Anadia World Cup, Day 2 Event Finals


Beam Finals

China continues to get low balled while judges insist on making Larisa a star even with her shit form and wobbly sets. I don’t dislike Larisa but these judges are starting to get on my last nerve.

1. Larisa Iordache 6.9 8.750 15.650
2. Shang Chunsong 6.5 8.650 15.150
3. Diana Bulimar 5.9 8.750 14.650
4. Jade Barbosa 5.7 8.325 14.025
5. Kim Bui 5.6 8.250 13.850
6. Ana Filipa Martins 5.3 8.100 13.400
7. Julie Croket 5.7 7.325 13.025
8. Yekaterina Baturina 4.9 7.550 12.350


Floor Event Finals

Not worthy of medals my ass:)

1. Larisa Iordache 6.1 8.550 14.650
1. Diana Bulimar 5.9 8.750 14.650
3. Shang Chunsong 6.1 8.025 14.125
4. Kim Bui 5.5 8.350 13.850
5. Julie Croket 5.5 8.300 13.800
6. Stefanie Merkle 5.4 8.350 13.750
7. Briannah Tsang 5.6 8.050 13.650
8. Jade Barbosa 5.4 8.300 13.600

16 Responses to “Anadia World Cup, Day 2 Event Finals”

  1. Laura Says:

    I hope Bulimar wins floor finals at worlds this year…that routine is amazing!! Oh, and I can’t believe Shang was underscored on that beam event…it’s ridiculous to compare their execution scores…ugh, judges….

  2. Catherine Says:

    A lot of people think the complaint about Shang is that she didn’t win, but she was 0.4 behind in difficulty so that would have been tough. But to score lower with execution when you hit your routine with no hint of a balance check compared to a girl who nearly comes off and has 2-3 balance checks/steps….such bullshit. Larisa’s score was too high- 8.75 execution…it was expected Shang’s routine would get 9+ by comparison.

    Bulimar is getting a new routine soon. Her difficulty is a little crippling at this stage- 5.9 beam and floor badly needs to be bucked up. A point behind Larisa’s beam difficulty and she looks well capable of more- it didn’t work out at the french world cup, but acro upgrades, not dance..

  3. Sara Says:
    … This basically explains why Jordyn isn’t competing this year. Apparently this is what a lot of people knew, but couldn’t say, but since John’s going to trial tomorrow, it will become known one way or another. I’m kind of extremely shocked, but I probably shouldn’t be.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Wow, innocent until proven guilty but Jordyn needs a new coach and UCLA is NOT the answer

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I guess the real question is, did USA-Gym screw Jordyn last year because they knew about this?

    • Karlie Says:

      Holy cow. They can’t have known about it last year; otherwise how could he have still been allowed to be head coach of the Olympic team? Maybe it’s my naive side but I can’t imagine them using this as an excuse to screw Jordyn out of Olympic AA but leave Geddert as head coach.

      Is there a source here? Poor Jordyn. She seems like a good, hardworking kid – she deserves better than that.

      Guess we’ll see…

      PS – GTT, I changed my email address since my college email expired, but I’m still the same lurker/occasional commenter that goes by Karlie. Hope that’s alright.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Good news. Iam lazy tonight so I’ll believe you instead of seaching for proof:)

  4. Karlie Says:

    Haha thanks! When I started posting here, I forgot that my email expired when I graduated college (sadness…), but on the bright side, I’m working in your city now and the real world ain’t too bad! Haha. I’m from the Northeast, but I went to college out west and I forgot how insane Boston (and Boston drivers) are, so hopefully I don’t get killed on my commute.🙂

  5. JAS4 Says:

    I hope Bulimar does well at Worlds this year!

  6. sanitynmotion Says:

    Bulimar’s second pass is very similar to Maroney’s third (not-so-good-and-needs-to-be-eliminated) pass; only Bulimar hands on does it tons better.

    This is the reason Kyla really needs to upgrade though, not just on floor but on beam. She can’t hold with those D scores, especially if the judges are already handing favors over to Iordache.

  7. Lis Says:

    Those execution scores for Shang and Iordache are ridiculous. Shang’s routine was beautifully executed, no wobbles.

    I love Bulimar. I don’t know what it is about her that makes me just want to cheer her on. She has such a tidy floor routine. Shang’s looked lost in her floor routine at times. Also, the gun noises at the end aren’t my favorite.

    • mimi Says:

      i like it too – she just has that pizazz! there’s something that makes her much more endearing than iordache.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I think Shang’s E scores on beam were ridiculous (like, c’mon) but I wasn’t impressed much with her floor. I might have to agree with those E scores (maybe a tenth or two too low, but I still agree with her placement overall).

      Every tumbling pass she stepped out of at least once and her first tumbling run she almost sat down (it looked like) on her punch front. Plus she paused in the corners a bit (or waved her arms – Ok, I can’t lie – I HATED that choreo and if she’s going to use that music at least smile for gawd’s sake!) Some of her dance elements also looked shaky or incomplete. Impressive that she did a quad turn but it looked like it slowed down big time on the last revolution so maybe she should just do a triple turn.

      I hope Bulimar creeps her way in and takes a world title or two. Would be nice. She was the one who got super cheated in London, right? Made beam finals and then they took her out and put Iordache in and Iordache just fell? That sucked. At least in the US they don’t do that kind of crap. Could you imagine? Marta would probably have taken Jordyn out of floor finals and given that spot to Gabby, bleck!

      • Lis Says:

        Oh, yeah, I only meant the E scores for beam. I disliked Shang’s floor. She looked lost half the time.

  8. Lis Says:

    Oh, also, why the hell doesn’t the US send one or two of their gymnasts to these events? It would be such good experience for Brenna Dowel or Maggie Nichols or Kennedy Baker…

    • mimi Says:

      the US only sends girls to international comps they know they will win, yeah?

      i agree, it’s a shame for the girls that need for international experience.

Leave a Reply

