greenwich arena.

      • Katie Says:

        Sainabu,mi agree! The fluff back then was amazing

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I agree that the Mag 7 victory was a little more magical than the Fierce Fives. It was the US’s first for one thing, and also in was on US soil, but I think the main thing was the competition was much greater. At most it was thought that the US team might beat the Russian team, and of course it went right down to the wire. Quite frankly, as an overall team the Russians in London weren’t in the same league talent-wise as the US team, so the US team winning wasn’t that monumental. Also, while I’ll always believe that Kerri Strug’s vault is vastly overrated, it did make for a very dramatic finish to the team competition.

      I think though that the Fierce Five were more talented from an overall standpoint than the Mag 7.

  2. mimi Says:

    i can’t remember watching the mag 7 (coverage would have been either in the middle of the night or while i was at school) although im sure i saw replays. i wasn’t as much of a fan at 8 years old as i am now, but i did have to do an “olympics project” for school and included parts of gymnastics. i felt more excited for the fierce five because i had more invested in the comp, had been following them rather than being a 4 year gym fan etc.

    still an awesome moment though🙂

    • Tortuga Says:

      I was 8 years old also. The Mag 7 was what inspired my love for the sport and why I started taking classes. So of course they’re win is really special to me and can’t be trumped. I loved the fluff back then also. The slow motion shots panning across the arena over the freshly cleaned equipment with the triumphant music playing in the background. Of course even today the Olympic theme song music gives me chills and excites me. My life gets put on hold when the summer games are on lol.

  3. exgymgurl Says:

    You must be cackling with glee over ARod….. Montezumas revenge…. and why the Rangers dumped him and his outrageous salary.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Giving ARod that ridiculous contract back in the late nineties set the Rangers back for years. I remember when they first pawned him off to the Yankees, they were obligated to pay tens of millions of dollars of his salary for years even though he was playing for the Yankees not the Rangers. I can’t remember the details but there was something the Yankees did — released him and then resigned him or something — that got the Rangers out of the obligation after a year or so. Getting that albatross off their backs is what finally allowed the Rangers to get decent players and finally have a competitive team.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        The mariners dumped him to the Rangers because he wanted ridiculous $$. They were the smartest but yeah. The Rangers dumped him at the perfect time and while they paid some $$ out they didn’t have to hang on and watch him date Madonna LOL

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I’ll admit as a Ms fan I was depressed when he left…. until he flopped in Texas

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        A-Fraud optioned out of his deal and signed a new one.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      He should have been in Boston. The Red Sox set a budget and would not go over it so for 9 million more they could have had him but they would not do it. Plus baseball didn’t want A-Rod in Boston they wanted him in NY and they got exactly what they wanted and deserved:) MLB could have made it happen but they didn’t want him to help the sox win.

      • sportsfan Says:

        A-Rod was going to Boston. It was all but a done deal, but the Players Association vetoed the deal because he was going to take less money to play in Boston over NY and they didn’t want him to set a precedent of doing that. That’s how he ended up in NY.

  4. Brouhaha Says:

    As a team, I think the F5 were stronger and had more cohesion (which makes sense, since all of these girls grew up under the Karolyi national training system unlike mag 7, who really only met during Olympic podium training). F5 had three legitimate AA medal contenders, and each of the F5 theoretically had a chance to make an EF and outside chances for bronze (Kyla on BB, jordyn on FX). However, there’s something just way more awesome about the Mag 7’s win that the F5 can’t compete with. In a narrative sense, the Mag7 has it all –defeating the best of the Soviet system, dramatic almost miss with Moceanu and Strugs sat vaults, and then an injured Strug vaulting to victory (I know her score didn’t really matter, but still, I’m always emotions when I rewatch her vault lol). Why has this not been made into a movie ???

    • terrigymfan Says:

      The Fierce 5 were definitely more cohesive than the Mag 7. In 1996 you had the whole thing of Bela and Marta segregating their two girls (Strug and Moceanu) from the other five, not even letting them eat with the other girls. That alone was enough to screw up any team unity. Bela’s hovering presence always caused discord since basically none of the other coaches could stand him. He still hangs around but I don’t think he has much influence anymore. Plus you had that whole Dawes-Shannon rivalry going although I am not sure how much of an effect it had on team unity. I also think having McKayla on the Fierce Five helped make it a cohesive group. I am sure they would have gotten along anyway but McKayla just seems to make it fun for everyone.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Facebook and social media is huge in this day and age. These kids spend more time on that than in the gym. I could never see Miller online doing keeks. Moceanu and Dawes yes but not the rest.

      • Brouhaha Says:

        Definitely about the Bela and Martha disrupting the team’s chemistry. In Moceanu’s memoir, she mentioned how the Karolyi’s would also try to take over podium training, made Amy Chow cry, etc. Granted, this is Moceanu’s account so I’m sure it’s slanted, but I can definitely see the Karolyi’s butting heads with the other coaches.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        In 95 the US was lucky to medal and only did because Miller saved their butts competing hurt. I don’t believe a word Moceanu says.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Moceanu already did a video for Lady Gaga with her husband at a gym. Can you imagine her doing that with the Karolyis around. Nice…

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I can definitely see Amy Chow crying. Because Kerri Strugg had better floor choreography…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have better floor choreography than Amy Chow

  5. Formergymgirl Says:

    As we are talking about events from 96 I am currently reading Moceanu’s book and I am on the chapter entitled “The Karoylis”. I was never a fan of Moceanu but I am finding this chapter enthralling. I was shocked to read that Bela basically took all the credit for Moceanu’s win at the US 95 AA and that it was actually Alexander Alexandronov that took her gymnastics to where it was during that period. I couldn’t believe he also made her run through her bar set 16 bloody times during warm ups at worlds 95! We all know Bela and Marta are corrupt and with this kind of account and tge testimonials of others I just can’t understand why one half of that corruption machine us in charge of US gymnastics!!! Any of you guys read it?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      He might have made her run through parts of the routine 16 times but the whole thing 16 times and she would have been broken. Domo stretches the truth to benefit her self promotion.

Leave a Reply

