World University Games and more

The World University Games start tomorrow.

The Start Lists can be found here.

The good teams are in sub division 3

I have two links for watching Live. One is here and the other is at ESPN3

If you find results please post them in the comments section because I will be working. I can read comments but cannot post ( I love my phone NOT)

this tumblr posted the times in Eastern for us earlier today.

July 7: WAG team finals

2:00pm MSK / 6:00am EST: Subdivision 1
3:30pm MSK / 7:30am EST: Subdivision 2
6:00pm MSK / 10:00am EST: Subdivision 3
7:30pm MSK / 11:30am EST: Subdivision 4

July 8: MAG team finals

10:00am MSK / 2:00am EST: Subdivision 1
11:40pm MSK / 3:40am EST: Subdivision 2
3:00pm MSK / 7:00am EST: Subdivision 3
4:40pm MSK / 8:40am EST: Subdivision 4
6:20pm MSK / 10:20am EST: Subdivision 5

July 9: All-around

3:00pm MSK / 7:00am EST: WAG
7:00pm MSK / 11:00am EST: MAG

July 10: Event finals

3:30pm MSK / 7:30am EST: WAG: UB, VT; MAG: FX, PH, SR
7:00pm MSK / 11:00am EST: WAG: BB, FX; MAG: VT, PB, HB


Aly is at the New England Revolution game tonight. Honorary Captain. Found this pic on twitter

20 Responses to “World University Games and more”

  1. exgymgurl Says:

    so sad danusia francis is one of the few if not the only ncaa gymnaast. so nice if sloan, kytra, maybe priess (shes in grad school) and some others would do this.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      US women rarely send a team anymore. The men used to

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I know they rarely send a team. How stupid when NCAA routines would actually work at something like this. We have some great NCAA gymnasts, and I think Shannon Miller went as an individual one year. Thats the last time I remember hearing about it.

    • biyatch Says:

      The USAG is never going to divert their elite funds to send NCAA athletes to something like this. Since elite and NCAA rarely coincide (like they do for MAG) it probably doesnt make sense for the powers that be to fund a huge team for these games as there isnt a “return” to speak of. The UF team alone could probably field a podium worthy team with Sloan, Hunter, Caquattos, etc.

      Aside from funding I think it would be a bit challenging for NCAA athletes who have a rather long and grueling season to try to peak in the summer. When Macko was doing elite and NCAA they paced her much differently then this year for example when she was just focusing on the NCAA season.

      • Catherine Says:

        Yes, but the glorious thing about Universiade as opposed to trying to qualify at Classics etc. is that they would not need to upgrade, and could in fact downgrade a bit. Danusia will play it safe. The standard (aside from the awesome Russian team, and very few others) is not that high, and is usually lower than it will be this year. I understand the reasons why USA does not send teams..but it’s still a shame.

  2. exgymgurl Says: Brazil suspended for not paying their FIG fees? this is BS and stupid….

  3. exgymgurl Says:

    They are suspended from FIG competition. It says they paid it, and there was a problem from the Brazilian to the French bank, and it was like a day late, and arrived later on in the day after the suspension was announced, but apparently they cannot send gymnasts to FIG competitions…. Google translate shows up for me on that page…its in Portugese. Are they on the Universidad games roster?

    Maybe this explains why Alexandrov has not been announced….

    • Catherine Says:

      Oh bollocks. I don’t believe they are at Universiade? Could be wrong. Is it FIG though? Surely FISU are the regulatory body there.

  4. JAS4 Says:

    It would be nice if the USA would send some NCAA girls but I don’t see it happening anytime soon Marta barely sends any girls to world cups….etc so I doubt she’d send an NCAA team

  5. exgymgurl Says:

    I know all of this, but think of how much fun and what a gesture of friendly goodwill it would be to send Kytra Sloan, the Caquattos, Alania and maybe like a healthy Sam Peszek, Llominca on floor, Zamarippa, have them go to camp and verify for a week and send them over with Rhonda or Ms Val. Think of how much fun it would be and how much of an honor. It would really give them something to shoot for. The NCAA has all kinds of $$ and it would be so prestigious for them to be sending girls to something like this. I know its far fetched but the PR would be astounding. You wouldnt have to have them peaked, just ready for competition. Hell dont even send them to camp send them to a different NCAA coach for a week or so and let them verify the routines. We arent Romania we have $$ and Marta shouldnt be worried about putting these girls in front of international judges and getting them hammered and picked apart because none are probably going to the olympics in 2016. She has her elites for that. It would also help attract more international girls to US universities for gymnastics raising the NCAA level even more.

  6. lol Says:

    The US sent a womens team in 97. Shannon won the AA over Kathleen Shivers (sp) with a fall. She should have gone to worlds that year but I read she wanted to go to the University games instead.

  7. Catherine Says:

    Yeah ok, don’t show Mustafina’s beam. Or Demy floor and bars, and some vaults. I love the Japanese but we could have seen more with the magic of replay.

  8. nero Says:

    Dear God the Russian fans on tumblr are fucking delusional. Of course Russia won they could have fallen 10 times and still won.

    Kyla, for the love of all good things in this world I beg you to hit the fuck out of your routines and become AA champion.

    Because I can barley stand the parade tumblr is throwing for Russia after winning today. You’d think this was a year ago at the Olympics with the stuff people have been blathering on about.

    • Catherine Says:

      High-larious. Omg Russia were so awesome, they won! If they had lost, with a killer team versus the b team of everyone else, then they should have disbanded round lake immediately.

      • laurensy Says:

        What have people been saying- Yay Russia won or….

      • nero Says:

        Oh just saying this win is more impressive than the USA winning the Olympics because Russia won by 10 points and USA only won by ~5~ points.

        Seriously. Apparently SCAM doesn’t count because it’s, well, SCAM. But Russia fielding a team of Olympians winning against Japan is an amazing accomplishment.

        I like Universiade, I like watching gymnastics this time of year, I loved Russia’s leos but these competitions are what they are. Everyone calls out SCAM and Classics but how dare anyone say anything negative about a meet where the Russians attend.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Watching Nellie Kim at this meet made me sick to my stomach. The sight of her face makes me want to hurl. For some reason I thought the Fig or whatever the bitches actual title is had nothing to do with this meet so when I saw her face it explained some of the Russian scores.

        I will not be surprised at all when Russia sweeps all the gold medals here. Who’s brilliant idea was it to have this IN Russia? It gives a whole new meaning to the word scam.

        Why does she still have this job?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        She must have some serious blackmail on someone.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: