While I was at the Fens

While Bruins fans were drowning their sorrows in another choke job by Tuuuuuuka Rask in their playpens (bandwagon girly fans and weird teenagers have taken over the Nation) I was at the Fens doing something constructive, watching the Sox win (AKA as NOT Rasking away the game, formally known as Bailey-ing the game away)

The Peszek’s are taking over!!!!

Being Marta’s prison wife got her first daughter on the Olympics team so must be doing something right.

Shannon Miller had a daughter and named it in honor of her AA Silver medal from the 92 Olympics. “I didn’t lose Gold I won silver” now has a whole new meaning for Shannon Miller:)

Kyla Ross showed us her new floor routine. I like it. Much better than her Phantom one. (I tried embeding this 3 times it won’t work. This is the 4th time

Aly had her Pandora Jewelry line endorsement renewed and trained some kids in Saugus The first article is all about Aly teaching the girls great form. Okay.lol

53 Responses to “While I was at the Fens”

  1. terrigymfan Says:

    The Fierce Five have been nominated for an ESPY as “best team” this past year. I have conflicting loyalties because my Crimson Tide also is nominated. Unfortunately neither have much of a chance I’m afraid because most of the major pro teams – Heat, Giants, Ravens, Blackhawks, etc. – have also been nominated. THere are just too many major pro sport team fans around.

    Gabby and Aly have both been nominated for “best female Olympic athlete.” Missy Franklin is the other nominee. Go Aly!

  2. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    I can’t even stop laughing about “Marta’s prison wife.” Seriously. So ungodly funny. That’s just good stuff right there.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Sometimes I am hilarious. Other times people just want to smack me:)

    • exgymgurl Says:

      I think it may get sams baby sister a spot…. I called that shed take kathykelleys job …. and she did…. Hey Id be martas prison wife too if only she would ask me.

      As for Shannon…. she should have named the kid platinum… like Yvgeny Pleshenko….:-)… psyched for her though

      Love Kylas new floor.

  3. sanitynmotion Says:

    So this comment is regarding the Team finals video posted on the last blog post, but I feel like it would get lost if I post it there.

    Maybe I’m beating a dead horse (I probably am) but am I correct in that Gabby’s beam was a 15.6 in quals, but a 15.2 in team finals? I know the 15.2 score is right for finals; not so sure about quals but I think so. Excuse my French but that is so f*cked up. Her beam routine was actually better in finals than in quals yet in quals the judges were sure to give her that fatty cushion (probably knowing that her floor wouldn’t get as high a score as Jordyn’s)…FIXED.

    I say her team finals beam routine was better because her foot didn’t come off on her tumbling pass and the front aerial connection was a “tad” more believable in the beginning. She did have a bigger step on her dismount but still, overall her team finals routine was cleaner.

    And wasn’t Jordyn behind Gabby by 4 tenths? SO obvious. It makes me livid even though it’s been nearly a year already.

    Then of course I don’t believe for a sec that Jo’s amanar should have been scored equal to Gabby. Jo’s form doesn’t fall apart at the end w/major bent knees and she gets more distance from the horse and lands closer to the line. Gabby lands to the left of the line by at least half a foot, maybe more.

    • Stephen Says:

      No you’re wrong about Gabby’s beam scores. She received a 15.266 in qualifications and a 15.233 during TF.The judge’s didn’t give Gabby a “fatty cushion” either .All they did was just not credit Jo’s ridiculous beam connections like we all knew they wouldn’t. Gabby’s beam d score was .5 higher than Jordyn’s as a result of this. Also,Gabby’s FX score was actually higher than Jordyn’s on multiple occasions throughout the games. Gabby was over a point ahead of Jordyn after beam too,not .4. I agree about the vault scoring though, especially during TF.Gabby’s amanar had nowhere near the height or distance as Jo’s.However, during qualifications Jo landed OOB so I think Gabby deserved a higher score there.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gabby missed two connections in the prelims and AA and got credit for a leap she wasn’t even close to completing. She was overscored. The difference was Jordyn lost the connections and Gabby didn’t

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        OK thanks for the clarification on the scores. For whatever reason I thought Gabby’s beam score in quals had been huge…

        Either way, she was totally overscored @ quals IMO. Her floor had no reason to be higher than Jordyn’s in quals for the way she literally ran out of bounds on her second pass. Jordyn stepped out of bounds on her floor too but it wasn’t like she took off running the way Gabby did.

      • TrishaG Says:

        No, Jordyn’s floor score was higher because she qualified to FX EF and Gabby didn’t. It just was high enough to qualify to AA over Gabby.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I think people forget that Gabby’s qual floor score was not high 13.766. I don’t know if she got deducted for each of those steps like she should have tho. I agree her vault was over scored. She was off to the side and didn’t get the height and distance Jordyn got yet she scored a smidge higher. Bars Gabby had the advantage being her strongest event Jordyn had the banana back form issue. Then beam Jordyn didn’t get credit for those connections (which we knew was a possibility) where Gabby did. Then floor I think Jordyn got a little low balled. I’m trying to go find a video of it to remember it all. I know she went out of bounds but that’s only one tenth per step right? I just watched the footage of the girls right after it ended and they were walking off the floor. You see Jordyn trying to go out of the arena and they turned her away. Then she had to try and compose herself in the back ground while Aly was being interviewed. She was trying to be soo strong, I teared up all over again.

      • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

        The scoring for amanars was very weird. Gabby got the same score in TF and AA when her AA vault was way off to the side and almost out. Even with Jordyn’s step out she she got 15.833 while Gabby got a 15.9, the same score as McKayla. I know Mckayla had 3-4 tenths in landing deductions but if Gabby got a 15.9 McKayla should have been in 16.0 range. Plus the russians. No idea how Paseka got a 15.3 on her awful form and stepping completely off the mat like she did. Komova got a 15.8 in TF which was only a little less than Jordyn in qualifications. Yes Jordyn stepped out like Komova did but her form and height and finishing the twists was a lot better than Komova.

        What I want to know is what happened between 2011 worlds and the olympics with judging. 2011 worlds the highest Aly got on floor was a 15 and suddenly 8 months later she gets a 15 plus whatever she does.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know Aly upped her D score on floor (she added the front layout at the end of the first pass) and I’m not sure if she added anything on top of that but I agree, the judging was atrocious during these Olympics. I basically pin it down to the fact that it was all fixed for the most part.

        Fixed to put Gabby in the AA, no matter what the cost or justification (sacrifice Jordyn’s chances)…fixed to have the Romanians in beam and floor (speaking of Ponor here – if she weren’t Catalina Ponor she wouldn’t have made those event finals with those routines; I’m just saying. I love the girl but fair is fair and she fairly should not have made either event final for flubbing a major tumbling pass and nearly falling off of beam). I think it all was fixed for Gabby from the start, and I’m not sure why exactly. I mean, Gabby did deserve the win (I guess) given the performances but overall Gabby didn’t deserve to be there in the first place. I really think her floor wasn’t scored low ENOUGH for that mess of a pass she made and I really think they lowballed Jo so badly she would fall as #3 in the US for qualifying.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Ok sorry out of bounds is 3 tenths and each step is 3 tenths. Gabby took two steps the second step slid down the slop of the carpet (Don’t know if that means anything.) Do the steps back to the floor count as well? If so then she had 1 possibly 2 steps getting back on the floor. With 4 steps total deductions would be 1.5 for all the out of bounds mess.

      • Karlie Says:

        Tortuga – if you’re talking about floor, then I think you’re incorrect. Out of bounds is one tenth (0.1) for one foot (which I believe was Jordyn?) and three tenths (0.3) for both feet, but I think that’s it – there’s no additional deduction fr more steps out of bounds. A fall out of bounds (I believe, unless the CoP has been changed drastically) is 0.8 off. So Gabby’s deduction on floor wouldn’t be any higher than 0.8, and was probably 0.3 since she didn’t fall.

        Kyla also flew out of bounds a bit on her routine and her deduction was also 0.3 (I believe, if I’m remembering correctly).

        Bars and vault are a whole different animal, but there’s your analysis for floor.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I may have misunderstood, I just went with what Tim said during the routine. Gabby’s routine starts and 12:20. Then they show a slow motion recap at the beginning of Part 5.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I forgot the link lol

      • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

        Gabbys deductions should have been at least 3 tenths for both feet being out but she should have gotten around a point for being out of control, taking like 3, 4 steps out of bounds in the first place. The main scoring thing with Gabby I still don’t understand was her beam score in the AA. Even Shannon Miller commented on how Komova got a 15.4 and had less wobbles yet Gabby somehow gets a 15.5?

      • Karlie Says:

        sj0126 – I don’t think that’s how flor scoring works, though. I think Tim is either being vague or completely wrong – I’ll listen again later (I’m at work so had to listen very low, lolz) but I’m almost positive that the only way to incur a point of deductions on an OOB is to actually fall. She probably incurred closer to 0.5 or 0.6 for loss of control, but I don’t think it could be a point, especially since a fall on floor – which is a complete loss of control, when you think about it – is only worth 0.8 deduction, I believe.

        That said, Gabby didn’t exactly get a great score – she didn’t even break 14 – so I’m not sure what the complaint is here in scoring. Gabby was heavily penalized, but she got such a lead over Jordyn between bars and beam that she could still absorb the OOB deduction, whatever it was.

        Balance beam, on the other hand, is a different story, but I never got the complaints about Gabby being supposedly overscored on floor in quals.

    • JAS4 Says:

      Gabby did get a ridiculous beam score in the AA (I think 15.4-15.5ish) and ridiculous bars scores as well in qualifications and TF I think she scored around 15.3ish and then for pretty much the same routine in the AA she got a 15.7 the judging in London was completely ridiculous (especially on Vault) and they were very strict judging Jordyn but gifted others during qualifications(other times as well but especially then) Gabby, Ponor, etc…. Definitely revived some gifts during qualifications

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gabby was overscored and if they went back and did their job as judges the score would be a lot closer then it was. Gabby’s beam and bars score were blatant cheating by these judges.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Ugh, don’t get me started on Ponor’s gifts…and I love Ponor.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Oh God yes on Ponor. Then she almost booted Aly out beam medals in finals.

      • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

        ponor makes me so mad. she only did one twist instead of a triple twist and she gets a 14.6. Jordyn was so screwed.

  4. TrishaG Says:

    Oops. *wasn’t high enough to qualify to AA over Gabby.

  5. Case Says:

    Prison wife is quite possibly the best thing I’ve ever read on this blog.

  6. Gymnerd Says:

    Bad angle(?) in that Aly photo. She looks like a pro wrestler. And I LOVE her.

  7. mimi Says:

    i wish classics would hurry up and get here!

    i’ve been watching old gym routines and docos from the 60s and 70s as to be honest i know hardly anything about that era. loving vera caslavska not just for her gymnastics but her hair and general ballsy attitude. and the japenese dudes were basically just badasses. it would have been so amazing to see in person!

    • Catherine Says:

      Check out Doris Fuchs Brause, an American utterly lowballed for her innovative routine- the first to truly swing continuously! Also Erika Zuchold, Karin Janz, Teodora Ungureanu, Ludmilla Tourischeva…the 1972 and 1976 gymnasts were really amazing, so much more than just Korbut and Comaneci going on.

    • Brouhaha Says:

      Also check out the east German Gymnasts from that era, there’s some truly spectacular bars workers in that generation

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Um… probably because the East German gymnasts like their female swimmers, were actually men. Or they were on a lot of steroids.

      • Catherine Says:

        Yes, they were doped. But their bars record is insane- Janz, Gnauck, Fahnrich…such glorious.routines.

      • Karlie Says:

        A lot of them were probably given steroids, but like most young female athletes in East Germany it was likely without their knowledge or consent. Besides, their bars are still lovely to watch.

  8. nero Says:

    So what’s happening with Geddert? I thought he was supposed to be in jail and his gym torn down by now?

    If all that stuff really was going on I could understand why Jordyn isn’t training, but if all of that was just rumors then what’s the real reason she isn’t training?

    • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

      I think whatever was gonna happen should that be true was going to go down this week. As in the trial/court date/whatever. If he’s not found guilty, everythings good. Hopefully he isn’t. Should that be true anyway.

  9. nero Says:

    Mckayla floor routine! Love the change of music. WERK it gurl!

    2 forward landings. Double layout, double arabian, 2 1/2 twist double pike????

    • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

      i love the sass. it definitely brings out her personality. I hope she has a triple until the 3.5 twist comes back.

    • byrdisthewyrd Says:

      I love the change of music too and her dance moves go right along with it! I think what we see is beautiful to watch. I like Kyla’s new routine, but this one just seems so much more captivating.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      McKayla’s one of my top favorite floor workers (this quad my favs were Jordyn’s routine, ASac’s, and Maroney’s), which was why I was so disappointed when she was too injured at the Olympics to compete it. I’m glad she brought back that choreo after her third pass where she kind of waves her arms and shifts her hips at the same time (she had it in her 2011 routine, but not her 2012 one). Come to think of it, that 2012 routine wasn’t used much was it?

      I like the music – kind of reminds me of the Sex and the City theme music…in a weird way.

      One of her forward landings may be a 3.5 twist…then a double arabian as her second forward landing. A double layout and then hopefully not that double tuck pass combo where she nearly went OOB every time.

      She looks fantastic for not being back that long. Already doing more in her comeback than Nastia ever did in her “joke” of one.

      • Stephen Says:

        It looks like the 3rd pass still has a 1.5 twist at the start unfortunately…

      • nero Says:

        HAHA it does sound like Sex and the City. Now that’s all I’ll think about when she does floor.

        I think the double layout would replace the 3.5. The 3rd does look like she does the 1.5 but she lands forward, so a possible 1.5 to 2.5.

        She’s such a fantastic twister it would be nice/different to see her do a triple as a last pass. That’s a big routine though

      • mimi Says:

        i noticed the shimmy body roll thing from 2011 lol. she makes it work!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah I like it!

        What is Kyla doing at the beginning? Watching McKayla or staring off into space or both?

    • mimi Says:

      4 in a row for amazing floor music. whoever picks her music is genius.

  10. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    This was just posted of McKayla’s new floor routine and I think I might just love what I see so far. https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=UrhK_Tas8W0

    • Stephen Says:

      What do you think her tumbling passes are? I’m presuming double layout,2.5+front full,1.5 into double arabian(?) and double pike. I love that she’s adding a Ferrari leap too.

      • Catherine Says:

        I think this is the most likely. But she had better do the 1.5 sooner or it will be a mess all over again, and she’s grown taller too so no hope of keeping it in bounds if she still hurdles too much. I wish it was gone altogether, it gave her so much trouble.

  11. JAS4 Says:

    McKayla seems to be a pretty bold person maybe she is going for double Arabian, double layout, 3.5twist, and double pike lol that would be a packed routine I wonder what the D score would be?

  12. mimi Says:

    im so excited for a new floor from mckayla! i wonder if she’ll be in competition shape by classics.

Leave a Reply

