DWTS, Week 7

Sorry for the lack of updates but I have been distracted. Anyone have any favorite songs they love and listen to over and over again. I need some new music.

Oh that’s right. Gymnastics blog. Anyone got anything to talk about?

Bridget Sloan won the Honda award. Well deserved.

DWTS gets dumber by the show. This dance off is stupid.

Aly likes her butt. Okay TVguide:)

People think the College judging system on vault at Nationals needs to be fixed. Their idea is to give bonus to the more difficult vaults. Stupid idea. To reward someone for doing a messy more difficult vault is turning College gym into the worst part of elite. All this means is more Mustafina and Paeska like Amanar’s only in College it will be bad 1.5 Yurchenko’s.

55 Responses to “DWTS, Week 7”

  1. macstabby Says:

    I got the original stage-recording of Sweeney Todd for my birthday; it’s pretty bad-ass. (as long as you don’t mind getting songs about murdering people and baking them into pies in your head.)

  2. GymMom Says:

    I thought Aly looked cute. DWTS is not going to be around too much longer in my opinion. Its getting boring & more stupid!

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Agreed gymmom. Or they’ll have to revamp it. Maybe do half celebs and the itg

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        *Maybe do the show with half celebs and the other half with regular people.

  3. sportsfan Says:

    The only thing that can stave off the inevitable cancellation of DWTS for a few more seasons is to get new judges. Change it up a bit. Sure it will only work once or twice, but a dance off is just plain dumb.

  4. sanitynmotion Says:

    Ugh. I want DWTS and American Idol to go away already.

    • Uglyfatkid Says:

      AGREED! Idol for sure! I lost interest 54 seasons ago. I’ve never watched DWTS…just small clips here and there. It can die and I won’t complain…but I still want Ali to bring home the gold/trophy/whatever the hell it is on the show.

    • Tortuga Says:

      I’ve been saying the same thing for years! American Idol especially. I only care for DWTS if a gymnast is on, otherwise I’d never watch. I wish SYTYCD was a bigger deal. That’s the type of dancing I like to watch. Not really a fan of ballroom dancing myself. And I’ve said it before but I really like Dance Moms, because the girls are soo good. But each season just gets more dramatic effect to help ratings. They have been airing extended episodes occasionally so you can watch the full dance numbers, which I really enjoy.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Hah, SYTYCD is my favorite show. I worry it will get cancelled because viewership has been down but that’s a “real” demonstration of talent, IMO. No need to instill drama. I haven’t watched Dance Moms but I would probably be addicted if I did, lol.

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        I love Dance Moms also. Sometimes I feel shame because she’s just so dang horrible to those kids, and yet I can’t stop watching. Those kids are awesome.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I know! I think she just treats the kids bad to teach the mothers a lesson but also for television. Most gymnastics coaches I know wouldn’t do that. I think it’s wrong to punish an athlete because of their parents behavior. And all those girls are just a joy to watch and I can’t give the show up, lol. I’ll be catching up on the past 2 weeks tonight before the new episode.

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        Cathy and her apples will be on tonight. Those episodes are stressful and I wish they would just get rid of Cathy but I guess it brings in ratings. I’m looking forward to the two hour episode though!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You do realize the entire show is set up right?:)

        I hate this show. I avoid it at all costs and the parents on that show, especially Chloe’s mother should lose custody of her kids she is such a whack job. I do like Nia’s mother, that is it. Mattie’s isn’t that bad either. She puts up with more than I would be able to handle from Chloe’s whiny mother bad mouthing her kid because she has ten million times the talent Chloe has

    • Short1 Says:

      @sanitynmotion Me too! Both shows were ok for the first few seasons, but they’ve really gone downhill as of late imo.

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    Aly mentions the judges tell her that her butt sticks out too much in gymnastics? Judges actually say that type of thing???? That’s a bit odd, no?

    • exgymgurl Says:

      yes gymnastics judges say all of those things…..

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yeah especially domestic ones! To prepare the athletes for international judging.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Of course the worst was the judge who told Christy Henrich she was fat and needed to lose weight. She then developed anorexia and died from it. You would think people would learn their lesson.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That judge should have been fired forever. I get the whole form correction thing, but weight is another issue entirely and a personal one as well. Yet I’ve never seen a “fat” gymnast so that judge is just an idiot. He/she would probably call the likes of Weiber fat today, too.

      • brouhaha Says:

        Considering that most gymnasts of that era were usually 4’8″-4’11” and less than 95 pounds, it’s ridiculous for that judge to even think that Christy was fat, let alone TELL her !!!!

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Theres video of marta telling sloan that shes glad shes lost a few pounds and is better

  6. utgymfan Says:

    I actually tried to watch DWTS last season and found it borderline unbearable but it’s seriously gotten so much worse this season. I’ll just have to stick to SYTYCD. Good luck to Aly but I honestly haven’t seen the last couple of dances until this one.

  7. JAS4 Says:

    Anyone hear any information from Marta Camp lol?

  8. exgymgurl Says:

    I think that it will result in some bad DTYs as well. There are so many NCAA gymnasts coming in where 1.5s are like timers, that if it was worthwhile it would mean messy dtys….and depending on how its scored everyone else follows suit. Make a DTY out of a 10 and then a 1.5 a 9.8 and a full a 9.6. Youd start seeing a lot more 1.5’s.

  9. sanitynmotion Says:

    Anyone see this?


    To ASac’s old floor music!

  10. H Says:

    Can someone explain to me the concept of dance off is
    I don`t get it …😦

    • byrdisthewyrd Says:

      H, they had three dances to prepare for. The team that got scored the very highest didn’t have to compete. That left six teams and the highest scoring of the remaining teams got to pick who they wanted to dance against. So Aly’s team chose Andy Dick’s team. Then Andy Dick’s team got to choose the dance, and they chose the cha cha. The two teams each dance the cha cha for a small amount of time and then the judges decide who was better of the two teams and then they get an additional three points. It was a bit confusing.

  11. brouhaha Says:

    Hey GTT, can you do a post on “top ten most overrated gymnasts?” I’m sick of the “top 10 greatest gymnasts” lists because I usually disagree with about 90% of them lol

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      LOL, that would be a great post. I’ll take a stab since a bunch of names just went through my head.

      1. Mary Lou
      2. Nastia
      3. Vanessa Atler (even though I like her – still think she was overrated)
      4. Svetlana Khorkina (yeah, I said it)
      5. Gabby Douglas
      6. I’m starting to realize most of these are American – crap – um…Dominique Dawes (yeah, another US). I can’t think of many non-US gymnasts but I didn’t expose myself to non-US for a looong time…
      7. Gina Gogean?
      8. Dominique Moceanu
      9. Kerri Strug – you’re only rated because of your damn vault that made no difference
      10. It’s still early in her career, but I am starting to think Iordache might be over-rated. I’m awful, I know.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Regarding Kerri Strug, Bob Kosta introduced Bela Karolyi at this year’s Olympics as the coach of the great gymnasts Nadia Comaneci, Mary Lou Retton, and Kerri Strug! Kerri Strug in the same sentence as Nadia? I call that one of the biggest overatings of all time. (You can say the same thing about including Mary Lou in the same sentence as Nadia but Kerri Strug is ridiculous.)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Totally agree.

        As for Gogean, I only added her to the list because I couldn’t think of a non-American really – and I have read so many criticisms of her form and such. I really don’t remember much of her to be honest, which is why I have that question mark after.

        Funny though of my suggested 10 THREE are former Bella Karyoli gymnasts. What does that say.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Maybe I am a purist and I want clean gymnastics but when I see the argument people have for Kui winning complain about this code I see red. It is pure hypocrisy.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gina was clean with very little to stand out. She however was clean and Belu ruined her anyway. She had difficulty as a junior until he got ahold of her.lol

      • gymnasticsaholic Says:

        I agree with all of these except Gogean, I actually consider her underrated for her medal haul.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I agree

      • Catherine Says:

        If you mean Gina was overrated by judges, I’d agree with that though she really did WORK those codes to her advantage and it is kin of hard to argue with such solidity fulfilling all requirements when although she was outshone like in the classic example of 1997 beam ef, the better routine incurred deductions Gina’s safe routine did not. But overrated in general, no. She is just not talked about and not a favourite.

        As for Iordache, it was expected her bars would have improved. She is getting over a minor injury which could have impacted training time..but yeah, they totally drag her down. If she fixed them and pointed her feet in her leaps she’d be right up there.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gogean was never overrated by the judges. They deducted what they could. She was clean and had a ten. That is called doing her job as a gymnast.

        Kui had way too many bobbles in 97 to win. She was messy and bobbled all over the place. She did not deserve to win just because she threw some difficulty she rarely if ever did cleanly.

        The reason this code sucks so badly is because they reward gymnasts for ugly difficult skills. Mustafina’s Amanar is a perfect example. Nothing done that badly deserves credit and that is essentially what people think when they say Kui deserved to win.

      • brouhaha Says:

        sanity I agree with your whole list!! I would add Iordache, personally … I just don’t see it. but then again, I’ve always been rather “meh” about Team Romania in general. for more overrated gymnasts-

        -Jana Bieger
        -Bross (I love how fierce she is, and she seems like a really nice person, but I never saw her as the potential WOGA three-peat she was made out to be)
        -Annia Hatch

        I don’t think Bogi was overrated, at least not during the 80s. I loved her floor routine at Seoul and 1989 worlds. Atlanta Bogi was disappointing. However, I appreciate Bogi’s unique, aesthetically pleasing type of gymnastics, her floor routines that ACTUALLY had choreo, and being taller. lol.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Never seen this Bogi person – I’ll have to Google her.

        Ah, good call on Bross. I’d say she was most definitely overrated in 2009/10, but then her ratings PLUMMETED after those injuries and when it was apparent she was a headcase and Marta was trying to get Nastia back in action so WOGA would have representation.

        Never liked Jana Beiger, at all. Yucky gymnastics.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Most overrated IMO


      I need to think to get up to 10. I think Nastia is overrated too but for some reason she isn’t the first gymnast that comes to mind. Neither is Gabby. I find parts of Nastia overrated like her form which sucks and her floor medals which she won because the gymnasts with real difficulty messed up and her beam world titles because she had no difficult moves accept one leap she didn’t even deserve credit for completing because she rarely did. Oh hell she’s on the list. Gabby however isn’t unless she continues because the entire world already knows her as a one hit wonder and that is all she will ever be unless she competes again. One individual medal even if it is gold in the AA. By 2020 if she doesn’t continue no one will remember her name in fact no one already does

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        You forgot gutsu…. And bogi

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t rate Gutsu. Probably why I left her off the list and I thought about putting Boginskaya on the list but didn’t. I agree she is overrated but only after 1991.

      • Catherine Says:

        Pavlova. She is very overrated now by fans to make up for her 4th places and lacklustre career. I love her floor and beam when hit, but she was always going to be let down by her weak bars in Athens and Beijing, especially Beijing when they mattered so much so her lack of aa medals is not a travesty in my opinion.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        And mo huilan

      • Catherine Says:

        Nope. Mo had the greatest aa potential, one of the truest all arounders ever especially with her difficulty level. People rate get so highly because of that, understandable really.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I loved Mo for years and then I went back and watched her beam. She has one move in her beam routine that stands out and while last year I would have argued to the death with you that she had great form on that move she did not. Her legs were separated every time.

        Same with bars, one move that stood out. Other wise she was very 1990’s. ( I am not sure what I really mean by that either:)

        I have a huge issue with people calling Dawes wonderful because she was such a headcase and I think Mo gets a huge pass on that and this is coming from someone that used to love her and think she could do no wrong.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        GTT you crack me up. I just watched Nastia’s 2005 and 2007 beam routines and couldn’t find that leap but oh well. I agree with you on the difficulty.

      • Catherine Says:

        I do agree her beam was easier than other routines of the time, with her double tuck dismount when everybody was throwing full-ins. I do love her height on the layout and the mount is still awesome. The routine itself was nice and fluid with great form (yep, legs slightly apart on the layout). BUT I don’t think her being not as brilliant on beam as she was everywhere else is enough, she is still a very complete all-arounder- more so than Lilia who had weak bars and a non-amazing beam (sans dismount) but still is and deserves to be called a fantastic all-arounder. With the key difference that Lilia was consistent, sigh.

        Bars in general were still very cookie-cutter at the time, except Khorkina. Still a fabulous routine and it still sucks she wasn’t in the bars final. She had a great swing. Vault- she did do probably the greatest DTY ever done. And floor was great too. So yeah her beam is slightly below the others but she is still up there with the top potential all-around. Hey even Silivas had her faults, like an average vault and bent-kneed LOSO’s..

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t call anyone a great AA er if they couldn’t hit in an AA. Mo had the potential to be a great AAer but she never hit when it mattered.

        It is the same situation as Dawes. She hit in some team competitions and was overscored which is a whole different discussion but I personally refuse to call anyone a true AAer when they never hit in one. She won one AA at a Chinese meet but she screwed up at the 2 worlds and one Olympics she went too.

  12. sainabou nyang Says:

    Im laughing as I type this, but GTT any congrats to Steve Legendre on his getting married over the weekend? Lol

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      His “wife” is an idiot. I can’t tell you how happy I am Jake Dalton exists because it meant no idiot Steve on the Olympic team.

  13. exgymgurl Says:


    Not for the floor routine, just for fun…

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Worst floor music ever.lol I actually have a lot of respect for Couch. This girl was going to be a bench warmer for Georgia until their injuries but she stepped up and became a regular and did a pretty good job for someone that was always going to be a bench warmer. Not a big fan of her gymnastics but the way she stepped up deserves mad props. I never would have seen her as a contributing member of that team 2 years ago.

    • utgymfan Says:

      I think that’s so great ha. I’m a big Star Wars and gymnastics fan so it’s nice to see both of them come together.

Leave a Reply

