Best Floor routine denied a spot at Nationals


One of 3 floor routines I enjoyed last night watching NCAA Regional ‘s. Its a shame Shayla Worley and her double pike mount somehow beat this routine.

28 Responses to “Best Floor routine denied a spot at Nationals”

  1. gingercrush Says:

    Not my cup of tea but I guess it is lovely. Who is the commentator? She couldn’t seem more disinterested if she tried. And OMG that crowd makes me want to scream.

    Shayla is ewwww

  2. icemeltsfast Says:

    Not a single double back pike/tuck to be found. Not bad!!

    Which were the other two routines?

  3. exgymgurl Says:

    Her teammate McKayla Stambaugh actually beat her and is going to nationals. Also OSU is sending two AA competitors. She has a gorgeous beam routine too.. she doesnt do bars.

  4. Lithi Says:

    Sorry for going OT, but I noticed that when a vid is posted a button link for eBay is shown in the vid’s upper right corner, when did that start?

  5. JAS4 Says:

    Maybe the NCAA judges have been training with Marta and Nellie lol

  6. Catherine Says:

    Shame. Who does everyone want to win? I want Florida to take team and one of the non-Zam underdogs to take the AA- Courville or one of the OU girls, Spears maybe. Zam can have bars, I live for her handstands. Danusia Francis does not have the difficulty yet on beam, so again one of the OU girls as they are outstanding there. Or Caquatto. Floor is for hall and vault for a non-FTY, preferably Marissa King. I think Zam probably will win the AA and Florida team, the rest are more up for grabs.

    • byrdisthewyrd Says:

      I’m really hoping for Bridget Sloan to win the all-around. I haven’t seen all of this weekend’s results yet but surely she made the all-around cut. For some reason Zam just doesn’t do it for me. I’d like to see Caquatto grab bars!

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        Aaaaah please tell me Bridget will be competing all around!

      • Catherine Says:

        That would be awesome. The competition is stiff but she could do it..though her floor definitely could do with more difficulty but that hasn’t stopped it scoring very high so far. That makes her a little weaker on floor all the same, there’s plenty of strong all-arounders with more difficult floors and who are Bridget’s equal or better on the other three events. Really would love to see Courville or Spears or someone like that get it.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Sloan has been getting huge scores the last few meets on floor so the judges seem to have no problem giving her 9 plus

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Ms. Halls floor routine is growing on me lol. But I love Ashanee Dickersons floor even better lol.

      Im still new to NCAA gymnastics but after watching most of the meets this season, if Florida hits I think they can win.

      • Catherine Says:

        Ashanee’s form bothers me. A superb team gymnast certainly, but I’d like to see her cleaner teammates edge her out for titles..

    • tulip Says:

      I’d love to see Courville, Spears or Emily Wong take AA. Some big name seniors ending careers too. I think judges may give to V Zam. UCLA is hosting.

  7. Tortuga Says:

    I especially like the last pass with the dive-roll out of it. Seems like something I would like to do. I like seeing different things. Besides it’s college so you don’t have to worry as much about difficulty and just have more fun.

  8. exgymgurl Says:

    I think Kytra takes the AA. Shes fierce. Zam fell on something and Miss Val has had her downgrade because she needs her clean.

    I also think Florida takes it. I think Bridget Sloan is the new Courtney Kupets, and I think she was the missing piece of the puzzle. She elevates that whole team. Even Bridgey is better. Its time a non GA / UCLA / Nebraska / Utah / Bama team wins it. Its just time. I just dont think OU head to head with FL even compares.

    Im with you GTT I have no idea why Marta kicked Kytra out of elite. She could have been amaziballs in the 2012 quad

    • Biyatch Says:

      the florida team is stack. during one of the awards ceremonies i think 1st through 4th place included kytra, macko, bridget and marissa. elites galore. bridget seems so happy and content in ncaa, its nice to see. i feel like she dealt with a lot of marta bs especially regarding injuries. its crazy to imagine that aly had originally committed to be part of this team too.

    • Biyatch Says:

      also regarding kytra, i remember marta had wanted her to drop bars and she decided to keep training. also kelli hill was getting older and a bit on the outskirts looking in. kytra tumbled a full twisting double layout, an arabian double pike, a 1.5 to full twist and dismounted with a double arabian tucked. and she did it all well. so much power.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I remember Kytra Hunter. Why did Marta kick her out of elite? That’s disgusting. I was going to say “she can do that?” but heck – it is Marta, she gets away with doing anything.

      I liked the floor (video above) music – it reminded me of ASac’s last floor routine, sadly. I really liked that one and still to this day wish she hadn’t been injured. I know people are like “get over it” but that Maroney vs. ASac full difficulty on vault finals would have been awesome to watch.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Marta blackballed hunter out of Elite? From what I remember she was strong on vault and floor, shitty on bars yet in her college years so much better. Could it be that she was a threat to Aly?

    • tulip Says:

      Nebraska hasn’t won Nationals. Just the other 4 you mentioned. I share the opinion that this is Florida’s to lose.

      Saw an interview with Sloan and King. Bridget was beaming the whole time, talking about how much she loves it, she never knew how much fun it was and how much she lives the sisterhood.

  9. exgymgurl Says:

    Kelli Hill has been politically unpopular since 2000 when she spoke out about the team training center. In 2004 with Kupets she was so amazing she couldnt be ignored ( won an automatic spot). It seemed like with Kytra, it was Marta BS that forced her out. Kytra is and was an amazing gymnast. I give her the edge over Sloan this year only because Sloan has been beating her a lot this season and then at regionals she pulled out the win. Shes been through the NCAA juggernaut 2 times, won before, and I think honestly she may take an event title too. Shes peaking at just the right time. Sloan is the piece that completed the puzzle for Florida, and Alania being back and giving them probably an extra .1 when they lost by a razor margin last year probably ices it for them. If Florida competes what they are capable of no one can touch them. It would be so awesome to see some of these women throwing DTYs or at least 1.5 and then a full in the vault finals. It would be awesome to see Kytra and Zam compete more difficulty in event finals. Macko also….

  10. exgymgurl Says:

    BTW read that friday night Macko had an emergency root canal…. WOW and she competed saturday. Thats not pleasant. I give her props for being tough and doing her job. She didnt look 100% but I would have said maybe an off day not a root canal 24 hrs before competition… strong girl…

  11. Kylie Says:

    **seriously needs to read up on some of these nicknames**

    • Catherine Says:

      Haha, which ones? Macko is Mackenzie Caquatto of Florida. Zam is Vanessa Zamarripa (I always mess up the spelling of that) of UCLA. The press release about Macko’s root canal sounds really odd. Their dentist had a family emergency and they had to get another one but it’s written as the greatest obstable a team has ever overcome, ever.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        Their team dentist died so Macko had find another dentist to take care of the root canal. How stressful!

        I wonder if that article was meant to be satire??

      • Kylie Says:

        ahhhh right thanks for clearing that up haha we don’t get any coverage here in NZ so I learn off reading here!!

Leave a Reply

