European Youth Games

The team competition was held today(Also qualifications for AA and event finals) Great Britain finished 2nd and Tyesha Mattis led the AA.

Russia won and Romania 3rd

AA Qualifiers. I can’t find full results but I found videos. Go

Pictures Videos

81 Responses to “European Youth Games”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    Whoa, Great Britian beat Russia? Can’t wait until the excuse for that comes out.

  2. biyatch Says:

    GTT, by not watching the ESPYS youre missing a ton of Gabby getting caught with bitch face moments.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      LOL That’s quite okay.

      • biyatch Says:

        i hope the team wins so we can see gabby and mckayla fight for microphone time

      • gymtruthteller Says:


      • terrigymfan Says:

        Did you see McKayla’s brother Kav sitting behind her? She invited him as her guest. Lucky kid to have a celebrity Olympic gymnast as a sister.

        That is the first time I have ever watched the ESPYs. Really bad, and the emcee was horrible. I have never heard so many groans at lame jokes.

  3. sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

    That’s awesome go Kyla! Was it recently that you saw her do an amanar at camp?
    Yeah I guess

    from simone’s

    • byrdisthewyrd Says:

      It gives me hope that Kyla is sneaking in all kinds of upgrades! Maybe she won’t slip into the world of irrelevancy after all.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      This made me very happy. Thanks for sharing!

  4. exgymgurl Says:

    Im suure Sam getting to do commentary has NOTHING to do with her mom having Kathy Kellys job…. and Amanda Borden too…. we are soooo lucky to have such masterful sports dynamo commentators at classics…

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I’ll take these two over Tim/Elfie ANY day of the week. And I’m glad Nastia is not in it as well – her voice makes me want to punch something.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Agree. I actually like Amanda Borden commentating. And at least it’s not Nastia!

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        Amen Sanity. I actually don’t mind Amanda at all. I’m not sure how Sam will do, but anything is better than Nastia. I’d rather stick red hot pokers in my ears than listen to her forced dribble.

  5. Catherine Says:

    Woo Kim Janas! This girl is awesome. Also Kharenkova on floor, but she still sucks at leaps on beam. Russia’s juniors are substantially stronger on beam than bars which is odd. Laura Jurca’s DTY was so awesome. Also Mattis’ double double.

    • Tortuga Says:

      I loved Kim Janas’s choreography and she has great lines! Hope she sticks around. Also I’m hoping were right about Kyla sneaking in upgrades. Guess we will find some things out at Classics. 9 days guys, 9 days!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Is Classics being televised? Yeah I’m out of it sorry.

        I am super excited to see some new things, but knowing Marta she’ll hold people back. Bleck.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Unfortunately no. But it is streaming live from The Secret Classic web site. Google it for exact address. I’m going to try and see if it works well. I’ve never done the live stream before. I’ve heard people complain about buffering and loading so I’m hoping my internet is fast enough:/ You would think that if Kyla was doing an Amanar at camp it would be to compete it. She was possibly verifying it. But who knows for sure.

      • mim Says:

        Kim Janas on floor is just gorgeous! Maria Kharenkova flexes her feet on some of her beam leaps instead of pointing her toes and it looked terrible. She had a lot of wobbles on beam too but I can’t help
        but like her. Felt bad for Kim with the tiebreak. I didn’t get to see the vaults though, which was a shame. Wished I’d seen more of Emma Larsson, she did quite well score wise.

        Catherine, I know understand Eythora Thorsdottir (sp?). Girl brings the artistry! There is a dancer living inside that gymnast.

        It was nice to see a mix of countries in the top 10 too. Makes it more interesting that way!

  6. exgymgurl Says:

    ITs a secret website for classics…. the secret classic…. what a dumb name….. I dont mind Amanda, but Id like her better with Shannon….

  7. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    Did you all see this picture from the ESPY’s? Love Kyla’s dress!

    • Tortuga Says:

      i definitely think Kyla was best dressed. She’s showing off her body while still being tasteful. I don’t like Jordyn’s dress and McKayla is typically dressed better. I don’t like all the metallic. Gabby’s is okay but she’s so small already that it looks odd.

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        I agree to every single comment. Kyla looks fantastic. I am admittedly no fashionista but Jordyn just always dresses so much older it seems. My mom wore a similar dress to Jordyn’s to my sister’s wedding only it was longer. McKayla seems almost too glam? Like it was the Academy Awards instead of the ESPY’s. And Gabby, well, I guess it is just her tininess because nothing seems to look right on her, just a bit off each time.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Thanks for sharing. I did not watch the ESPYs. Who won, and what did Geddert say (GTT tweeted something about that)…

        Kyla always dresses the best. She nailed it, from hair to shoes.

        It seems like McKayla is trying too hard here (don’t like the color of the dress, the style, or the fit). I thought metallics were “in” a couple years ago but not any longer. It’s summer season.

        Gabby’s is OK. Not distasteful but kind of boring and really makes her chest look flat (sorry). She’d look better in someting more colorful.

        Jordyn. Gawd please stop dressing like a frumpy soccer mom on her way to Parent Teacher Night. Her shoes are cute. That’s about it. I mean she has the rest of her life to dress like that; show off those arms! Long sleeves? Such a travesty. She’s got the best arms of the bunch and she wears that Barney crap. I’d get it if she was going through a major weight gain but she’s back in shape! Ugh.

        Why wasn’t Aly there? I forgot.

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        I think Aly might be in Israel. It seems like I read that was why she was missing the show. And absolutely yes, when you have nice arms you have to show those babies off!

      • Brouhaha Says:

        Mckayla is WAY over dressed, and Gabby is wearing a dress that would look better on an older woman (like 25-30+). Jordyn should dress younger (her dress would be great on a 40+ year old woman). Kyla looks awesome!!!

      • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

        McKayla said…somewhere…last night that she and her brother were dressed the colors of her olympic medals so I suppose that’s why she’s wearing the gold. I like the color of her dress actually. Jordyn’s doesn’t look that great. Her VMA dress last year was awesome. Gabby’s looks good but I don’t like the middle. It just looks weird. Kyla is beautiful!

        Aly is doing some exhibition in Israel for the Maccabiah games (I think I spelled that wrong). that should be interesting.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Agree about Jordyn. She tweeted a photo of her and her sister, sister is better dressed I think. I don’t know, maybe Jo doesn’t like showing off her body?

    • biyatch Says:

      I agree Kyla was best dressed. It was fun and youthful and she looked cute and the way a 16 year old should look. Gabby was okay, her hair was too long I thought but nothing too offensive about a lbd. Jordyn… just no. Didnt love the hair and makeup and the dress… ughhhh. Too much fabric and it made her look super boxy. McKayla just looked like she was trying too hard. You’re a sheltered gymnast. Stop trying to be edgy. I honestly would not be particularly shocked it McKayla shows up in like the ESPN Body Issue next year.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I think the ESPN body issue. Also Maxim, yes I said it Maxim after the next olympics. Tasha Schweikert needs to take Jordyn shopping. Make a note….

    • mim Says:

      my faves were kyla and mckayla. i can’t stand people dressing “on trend” or to “what’s in season” so im glad
      mckayla went for something that simply suited her figure and looked good on her. the grecian look is always lovely regardless of what’s in fashion. her makeup was flawless too, props to her makeup artist. kyla looked glam and age appropriate.

      gabby’s hair/makeup looked great (man she’s got good skin) but her dress is probably too old for her, it’s more for someone my age. jordyn’s dress was also too old but by a few decades, the girl needs a stylist stat.

      i actually watched the ESPYS last night and couldn’t believe the blatantly racists jokes about russia! not to mention jon hamm’s laaaaame jokes. the US is usually so PC isn’t it?

  8. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    Oh boy, I just saw this pic on twitter. I hope there’s a lot of double sided tape on that dress.

  9. Katie Says:

    Haha now katelyn is throwing shade at skinner on

    • Tortuga Says:

      Hahaha, what did she say? Katelyn is pretty witty, I like her sense of humor.

      • Katie Says:

        She answered a question about skinner that all skinner wants is attention, good or bad, and that skinner doesn’t care if people talk crap about her

      • Tortuga Says:

        Oh she’s one of those any publicity is good publicity. I’ve never seen such a naughty/snotty gymnast. Just judging by her twitter.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        She said something like “Skinner must be doing something right; everyone is talking about her! Good or bad.” I liked Simone’s response about Skinner – if you’re saying you’re the best in the world at something, you need to put money where your mouth is.

      • Karlie Says:

        I feel a little bit bad for Skinner here; she’s only a sixteen year-old girl and from what I understand she goes to regular school, etc. Her twitter, which annoying to read, seems to indicate that her closest friends are her friends from home and maybe she just doesn’t “click” with the established cliques on the national team. It happens.

        I’m probably overanalyzing this, it’s just that I just can’t help but cringe and remember when I was that age – I was awkward, insecure, and had a tendency to say the wrong thing even when I meant well. I had some great friends but wasn’t exactly Miss Sally Social at school.

        We don’t know Skinner personally and just because she isn’t necessarily close with the other gymnasts at camp doesn’t mean she’s a terrible person (wasn’t Shawn the unpopular one back in 2007?). Her twitter feed doesn’t look that different than the average teenage girl’s (though, to be fair, I never had a twitter, so I can’t claim first-hand experience…haha). Yeah, the “world’s best vaulter” thing was annoying, and her insisting that the double-double would be named for her was a little obnoxious (although where was her coach? Shouldn’t her coach have known how skills get named?), but she’s a sixteen year-old raised in an elite competitive sport and people are being a little harsh on her.

      • Karlie Says:

        wow I used waaaay too many parentheses. lol sorry.

      • Sara Says:

        I agree with you Karlie. I think that the best vaulter thing may have been sarcasm, but maybe not. And it does seem as though Simone, Katelyn, McKayla, Amelia, Kyla, and Lexie have their own group, so if MyKayla said anything about the’s they would easily gang up on her. Simone has practically everyone at camp behind her (at least the older, more experienced ones) so she’s more likely to come away from this easily.
        I feel a bit bad for her, she is annoying, but as someone who experienced the crappy side of the internet in high school, I wish Simone would just stop answering those questions. Once was enough, no need to keep rehashing it. And if USAG does see all of this, I’m sure these accounts will be gone soon.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Okay, you’re right Karlie. She is just a teenager. I have a lot of moments I cringe at now also. I was still too shy to do some of the things she does but everyone is awkward in their own way. And I didn’t have all these social media outlets for people to see what I was doing. I feel lucky for that. I just hope she grows out of it for her own sake, plus it’s no fun being the odd one out on the team.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know – I am SO SUPER HAPPY I did not grow up during the times of Facebook and Twitter. So happy.

        I just feel sorry for the kid I may eventually have.

      • Karlie Says:

        Yeah, I had some bad experiences with facebook/social media when I was in high school – I just graduated college this spring so I was still in high school when the entire facebook craze started. Not fun.

        Also, Ohashi appears to have erased her original answer about Skinner. Someone asked if she thought Mykayla is stuck up and her answer was “No. I never said that. I was like applauding her! I didn’t mean for that to sound mean at all.” She does come across as pretty self-aware in her other answers so I’m guessing she erased it because she realized how it sounded.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The original comment sounded just like everyone thought it sounded like. That no one likes Skinner so Katelyn needs to own up to what she said. Not try and turn it around and say people misinterpreted it.

      • mimi Says:

        eh, the mykayla stuff is no worse than people ragging on gabby last year/this year. gabby was just 16 or 17 then too.

        i do hope for her sake she’s got some nice people around her though as it would be no fun not having a friendly face. there are a lot of kids at camp beyond simone/katelyn/mckayla etc.. but honestly sometimes is that one person person in high school at that age who is a little strange/unlikeable/annoying/brags too much and at that age you don’t have the insight to look past it and find a nicer person under the insecurity.

      • Katie Says:

        Karlie- you are right that teenagers often say obnoxious stuff and are socially awkward, but mykayla takes it to such a weird level. Instead of saying that she was the best vaulter in the world, she could have just said that she wants to be the best vaulter in the world and no one would have cared. Plus she posts weird sexual videos and tweets and it’s just kind of strange. I guess she’s just the Christina aguilera of the elites.

    • byrdisthewyrd Says:

      I wonder if Marta will get wind of these things and put a stop to the I hope not as she doesn’t seem like she’d be someone who is tech savvy but these girls are definitely answering questions we’d never hear in their robotic interviews! I’ve become a bit addicted to this site since it was mentioned a week or so ago. Is anyone else on there besides Katelyn, Simone, Poof and Victoria Moors? I should probably hope not, or my addiction will just continue and get larger.

      • Katie Says:

        I think it’s more from Steve penny and Kathy Kelly, well now Lou peszack. I remember ASac being asked what would happen if Marta found out about her YouTube video punching a guy and she said Marta would probably hang her or something. And the video had been out for awhile. Maybe Marta has gotten more tech savvy, though. Lots of old people take computer classes at their libraries or local community colleges

      • Catherine Says:

        Yes, Danusia Francis! I asked her a few and she had good answers.

        Guys I think I’m melting. It’s been 90 degrees here for 2 weeks and there’ll be another week at least. This hasn’t happened since 1995, not even joking. We’re not used to it, there is very little air conditioning and fans would be rare too. I don’t have either, no basement, and all houses are heavily insulated for the cold. I know 90 sounds tame but it really isn’t here and it’s humid too. Anyone any tips? I think I might crack up entirely.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Catherine I feel your pain. Im roasting as well. I have no a/c and Im on th top floor. As you know heat rises.

        Are there no big lot stores like a Walmart in Ireland that you can buy a fan or portable air conditioner?

      • Sara Says:

        I know the feeling. In New York when it’s hot, it’s really sticky and humid (it was 97 today, but was 104 degrees in my car when I came home ughh). Drink a lot of cold, cold water, it’ll keep your body temp down, don’t leave any unnecessary lights on, close your blinds, and open windows at night. Lastly, stick your face in the freezer for a minute if need be🙂 You probably knew all of that anyway, but that’s the best I could think of haha. Hot weather is the worst.

      • Catherine Says:

        Haha hadn’t heard the freezer one! Nope my parents are away and I can’t drive. You can’t really get ac here, it’s more of a business thing so incredibly expensive as a result. A fan if they are not sold out would be great as I think the major problem is that air isn’t moving and the heat is just trapped by insulation..but I can’t really get to a supermarket and lug one home. Paddling pools are sold out everywhere…madness.

        I think I’ll run a cold bath and leave it there for the day, sounds like a plan. Not sure how much international news you guys hear but the UK is seriously worried and there’s loads of deaths. We’re pretty much at the same temp here. I think all deaths here are drowning, awful.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Can you see Marta taking a computer class at the library. That woould be a funny youtube spoof… Marta in an old peoples class at the library to learn to use the computer…

        The cold bath is actually the best thing. You can always add ice cubes too to cool it off. Or take a cold wash cloth and put it across the front of your throat.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Catherine I know how you feel! Most of the summer here in SC usually feels like a sauna lol. If you can manage to get a small fan and close off any rooms your not really using it can really help. We have AC running full blast and it can still sometimes get 80-85 degrees in my house depending on how hot it is outside (anything over 70 is too hot in my opinion lol) hope things cool off for you soon!

      • mimi Says:

        it’s 3 degrees (celsius) where i live right now so i hate you all haha. i miss summer and i miss living near the beach😦

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        I’m so sorry about the heat Catherine (and the cold Mimi). It’s been 110 here, but its typical for this time of year. I couldn’t imagine not having AC though, I’d go mad. Thankfully, it’s a dry heat…so not much humidity. If it was really humid I would be done for.

        By the way, what’s a “paddling pool” Cat? I’m not familiar with that one.

        PS – I just realized I called you “Cat”, I hope that’s okay.🙂

      • Catherine Says:

        Mimi I’m jealous haha. I much prefer cold myself! Didn’t you have one of the hottest summers this year, 45 Celsius??? Craziness. My sister lives in Sydney but luckily she deals with heat better than me.

        I’ve been to Vegas and found the 100 degrees dry heat very pleasant! And the ac of course. It just feels wrong here ha. Thanks for the tips!

      • Gymbee Says:

        I feel your pain Catherine! In London yesterday it was apparently hotter than Bali. Getting on the tube (subway) to and from work is a nightmare. Soooo humid and sweaty and hot. Yesterday there was so much condensation or whatever that it started dripping down from the ceilings, and people couldn’t move anywhere cause we were packed like sardines!

        We at least have a fan at home which is nice.

        Thanks for the tips guys!

      • Catherine Says:

        Oh wow, gross! I heard the red cross are handing out water and cold paper towels at the entrances? People don’t realise how deep the Underground is, and how impossible to vent because of that and how old it is.

      • TrishaG Says:

        Catherine and Gymbee, I get hot very easily because of a medical condition. When I get too hot, my feet turn red, get burning hot, and hurt crazy bad. Not fun!

        Luckily, I DO have A/C. The bills really suck so I’ve learned some tricks to save money. I also listed the tricks I used in college when I didn’t have A/C.

        Ice packs are awesome. Try putting one behind your neck. Also good on your feet, especially if you’re laying down or reclining. If you really need to cool down fast, put ice packs under each arm pit. Just be careful that you wrap the ice packs in cloth at first to avoid frostbite (it can happen!).

        Run cold water over your wrists for 30-60 seconds. You can also stick your feet in a basin of cold water. These are major heat points so if you cool them down, the rest of you will cool down also.

        Turn off as many lights as possible (unless you have LED bulbs). Turn off as many electronic devices as possible. Both give off heat. Don’t run the dishwasher during the day and avoid cooking with the oven or stove.

        Insulated houses can keep out heat too, so close the windows during the day. Close the blinds and curtains to block the sunlight. Sunlight will add heat, so blocking the light will keep out some of the heat. If possible, hang sheets or blankets over the windows to block the sun that much more.

        If you have a spray bottle, fill it with ice cold water and mist yourself. The water will feel cold when it hits your skin and then will evaporate, which will also cool you down.

        Fans are amazing, so definitely get a few if/when you can. You can cool down a room by putting a fan in the window facing out instead of in. It will suck the hot air out of the room and send it outside (I don’t know the exact physics of it, something having to do with hot air being lighter…). Do this during the day, then turn it to face into the room in the evening to bring the cooler air in.

        Also, you can use another fan to make a DIY A/C. Put a fan where it will be directed at you. Put a bowl or pan filled with ice in front of the fan so that the air will blow over the ice before it hits you.

        And if you can’t get a fan, try turning on the stove fan and/or the ventilator fan in your bathroom/s. I’ve also heard opening the chimney flu can help let hot air out.

        And one last trick, which I’ve heard is very effective. I haven’t tried myself because I live in a 3rd floor apartment. Use a hose to spray water onto your roof for a few minutes. This will cool down your roof, which then will cool the temp indoors. You’ll need to do this a couple times a day.

        Hope that helps!

      • Gymbee Says:

        Wow TrishaG thanks so much! I had no idea about any of this! I did the fan trick and the bowl of ice today, worked wonders!
        Going to bed now and put my wrists under cold water.
        You can tell us Northern Europeans like Catherine and I have no experience with hot weather lol.

        Catherine, yes they do give out water bottles at the major stops. Much appreciated! The dripping water thing was so disgusting. There’s only one A/C line in London (metropolitan), typical that I moved and don’t take that anymore haha.

      • mimi Says:

        catherine – i live not live too far from your sister it seems!🙂

        it’s always ridiculously hot in australia during summer but it seems to get hotter each year. if it’s in the 40s and dry heat it’s fine, but where i used to live (subtropical climate) the temps would be mid 30s with really high humidity.. but i had a beach close by and most households have swimming pools (it’s not huge luxury to have one in australia perhaps as it is in other countries) so it’s very bearable.

        i remember being in london one summer during a heat wave.. it was actually lovely weather/not too hot but unseasonal for the UK. people did a great job handing out water and reading out heat safety tips on the tube. i always worry about the elderly people in those situations, they dont cope well with the heat😦

        my tips (although im sure you might have heard them before!) – go to bed with wet hair, use ice packs on wrists/neck/feet (works for me!), take an iced water bottle with you when you go out and about, maybe use one of those cheap plastic mist spray things from the supermarket and fill it with water and stick it in the fridge.. then keep it by your bed overnight to spray on your skin, and the best one is eat lots of icey poles!🙂 good luck with the heat you lucky northern hemisphere lot, i wish i was there!

  10. exgymgurl Says:

    Kyla is probably the only one without a stylist and shes the only one that dresses age appropriate. McKayla looks like shes going to the Oscars, and Gabby looks like shes going to a movie premier, and Jordyn looks like shes going on a cruise formal dinner on date night with her husband of 20 years without the kiddos.

    • Brouhaha Says:

      Haha you nailed it!

    • mim Says:

      to be fair though, given how little
      opportunities they have to get dressed up as they live in leos, id go all out too! why not dress it up? mckayla and gabby won’t get a prom so im glad they glammed up.

    • Case Says:

      Lol. Yes, that’s exactly what Jordyn looks like.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Or, as Sanity says, like “a frumpy soccer mom on her way to Parent Teacher Night.” LOL Poor Jo. She just isn’t the glamorous type.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        She could be though! That’s what kills me. She has sisters and a somewhat fashionable/cool mom too so I don’t get why she goes out looking like this!

        Show off those arms girl! I’m not saying cleavage I’m just saying arms! (Basically, ask Kyla what she’s wearing, and do something similar only different color/accessories)…then she couldn’t go wrong.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        And show off that waist too!. Quit wearing dresses that hang on you like a gunny sack.

      • Gymbee Says:

        She may feel selfconscious about her arms. A good friend of mine is a US hammer thrower, they tend to be quite large. Her coach don’t let his athletes have a gram of fat more than they need though, so she is just ripped. When she was training in the UK she always asked me if I thought she could wear sleeveless tops out at night, she was so concerned of having more ripped arms than the guys, and that no guy would like a girl with bigger arms. I told her she was crazy and that muscles are beautiful on girls!
        Idk just a thought.

    • Katie Says:

      I agree! Every public event they have, the only one who looks normal is Kyla. Even the David letterman appearance she was the only one who looked cute and fresh

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Its kind of sad Kyla is not professional, because in Asia for appearances and modeling she would be huge. She has a very cute girl next door vibe and is just so relatable. I think there is room for her to go pro, but I get that she didnt want to because appearances other than just for fun arent really her thing.

      • Katie Says:

        I know. That’s what I love about Kyla. She’s just doing her thing and everyone else is worrying about publicity and how to make a buck.

  11. sanitynmotion Says:

    My friend sent these to me and I thought you guys would enjoy:

    First, a really unique floor routine to say the least:

    AND so you can have a happy Friday and laugh a little (before watching this I was thinking OMG KERRI STRUG HAS TO BE IN HERE!!! – did not disappoint):

    • Tortuga Says:

      OMG I love that Hideous Choreography video! It’s so hard not to laugh out loud at work. It’s funny how gymnasts just comply and perform so many of those silly moves. I wonder how the judges always keep a straight face.

    • Catherine Says:

      This is one of the greatest floor routines ever, choreography and tumbling wise. The other is Olga Strazheva’s 1989 routine, which is directly influenced and containing some of the choreo and overall feel of the Rite of Spring ballet, and was composed by Bolshoi choreographers, no less. I have other routines that I absolutely love (Cheng Fei 04, Groshkova 89-91) but these are the greatest I think.

      • Lithi Says:

        The whole ’89 Soviet team’s routines were gorgeous. That was just magic.

    • Katie Says:

      Geza was a great choreographer. Ahead of his time.

    • Dee Says:

      I was laughing and then they showed Marta’s face and I nearly died. That was hysterical.

  12. DL Says:

    Rhythmic gymnastics judges cheating scandal!

Leave a Reply

