2013 World University Games: All Around


Women’s All-Around Final VT UB BB FX Total
1. Aliya Mustafina 14.750 15.200 14.050 13.900 57.900
2. Ksenia Afanasyeva 14.950 13.750 13.150 15.000 56.850
3. Kim Bui 13.650 14.500 13.550 13.500 55.200
4. Ellie Black 14.700 13.250 14.600 12.450 55.000
5. Lisa-Katharina Hill 13.900 14.350 13.250 12.650 54.150
6. Hannah Whelan 14.050 12.750 14.100 12.750 53.650
7. Elsa Garcia 14.200 12.300 13.950 12.700 53.150
8. Zhang Yelinzi 13.750 12.450 14.400 12.450 53.050
9. Yu Minobe 12.450 12.850 14.250 13.400 52.950
10. Dorina Böczögő 14.000 12.550 12.700 13.700 52.950
11. Mizuho Nagai 14.500 13.000 12.300 13.000 52.800
12. Seon Mi Heo 13.900 13.150 12.700 12.450 52.200
13. Angelina Kysla 13.750 13.000 12.350 13.000 52.100
14. Jana Sikulova 13.550 13.600 12.500 12.350 52.000
15. Karla Salazar 13.500 12.850 12.850 12.250 51.450
16. Kang Yong Mi 13.600 12.800 12.350 12.500 51.250
17. Lim Heem Wei 13.500 12.350 12.800 12.300 50.950
18. Mackenzie Itcush 13.550 11.150 12.750 12.400 49.850
19. Pak Sin Hyang 13.750 11.800 11.850 12.050 49.450
20. Annika Urvikko 13.200 13.500 11.550 11.050 49.300
21. Carmen Horvat 13.450 11.850 12.050 11.300 48.650
22. Rita Oliveira 13.100 11.800 12.250 11.500 48.650
23. Charlotte Lindsley 12.450 12.950 10.900 11.950 48.250
24. Mai Liu Hsiang Han 12.600 10.750 13.100 11.050 47.500


My impressions.

Aliya’s vault is a disaster. I don’t know how she scores that well. LOVE Elsa Garcia’s floor. She has a 6 start value and even though the video above cuts off her last pass (I am guessing she fell) that is one beautiful double layout. I hope she wins a medal on floor at Worlds. Afans DTY was messier then the prelims but her score in the AA just means (to me anyway) that she should have scored higher in prelims.

I am kind of bored so I don’t know how much of an impression I will have tonight.

80 Responses to “2013 World University Games: All Around”

  1. Sainabou Nyang Says:

    Have you heard the rumor that Mustafina is training a TTY? A commentor on Rewriting Russian Gymnastics linked an interview with Valentina. Aliys is planning to debut it at worlds this year.

    I hope its BS because one more ACL tear and Musty is done.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It will never happen. I did read the rumor but I don’t see it ever happening

    • mimi Says:

      i hope this doesn’t happen.

    • Karlie Says:

      God I hope that never happens. I wish Aliya would train a Cheng or something because even when she had the Amanar it was scary – it was an ACL injury waiting to happen as she was always twisting in the mat. If you re-watch video of her injury, she actually tore the leg that wasn’t still twisting because she attempted to plant it forward and make it appear to be all the way around when the rest of her body was still twisting. I almost wonder if her helicopter legs on her DTY are to make sure her feet get all the way around and don’t have the same problem as when she tore the ACL.

    • Sara Says:

      Aliya is only getting back into training an Amanar, of which she said she wouldn’t even start competing until next year. Valentina is just trying to play games with USAG I think.

  2. Karlie Says:

    Side note – Aly’s Amanar is the exact same way and it makes me hella nervous, but she has the brute strength to somehow protect her knee. Her 2012 Visa, etc. vaults were terrifying though.

    • biyatch Says:

      Aly’s 2.5 were always interesting. When she first really did it not at classics at the 2012 American Cup it looked okay, her run was weird but I think it helped her get the speed she needed. Classics was okay but then Visas happened. She seemed so concerned with the landing that she sacrificed the power she needed to get in the block to get the total rotation. I dont remember trials being as bad as Visas. In prelims in London she did the vault of her life, but then in AA finals somer of the form breaks reoccured (yet she scored higher, vault judging was whack.)

      As you alluded to however, Aly appears to be just somewhat unbreakable. Apparently Mihai’s conditioning program is crazy intense so maybe that contributes to it. I do worry about her achilles tendons going into the next quad with all the power tumbling.

      Hey maybe Mihai should hire Alexandrov to coach bars if hes not headed to Brazil.

    • Gymbee Says:

      I went around with a tore ACL for 9 months and still did power-tumbling. I just had to make sure I had the strength to protect the knee, and make sure not to do any wobbles lol. Having strong muscles definitely protects the ligaments, and Alys legs look really strong!

      • Karlie Says:

        I’m surprised to hear that only because I also tore my ACL and I literally couldn’t walk without my knee collapsing underneath me. How were you able to tumble for 9 months without an ACL?? That’s insane, I’m assuming you had to wear one of those bulky braces that are a pain? I’m impressed.

        I’m a collegiate soccer player so I’ve seen tons of ACL tears happen, but soccer tears don’t usually happen from twisting motions like they do in gymnastics. Aly’s scares me because at the moment she’s managed to lock her knees even when her upper body is still twisting so that there is less trauma on her knees when she lands. One wrong move though – one mistake – and I’m afraid she’ll do something worse.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I popped my knee cap off and back on training in gymnastics years ago. Fortunately I only tore the meniscus and didn’t require surgery but I still hard a hard time even walking for the longest time, not to mention being able to tumble and compete again. Even to this day if I sit on my knees my knee pops. I can’t imagine actually tearing the ACL.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Actually, I tore it 90% and the dr said I had to quit gym, lest it tears completely, but they would not give me a surgery since it wasn’t fully teared. I was 19 – I get saying to a 90 year old to sit in a chair and not move, but to a teenager? SO many times my knee gave out and I fell into stuff randomly, but after a while I sort of learned to always make sure my knee was in a “straight line”, ie knee straight over my foot if that makes sense. Not even the slightest hint of wobbling to the sides! And no twisting skills🙂
        After about 8 months though I though “f@&k it” and twisted into the pit. And tore it completely🙂

        I only wore a thin support bandage to remind myself that I had to be careful. After the swelling and pain subsided I was ok. Oh and the dr sent me to acupuncture instead lol! Like that has ever magically sown a ligament back together.

      • Karlie Says:

        Ahh, that makes more sense. ACLs are weird; I have teammates who couldn’t have surgery because they only partially tore the ACL. When it tears, it disintegrates and has to be reconstructed, but when it doesn’t tear, I guess it’s sometimes preferable to avoid surgery. Still – makes me shudder to read it. You’re brave.🙂

  3. exgymgurl Says:

    They probably want to push to see if they can get Marta to debut two TTys at worlds….. I call BS… learn a Prudonova… less dangerous to that knee and higher SV… someone like Maroney should be able to get enough of a block off the horse to hit that.

  4. exgymgurl Says:

    I watched Becca Bross dying on the mat after 2011 visas and valerie putting his hand over her mouth… Like WTF…. she wasnt landing them… have her do a dty people…. idiots.

    • Catherine Says:

      Arghhh no never say those three words! It’s far more dangerous. The TTY has a lovely safe backwards landing. The danger with it lies in underrotating..so knees, ankles would be in jeopardy. But a Produnova puts immense pressure on the knees and ankles if done like Pena and do it like Mahmoud and your spine,neck and head are all screaming catastrophic injury.

      There’s no evidence that Maroney would be in any way decent at handspring vaults. USA focus so much on yurchenkos and Maroney’s second vaults have always been varieties of yurchenkos. Much easier to go with what you know.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I agree. I am so scared for Pena’s knees and ankles when I see that thing.

        I don’t think being good at backwards blocking translates to forward blocks. When looking at the forward blockers (ASac, Produnova, male gymnasts) they all have immense shoulder and neck muscles.

      • mimi Says:

        i agree – the produnova looks scary. even when done properly i find it to be ugly, not to mention dangerous.

    • Catherine Says:

      It was a DTY that Bross was injured on. She was pushed to have vault ready too early.

  5. JAS4 Says:

    I seriously doubt the TTY rumors about Aliya are true but if they were that would be insane because she just gets her DTY around with no much room to spare and not much height or distance not to mention of course the messy legs

  6. Sainabou Nyang Says:

    I don’t remember where I saw it, but there was footage of nabs doing a TTY in training back in 2010.

    • laurensy Says:

      This one?

      • Karlie Says:

        yikes. Another accident waiting to happen – she gets so much power that she over-twists the 2.5 so she takes an extra step at the end. It’s more like a 2.6 with an extra step at the end.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Was that even an attempted TTY? Looks like she just can’t control her power on an Amanar.

  7. mimi Says:

    i feel like shawn and gabby need to read this article and take some advice from it: http://hamptonroads.com/2013/07/whatever-happened-gymnast-hope-spivey

    specifically: shawn (“it’s okay, there is life after gymnastics fame”) and gabby (“acknowledge and appreciate all that excalibur did for you in the beginning”).

    • Brouhaha Says:

      I loved Hope Spivey’s comment on how the ’88 team helped USAG’s turnaround from a non-competitive nation to the gold medal winning team in 2012.

    • Gymnerd Says:

      “”A good deal of the credit for her success should go to the folks at Excalibur,” she said. “You didn’t hear her giving credit to them. Since she’s not saying it, I’ll say it….

      They brought her up from a baby in the sport. She was already an exceptional gymnast before the family made the choice to move her to Iowa.”

      Suddenly, I fucking love Hope Spivey.

      BTW, isn’t this the same publication that started the whole “Gabby vs. Excalibur” drama?

  8. mimi Says:

    whats the history between musty and nabs? nabs stuck her UB dismount at universiade and while afan sweetly clapped from the audience, musty had major bitchface even though it’s obvious she’s going to get the gold. anyone know what the deal is there?

    • laurensy Says:

      I don’t think there is any history.

    • Tortuga Says:

      I’m thinking Musty is just a perfectionist that knows she could have done better. This meet is more of just a practice competition for her. She’s mentally preparing for bigger things. That bitch face is competition game face/ perfectionist face.

    • Katie Says:

      I think nabs is actually the closest to mustafina.

    • Catherine Says:

      They are really close. If anyone is more on the outside it is Demy.

      • laurensy Says:

        For some reason, Demy doesn’t seem as close to the other girls. Maybe she prefers to keep to herself or is shy. Even during 2010 Worlds, she seemed like an outsider.

    • mimi Says:

      ah ok! thanks. it just seemed odd to me as musty was finished competing.

  9. Tortuga Says:

    I saw this post from The Couch Gymnast on Facebook:

    In recent Russian team coordinator Valentina Rodionenko comments:

    1. America did not come to the Universiade because they are “scared” of the Russians on Russian territory.
    2. Tatiana Naieva’s return to the team is “not an experiment” but because she lost five pound after being “overweight”
    3. Aliya Mustafina is training a TTY and may or may not perform it at the World Championships in September. The link to THAT article:

    As you guys are already talking about the TTY Musty rumor. I don’t know if I believe anything this says. I can’t tell if it’s just Russia trying to blow smoke or American media depicting what we have already made Russia out to look like.

    Anyone else have thoughts?

    • laurensy Says:

      I doubt the US is scared of Russia or competing on Russian territory. I don’t know why USGA doesn’t send athletes, but if they did, I think they could grab a few medals. What was going on with Nabs the past year. I heard rumors that Valentina was saying she was overweight, but that was pretty much it.

      • Karlie Says:

        Alexandrov gave an interview a while back where he said that after Nabieva was sick a lot in 2012 she gained some weight and couldn’t keep up with the training plan/fitness, so she went home for a while. He didn’t ever say that she was overweight, just that she’d gained weight from being sick and was struggling with training. Wouldn’t shock me if Valentina was referring to that as well. Although her other comments bout the TTY and the Americans being scared just make her look silly/ignorant.

      • mimi Says:

        i dont get why this valentina bird doesn’t just focus on her own athletes instead trying to screw with the us .. as if anyone can play mind games with marta anyway. and it has no impact on the us gymnasts mental state anyway, half of them don’t even seem to know precisely who their international competition is anyway.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The US has not sent a team to the University games since 97 so Russia needs to STFU because they sound like idiots

  10. sanitynmotion Says:

    I think Musty’s twisting elements need to go. Her form just gets more gawd awful the more she does. I literally cringed watching her floor. I know she’s been sick but man those were hideous.

    I don’t get her vault score either but I think it’s a bit having to do with her name, like figure skating did (judges posted higher scores for the more well-known/proven athletes). Who knows. I think that Rodionenko lady is totally blowing smoke.

    I was kind of impressed with Afan’s bars (they weren’t all that bad!) but I am guessing her D score is pretty low and she still does have some form issues. Musty’s bars looked really easy for her to do.

    • Catherine Says:

      In the AA, Afan missed a requirement on bars, a full turn which if they penalised is a whopping 0.5. I don’t think they did, going by her score. Similarly, she skipped her front tumbling requirement earlier this year and it wasn’t noticed. Anyway, Afan’s got the transition bit down and the dismount is a lot better but only one release and one (or none) turns,.so yes the d score is low. I think she got a 5.0 in quals. Interesting though…6.3 vault, 6.4 floor. Maybe she can get a solid 6.0 beam and 5.7ish bars? She could make Grishina AND Paseka redundant. Just…wow.

  11. sanitynmotion Says:

    Did anyone see this – Afan debuted her amanar!

    • Brouhaha Says:

      the afanar!!

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Its actually not bad…. overscored but not horendous. Love how she crosses herself before hand. Her other vault is not horendous either.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      That’s what I was thinking…and I love how the teammate affected most by this (Paseka) genuinely looked happy for her.

  12. terrigymfan Says:

    Off topic, but does anyone suspect as I do that McKayla Maroney has a secret deal with Keek to put out a certain number of Keeks per week or something? I know a lot of athletes/celebrities have endorsement deals with companies to send messages promoting their products on social media, and it is always pretty obvious when they do so, but I really haven’t seen confirmation that a celebrity is being paid by one of the social media sites just to use it. I suspect though that Keek is paying McKayla because she seems to post a lot of Keeks for no reason at all – just time killers really. It’s like she’s saying to herself, “I’ve got to send out 3 Keeks before the weekend or else I’m violating my contract.” Keek is also new and, unlike Twitter and others, still needs to build a following. I think her contract also says she is not supposed to tell anybody she is being paid by Keek, which makes it seem all the more that she just likes doing it.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      That would make sense since she makes sure to use the word Keek in every keek video

    • mimi Says:

      i wish i got paid to just make mindless videos. seriously.

    • Tortuga Says:

      I sure hope she has some endorsement deal. That would compensate for her constant social networking. I don’t like to think she spends that much time “keeking” just because she wants to. But she also makes a lot of Vines and pretty much always says “Hey Vine!” So I’m not really sure. In fact McKayla is the only reason I even know what Keek or Vine is lol. I’d also never heard of ask.fm till someone mentioned it on here. You guys keep me young! I’m only 25 I should know these things!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        LOL I feel the same way! I would have not a clue what keek and vine are, and I’m still trying to figure out what tumblr is. There’s just too much social media stuff going around that I can even keep up with – soon we’re going to be like those characters on Wal-E and be those fat blobs stuck in front of a screen.

      • Tortuga Says:

        This is totally not gymnastics related but you’re right! The world is heading toward Wal-E and Idiocracy status, which is a night mare of mine. That’s why I’m trying to stay healthy work out and eat better (forever, not just temporarily) to not turn into a helpless blob of disease by the age of 55. Not to say I don’t enjoy junk food but it has to be in rationed and an occasional thing. It makes me sick to see so many people on Jazzys (moped or motorized chairs) everywhere. A lot of them aren’t even senior citizens! I know so many people who just refuse to eat better. You don’t have to be perfect but you HAVE to do better!

        And do we really need that many social networking options? Sometimes too many options make it too hard to make decisions. For example I’ll spend so much time looking for something to watch on Netflix and can’t finalize a decision because of all the choices. I was the same way at Blockbuster lol.

        Alright jumping off my soap box.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I also had not heard of ask.fm until someone here mentioned something that Katelyn Ohashi said on it. Then I got on it. It looks like Katelyn answers 20 or 30 questions a day on it. She’s really hooked.

        Seeing more and more people riding around on those Jazzies drives me crazy too Tortuga. What makes me even crazier is seeing these people idling their cars in parking lots for minutes just to get a parking spot two or three places closer to the store than an empty one. How about getting out and walking folks! Save gas and get some exercise too. I swear this country is eating and lazing itself to death.

  13. exgymgurl Says:

    Yes, McKayla does have a promotion deal with Keek…. I thought I read it somewhere….

  14. biyatch Says:

    Thought this was an interesting article I thought Id pass along from the Atlantic Wire that was refuting an ESPNW article about boob in sports. The espn piece uses gymnastics as an example about boobs being the death sentence, quoting the author from little girls in pretty boxes (a little outdated), and the atlantic wire article uses both Alicia and Aly to refute that point.

    • Sara Says:

      That’s funny because I had read this article: http://jezebel.com/out-of-control-boobs-are-keeping-female-athletes-down-733592839 earlier today, and I was just thinking, “but what about ASac and Aly?!” I feel like a lot more gymnasts are competing with more developed bodies now.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I heard an interview of Joan Ryan ealier this year, I think on Gymcastic, and she admitted she really hasn’t followed gymnastics since she put out her book and certainly hasn’t done any followup research. So it’s pretty sloppy journalism in my view on ESPNW’s part to be quoting Ryan on the issue of whether today’s gymnasts can compete effectively with boobs. I agree that there seem to be lots of examples (Aly and ASac, and also Jo and Musty, and to a lesser extent McKayla) that contradict the idea that today a girl has to be flat-chested to compete effectively as a gymnast.

  15. JAS4 Says:

    Afan’s Amanar was definitely one of the better Amanars from the the Russians but it reminds me of Gabby and Shawn’s Amanars like starting the twisting too early as she’s blocking off the table so she doesn’t get enough of a block to get height and distance but if she fixes that and glues her legs together a little more it would be pretty good

  16. Uglyfatkid Says:

    Lol! I just watched the link to Else Garcia’s floor, and realized that her music is from a Ninendo game called The Legend of Zelda. I may be the only geek that noticed it, but I thought it was funny. It took me back to playing the old Nintendo system where you would have to blow into the game cartridges to make them work. Lol…I’m 29 and suddenly feel REALLY old.😦

    To join the some comments above, I too had no idea what a keek, vine, etc. were either. I guess I should just accept that I am out of date now. I remember when my mom couldn’t work the VCR when I was young…I guess I’m only a few years away from that. Oh well, being old and senile has its advantages…at least…I hope it does.🙂

    • Catherine Says:

      Nope..it exploded on Reddit last year for that reason! With lots of ‘why didn’t she win, those judges were on crack’ comments!😀

  17. H Says:

    I was watching the EF in bars at 2013 World University Games.

    Does anyone know the big difference, if there is one, in D score between Aliya and Yu Minobe/Kim Bui/Nabieva? Aliya had down graded her bars in the Event final, but still she so much higher score than the others. Confused 😦

    • Catherine Says:

      Aliya did not downgrade. She’s been competing 6.3 all year. Nabieva 6.0, Hill, Bui and Kan Yong Mi 6.1, Yu Minobe 6.0. Kan and Yu were soooo clean, would love to have seen them medal. Musty is very technically clean on bars which generally does the job. Gymnasts like Bui have more deductions, slightly sloppier.

    • H Says:

      Thanks Catherine! My mistake I thought Musta changed transition/next element after the pac salto. Great to have the D score, it made a bit more sense to me.🙂

  18. biyatch Says:

    If anyone wants a good laugh go over to the USAGym page on FB and read some of the gym mom’s comments about that design a leo contest. Some of these over zealous mothers are literally shitting themselves about a bug in the app that caused voting malfunctions and that the contest is rigged. Kinda hilarious.

    • Allie Says:

      Which one is gym mom? Also, just read through those comments…those people need to get a job. Or a hobby. Good grief!

  19. laurensy Says:

    Interview with Rebecca Bross:

    It seems she is doing well.

  20. katecoursey Says:

    Totally off topic here, but I got bored this evening (I’m in India and can’t go outside after dark) so I started reading Katelyn Ohashi’s ask.fm. I actually laughed out loud a couple times…girl’s sassy! And she actually seems quite intelligent, which is (sadly) more than you can say for a lot of gymnasts based solely on their social media accounts.

    • mim Says:

      I think she’s funny and probably a little more self-aware than the others too.

      ps- India! that’s awesome! but is it too dangerous to go out after dark?

      Australian nationals AA finals tonight. hopefully it’s not a disaster like last night as apparently. it’s a sad day when practically every gymnast falls off or screws up their routine😦

      • Catherine Says:

        I’m hoping Brown, Vivian, Eade and Leydin do well. That would be an awesome worlds team, if they can qualify one..

      • mimi Says:

        i think peggy is only sending three girls to worlds but who knows! still so much work to be done, i honestly don’t understand how the standard for elite has dropped so low i’m comparison to other nations. i’m guessing a mix of not-so-great management, coaching politics and letting difficulty fall to the wayside but gosh i’m hoping for a shakeup. it’s discouraging when the best vault performed at comp is a FTY or 1.5 but whatever, good on the girls i’m sure they gave it their all and there’s no rush to build up the program i suppose.

        leydin took out the senior AA, eade the junior AA. georgia rose brown placed 5th but peggy loves her so i’m sure we’ll see her at worlds regardless of how she performs. i’d also love to see liv viv on bars at worlds, she’s a trouper.

      • Catherine Says:

        I keep forgetting Eade is junior. I want Leydin anyway, sounds like she has a shot of qualifying for bars. Where is Kiara Munteanu at? She has a DTY. I think the problem is that they don’t compete much…no Euros, no Asian Games or East Asian Games, no world cups in the last year, no meets like Jesolo..They need more than Pac Rims and worlds. Also it seems quite a scrappy system. Maybe they’d benefit from more team camps and verification.

      • mimi Says:

        i know, eade is great. can’t wait until she’s senior! she got the highest AA score of all the seniors and juniors. munteanu came in 4th in the AA, i think she had a fall off beam, hands on floor on bars dismount and oob on floor (from what i can gather from quick hits). not sure which vault she did but she tied first with a 14.050. i’m guessing an FTY or 1.5 because i’m sure there would have been more fanfare over a DTY.

        apparently peggy’s strategy is no competition until they build up difficulty and consistency. i don’t know that it’s paying off yet or that it will but what do i know! they did send emma nedov to russia i think but no high profile games. wish gym australia would get their act together because the girls are the ones to suffer from it all.

      • katecoursey Says:

        Yup India is quite dangerous for a white woman alone at night…or any woman, for that matter. You get groped all the time here during the day, and at night it can be so much worse.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Why are you in India Kate, and how is your journalism career going?

  21. Akshay Says:

    I read this blog quite a lot, and I thoroughly enjoy the discussion that goes on here. I haven’t posted before, but I figured I’d add my perspective here if possible.

    I was born in India and immigrated to the US at a young age, and I go back to India to visit relatives every year. In terms of India’s safety after dark, I wouldn’t necessarily call it dangerous. I mean, I personally feel more nervous walking around some areas of Baltimore at night, but it certainly depends on the area you’re in. I generally think most areas where tourists stay/typically see are okay. There are definitely some areas of India that I would never go in, even in broad daylight.

    The nightlife in India is very different than the nightlife in the US. A lot of shops are open late at night (until like 1 AM), so there is a fair amount of activity in the streets that late. I’d often go with my uncle to the ice cream parlor around 2 AM, and there’d be plenty of people roaming around.

    I know this issue came up following the Delhi gang rape, but in terms of specifically women going out at night – I can’t really speak on that topic personally. I do know that whenever my mom went at night, she’d generally choose to go with my dad or our male driver (a significant amount of middle class families in India have a driver). Some of my female cousins choose to go out at night to various places, and some travel back and forth from college/work to home alone, but I guess to each his/her own.

    If you do go out, I suggest always going in groups and definitely taking some sort of flashlight/light source with you if you’re walking in the streets. A problem I’ve seen with Indian streets is they’re not particularly well lit. Also keep in mind there are often stray animals (dogs, particularly) and cows in the streets. I think it’s always imperative to take general safety precautions and stay alert of your surroundings (but that goes for pretty much anywhere).

Leave a Reply

