Have I gone to hell?

Watching the first 3 minutes of this video made me feel icky inside. I was literally like WTF? Is this what passes as gymnastics these days?

This looks like a circus event to me not a sport and I feel bad that this is what we are reducing our sport to these days.

Its great to see the likes of Hollie Vise and Jana Bieger after the fact but this whole this just rubs me the wrong way.

I will give them all the credit in the world for throwing some skills but I just can’t get into this type of thing. Its too wrestling for me.

Gymnastike will provide live coverage of this for their Gold viewers. Lucky ducks:)


Inside the last Marta camp where we learn Kyla won the Senior AA and Ameilia Hundley won the junior. ( Biles was second and Priessman was third for the seniors and Key was second and Hernandez was third for the juniors. Keep your eyes on Laurie Hernandez if she doesn’t break she could be your 2016 Olympic AA champion)

43 Responses to “Have I gone to hell?”

  1. gingercrush Says:

    I refuse to even waste 3 minutes😛

    Oh and no more American AA winners please. China needs an AA gold and Russia needs a TF gold and the US vault gold.

    • icemeltsfast Says:


      Komova needs her AA gold, too, though. If there is not a single undeserved AA champ this quad, there is hope for this sport.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think Komova will get hers eventually. Probably in a couple years, and maybe Rio if she stops hurting herself. Part of me thinks that her timing just sucked for 2011/12 – she was growing and had to get used to a new height, plus she had that ankle problem that wasn’t allowing her to show full difficulty at Worlds 2011.

        If only she got her vault together at the Olympics we all know she would have won.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        She should have won without the steps on vault. Such BS. I thought I got over this, but 9 months later… nope.

  2. gingercrush Says:

    Also in Marta camp, Marta’s angels were seen kissing ass😉

  3. Catherine Says:

    I’m looking forward. Interesting concept, sounds like a lot of fun for the gymnasts too. Not that I want it to be present in more competitions, but nothing wrong with one. It will be broadcast on ESPN too.

    I’m wondering how Nica is doing? And Polina. Also interested to know how Kyla beat the other two..either they made mistakes or she has upgraded at last, hopefully the latter.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      So you are okay with ESPN airing this shit but there might be a chance we won’t get worlds on TV.LOL

      • Catherine Says:

        Ha well ideally both. I’m hoping I can watch it on BBC player when I get back, but I’ll have to change my IP for a channel every tv in the country gets and it destroys browsers ughh.

        I think this competition is a good way for non-fans to enjoy and appreciate the difficulty. And I’m loving the fact that Pavlova is competing. I just wouldn’t want this type of meet to replace any others, but one is fine.

    • DL Says:

      Didn’t Ross win verifications last year around this time as well? (Even with her lower D scores.)

  4. sanitynmotion Says:

    Who are Marta’s angels???

    I’m glad Kyla won. Where was Katelyn though? Not at camp?

    • gingercrush Says:

      Kissing ass😛

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Katelyn was at camp. She was hanging out with Sabrina Vega and Kyla paid Sabrina to lock Katelyn in a closet…. Katelyns back problem is because she was pulling so hard on the door…

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    Oh and I felt the same way GTT. I don’t see how this thing will last in the public eye. It’s too “gladiator” for me…I dunno, I don’t even get it and I’m a huge gymnastics fan. I’d rather just see more gymnastics competitions throughout the year!

  6. sainabou nyang Says:

    Lol I saw this and thought no way this will last. Hollie Vise looks great. Loving the playboy poses for the camera lol. Jana Bieger was a surprise considering she disappeared after Beijing. Did she even compete in NCAA?

    I can’t wait for Jesolo this weekend. I want to see Baileys new bar routine, amelia/Lexies new floor, SOMETHING new from Kyla, and also what Maggie & Payton bring to the table.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Is Jesolo on TV at all? Or is this totally going to be a You Tube search? I hope everyone posts videos.🙂

      I’m excited to see KYLA. And her upgrades. I want her to UPGRADE.

      And I’m excited to see everyone else too of course. Should be interesting overall. This Bailey Kay girl has a lot of hype so I hope to see her there too.

  7. brainy Says:

    Can someone describe the physical abilities testing that is done at these camps? And what does the ranking mean?

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Its like splits, flexibility testing, holding a scale, some strength like pullups etc. Its a way of empiricly measuring their overall fitness for gymnastics like the hopes testing

  8. icemeltsfast Says:

    Okay regarding the video– it’s a bit too, um, laissez-faire?? But I am fine with the whole guys-performing-shirtless deal. Lol.

  9. JAS4 Says:

    I hope Kyla won because she has upgrades! I think she had upgrades last year but she was told not to show them/wasn’t consistent enough on them because she was beating Jordyn at camps last year but then again you never know Marta’s camp scoring is likely more crazy that competition scoring lol

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      AND it’s become more obvious than ever that Marta was trying to play head games with Jordyn, so who knows.

      At this time last year I was totally thinking it would be Kyla and Jordyn doing the AA in the Olympics. How off was I? Hahah!

  10. exgymgurl Says:

    I have no idea why Peyton Ernst gets to go to Tokyo…

  11. Lithi Says:

    I don’t know how old you are, GTT, so I don’t know if you remember Valeri Liukin doing a floor routine to “Achy Breaky Heart” in some exhibition-type show. He was dressed in a cowboy outfit and everything. He also did pommel horse in a caveman’s outfit and a couple of other routines.

    Here’s the vid: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IcvNhZ7g3Jc

    As God as my witness, I still don’t know what to think of it.

    • Sara Says:

      I.. I don’t know what to say. That was pretty frightening. I only watched floor and part of pommel horse, but that was enough.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Thank you. I think someone should blast that video on repeat just outside WOGA plano on repeat for 3 days or buy a video billboard for it in dallas

    • Tortuga Says:

      You guys remember after 96 Olympic team gold there were all kinds of Rock n’ Roll Gymnastics competitions or Reeses Cup things, Battle of the Sexes etc. That was fun for me since I was so young. Now I see it probably was a bad idea. None of that this time around. It didn’t work out in our favor obviously, 2000 was pretty terrible. I at least hope they do a tv documentary 1 year after the Olympics. A what are they up to now type thing.

    • Case Says:

      That video is quite possibly the most frightening, yet entertaining I’ve ever seen. God bless exhibition gymnastics.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Um, wow. I don’t know what to say! If I were Nastia I’d have that playing in the gym to get him to laugh. He always looks like he has a stick up his ass.

  12. mimi Says:

    how does polina fit into this mix? injured or not good enough?
    and what in heck is happening with sabrina vega? can she compete in NCAA?

    • Case Says:

      Vega has NCAA written all over her. She should just commit and get it over with.

      I’m wondering about Polina too.

    • nero Says:

      My girl Polina better get some international assignments soon, hopefully American Cup next year to start off her senior year a la Simone Biles. My guess is her coaches will be pushing her bars over the next few years.

      And I read on twitter that Kyla is going to commit to Stanford once she gets her test scores in. It’s funny, I can’t see Kyla going pro or doing NCAA she just seems too quiet for both! I wonder if she’ll hold up and focus on elite until after Rio, whether she makes it or not, or pull an Alicia and do both. At least her double full on floor will be appreciated in NCAA.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I hope kyla doesn’t go the way of Bridget sloan. She has the potential to break the us one Olympic curse.

      • kay Says:

        Oh who said she was going to commit to Stanford? I’ve been thinking for a while now that might be her plan, although I hope she holds off until after 2016. Is it possible to hold off on a scholarship until you’re in your 20’s? I’m not from the US so don’t know much about NCAA but I’m trying to learn!

  13. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    I was seriously hoping that Laurie Hernandez would have been sent to Jesolo. We sent so many more juniors last year. I need more Hernandez viewings!

    • mimi Says:

      me too, i really like her gymnastics. she’s not quite there yet but she’s so great to watch.

  14. Biyatch Says:

    Im glad we’ve moved on from scrunchies but bows… really?

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I’m more offended by the continued use of hot pink.

      The bows are reminiscent of Shawn Johnson when she was 16 and even Weiber in 2011…

      • gingercrush Says:

        I so agree with you. Those leotards are bloody disgusting. But the bows are gross too. And wtf is with the Americans and weird hair styles or maybe that is just gymnasts in general.

      • Catherine Says:

        Let’s look to Japan. Glorious flower leo, glorious black one. Refreshing.

      • mimi Says:

        i bet the bows are a reaction to the messy hair (that mckayla could only really pull off as a semi-neat look). marta’s probably on their case about it.

        i think the hair ribbons make me think of cheerleaders. bring back ballerina buns and dare i say it, scrunchies.

    • katecoursey Says:

      Kyla doesn’t look nearly as tall in this photo….just can’t put her next to Simone🙂

Leave a Reply

