I stand with Aly Raisman. DWTS Week 6


I am sure by now everyone is sick of hearing about the city of Boston and the bombing that happened at the Marathon and I can fully understand that sentiment and actually feel the same way seeing it on the news non stop for a week but the one thing that resonated with me and DWTS tonight was how tired and worn out Aly looked and sounded.

This has effected me more than I ever thought it would too. I was only minutes away from the bomber the other night when they closed down Watertown and surrounding cities near Boston and it pretty much freaked me out big time. I have been to the Watertown mall more times than I can count and it is hella scary to think I could have been there with my baby nieces and nephew at any given time.


So before people judge Aly too harshly and say she is milking this for sympathy votes think about being 18 years old and knowing that if you weren’t on Dancing with the stars you could have been right in the path of a bomb that killed 3 innocent people and injured over 150 people. If I am having a hard time dealing with being this close imagine how Aly feels.



48 Responses to “I stand with Aly Raisman. DWTS Week 6”

  1. exgymgurl Says:

    I used to bike through watertown all the time, and take the number 1 bus. I also walked through the part of MIT campus the officer went down at every day when I was in school. Im in TX and I feel awful and everything else. If it was more recent, I can only imagine, and shes not milking it. Its stressful…. and awful…. and not anything any of us ever wants to deal with again….. Ive been to that 711 in central square, and know which ATM it was because I would go there, and its awful, just awful so we are #bostonstrong and with you through all of this…. please know that and HUGS

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I’m sure she is very stressed and tired from worrying about family and friends as well. On a fashion note I have to say that dress is probably the most flattering of all her costumes!

  3. DL Says:

    It’s upsetting for people around the world, so it’s understandable she’s upset. She’s a lovely kid.

    • Gymbee Says:

      It’s especially upsetting when it’s your hometown, your community, people you identify with. Like, I was not personally affected by the 2011 homocides on the island in Norway, but I was crying none the less. Sports stars (swimmer) cried on the podium at worlds because of it. I get it.

      Aly is great!

  4. mimi Says:

    dont need to convince me, i adore aly! cant imagine how stressful this past week has been for locals of the area.

  5. Case Says:

    I never thought any of those things about Aly. She is very likeable and she’s doing a great job on DWTS.

  6. Biyatch Says:

    Warning Gabby related…

    Should a gymnast really be sponsored by a fast food company?

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Eh. It’s stupid because it’s just to support an egg white “healthy” sandwich. But if it were McKayla or Jordyn I don’t think it would be as offensive. Didn’t McDonalds used to sponsor the entire national championships in women’s gymnastics? I remember Shannon wearing a leo with the golden arches on it.

      Can’t blame her for grabbing for the money while she still can. If the golden arches were going to pay me for flipping out over a sandwich I might do the same. It beats sitting in front of a monitor 24/7 responding to demanding thankless clients.

      And really it’s no different than McKayla’s soda endorsement is it? Both products not necessarily “good” for you but hey – if the money is there…

      • Tortuga Says:

        Weren’t Shawn and Carly both sponsored by McDonalds after their Olympic golds? I think it’s some what common even if it isn’t really ideal for an Olympic athlete. But Gabby is just awkward and annoying in this clip. I liked the Nike one with a lot less talking. Less is more/ Silence is golden.

        As for Aly. I wasn’t even in Boston and don’t but a handful of people there but was still in shock and couldn’t help but worry and stay glued to the news. I can’t imagine how she feels with it being her home town and knowing so many, and she would have been there if it weren’t for DWTS.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Just saw this. She’s so annoying. Doubt anyone would have recognised her without the disguise anyway haha.

        McD sponsors the olympics, and both Shawn and Carly were on the soda cups and bags.

      • Sara Says:

        The American Cup was called the McDonald’s American Cup from ’82-’96 apparently. I’ve never understood mixing fast food with sports, but when money calls..

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      No she shouldn’t but they are. In 96 Milelr, Dawes and Moceanu all had mcdonalds commercials. Something about mcd’s sticking their dismount and they showed the three gymnasts sticking their dismounts but I only remember Miller’s uneven bar double lay out

    • Gymnerd Says:

      1. God, she’s annoying.

      2. Hey, has she reverted to calling herself “Gabby”? What happened to “Gabrielle”?

      3. GOD, she’s annoying!!!!!!!!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        lol. Do what I do and just ignore all Gabby articles and videos on her.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I’m actually starting to feel sorry for her

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Don’t feel sorry for her. I felt bad for Nastia once and then I learned she was getting a free pass to the damn Olympic team.

        If she comes back Marta will make her more annoying than before

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Wait, when did you feel sorry for Nastia? Post Beijing or pre?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        LOL While she was on bars at Nationals looking like she was going to kill herself. Don’t worry it only happened for 15 seconds.

        I am pretty sure I said out loud, Damn it Nastia I wanted you to fall not kill yourself.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Haha, I was thinking maybe it was in 2007 or 2006 when she was having ankle issues.

        Honestly you should bring back your “mean blogger” and do a piece on that whole bars routine. It was glorious – every sheer second of it. To the flip of her leg right after she face planted it on the matt night 2 of Trials.

      • GymMom Says:

        “National marketing for the 250-calorie sandwich starts April 29 and includes print, billboard, radio and TV ads. One ad reads “Great taste, all yolks aside.” Another says “We’re turning breakfast on its head.” Ms. Douglas won’t appear in any of the ads — she will promote the egg whites at McDonald’s events, including one at a restaurant in New York City today.”

  7. sanitynmotion Says:

    I was in NY during 9/11. Will never forget that day. I wasn’t even in the City (went to school in upstate) yet it was very tragic as you can imagine. I won’t even go into the details and number of people I was close with that were affected but it was at least a month of just havoc and crying and shock. Your body takes a toll with that.

    I can totally understand why Aly would be beside herself.

    I still can’t understand nor comprehend why a man would set a bomb down next to an 8 year old and even be OK with living with himself.

  8. brouhaha Says:

    I’m from New Orleans, and my house was destroyed during Hurricane Katrina. No, I wasn’t there because I evacuated – but it IS traumatizing because it’s your home. Hope you’re doing all right GTT. I’m so proud of Aly for going up on DWTS even though she’s obviously rattled.

  9. terrigymfan Says:

    I don’t necessary have a problem with an Olympic athlete endorsing McDonalds but Gabby’s commercial is way too long, there is way too much talking, and it’s just not funny. I also agree with Gymbee that the idea she has to go “undercover” to not be recognized by the general public doesn’t fly. She’s not that famous.

    I cannot imagine how people in the Boston area felt the last few days after that tragedy and knowing those two crazies were on the loose. I have been to Boston and Cambridge and the MIT campus many times and have a friend who works in Cambridge. I thought Aly handled it well.

  10. Cookie Says:

    I can only imagine how stressed out and scared i would be if something like that happened in my hometown, regardless if someone I knew was hurt or not. I’m sure a lot of people will not feel secure or at ease for a while yet. I have relatives in Hamburg Germany and have visited the city many times. There were some serious terrorist threats directed at the city a few years back and that alone was enough to worry and scare me, that a city I loved so much could be in that kind of danger.

    In addition, I can’t help but wonder if Aly might have been at the marathon if it weren’t for DWTS. As a celebrity/athlete she may have chosen to watch. I hope that kind of thing isn’t going around in her head but either way I don’t blame her at all for being upset.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Aly was going to be the grand marshall but she was doing DWTS so she had to say no. She most likely would have been at the end of the marathon

  11. Dee Says:

    In the Aly video, at 2:49, is that Steve Penny beside her mom in the crowd?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      He is sitting next to Aly’s dad I believe and it is in the video but I don’t know the time

      • terrigymfan Says:

        That’s Steve Penny I’m pretty sure but I don’t think it’s Aly’s mom who is sitting next to him. Not sure who she is. Maybe it’s Penny’s wife.

  12. Exgymgurl Says:

    Steve Penny isn everywhere… It’s creepy🙂

  13. sportsfan Says:

    I have no problem with Aly bringing up Boston on DWTS. Its her hometown, and I loved the I Love Boston shirt she had on during practice. To think, she would have been there if not for DWTS. She’s only 18 and in that moment, she was confronting her mortality. She could have been hurt, or worse. No kid should have to deal with that.

  14. sanitynmotion Says:

    How can such a fat a$$ be a representative (or even PRESIDENT) of USA gymnastics…???

  15. GymMom Says:

    —————–> —————–> |
    "Promoting items with Olympic athletes can be risky because they don't have a lot of "staying power," Mr. Dorfman(Executive at San Francisco Advertising giant Baker Street Group) said.

    When Ms. Douglas finished the games last year, "she was the darling of America," he said. "Now that's faded a little bit."

    –Bloomberg News

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      That’s very true. I still don’t buy that she was the “darling of America” after the Games what with her Oprah thing and other interviews. That was the media forcing the “darling” status.

      • GymMom Says:

        I think she was “darling” for a few minutes after wrongly being awarded a gold medal. Then her mother entered the picture!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t. The way she acted on the stand throwing her arms up looking like she was saying, here I am that was when people started to realize she was a cocky brat.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Honestly when it was announced she won my whole essence was “meh.” The gym fan I am…I had no feeling when she won. It was like I was dead inside.

        I’ll even admit I was stoked when Nastia won in ’08 – it was more of a “thrilling” moment and of course at the time I did not know she was such an arse nor was I nearly as cognizant of what was playing out. I had no sense of what an amanar vault was vs. a 1.5 Y – I was the four-year fan at that point.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You have seriously just lost all my respect. In fact I now hate you:)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Hey – I made the disclaimer that I was a four-year fan at that point and didn’t know much about Nastia; I was excited that an American won. Although I did want Shawn to win over her, even then. I was still happy she won though.

        Now that I know better of course I feel differently…🙂

      • Gymbee Says:

        I agree sanity. I was actually excited when Nastia won. When Gabby won, it was such an anti-climax. I had been looking forward to the AA competition for years, and then it was over, with HER as the winner. I was stunned and felt like I’d been cheated.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I don’t see how any company other than one that sells products specific to the gymnastics community finds value in paying gymnasts any significant amount of money to hawk their products. Gabby’s 15 minutes of fame was in the couple of months following the Olympics. She blew her opportunity IMO with her annoying actions and because (at least it seems to me) she didn’t sign deals right away. She might be able to pick up some decent money in the months leading up the next Olympics but I just can’t see it now.

        I think Aly is an exception because the Boston community seems to have more loyalty to their local athletic heroes than most cities, plus she is staying in the public eye with DWTS. She also has a very endearing personality IMO. I imagine she is going to make a lot of money with local endorsement deals and a few national ones for quite some time.

      • Sara Says:

        terrigymfan – plus Virginia Beach was pissed off at Gabby after she moved to Iowa and told off Xcalibur.

      • Tortuga Says:

        It’s alright sanity. I was really rooting for Shawn in 08. Huge fan! But when Nastia won I was a little torn. I really thought Shawn was harshly scored and Nastia gifted but I was also pretty excited that an American had won and I was a former WOGA gymnast as well. So of course I was happy for her. That quickly faded after everything had to be Hot Pink and turned into the Nastia – Super Girl Show (bleck!)

      • Gymnerd Says:

        But…but…but…Gabby was America’s Sweetheart! Remember when she told us so? Gag.

  16. Biyatch Says:

    Terri I agree with you that Aly’s renewed visibility because of DWTS is going to help her marketability tremendously. Even more so I think DWTS has helped her become more comfortable in front of cameras. You can see that she definitely has more confidence in interviews and is going into “robot mode” less and less which is nice to see.

    There have been some rumblings that Aly has a major deal coming with one of the major sports brands (havent heard which) but due to contractual obligations it cant be announced until after shes eliminated from dwts.

    I keep hearing that Gabby is getting back into the gym in May… I wonder if USAG is pushing to have her do one watered down routine at visas in August ala Nastia ’09.

    Camp starts Friday, itll be interesting to see if Jo or McKayla show up.

    • Catherine Says:

      McKayla has pulled out last minute. Hopefully not with another injury. The fact she was supposed to be there is positive I think, she must have some sort of workable routines.

Leave a Reply

