IceMeltsFast has a year (s) in review

Gym has been slow and I am out of idea’s so here is IceMeltsFast’s years in review



Most controversial debate that shouldn’t even be a debate because it’s so obvious who’s better and who should have won gold: komova’s AA (2011 & 2012).

Most surprising fall: Maroney 2012 VT EF of course.

Most disappointing performance at the Olympics: Grishina what the hell happened to you.

Most scammed ScAm: can’t decide.

Most annoying person to see/hear from in London: Shawn

Most idiotic judging error: Men’s Team FInal, 2012 for crediting Kohei’s handstand.

Most WTF execution score of the quad: Alexandra Raisman 2011 AA Uneven bars but also in general for her bars.

Most improved: Sui Lu. This girl used to only stay on beam for domestic competitions. She really turned around in both 2011-2012. SHe also wins for Most Robbed as I’ve mentioned previously.

Most ridiculous comeback: haha okay I can’t decide this one either. (DUH, Nastia love me:)

Best comeback from retirement: Ponor.

Most WTF Marta decision: not letting Anna Li sub in for Asac at world’s.

Most WTF coaching decision: Geddert and those “connections”

Most WTF warmups: close one between Russia Acid Trip 2012 & US Grey Blob 2012

Best leo: Porgras 2010 All-around

Most disappointing retirement: Porgras :(

Most heartattack inducing gymnast: Huang Q, all competitions, every event. Oh, it’s so great that she is an AAer.. that’s at least 12 events per competition I get to stop breathing for. I guess less because she doesn’t really tank VT.

Ignoring results/outcome…
Best AAer: Komova
Best bar worker: He Kexin (earlier) & Komova (later)
Best beam worker: Tan Sixin. she’s a headcase but i can’t ignore this:
Best floor worker: Mai Murakami (tumbling) & Grishina/Porgras (dance)
Best vaulter: Maroney
Best team overall: Russia.
Best eye candy: Philipp Boy!

25 Responses to “IceMeltsFast has a year (s) in review”

  1. icemeltsfast Says:

    lol that was supposed to give you ideas so that you can write a much more hilarious post…….

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Too late. Its your blog now:)

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        this feels so exposing, I feel like all my opinions will get attacked by us-fanatics. now i know that I can never run a blog lolll

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        If you really want me to take it down I will but while I don’t agree with you on some it will be a discussion.

        Now you have until 11 pm eastern time to decide because I have to go to sleep:)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Oh and I will totally ban all haters:)

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        ok leave it. Haters, bring it. (:

        you have great sleeping habits by the way.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I need 11 hours of sleep a night to function:)

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Its good and I agree with most of it, except I like the old norwegian guy as better eye candy … and Komova looks like she chain smokes, so shes not my favorite mostly cause she seems entitled and Aliya beat the shit out of her.

        I would throw LIukins decision to have Bross competing at 2011 nationals in there as a WTF coaching decision. Except we all know he wanted her broken so Nastia could take Kylas spot.

        I still dont get why anyone would send their kid to WOGA. Id send my kid to Chow, but not WOGA. EVER.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        If you send your kid to WOGA, your e-scores get inflated despite any form problems she might have.

  2. sainabou nyang Says:

    What! You would leave Jake “bedroom eyes” Dalton and Marcel N( can’t spell his last name lol) off your eye candy list? Even Kristian Thomas all 6ft 7 of him is nice to look at. That guy is a giant.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Dalton is practically married. He is so not

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        What???omg those

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Of course he is good looking what I meant was HELLO, he’s like married. Not even worth looking

    • icemeltsfast Says:

      lol you know the crazy part? Somebody told me that the proper way to pronounce “Nguyen” is “when.”

      Marcel is runner up but Philipp doesn’t do his eyebrows…

      yeah Thomas doesn’t do anything for me and Dalton looks like any other jock in the U.S. (Mikulak is better looking, also). Plus Philipp has better hair than all of them. MAG would be so boring without Germany I don’t even bother watching domestic MAG competitions.

      • mimi Says:

        maybe it’s the accent change, but in aussie we say nguyen “win” rather than “when”.

        i had to laugh at scam when the announcer mispronounced it, surely they check these things??

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Hey mimi… I always learned Nguyen was pronounced win also, but almost like with two short “I”s so not like wii the nintendo thing thats pronounced we, but wiin, which in some accents will also sound like the word “when” LOL

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        I pronounce “win” & “when” almost the same, like “whenever” sounds like “winever” coming out of my mouth lol

  3. JAS4 Says:

    I think the worst judging of the quad has to be Gabby’s pacific rims vault where she only did a DTY and landed facing the vault but the judges credited it as an Amanar

  4. sanitynmotion Says:

    First of all thx to ice for doing this because it’s fun. I like this sort of thing.

    I’d want to add most disappointing injury and my vote would be Iordache at the olympics cuz I really wanted to see more of her in the mix. Yao Jinnan a close second.

    Performance at the Olympics I get Grishina but I never factored her in other than for event finals. I was more bummed by the judges. And maybe Komova’s vault since that allowed stupid judges to cede more to Gabby. Stupid judges too for putting gabby in the AA over Jo. Most robbed is between Jo for stupid coach/judges or Sui Lu for beam and floor 2011.

    Id also be prone to give Aly most improved…yes bars sucked but look at them in 2012 vs. 2010. All of her events showed tremendous improvement actually: vault DTY to amanar, bars cleaner form, beam hey she got bronze at the Olympics and she upped floor by a lot too. Not a graceful gymnast by any means but a true work horse. It really should have come as no surprise she made it to the AA. She had more consistency than Gabby and overall D scores were very competitive. And to think in 2011 even I was wondering if asac wouldn’t take her place on the team (this was before Asacs injury).

    What is Russian acid trip?

    And I’m totally giving best bar worker to Musty. She trumps Komova in my book. Best beam worker to me is Sui Lu. I’ll give Komova AA though. Totally agree on Porgras.

    And Bross was my heart attack. Didn’t know what was worse her horrid form and bowed legs or her coach.

    • icemeltsfast Says:

      haha yeah Grishina’s performance was the most disappointing for me. She did not live up to her potential.. totally choked. She messed up a round off on FX during the TF… Also she made no EF’s…and this is the same girl who beat Vika in an AA competition when they were juniors.

      thats a good pt– I was just thinking of consistency for the most improved. In terms of execution, I can see why you’d choose Aly– I might choose Nabs because she hella cleaned up her bars & win that bars silver. Seitz cleaned up also. As much as I hate to admit it, Gabby improved a lot when she switched over to Chow’s…

      lol Sanity, I just refer to Russia’s olympic tracksuits as an acid trip because it’s so nauseating and idk just screams LSD?? haha I’m sure you have a better description for them. (:

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Were they the red and white track suits? I think I know what you mean now, lol.

        I hated the US grey things! Like what the hell WAS that? I guess totally London-ish when you consider their weather. But still. WHY can’t the US get it right and SOLUTE THE DAMN FLAG COLORS. Red, white and blue people!

        And I don’t know where to start on the neon yellow shoes. I’d only get those if I were running at night in the boomshackles of North Carolina or somewhere like that…only to avoid trucks/cars/tractors running me over…

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        lol okay so apparently the grey tracksuits were like 100% reflective or something. So Nike was really trying to promote their Vapor Flash tech ( & their Bolt colored shoes.

        They are actually super smart because they didn’t officially sponsor the OG– just provided the tracksuits + the shoes for all the athletes so when they were up on the podium… voila, dirt cheap advertising!

        I have to say.. it really worked. I see neon running shoes everywhere now. It’s a thing to NOT match your outfit. lol I hope you don’t live in the boomshackles of NC but if you do, these would be great things to run with. I’d get the jacket if they weren’t so damn expensive.

        That said, there’s no OG sport that takes place in the dark.. let’s just stick with RWB from now on. Our colors are not Neon, Grey, and Hot Pink.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Did not realize Nike was not a sponsor – that is brain science, right there. And even making it somewhat ugly makes it discussed, and there is no such thing as bad press, right? I do find all Nike product to be way too pricey though for what it is – I mean, you’re literally paying at least 25% more for a friggin check mark/swoosh.

        I think the jackets should have been made a different color but whatevs. I’m a swimmer not a runner and I live in So Cal – the land of outdoor pools. I can’t run to save my life, literally. I might swim faster than I run. However if I ever find myself with neon shoes I might have to go running in the dark because how cool is that, lol. As long as it’s not neon pink. Nastia has forever turned me off that color.

  5. Lyra Gill (@lygill) Says:

    Great list, icemeltsfast!

    Most WTF coaching decision for me would be a tie between Geddert and Valeri. Though apparently it was Bross who insisted that she keep the Patterson I still think Valeri should have stepped in and changed her dismount.

    And don’t get me started on Geddert.

Leave a Reply

