Gymnastike Series, Behind the routine : Jordyn Wieber

Biyatch posted this in the comments section. It’s a preview of the new Gymnastike’s series, Behind the Routine featuring Jordyn Wieber.


So what do you think? I think John is an idiot that cost Jordyn a chance at the AA because of refusing to change her beam routine. I also think Jordyn should have been in the AA over Gabby anyway but blaming the pressure is an excuse. Everyone had pressure on them they are competing AT THE OLYMPIC GAMES and Jordyn did a good job. The problem was her coach not fixing the beam routine.

If you can’t handle the pressure of sport become an artist.


Here is a promising floor routine from the recent Russian Juniors Nationals. I am am going to ignore the fact that she fell twice but give her credit for actually competing some real difficulty in her routine. If she learns to land on her feet she has a pretty decent routine. I don’t read Russian so I have no clue who this is (Thanks to Catherine, It is Anastasia Dmitrieva) but it is nice to see someone over seas actually have the potential that the juniors here in the US have.

78 Responses to “Gymnastike Series, Behind the routine : Jordyn Wieber”

  1. Catherine Says:

    It is Anastasia Dmitrieva, who is very lovely. She has time to get more consistent with her difficulty. Some Cyrillic looks kind of easy..but only if you already know the name you’re looking for from the characters.

    Russia have a powerful one or two moving through the ranks, Seda Tutkhulyan and Alla Sosnitskaya. Bondareva, Kuzmina, Kharenkova and Dmitrieva need to get their acts together for vault, but it’s nice to know they do have powerful gymnasts overall even if they’re not exactly all-aroundes.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Thank you. I’ll add the name to the blog

    • brainy Says:

      Some real promise — her dance shows she has a good feel for the music , respectable double turn with leg up. Tumbling is strong. Hope she stays healthy.

  2. Brouhaha Says:

    Jordyn for worlds AA!

    • Dee Says:

      F yea!! haha no seriously – that would be awesome.

      • brouhaha Says:

        seriously though – I want her to win two back to back worlds titles and shannon miller-style stick it to USAG🙂

  3. sainabou nyang Says:

    Theres a romanian website called Romania (puzzle)or something like that that has the updated Romanian junior national team with video. Irs a link on gymnastics Very interesting. Romania is working on a team for Rio and the 2020 games.

    I wish BTR was free because I would love to hear more from Geddert lol.

    • Catherine Says:

      They are sending a bunch to a comp in Switzerland soon. They’re pinning all their hopes on Andreea Iridon, but there’s no sign of Madalina Blendea who hasn’t competed in more than a year and was even more promising. Munteanu has an exquisite beam, better than Bulimar and Iordache.

    • Dee Says:

      I know, I wish BTR was free, too. I keep wanting to do the free trial of Gymnastike Gold but they ask for a credit card number in order to sign up to do the trial. My friend told me that so now I’m on the fence…but after the Jordyn BTR series is done I might do the trial just to see that and then cancel it before it charges me. ugh.

  4. GymMom Says:

    What the heck happened here? Very odd. Did Shawn back out with a fake excuse about a “family emergency?”

    • Gymnerd Says:

      That’s a strangely written article. Nowhere does it say that Shawn said anything about the event at all.

  5. GymMom Says:

    Gabby’s fat-ass mother bragging about flying first class etc etc etc….on whose dime. What a loser!

    • Brouhaha Says:

      So sad that she’s leaching off her daughter …. I’m not a fan of Gabby by any means, but it’s terrible to see how her family is exploiting her success. Is Gabby even still in school? We know she’s not training (or at least not seriously yet like Jordyn or Mckayla or Kyla are) and she doesn’t have a work commitment like Aly on DWTS.

      • GymMom Says:

        Gabby claims she is headed back to the gym & her host family in Iowa, but she’s been saying that since last fall.

        She’s on a book tour for her second book(what the hell?) right now. Evidently her high school age brother who lives in Virginia, is fending for himself? The mother is travelling everywhere with Gabby.

        It sickens me…all of it!

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        I’m sorry, but this whole thing pisses me off. I get that Gabby is still young, and may need to have supervision/company while she trains, but I would be pissed as hell if I was her training/support family. Her butt better be paying room and board this time around. If you can afford first class tickets places, you can afford to pay your way.

        I hope that family has figured out how much mooching is going on and wizens up. She can afford to live by herself (or with her mom who doesnt seem to have a job) OR pay her way to stay at their house. Speaking of her mom, why the hell doesn’t she just move to Iowa? If she doesn’t have a job or anything like that, why the hell can’t she move and have Gabby stay with her? This whole thing makes me crazy!!!!!

        The lack of open appreciation and thanks for everything that family did was rude/distasteful to me. EVERY time anyone brought up her success she should have thanked that family. It never would have happened if it wasn’t for them.

        Ungrateful people piss me off.

        Speaking of which, thank you GTT for providing a place where I can speak my mind and get educated on different Items. I am on your blog daily (even if I don’t post anything). I have the site bookmarked on my phone, and always look forward to reading it. In fact, it’s one of my favorite times of the day. So…to make sure you know, and to ensure that I am not ungrateful, I want you to know how much I appriciate you, your blog, and everything else you do. Thank you!!!!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Thank you for the kind words but what makes this place great is everyone has different opinions.

        I agree with you about Gabby’s mother using her money. If she is she is pure scum.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I’ve wondered the same thing. Why can’t Gabby’s mother just move to Iowa with her if she’s not working? The other kids are grown I believe (or over 18 yrs old) and seem to have to take care of themselves already. I feel like Gabby has just been telling people she’s planning on going back to the gym but hasn’t made any official plans because she sees all her team mates are going back and she knows she better jump on the bandwagon to keep the spot light (which her spot light has diminished, she just doesn’t know.) 2014 American Cup is still going to be a hard spot to get seeing that there are only 2 spots. If she did come back for 2014 we probably won’t see her compete until Classics. That seems forever away.

  6. nero Says:

    So I’m assuming there is going to be some ‘other’ way to watch the Jordyn series? Because I just spent $50 for summer soccer and I’m not paying $20 a month for this thing.

    • Sara Says:

      It’s $20?! UGH I thought it was $10. I’m really not thrilled to pay for any of this though. If they have a free trial, I’m just going to wait until the series ends and then watch and cancel. There’s no way I’m paying.

      • Short1 Says:

        @Sara same here, that price is ridiculous! I wish they’d make these series available on iTunes or something (like podcasts and T.V. shows do) so they could be purchased individually w/o having to pay $20 per month!

  7. Katie Says:

    That doctor seemed a little weird

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Larry nasser is also head dr for usa gymnastics…. Good karolyi puppet….. Been around since the early 90s at the ranch…

  8. JAS4 Says:

    I think she shows potential and the choreography is decent but it doesn’t seem to go well with the music to me but not bad

  9. Gymnerd Says:

    Jordyn didn’t choke under pressure and she has nothing to be ashamed of. Why didn’t *Marta* fix her routine, or give JG orders to do so? Isn’t that part of her job?

    • Katie Says:

      I wonder that too because it was so obvious.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Marta didn’t fix that routine for a reason – it was going with her plan to promote Gabby over Jordyn. If Geddert “had” taken those connections out and fixed it, I’d bet you Marta would tell him to keep them!

        It is part of Marta’s job and frankly I wonder why Geddert didn’t make some noise about that. He does have Jordyn’s reputation at stake though if he starts being too much of a squeaky wheel; I mean he’s already too much of one but if he points blame in Marta’s direction he’ll have Jo blackballed forever. That’s just the way it works.

        I haven’t seen the video yet of Jo but to say that she fell under pressure is plain stupid. Jo did a great job, and we all know she’s not an athlete that falls under pressure. I mean even Geddert said that at Worlds when she messed up bars she just came back and rocked beam and floor. What a crock that he says that now about the Olympics. Especially given that she had an injury. Jo was more rock solid on her events than Gabby in quals yet Gabby was given the AA because the judges were doing what Marta wanted. They gave Gabby all credit for connections and did not deduct entirely enough when she “ran” out of bounds on the floor exercise. Every time I see that I get angry.

      • Laura Says:

        It seems odd that Marta would try and hold back a gymnast…she doesn’t really care who tops that podium, as long as it’s a US gymnast. I’m sure she would have rather had Jordyn and Gabby in the AA than Aly and Gabby as Jordyn had a much better chance of beating Viktoria or Aliya than Aly.

        Marta does have power but I doubt every judge at the olympics was doing her bidding. Gabby had the perfect night when it counted, Viktoria is a better gymnast then Gabby but she didn’t have a great night…that’s not something Marta can arrange.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That isn’t true at all. Marta picks her favorites and she screws everyone over until she gets what she wants. Bross over Sloan anyone. Nastia over Shawn, Gabby over everyone. No no NO, Do not agree AT ALL. Marta does what Marta wants.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        like that song…only “whatever MARTA wants…..MARTA gets…”

      • gingercrush Says:

        Hmmm no. Jordyn is just another gymnast a bit like Patterson. Douglas is special. Martha saw that and thought like Comaneci and Mary bloody Lou Retton before her she could have been something really special. unfortunately it is 2012/2013 and nobody really cares about gymnastics as they did previously.

        Also I don’t think Martha likes John Geddert.

      • mimi Says:

        i feel like special should be qualified with quotation marks….

        douglas is “special”😉

  10. sainabou nyang Says:

    I’m hoping for a Jordyn vs Vika vs Musty match at worlds for the AA. Talk about a rematch! Plus through in a couple of wild cards-Kyla, larissa, Diana.

  11. Biyatch Says:

    It’s hard because I do like Jordyn and want her to be able to finish gymnastics without regrets but I just hate that her success is ties to Geddert’s success because to be honest I would be okay with Geddert falling on his face.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Geddert already did fall on his face. Politically who would send their kid there???? Seriously he’s insulted college gymnastics by saying its not for Jordyn and basically that shes too good, he tanked her by not going along with what the judges and Marta told him. I honestly think everyone told him to fix it and he said no I know whats best for my athlete. So he’s alienated judges, hes alienated the NCAA and hes alienated Marta Karolyi who according to Chelle Stack’s mom is worse than Bella……. gee… I wanna be a twistar

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It has never been confirmed by anyone that Marta told Geddert a thing. What was said is that Geddert was told by someone at the Olympics that she would not get credit for her combinations and that he ignored them. I am pretty sure I read this at GGMB which if true it all went down at the Olympics not before.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’d bet if anything Marta DIDN’T SAY A WORD to Geddert about Jo’s connections, and with reason. She knew it would only help the case with Gabby.

      • gingercrush Says:

        I’m with GTT. I don’t think Martha told Geddert. But I do think during podium training USA gymnastics had people in the know to validate the routines. That did seem to work for everyone but Jordyn since Jordyn’s silly coach didn’t listen.

        Though I’m sure it was mentioned in Geddert’s blog but the only thing I can see there is in reference to some floor dance skills. i.e. Weiber’s Gogean not being proper.

      • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

        Eh I don’t see the NCAA thing being that big of a deal for John. He has like 20 level 10’s that have committed to universities. Honestly I think no matter what he did it could have gone wrong. Changing Jordyn’s routine right before qualifying could have been a disaster even with a gymnast as mentally strong as her.

        Honestly her connections weren’t even that slow! I went back recently and rewatched her beam (can never watch USA’s qualification) and Komova’s beam and hers are basically the same as hers yet Jordyn got nothing and Komova got all of them.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have stopped approving people but I need to make a comment to your comment. YES, Geddert was told at the Olympics but the fact is WE ALL KNEW before that. It was talked about and Marta hires people to know this stuff yet with Jordyn they sat on their ass’s and did nothing.

        If I knew she wouldn’t be getting credit than Marta knew and she chose to do nothing about it. That just pretty much proves that she cares about what she wants and not what is best for everyone and that is why I don’t trust what she is doing to Kyla.

      • Case Says:

        I’ll tell you why you’d send your kid to Geddert….he’s not an abusive asshole like many of the coaches that still exist out there. He respects his athletes.

        I don’t think he’s the brightest bulb, but I like the fact he challenges Marta instead of putting his balls in her purse like everybody else in USA Gymnastics.

        If he indeed found out about the connection problem at the Olympics, I’m sure he was wrestling with the issue of changing that routine. Do you change somebody’s routine right before the biggest meet of their life? While they have a stress fracture?

        If Marta knew those connections wouldn’t count she should have told him way before London.

      • Short1 Says:

        @GTT I agree that most people already knew. I remember even during nationals Tim Daggett kept talking about Jordyn’s connections and how the judges were giving ones that he wouldn’t have given and that international judges probably wouldn’t give.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        He should have known and even if he didn’t he shouldn’t have chosen to risk it on his prized athlete.

        Marta knew and chose not to do anything because it only benefited her with the plan to have Gabby be front and center by the end of it all.

        I never understood it (with Geddert).

        The only apparatus Jo won a medal on at Worlds (individually) was beam. Of all apparatus’ NOT to f*ck around with the year of the Olympics, you’d THINK it would have been the ONE apparatus she came in the top three on the year before. If a combo needed to be added, they could have done one NOT involving the full twisting back somersault. It was enough of a “wow” factor on its own, NOT sandwiched between a front and a back element. If anything those combos took the “wow” factor of that move away. Remember when Shawn did it? It was enough to stand by itself. And Jordyn actually does it better.

        From 2011 to 2012, she needed the following:

        A different third pass on floor – I think they fixed that (she was coming up short on her front layout on that third pass). She could have also used some more points on the dancing elements or something on floor to give her a few more tenths here and there.

        An upgraded bars dismount – done (full twisting double layout)

        She had the amanar. Done. No fixing.

        To me, it was becoming obvious Marta was setting the whole Gabby situation up for her to be an ankle biter, morphing into something more serious come the Olympics. Jo really needed some different elements/combos on her bars routine to make that more competitive w/Gabby. She was already nearly there considering Jo made bars finals at Worlds in 2011 – some more tenths I don’t see how Gabby could really have had the upper hand by then. Even so, Gabby’s highest D score was what, 6.7? On a good day? Didn’t it mostly come in at around 6.4? I think Jo’s was a 6.2?

        Yeah, if anything Jo should have rang in 2012 with a spanking kick ass bars routine. Screw you, Marta.

        I like how Geddert is protective of Jo and it really seems he cares for her. He’s a dick but he’s the kind of dick coach you’d want on your side at the end of the day – over the likes of Bella, Liukin, and even Kelly Hill and the crazy nut job that coaches Priessman and Hundley. I may even prefer him over Zmeskal because you know Zmeskal is just another Marta lap dog. She’d run one of her athletes over with a bus if Marta told her to, at the expense of another athlete. In fact we may see at the end of this quad Zmeskal being worse than Liukin, you never know.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Good point about her getting a beam medal. I get upgrading but it is just plain stupid to be this brain dead when everyone else knew.

        I don’t think John is a bad guy. I just think his ego got in the way and he better fix that ego

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Everyone knew but Geddert apparently

  12. Catherine Says:

    Afan is training a full-twisting DLO! It’s the video called ‘no name’ on the right. She is also said to be training a 3.5 twist which I’d well believe seeing as she finishes twisting in her triple full quite early. Soo that and this amanar in the works is pretty incredible.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Wow – impressive. I just don’t know given her head-casiness if I can believe she’ll pull all the upgrades off in one competition though.

      If she’s capable of that, then watch out. Although I don’t remember her bars, are they that good? Or do you think she’s more of an ASac type gymnast?

      • Catherine Says:

        Her line on bars is pretty good. But her dismounts are a bit like Atler and the Comaneci. At Euros she crashed sideways into the mat, and it’s not the first time she’s has major issues with it- a full twisting double back. She’s been very strong on floor recently, I’d trust her there, and her DTY has improved. Beam is a wobblefest and then bars are dodgy…but we’ll see.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That kind of verifies a lot of her issues are mental. I’m willing to bet she’s been getting more confident on floor since she won gold in 2011 – and with her fall at Olympics possibly wants redemption, which is great.

        I’m surprised they are having her upgrade vault to an amanar – something she never demonstrated before when she was younger – yet it sounded like when she was at Euros she was practicing (but not yet landing) them. However Musty – who HAD done an amanar in competition previously – is not being encouraged to upgrade back to it. I wonder if they are that scared of her injuring herself again since her taller body and crap form would lend itself to it.

        Seems like Russia is going to be relying a lot on Grishina to be their beamer this Worlds. Since Komova is out, Musty has been having issues and AFan is a wobble fest. How is Dementieva doing (sp?) – I liked her a lot and was sad she didn’t make the London team.

      • Catherine Says:

        Demy has been headcasing over and over again. She would be very lucky to make universiade at this stage. Mustafina has said the amanar is something they will be looking at next season and that she has no fear of it at all. Afan must have been playing it safe for London and now wants to go all out. I hope she stays sensible though, they cannot afford to lose her to injury, they have zero depth right now.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Afan can’t hit the routines she has now, upgrading is stupid for her. She never hit the Amanar once at Euro’s and she has never been one of their best vaulters.

      • Catherine Says:

        She is hitting floor with some upgrades, and her DTY has improved. Not sure how smart an amanar is for her, probably hold it in reserve for 2014 TF? I think she can upgrade her tumbles, she makes her current routine look easy. I would agree she doesn’t need to, but she seems to be having fun and in great shape, and has already done the Olympic thing twice, so why not. Beam is soooo shaky and she still has to fix her bars dismount..I don’t see her as an AAer really, but such a valuable team player.

    • gingercrush Says:

      o.o why. Seriously she has a bloody competitive floor score now without risking major mistakes that would happen if she did a Full Twisting DLO or a 3.5 twist. I don’t think she requires either. All she needs are to complete what she is currently doing and be clean on her landings and I don’t see her losing floor finals.

  13. sainabou nyang Says:

    I don’t know who this gymnast is but this is amazing if she manages to compete this skill at an international event.

    • Dee Says:

      Woah….I don’t know who she is either but that’s CRAY. I can’t even imagine that on a floor!

  14. lol Says:

    AFan was not consistent. She was a disaster at Europeans messing up big time in prelims and only hitting floor.

  15. lol Says:

    The point isn’t, if Geddert knew. The point is he should have known. He gets paid to think.

  16. sanitynmotion Says:

    The posts about Geddert/Jo and the beam upgrades almost makes me want to confront Geddert on Twitter or his blog or something and ask him point blank: WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?

    No really, I just want to know. From his point of view. I would actually be really curious. I know it’s easy to assume his ego was the only one talking inside his brain but I have to think there may have been other factors. I don’t feel like ego is enough to make him want to risk anything when it came to Jo. I really feel like he had her best intentions at heart and wanted that dream for her as much as he did himself. He treats her like a daughter – and I get the feeling he almost thinks of her as a second daughter. Heck, I’d bet he spent more time with her growing up than her own dad did.

    That being said, I wonder if we can all just ask him. Forget about paying the stupid $20 for the videos and the fancy dancy editing – why don’t we ask him? Maybe if we all do it at once on Twitter or his blog he’ll come around to posting a response.

    I think he would.

    We’d just have to be a bit nicer about it as opposed to asking him point blank: WHAT WERE YOU THINKING? (like I did above) – need to be more politically correct about it. That’s the only way I think he’d respond, an inquisitive question as opposed to attack mode.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      He will never answer us and the way he acts sometimes he will probably bitch slap us for the

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think it would be fun. If we got bitch slapped we’d know we got to him, lol.

        I would be curious too what goes on in Jo’s head about this.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She’s brainwashed. Why else would she go back to him?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Better the devil you know…?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t even hate Geddert. I kind of like him I am just so annoyed he is to blame for the Gabby in our lives. If he had fixed the damn beam we would all be a lot happy as a gymnastics society:)

    • Gymbee Says:

      Good idea. It should be a coordinated “attack” lol.

      I don’t hate Gedder either. Like GTT, just so disappointed at the outcome of his errors.

    • Tortuga Says:

      Maybe if we just asked ” Do you regret Jordyn’s beam upgrades?” or “Would you change Jordyn’s beam combinations if you had more time?” Some thing along those lines. I don’t maybe those sound rude too. But I like the idea of asking. It would be awesome if he humbled himself and wrote a blog about it.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah I don’t see the harm in that. Just ask him point blank.

        “We noticed going back to the Olys quals Jo didn’t get any of her connections credited on beam, which could have prevented the whole showdown of her not making the AA. Were you surprised that the judges did not give her credit or did you kind of expect it? If you could go back would you have changed those?”

        Maybe something like that.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Yes! I vote someone should do it! Now is a good time especially since he is in the middle of the Beyond the Routine stuff. I already used a 7 day trial with my own e-mail address but I’m thinking of using my boyfriends once all the episodes have aired then cancel after watching. I hope no one from Gymnastike reads this blog!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I would love to see that BTR but don’t want to pay $20 or worry about being hassled signing up and then cancelling.

        I totally just Tweeted Jon. Tee hee. I said something like can you write a blog about Jo’s beam connections. I’m sure he’ll ignore it, but maybe if enough people ask him?

      • Gymbee Says:

        I will ask now!🙂

  17. gymnastwannabe Says:

    Did anyone pay to watch the video today? If so, what are your thoughts?

  18. Ashlee Says:

    If someone can think of a positive way to word that question, (the beam connections.) I might ask him when I go to interview him and Jo on May 20th. It’s for my blog Triple Twist.

    • JAS4 Says:

      Maybe mention that he said in an interview after trials(I think) that they were planning on changing those connections she had been having trouble with so what made them decide not to change it

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Ok let me try. Now that I just re-watched her quals beam routine (which actually made me very angry because her beam vs. Gabby’s beam was actually fairly similar overall in terms of mistakes – Gabby’s foot came off on one of the tumbling sequences and she had a minor bobble on top of that; whereas Jo had a very similar thing in the foot coming off on a leap). Gabby’s first connection sequence was also very, very questionable. Even the very positive Shannon Miller made that point during Gabby’s beam before knowing about the whole AA issue.

      Oh, and Gabby’s D score was 6.4 whereas Jo’s was a 6.0 – like that’s Kyla territory for Jo, and we all know that’s a joke considering what we see her do. So something got majorly deducted and it wasn’t “just” those sketchball connections. So I think Geddert was right on the money when he said the six tenths deduction weren’t just that one beam connection sequence. Who knows, maybe he knew the connections were iffy but he was willing to risk that (since they weren’t “worth” enough in the grand scheme of things) for the sake of not having to go back to the drawing board with his athlete DURING the Olympics.

      Ok now that I’ve said that let’s take a stab at this question:

      “John, I know this is not your favorite subject, but many fans of yours and Jo’s want to know what sort of thoughts were going on in your head after Jo’s beam routine considering the score, since that was such a pivotal moment. Jo was hit pretty hard with just a 6.0 start value; do you know where those deductions took place in her routine? And if you were on the floor would you have challenged that score? I know hindsight is 20/20 but looking back on that beam routine, was there anything you would have changed about it?”

      I guess you can’t really come out and say “we know you were told those connections wouldn’t be counted in the competition” now can we. I don’t mean to pin blame on him per se but after hearing that I do wonder what sort of concern he had.

      I wonder if he had realized or heard this warning about the connections prior to the Olympics, would he have left them in that routine? I would think not.

      I don’t remember any other competition (before the Olys) where Jo was so badly deducted for those connections – even in Jesolo. Honestly her quals beam routine wasn’t bad at all, yet it cost her.

      Honestly it’d be awesome to hear him speak candidly about it. I would also love to ask him does he think the sport is fixed but he’d probably laugh and call me crazy, right?

  19. sanitynmotion Says:

    I left a long comment for Ashlee but I think it got held up in Spam.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I un-spammed it.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Thanks GTT – sorry I rant so much.🙂 LOL I truly don’t intend to and then my fingers just keep typing…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        PLEASE, Keep ranting. You are probably one of two people on this earth (the other being Jas) that I agree with 99 % of the time

Leave a Reply

