Impress me: Alicia Sacramone

It takes a lot to impress me and not a lot of people do it. I am pretty critical when it comes to gymnastics (this is where you all say, GTT critical? noooooooooooooooooooo:) so I thought I write a blog on things that impress me and tonight’s blog is about, Alicia Sacramone.

In general Alicia the person does not impress me. Spoiled Queen Bee’s that have their minions do their dirty work for them are not high on my list of favorite people but Alicia the gymnast with clean form has always impressed me but this blog isn’t about Alicia the Gymnast. Its about Alicia the beamer. That’s right I called Alicia , a beamer.

Okay so in general nothing Alicia ever did in beam was very impressive. Watching her back in 2004 or 2005 or 2006 you wouldn’t have been surprised at all with what happened in 2008

but what happened after 2008 is pretty impressive. Alicia, the beamer never missed another beam routine. Call it Alicia being stubborn. Call it Alicia wanting to prove Marta wrong but whatever you call it, not missing a beam routine in 3 years is pretty impressive in my book and that is why, for now I call Alicia Sacramone, a beamer:)



Nationals, Day 1:

Nationals, Day 2:

CoverGirl Classic :

World Championships, qualifying

World Championships, Team Finals

World Championships, Event finals.



US Nationals. Day 1

US Nationals , day 2

Covergirl Classic


2012 US Nationals, day 1

Ignore the talk of her not earned tenth medal. Talk about a travesty.

2012 US Nationals, Day 2

Marta doesn’t play favorites, HA, Tim, HA

2012 Olympic Trials, day 1

2012 Olympic Trials, day 2

Tags: ,

94 Responses to “Impress me: Alicia Sacramone”

  1. J. Norman Says:

    Gymtruthteller, would you be interested in helping promote my documentary on your blog? If so it’s greatly appreciated. I commend you on your journalistic skills concerning gymastics..keep up the great writing!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I will approve your comments but since I don’t know you I can’t tell people to give money but if they want too they can do so:)

  2. exgymgurl Says:

    I think she would have had some color of vault medal. She would have been a perfect 6th team member for team USA. She should have performed floor, because in an “all but bars” type scenario she maybe beats McKayla Maroney…Then again chellsie should have performed bars, beam floor and vault at classics, never trust Marta. Never ever ever trust Marta

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I edited your post. It needed something bolded:P

      If we needed a sixth member I would have chosen Alicia but I don’t think Marta would have.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I was going to say how did that bold get there? I can’t figure out how to bold on Word Press so I use CAPS.

      I honestly believe if ASac had gone over Maroney the US would have taken home the gold on women’s vault. And still would have come home with a gold team medal too.

      I also think ASac would have qualified on beam over Gabby, but then again who knows the way Gabby was scored.

      ASac would have been my 6th member too but I think Marta would have taken Finnegan over ASac. She used the Trials to slap ASac in the face one more time by not naming her an alternate. I don’t know why she would treat an athlete this way that actually DID put forth the work it takes to make a comeback, but then again I don’t understand more than half of what Marta does.

      • brouhaha Says:

        I still don’t get why Alicia wasn’t named at least an alternative

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Neither do I

      • exgymgurl Says:

        why was she told not to do a second vault at nationals? They wanted to give the vault crown to Maroney, and didnt want ASac to have a chance of being crowned national vault champion…. the fix was in.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah weren’t they pissed that she did a second vault? She did a FTY right? At least she went ahead and did that…good for her if she was doing that against Marta’s direction. Because you’re right if she was told NOT to do a second vault that was because having her be the US vault champion would not make sense if they were taking Maroney just for her vault.

        I still get so frustrated. Either ASac/Brestian were so oblivious to Marta or they were told something, because ASac did NOT act like she was expecting anything less than alternate going in to Trials. That interview she gave told me point blank she was expecting to be named to the team. I’m not sure over who in her head but when she said “alternate is not what I’m going for but yes I’d be honored with that position” (even though her face told me otherwise) I knew she was being Vise’d. I just would have figured that given she’s a veteran and knows Marta’s antics, she would have known better.

        Maybe she didn’t have that upgraded vault but if she did, I really wish she would have gone for it. I would have loved to have seen her beat Maroney at vault in Trials and then what would Marta have done.

        Oh wait – she would have said that she needed Maroney for her floor. LOL.

  3. exgymgurl Says:

    Im so honored… I think thats the first comment youve ever edited…. LOL ALWAYS EAT on the competition floor…because Marta and Bella HATE people that eat..

    • Case Says:

      I’m going to call and have 10 pizzas delivered to podium training at Classics just to see if Marta spontaneously combusts.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Hahaha, that would be hilarious!

      • madbladescasc Says:

        I think it is the fastest way to get Martha a stroke. Ten pizzas at gymnastics competition? That’s the real definition of hardcore.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Do it:)

      • Dee Says:

        oh my god i almost pissed myself thinking of her face if pizza showed up on the competition floor…(or even within a 40 mile radius of the meet).

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Even if someone were to order bagels and cream cheese…she’d have a fit.

      • Dee Says:

        for some reason i feel as if bagels would throw her into even more of a tailspin than pizza….

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Or just make it rain power bars. Lots of carbs.

  4. JAS4 Says:

    If Alicia had been on the team she likely could have been in beam finals(possibly medaling) and I agree I think she would have had a vault medal (likely Gold since the only one who probably could have beaten her was Maroney) but Marta had no intention of putting her on that team even if she had a floor because she made a big deal about using McKalya on floor which we later found out wasn’t true since McKayla said she was only there for vault

    • mimi Says:

      but would have mckayla been used on floor if she hadnt have broken her toe? her floor is so much more pleasing than kyla’s and gabby’s floor!

  5. Catherine Says:

    I would have Price as the sixth team member. Better and more reliable than Jordyn on bars, a 16.1 amanar, a really strong floor. Alicia did not at that point have a floor, her vault would have scored less, her beam would have been equal to Kyla’s and no bars.

    I love Alicia’s solidity on beam in the last few years. But her low to beam wrecks the whole routine for me, and the sheep jump which I thought was fine is awful, her legs are far apart.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I didn’t see how her legs came apart…maybe on the way down?

      I agree on the splits she did on the low to beam thing. It was always ugly. And then they’d zoom in on her face and it looked like she ate chalk for lunch.

      • Catherine Says:

        It doesn’t show in the videos because of the sharp side angle, but you can see it in photos of it. Her legs are pretty far apart. She did achieve a nice shape with it, surprisingly so, but I’m of the opinion that your feet and knees must be together, or just a slight gap, or it’s not worth doing.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Thinking back, you are right. Ebee certainly earned that sixth spot

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah that’s true – I thought Finnegan for her floor…I don’t really remember Ebee’s floor.

        Man, if Trials were done the same way they were eons ago, Ebee would have been the 5th team member. It’s kind of sad the way it works now.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I was thinking that too but EBee and AnnaLi were both broken. Leaving only FInnegan as a 6th which is why I take ASac over Finnegan

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Finnegan was overscored on beam the entire year. Marta was making sure she had a reason to take her over Alicia

      • Catherine Says:

        Ebee had a double layout and double double, not too shabby! Her dance was eh, not worth writing about, a fact made worse for many because she was using old music of Afan’s. Her being strong on bars sealed the deal for me. Unfortunately she didn’t fit the team but she was 100% the perfect alternate. Asac would have been if she had floor or bars. I agree 100% with the team and alternates they went with.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I will never understand picking Finnegan. She never hit her connections. The real judges would have killed that beam routines start value and she was a mess on all other events. I realize people love her dance on floor but again, she was always inconsistent.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I agree with you, but I still think the most ridiculous alternate was Anna Li. Call me stupid, but I really think Anna’s inclusion was just Marta slapping ASac in da face. Even if Gabby and Kyla were injured Marta wouldn’t have called on Anna. No way. She would have had Aly do bars. And even then, if Gabby or Kyla were injured as long as it wasn’t arm-related she probably would have sent them up on bars anyways, like she did with Chellsie and her broken ankle in 2008.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She needed an UB alternate and I really think it would have been Bridget Sloan if she had stayed healthy. Even Bross would have had a shot at that spot if she had stayed on.

        I agree that Marta never would have used Anna unless Gabby and Kyla both broke arms but I give Anna props for hitting all 4 days on UB.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Man I would have hoped so.

        The whole London Olympics was just a real big disappointment wasn’t it.


  6. Gymbee Says:

    I’ve been thinking about this before. Absolutely rock solid since TF’s on beam. I think it was her stubborness.

  7. exgymgurl Says:

    Marta says whatever she wants…. thats the bottom line…..

  8. Cookie Says:

    I completely agree with what you said about Alicia GTT. I hate her mean girl behaviour but I have huge respect for her coming back after 2008. Knowing that so many people blamed her for the team’s silver medal and the fact that everybody would just be waiting to see if she would fall off beam again must have been an insane amount of pressure for her. Her stubbornness and probably the confidence/arrogance that led to the Queen Bee attitude probably made that possible.

    • Short1 Says:

      What I’m wondering is if the ‘mean girl behavior’ continued after she came back in 2010, aside from the rumors towards the end of the tour? To me it seemed like the maturity level increased quite a bit from the 2005-2008 quad to the most recent quad (although I could be mistaken).

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Someone (was it Terri?) posted about her actions during the tour (like running up to Nastia with a broken finger nail) and they said it left a bad taste in their mouth. During the whole time she was messing around and not taking it seriously.

        Guess I can’t blame her for being in her mid-20’s and doing a circus-like tour aimed at 10-year-olds but still. If they are paying you…

        I still want her to write a tell-all book.

      • Sara Says:

        A lot of people also don’t like the fact that she didn’t stick around to congratulate Aly. I kind of wonder if they even like each other? Everyone says they’re like sisters, but I just don’t see it.
        I’m inclined to love her though because of her gymnastics, but I also just love that she shows personality and excitement. It shakes things up.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I never saw it either. Alicia was always cold towards Aly when I watched them at Nationals. They didn’t even talk.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        She knew when the cameras were on her though – she would cheer for Aly in the corner a lot when they were on floor.

        I think she probably served as a mentor for Aly and probably took the “title” of big sis but when push came to shove and the Olympics approached ASac knew they were basically competitors going for a similar spot.

        Overall though I appreciate and like ASac’s gymnastics more. Better form, more dynamic. It’s too bad she didn’t have Aly’s mental strength during the 2008 Olympics otherwise she could have had a better outcome.

        As it was, when she let Sam Pezeck’s injury get to her head on floor quals in Beijing and then the whole having to wait around before mounting beam (we know how that happened) at finals – ASac was a headcase even then.

        She sure as heck proved herself after that but it was too late. Marta had already written her off. Even if she hadn’t injured her heel I do wonder if Marta would have ever allowed her on that team. Maybe, but it would have been more a fight for Maroney’s spot as opposed to Kyla’s spot (which was meant for Nastia).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She was the Queen Bee during the 2004-2008. Those were the girls she controlled. After that I didn’t see much manipulating. It was Nastia running around pretending to be everyones BFF’s.

      • Short1 Says:

        @Sara IMO, it didn’t seem like they were anything more then acquaintances. I remember in an interview shortly after Visas she was asked about training with Aly/having a training partner and one of her comments was something along the lines of ‘misery loves company’ and I thought that was quite telling. Of course I can’t find the interview, but if I do I’ll post a link.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        There was probably a whole lot of resentment going on behind the scenes we aren’t even aware of.

        She called Aly her “mini me” and gave Aly her floor routine but other than that they didn’t make a stink of hanging out together or anything. I’m sure when ASac wasn’t even named alternate she left out of fury and didn’t want a camera catching her. Honestly I give her props for that – if you don’t have good sportsmanship just leave the building.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I didn’t get the impression she left the building because she didn’t want to be a bad sport. IMO, She left the building because she was pissed she didn’t get her own way.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I give her props for not making that whole thing negative – was what I was trying to say. Could you imagine if she had stuck around and was a sour puss? It was a good thing for those that made it she left since it was taking away negative energy.

        I do believe you’re right she was PISSED she didn’t get what she felt was deserved.

        I want to know why she felt it was deserved, when us outsiders saw the writing on the wall that the best she could hope for was alternate.

        Wasn’t even Dom M tweeting about how Marta wasn’t even paying attention when ASac was up on vault?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t follow attention whores so not sure what Moceanu was

      • madbladescasc Says:

        The thing with Alicia and Aly is that there is a huge age gap between them (6 years?). So if they were always training in the same gym, but I think that Alicia always saw Aly like “just another one junior girl”, especially when she started to win medals. For a long time all gym focused eyes on Alicia as a star, and Aly was just under the radar (even at 2010 Worlds I’ve heard from the commentators voice that Aly was seen as another gymnasts that will go to Worlds once and that is all, even if they mentioned that both are from the same gym). And I think that Alicias perception of Aly has never changed – for her she remained “one of the juniors in the gym” so that is the reason why that they never became more than gym-mates.

  9. sanitynmotion Says:

    I didn’t know she had an arabian on beam in 2005…that was actually very nice looking. I wonder why she got rid of it!

    I always hated that low beam move too with the splits…it was ugly. If it doesn’t look like Hollie Vice’s take it out!

  10. Exgymgurl Says:

    Everyone in the US gets rid of a lot of difficulty. We are the only country where gymnasts are told to stop training skills. What does that say? Marta controls the outcomes…. Like Natasha Kelley… marta and company had to know she would not score well internationally yet they kept pushing her…..

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Yes you are right. I was told Marta was pressing everyone to stop training any sort of complicated mounts on beam, to just “get up there” which is why the beam mounts these days are B-O-R-I-N-G.

      Which brings the subject of another thing ASac did that was pretty impressive: she kept that mount, even though it was the one that caused her the problems in Beijing.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Marta wants the difficulty on the beam.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know but it’s a snooze fest. Seems like all the countries are doing this. So of course now I appreciate an interesting mount.

        Now that I look back on ASac’s beam difficulty it wasn’t that much – just 6.0. Not sure if that was because of her injury but I guess I can see with that D score she really was vying for a spot on vault only, and Maroney had that basically sealed.

        Which again makes me want to scream in frustration because there totally was something going on b/t Marta and ASac we weren’t privy to, and she’s not saying a word about it.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have no sympathy for people that don’t speak out. This isn’t life or death here, its a stupid sport. Alicia was offered a job and we all know that was to keep her quiet

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        I agree with Sanity, the mounts these days are boring. If the FIG wanted to spice things up this quad, they should have made a requirement to have a C level mount (or higher) to receive top marks. I am so tired of walk/jump/press/etc. beam mounts. The only way to get rid of them is to require harder ones (just like they do with the dismount [D or higher required]).

        I do have respect for ASac for keeping the pike mount, though I think it was really more of a personal vendetta than anything for her. She was set out to prove that come hell or high water she was never going to fall on that mount again. Though there was one close shave…she really did prove that she could own that skill.

        Speaking of the pike dismount fiasco, who was originally slated to do beam before the injuries? Was ASac the replacement beam and floor worker in 2008? I would have guessed Memmel or Sam would have been chosen before her. Anyone know what was supposed to occur before the injuries? I wasn’t following gymnastics closly at that point.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Memmel would have been on beam if she was healthy

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think ASac was a lock for floor. I thought she was nearly a lock on beam too vs. Memmel but I forgot who had more difficulty.

        Where was Pezeck going to fit in? Just a bencher anyways? I kind of always wondered that myself. Use her as the 4th up in quals but not use her in finals? (If she hadn’t injured herself).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Alicia had been messy on floor all year long. She wasn’t a lock with the way she competed floor at Trials.

        That team really needed a healthy Memmel.

        No one ever knew where Peszek would fit. She could have filled in on floor and beam and vault if needed. I don’t remember her bars at all

      • brouhaha Says:

        London beam finals really illustrated this! Sui and Deng had the same beam mount, the jump onto one foot thing. SO BORING

  11. H Says:

    Alicia- Mihai
    Think this was a good moment. The coach that cares about
    his gymnast:-)

  12. exgymgurl Says:

    Like Kristie Phillips judging at 2007 nationals. Anyone they think theyve screwed is basically set for life.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Am I the only person in this world with any integrity? I would never sell myself out of I knew I had been cheated.

      If I knew there has been back handed injustice against me I would kick ass and take names later

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I would become America’s Sweetheart (like Shawn did and ASac had the capability of doing had she not acted like a twat in 2005) so that the US/media would loooooveee me. Then when Marta decided to screw me I’d go on media circuits and write tell-all books and reveal how ugly she and USAG really is. For real. I’d campaign that Marta would need to be replaced. Of course this would be after getting a kick-a$$ agent on my side.

        And Mary Lou and her comment about only losers complain can go to hell. Last time I paid attention to what she did she was overscored on vault for bent knees on landing and only won because the real competition wasn’t allowed to show up. In London, it would be almost akin if Aly and Gabby were going for the AA and Team Russia were locked in a closet somewhere; who was the competition really besides Musty and Komova?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I kind of agree with MLR, just a little. Fact is no one complains when they win. Moceanu didn’t complain until she didn’t get her own way.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That’s true. She’d be more legit in my book if she started complaining earlier.

        But then again, if you “win” that basically means Marta was on your side and you have nothing to complain about.

        I still would love to know what really happened with Shawn and ASac, most of all.

        I really wish Chellsie would have fought that system harder – but with her dad being a coach I guess that’s rough. Although her dad was putting up more of a fight than she was when he was telling the media about Steve Penny calling and basically demanding Chellsie retire.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I agree on that point sanity! If say, Jordyn started complaining after winning Worlds 2011, would she ever have been selected to Olympics?
        That would be a “biting the hand that fees you” kind of scenario.

        Or do we mean start complaining earlier immediately after retiring?

  13. Birgitte Says:

    Random question:

    When you guys watch replays of gymnastics, do you sit there and hope the outcome will be different?
    Like I was rewatching 2012 AA finals the other night, and I catch myself “come on Aly, don’t grab the beam….come on… no!!!”
    and just now I am watching vault finals and I sit there crossing my fingers that this time McKayla won’t sit her Mustafina :-p

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      LOL I know I was SCREAMING at my TV when Aly grabbed the beam. DAMNit.

      I wonder if Aly hadn’t grabbed beam, would she have even come close to the gold? Maybe not. I was actually hoping she’d win gold at that point over Gabby because I was so pissed they gave Gabby the AA over Jordyn when it was so clearly obvious that she should not have made it.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Like, out of all times to grab the effing beam, why THEN! I don’t think she’d come close to gold (well closer haha) but at least the bronze!

        I play with the idea of Aly being close to 4 medals from London sometimes when I’m pissed at Gabby’s win.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I knew when she hit bars she would have an issue on beam. Well I thought it, maybe it was my thought that killed her but my first thought after Aly hit bars was, ALY HIT BARS, Hope she doesn’t screw up Sorry Aly

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Well the more time that goes by since the Olympics the least relevant Gabby’s win will be.

        Plus, the Olympic AA winner failed to even medal in any event finals. She made major mistakes in both, and was given excuses. BS. Even Nastia medaled in bars, beam, and floor (I know most of those were a joke but hey, it is what it is and she didn’t fall off of the apparatus or make major mistakes). So sorry no excuses. Not like Gabby would have come close to the podium for bars but they way they were scoring her on beam she had a good chance.

        I wish she had given the opportunity to Kyla. She obviously didn’t care to be there (Gabby) given the way she performed and then acted after like “oh whatever, I have the AA gold and that’s all that matters!”

        I just like to think that it really irks Gabby that Aly is labeled the “most decorated” Olympian. Thank goodness she got that floor gold.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Nastia acted the same way when she didn’t get gold on bars. She said a million times she had the medal she really wanted. She is just as bad.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’m not saying she isn’t but at least she put in some effort when her turn came up. Gabby looked like she was on vacation mode even before she mounted beam at EF.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gabby needs to train to compete well and she wasn’t training at that point. She was doing interviews and spending time with USA-gymnastics promoting them. I doubt she did any training in those 3-5 days after the AA.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yes, that pissed me off in beam finals too. She didn’t look bothered at all. Like “oh well, I fell. Whatevs.”

        Now I am watching floor finals. So, does anyone think ASac was home watching and cheering for her teammate and coach? :-p

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Probably watching. Cheering? I dunno. Probably secretly hoping Ponor got the gold.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Also, talk about a one-hit wonder when it comes to Gabby Douglas. Luckiest AA winner ever (in a real field, not like MLR when no one turned up.)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’ll give Douglas credit for team finals – so maybe two-hit wonder (three-hit if we include Quals). But yeah, talk about it. Can’t agree more. Talk about only hitting when it really mattered. I guess I’d rather have that than hit when it didn’t matter.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I wouldn’t call what she did hitting.Her beam was messy all times she competed it and the judges refused to take away credit for her missed connections. If they had she would not have won the AA gold medal.

        Staying on isn’t hitting, to me anyway and yes she gets credit for staying on but it was like Nastia, how hard is it to hit when you know that staying on is all you really need to do.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yeah I agree – didn’t know how to phrase that one-hit wonder thing :-p more as, not winning anything in event finals, messing up competitions previous to the Olympics (like Jo and Aly had been rock solid for years, and Gabby shows up to nationals 2011 with that beam set).

      • mimi Says:

        yeah with gabby, the thing is she was at the freaking olympics – people shouldn’t be holding their breath in hopes that she doesn’t fall at that level. it should be expected that she stay on! her fluke lack of headcasing and falling off beam didnt equal hitting in my book… blah gabby.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yeah! I just re-watched the whole team finals (NBC broadcast where you can hear more) and after beam you have Aly talking to Chow over the barrier and Chow is telling Aly something. She walks away, turns around and say “I also helped her before beam a little”. I get being a bit nervous, but sounds like they were all terrified she would head-case big time.

      • Sara Says:

        WHAT?! I’ll have to rewatch that now! It’s like Chow was asking Aly to make sure she didn’t completely screw up floor.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I mean “hitting” in that she didn’t fall off, so yeah – what would we call not a good/perfect routine but not a disaster?

        Better yet, what do you call when the above is combined with inflated judging?

        It still makes me SO MAD when I think of Gabby’s quals beam routine. She made the same mistakes as Jo if not more so and got some crazy ridiculous score, like a 15.6 – like in the same range as the Chinese. Are you kidding me?!

        And if Ponor got to go to beam finals with her crazy mistake then Jo should have made beam finals (or got thrown out for the 2-per-country rule).

        The beam judges should seriously have been prosecuted.

    • Gymbee Says:

      Sorry GTT, that is me above there! Signed me in with the name I use for my sisters blog🙂

  14. Kelley Lynskey (@Meatless_Ball29) Says:

    sanitynmotion- “Like running up to Nastia with a broken finger nail” Ummm details please cause that sounds more gross & strange then it sounds mean girl to me!

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      It’s on this blog…somewhere…about the tour. I would find it for you but I’m way too lazy and stuck on a work issue at midnight Texas time. Don’t ask.

Leave a Reply

