USA-Gymnastics Camp Videos.

The Split leap blog will be linking the new videos as they come along.

Kyla Ross



Brenna Dowell


53 Responses to “USA-Gymnastics Camp Videos.”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    I just had a funny thought. If the US government is monitoring my computer usage, they’d sure get a great education on US gymnastics, lol.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      and they will still know more then the NBC terrible trio

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Imagine them trying to decipher a conversation between marta and bela with their thick Hungarian accents lol.

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    And your Pats just got Tebow. I don’t know what to say.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I have never gotten the Tebow hate. He believes in God, so what. I am the biggest anti God being shoved down my throat person but the actual hate, I don’t get.

      Maybe Brady is injured.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Haha, I don’t hate for loving God. I don’t hate at all; just never got why he’s such a big deal. Honestly he’s not a good QB in the pro league. I think the Pats could have done better for a back-up but …whatevs. Let’s hope Brady isn’t injured.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        He will never step foot on that field as QB unless. well we don’t mention those words here in New A LOT of people hate him because he believes in God and says he believes in God.

      • Case Says:

        I’m just sick of Tebow because he doesn’t have NFL QB skills, yet the media coverage he receives is unreal.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is the media’s fault, not Tim Tebows.

        I get what you mean, I really do ( That is how I feel about A-Rod and Derek Jeter)

      • mimi Says:

        a cute (not my sort of cute but attractive enough) athlete who talks about being a virgin because of his religion well into his twenties is guaranteed decent media coverage. even i know who he is despite not living in the US and not knowing ANYTHING about american football.

        is the dude actually good at football?

    • nero Says:

      As someone who lives in the Denver area just be prepared for this to NEVER GO AWAY. No matter what happens, Brady gets hurt and Tebow comes in and saves the day or completely sucks, Brady retires in a few years and Tebow comes in and wins or completely sucks, Tebow spends a year or two with the Pats and then gets picked up by another team IT WILL NEVER END. People still talk about Tebow on the Broncos facebook page, forums and on our sports radio.

      I like Tebow. ESPN rides the dicks of the guys who beat up their wives, rape their girlfriends or you know murders someone but they hate Tebow, a guy who builds orphanages.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Their love of Jason Kidd kills me every time.

        Tebow lost me as a fan when he became a Jet. I like to see people succeed when people hate them for no reason (If you had a real reason to hate someone that is one thing but people hate Tebow because of his success) but becoming a Jet is enough reason to hate

        This is Boston. We still talk about a lot of people that played here ten, twenty 100 years ago and I am a huge fan of sports talk radio so I know he will live on in infamy for the rest of my

    • exgymgurl Says:

      TEBOW!!!!! hahahaha….He has good character. I saw him at the easter sermon he did in 2012. He has a lot of swing🙂

  3. nero Says:

    Lovely from Kyla. I don’t think she needs the amanar to challenge at worlds but it would be a nice few tenths bonus.

    So just spit-balling here as we don’t know the rest of her routines but…..

    Vault- 15.2 (This is what Aliya scores and while Kyla SHOULD get a
    higher E score we know that wont happen)

    Bars- 15.4 (Her score at Jesolo, but with upgrades and stricter
    judging at worlds I think this is reasonable)

    Beam-15.4 (She was getting 9s in E scores at the Olympics so that
    plus a slightly higher D score)

    Floor-14.8 (Ok, this might be a little high, but her D score last year
    was a 5.5 so I’m guessing this year it would be up to a
    5.8-6.0 with upgraded tumbling and leaps, Ferrari)

    A total of 60.8 with my completely early, very unscientific prediction. Not bad, add .5 for the amanar and she’s got a 61.3

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I don’t know if things have changed but it has been said Kyla won’t upgrade her floor. Then again they said she wouldn’t get a new floor routine either.

      The Amanar is gone. She showed a DTY at camp.

      I am just hoping this means her heel injury is getting better.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Sad that her amanar is gone – do you think it will ever come back?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        No I don’t. I mean it could when she gets used to her height but I doubt it. Judges love her DTY even with the form issue in pre-flight. I guess they like the block she gets off the horse.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Since its so easy for the Izbasas of the world to pick up a Cheng vault when they are 5’6″ I am hoping Kyla follows suit and perfects something other than a DTY as a primary vault. Not to have two but just to have something else. Thats higher than a 5.9 D score.

        My brain is stuck in Sydney. Imagining Prudonova and Zamo and Khorkina in 2000 if it was in the current code and three up three count and the vault had been right. What would they have competed? Amanar / Raducan / Olaru…. that would have been epic to see what they could really do as opposed to what they did because everything was out of 10.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I agree about a different vault for Kyla it’s possible that the Amanar could come back but I don’t know that it will with her new height I think a Mustafina vault might be good for her I think it’s sv is a 6.0 or a 6.1 so it would add a few tenths and maybe she could eventually learn a Cheng which I think has a 6.4 sv (or close to that)

    • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

      i like it! anyone who read this do the code stuff and know what that new bars connection would bring her d score up to?

  4. exgymgurl Says:

    Oh and when Nastia has Nellie Kims job Chellsie will be one of the judges…. es BAD ADHD today LOL

  5. sainabou nyang Says:

    Rebecca Andrade has an amanar. She needs to get a little more height off the horse, but otherwise not bad.

  6. biyatch Says:

    Is Nastia still the FIG athlete rep or does that change every four years? If she’s not, do we know who has that position now?

  7. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    Here’s McKayla’s ranch video. Thoughts?

  8. Tortuga Says:

    Glad they didn’t make us wait weeks to see Maroney’s camp video. She looks like she’s doing great. No TTY but still great. And bars difficulty doesn’t look higher. However maybe she will compete the double layout on floor and replace her wonky 3rd pass.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      She looks pretty good; actually very good. Who knows what her stamina is but she’s clearly gaining most if not all of her skills back.

      Looks like she’s still training/doing a double arabian on floor and I didn’t even know she was capable of a double layout.

      Did anyone hear at the end of the video someone was saying “whoaaa I’m impressed!” and then something about fully rotating. I wonder who that was. It was kind of weird. Sounded like a gym mom or something.

      Also think that the camp must have seen better days; this is where our OLYMPIANS go to train? It looks like a run-down fugly gym. I guess after seeing the Gedderts’ video (with their nice state-of-the-art-looking gym) I’m a bit perplexed. With all the money I’m sure USAG gives Marta/Bela they can’t update/renovate their gym? It’s looking pretty long in the tooth.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Sounds like the woman says “wow I’m impressed. Nice and high and rotating wooow”

        I’m impressed with Maroney! And yes I agree, the gym looks rough.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        It’s funny because of McKayla’s whole “not impressed” thing and here’s a woman saying “I’m impressed.” lol.

        To be honest I am impressed. Of course I want to say I may just have to add Maroney for vault and floor (possibly) to my hypothetical 2013 World team – does anyone think Marta may screw over Maroney for what happened at the Olympics? Or maybe since she did it on an individual event (not during Team Finals) she won’t go “ASac” on Maroney? (hardy har).

      • Dee Says:

        I was really surprised with her vaults. I didn’t take it very seriously when she said she was going to train again, but I guess it’s time to reconsider that thought!

      • Tortuga Says:

        I think she has proven she is a woman of her word. She’s been able to balance her acting roles and train. I know she did the acting while she was recovering from injuries but still, a lot of people thought she would get wrapped up in trying to act and not take her come back seriously. She can be taken seriously. She separates work and play very well. I’m impressed.

      • Case Says:

        Yeah, Maroney looks legit. Imagine adding the TTY to that skill set…she’s a force to be reckoned with.

        I agree Dee, I sorta thought McKayla was going to hop the Hollywood train and abandon gymnastics but this clearly proves I was wrong.

        That gym is looking rough. Time to move the girls to Colorado Springs too.

      • Dee Says:

        Agreed, Tortuga.🙂
        I don’t usually take these ‘comebacks’ seriously anymore…so I’m pretty excited after seeing this video of Maroney.

        Sanity…I think if she made the world team this year and is still looking as though noone could beat her vaults if she hits, I don’t think Marta will screw her over because in the end, Marta wants medals on the big stage. Just my theory?

      • Tortuga Says:

        I love how she kinda flew under the radar and surprised everyone while we were hoping Jordyn would be competing this year. Which maybe Jordyn will just show up with out notification. I can hope right? And delusional people on USAG Facebook are just positive that Gabby will be at Nationals this year, ha! I honestly wasn’t sure that Maroney would be able to come back at all with how beat up she was after the Olympics plus the tour incident. Gosh she’s been through the ringer. Also I don’t think Marta will punish her like she did Asac, because like someone else said that jeopardized the team and worlds will be individual basis only.

      • EliteFan Says:

        I was just reading Moceanu’s books and in it she comments on how run down all the equipment was back when anything new would have come out of the Karolyi’s profits. But now that it’s the National Training Center, you’d think USAG would finance some upgrades!

      • Dee Says:

        LOL Tortuga….’delusional people on USAG Facebook’….yup that right about sums it up.

      • mimi Says:

        im stoked – i couldn’t bring myself to believe she was done with gymnastics, so i think it’s great to see her training seriously!

  9. DL Says:

    So Dowell has an Amanar.

    • byrdisthewyrd Says:

      And how do you feel about that DL?

      • DL Says:

        Makes me wonder if the milk in the US is magical. But seriously, she looks solid even with bent legs. It’s not scary looking, so this makes things interesting for 2014 worlds.

        How many Amanars are there on the American team? Dowell, Maroney, Biles, Price, Wieber and Priessman. I wonder if Ross will get hers back.

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        I wonder about that too. How is that we have so many amanars and other countries have so few? Do we just spend more time focusing on vault?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        In the US it’s so much more competitive on the elite scene you almost either need the amanar or REALLY GOOD bars to be considered at the upper echelon of the elite scene.

        Look at the Fierce Five even. All had amanars at one point, and when Kyla lost hers well she at least had very good bars.

        Plus it seems like Marta favors the powerhouse gymnasts (capable of higher difficulty) over the more artistic/graceful ones, which makes sense given the code. So the powerhouse ladies are more capable of chucking amanars since the amanar really is a powerhouse skill for the most part.

        That’s my guess at least. And the US has so much depth that training the amanar isn’t as risky as it is in other countries that don’t have a lot of elite gymnasts to choose from.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      If Dowell can get a second vault it’d be kind of cool to see two US vaulters go head to head, eventually.

      I still am pissed I never got to see ASac go up against Maroney in 2011.

      • Dee Says:

        ahhahaha. I know, that would have been a good one, Sanity.

        If Maroney did make the worlds team this year…I wonder who could beat her?

      • Catherine Says:

        Dowell loves front entry on floor..I’m wondering would that translate to a nice Rudi second vault?

      • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

        It would have been great to see Maroney and Asac got 1-2 but then Phan from Vietnam wouldn’t have made the final and I loved seeing her medal so I guess I’ll take it. Sometimes I wonder how intimidating it must be to watch McKayla vault like that and try to compare.

  10. nero Says:

    McSlayla is coming for your medals

  11. sanitynmotion Says:

    I just saw that Polina girl. Sure, she has a Nastia toe point but she doesn’t look like Nastia at all.

    They didn’t show much of her though. I wish the damn camp videos could be longer.

    • Dee Says:

      I wonder if they are shorter to cut out what coaches are saying. Sounds like MLT’s voice at the end of Polina’s video taking about junior something situation?

      I loved her beam. Geeze la weeze to do a mount like that ah haha.Nice to see some creativity in the era of front layout stepout-bhs-back layout….

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah I loved that mount too. I wish they’d be more creative like that in general; it doesn’t seem “too” much more risky than the just hop on sort of mounts (that I’m sick of).

        I heard that as well. I wonder what the “junior situation” is…maybe too many good juniors coming up through the ranks?

Leave a Reply

