2013, Jeselo Team and AA Results

Junior Results.
Senior Team Results (Thanks H)
Senior AA Results (Thanks H)


GymPower on twitter had quick hits.

Vault (US)

Biles 15.900
Priessman 15.600
Ross 15.200

Bars (US)
Ross 15.400
Biles 14.850
Dowell 14.700

Beam (US)
Ross 14.700
Biles 14.750
Dowell 13.800
Priessman 12.450
Ersnt 13.350

Floor (US)
Nichols 14.300
Ross 13.350
Priessman 13.850
Biles 14.900


Not sure why Kyla has such low start values on floor and beam but if you add up her start value vs Biles she is 1.4 ish behind her to start which makes the AA results less startling for Ross fans out there. She has to upgrade. I for the life of me cannot understand why her coaches refuse to do this. Kyla’s execution scores were the only ones in the 9.0’s in the entire competition with the exception of Key on bars and some vault execution scores. She is capable of so much more. Kyla also had a 0,10 deduction on beam. I didn’t hear her being over time but she was on the jumping board before they called her name. Is that a deduction this season? Her beam was messy for her that explains the start value. She missed two connections and even her sheep looked a little short.
On floor she had no content. A double twist and a double back would not have cut it in 1992 let alone 2013. UPGRADE my dear, Please:) and where is the msuic? it seems to be missing for half of that

Biles had a stuck Amanar which was great and I have not seen any other routines of hers. Off too look for some


Bailie key won the juniors and I still don’t get the hype. On beam she does everything on flat feet and has Bross knee’s that look bent 24/7. Maybe I just have a different definition of clean in gymnastics then other people.

Kim Zmeskal is so hard up for attention she put her floor music in her gymnasts routine.lol That is sad. key can’t dance but she has potential but that music makes everyone look bad,


Ferrari hurt her foot on beam.


Peyton Ersnt has some beautiful jumps on beam. Her sheep was beautiful.

48 Responses to “2013, Jeselo Team and AA Results”

  1. sofia Says:

    Thank you for all the info!!! I really appreciate that you keep us informed of what is happning in the gymnastics world!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      If you are being serious, you’re welcome. If you are mocking me because I am late and this all happened hours ago sue me for having a life:) and if you don’t read here a lot and are being serious then understand I am just being me, not serious and if you want to mock knock yourself out:)

      • sofia Says:

        LOL!! No, I was being sincere! I just forget to say thanks, and I don’t comment much, but I do appreciate you keeping us informed! Also chiming in on the hope that Kyla will upgrade ASAP.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      This is great GTT thanks. I don’t think she was mocking you.

      Wow, Biles’ vault was pretty flipping great. Kyla needs her amanar back. So badly.

      The diff b/t the D points b/t Ross and Biles is 1.6. If Kyla had her amanar it would just be over a point. Kyla is probably capable of a 6.2 on beam (not 5.8) so that can be further knocked down to 0.7 – which can be totally made up for in Execution.

      I feel better now (I ranted on your other post) but still shows Kyla NEEDS upgrades. Even just a few tenths on each event. If she doesn’t get her amanar back then she would really be in deep hurt if she doesn’t upgrade on beam/floor/bars.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Its her floor routine keeping her back. She clearly needs a new dismount on beam but a 5.3 on floor is unacceptable in this day and age. I heard her heel was worse then they are letting on so maybe it is effecting her but as of right now she is not doing AA at worlds. Ohashi and Biles are the front runners.

        This is not picking on her either. I want her to succeed. She’s an amazing gymnast and she was grossly under-appreciated as a junior.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know you wouldn’t pick on Kyla🙂

        I’m going to stick at picking on the coaches since I don’t think Kyla is one to question her coaches. And her coaches are adults.

        I want Kyla to succeed too – she has the potential to be the next Shannon Miller and what’s really in her way is the stupid “chuck skills for D points” code and likely her coaches for not implementing upgrades when they are needed.

        I guess I’ll just give it time and see. I would really like for Kyla to be in the AA at Worlds so that sucks that she’s not doing it. I wanted her to be an AA factor at the Olympics and was disappointed when all of a sudden Gabby/Aly were scoring much higher than she was.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Just a personal opinion here but I think Marta told her to downgrade floor and that messed everything up. All of a sudden she couldn’t do her Amanar (nailing one in practice and falling in competition) Height or no height I think it effected her knowing she wasn’t going to get an AA position.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I can see that. But then why do you think they complied with Marta and downgraded her floor? (I know, I always ask this question, and it seems there are no answers for it)…

        It just makes no sense. Let the girl achieve her potential.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Marta did not want her doing AA and taking away from not only Aly, Jordyn and Gabby but if Kyla was AA and very good at it she could not stick Nastia in for bars and beam. Imagine if Ross had won Nationals or trials and was left home in favor of Nastia.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah, true. I laugh at myself because going into nationals and such i was thinking the AA would go to Kyla and Jordyn for the Olympics (that was my eventual hunch).
        Marta totally fixed that didn’t she.
        I still don’t understand why coaches listen to her. It’s not like Marta is out for the best in your athlete.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Kyla is at the start of her career. Don’t listen to Marta never compete again

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        I tell myself that Jenny Zhang is either bluffing or just pacing Kyla to allow her to adjust to her height? Hopefully one of these is the case.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Pacing I get to a point but a double tuck, a double twist in a 2013 floor routine is a way to make sure you never compete floor internationally again

      • Lis Says:

        I honestly think that Kyla’s growth is what’s keeping her from upgrading at this point. She has clearly grown A LOT and it must be very difficult to learn new skills when your center of gravity is changing daily. Maybe they’re waiting for her to stop growing as fast and then they’ll work on upgrades? Just a thought…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I was told she had upgrades on floor that she was hitting. Now she isn’t showing them.

      • Tortuga Says:

        This is a late response so I don’t know if it will get read. But my view is, Zhang is a push over and will do whatever Marta says, plus if you don’t do as Marta says she will make sure you get punished by leaving you behind anyway. I do think that her growth spurt also has a lot to do with her lack of up-grades. I wonder if that’s also affecting her heel. I just really hope she pulls through. I’m going to be a sad panda if she really isn’t going to be able to do AA at worlds.

  2. gingercrush Says:

    Hmmm where are the upgrades? I’ll be calm till the National Champs or secret US visa champs or whatever they’re called this year in regards to Kyla. But if she doesn’t have them there then I’m writing her off.

    • H Says:

      Maybe they (her coaches) are holding the upgrades back until they are picture perfect – I do hope that is the reason …

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That would make sense knowing how her coaches work. But I do wonder if it will hurt her going into nationals or anything. You know how judges/Marta are all about bias going into an event…

        Argh, so frustrating.

        Does anyone know if Kyla has floor upgrades?

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      I’ll tell you this, if this rumor about Kyla committing to Stanford is true then I suspect she wil be doing a few more meets and will not try for Rio. Otherwise why the hell is she not upgrading? I pray that I see new routines from her come classics and nationals.

      • mimi Says:

        hush! dont even go there😦
        id be heartbroken if she wasnt on the rio team!

      • Case Says:

        I actually agree with this. Kyla is very grounded (which is why she is so loved) and seems to be gearing more and more towards NCAA and her long term future vs chasing Rio.

  3. Catherine Says:

    Looks her height was an issue on floor, two out of bounds. She absolutely has to upgrade to remain relevant as an all-arounder.

    Biles’ bars are up too- YT account is gifwatermark. gymPOWER1 has a lot of junior routines so far. Really thrilled today with the victors- Key, Biles, Jupp, Grishina and Chusovitina. A great day for gymnastics! I hope Simone can point her toes a little more on bars but they’re very strong all the same and valuable for USA. I can’t wait to see her floor, it’s suppsoed to be amazing and she actually upgraded since american cup- a leap in the DLO and a full-in tuck in place of the double pike (from a 1.5 twist and as the THIRD pass). Her second vault is McKayla’s old one, the Lopez, but no video of it yet.

    I really like Bailie’s gymnastics. I don’t think she is a Soviet ballerina of perfection but she IS very clean, especially for an American. She’s a very clean twister, great leaps and she’s cleaned up her lines on bars. Personally I don’t see what’s not to love, especially when you factor in a very decent and powerfl DTY.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She is not a clean twister off beam. Her dismount was a mess and her knee’s looked crossed at the knee’s.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’ll have to re-watch; the video I saw was grainy.

        I did see that her twists are a bit cross-heeled and it looked like she didn’t get the dismount all the way around. Was I right?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Who Key? I only watched it once and it looked around to me but her knees were a mess. She was shaky during beam.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah Key. I re-watched but the only video I see is still not super clear. I definitely see what you mean about the Bross connection. For whatever reason it isn’t “as” offensive to watch (maybe because her upper body is more flowy?) but I see what you mean about the bent knees.

        I still don’t know about her twisting getting all the way around. It looked like she landed a bit short but hopped out of it to face the beam head on and covered that.

        I also thought she should have been deducted for pausing so much to set up for her dismount.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You might be right. She was short in the landing which was probably because she didn’t get the twist all the way around.

        She did the same thing on floor. She also had crossed legs on her DTY just not as bad as her beam dismount

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’m still laughing at the fact her floor routine has Kim Zmeskal’s music in it. Even certain positions/dance moves look the same as Kim’s. And it doesn’t suit Key as a gymnast, at all.

      • Catherine Says:

        Her old 2.5 beam dismount was very neat I thought. The triple is new for her. I loved her floor ones though. For Rio I am mainly rooting for her, Simone, Nia and Laurie. I like Kyla and her gymnastics but they’re bland and not testing her ability. They all have flaws of course…Im blown away by Biles incredible awesomeness but I do see her flexed feet on bars transitions and her slightly sloppy BHS’ on beam.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Noticed that two. In her front tuck I first thought about Bross knees and her dismount her feet were crossing big time. Not really Mustafina legs though, but enough to notice.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Kyla only had one OOB according to her score. She was deducted only once

  4. exgymgurl Says:

    The US championships are the secret agent flying squirrell hormel foods presented by spam and wonder bread championships.

    Maybe they had to hold back on upgrades because shes been injured? I think considering the growth spurt, and considering we are still 3 yrs out of the olympics shes doing fine. Pacing and peaking at the right time. Didnt she have an amanar at jesolo last year though?

    If the world wants gymnasts like Biles thats great. More power to her.

    Kyla is still qualified for beam and bars finals. Was her floor routine to Phantom still? she has a new one, but maybe it is not ready….

    • Biyatch Says:

      she said at SCAM that she was going to hold on to the phantom routine all year…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She has a new routine so no clue why she would keep that floor. IMO

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Maybe she’ll do the new floor when she’s completely healed from injury – maybe we’ll see it at nationals, or maybe she’ll debut it next year…

      • mimi Says:

        ugh phantom is awful floor music. doesn’t suit her at all!

    • DL Says:

      I really hope she’s holding back on upgrades because of the injury and the growth spurt. That floor is horrible.

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    Lexie’s beam was a hott mess. Even taking out her fall. Legs bent and her first switch split leap was almost laughable it was so bad. Not even close to the 180 position. Very sloppy.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Lexie quit as soon as she fell. Ameilia was also short on her leaps too. MLT should be better at this by now.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Ahh so that would explain the shitty score Lexie got. I have to see the video but it sounds like shes gotten worse on beam.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You could just see the fight in her was over. One of her jumps ( I forget which one) in combination wasn’t even close to being the right degree.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I could definitely see it as soon as she was off. She looked deflated and was rushing the rest of the routine.

  6. H Says:

    Kyla Ross without music half of the floor?

  7. Biyatch Says:

    I know he’s always worn them, but why does Al Fong wear the gloves. They come off as soooo creepy.

  8. JAS4 Says:

    I don’t know if any of Kyla’s family/friends ever read this blog but if you do please tell her to UPGRADE!!!!!!!

  9. christina Says:

    It seems like Kyla replaced her Maloney on bars with a Komova 2 which gives her an extra 0.2 for her start value. She also added a ring leap with full turn or whatever it’s called which is a D. It’s not anything major but more upgrades may be coming

  10. exgymgurl Says:

    After waching her hop on her DTY, I would say this is a height issue. She looks as though even since SCAM shes gotten taller. Shes better off doing her growing now than trying to push it out. She may have upgrades shes competing at camp, and training well, but not competing here. We’ll see if she goes through heel surgery or more intense treatment after worlds this year. Maybe she can use that chiropractor Mattie Larson used in Los Angeles… LOL

Leave a Reply

