1-800-868-3408 Vote for Aly Raisman. #DWTS Night one

I am sorry but i think Aly looked awesome. I think she and Pickler had the best dances of the night. I also feel like I am some pervert watching this though a window.lol

Just Jared has pictures from week 1

It was just creepy because to me Aly is a baby pretending to be a sex bomb.lol

Directions on how to vote for Aly. Thanks WCVB for this breaking news. I am so glad Boston has nothing better to out on their NEWS Station:)

If you would like to vote for Aly you can do so with this phone number. I am pretty sure this will stay the same for Aly as long as she is in the competition.

 

1-800-868-3408

 

The Performance: I thought Aly did a great job. At least as well as Pickler and the girl with the weird name.

Aly’s scores are…

All 3 judges gave her a 7 (21 overall) That was typical judges fixing things for their Disney stars.

Aly dances 8th out of however many “celebrities” they have this year. Unfortunately for me she will probably be dancing in the second hour and I will be watching Dallas so I’ll have to wait to see how she did. Thank God for youtube:)

All discussion for this weeks dwts goes in this blog. I will add a video tomorrow.

~~~~~~

In non Aly news,

I just tried watching some American Cup with Nastia commentating and it looks like youtube will be the way I watch gymnastics from now on.

Her voice went right through me. This is going to suck more than I thought.

First she never shuts up and the way she talks about all the gymnasts like she knows how they are thinking is going to annoy the hell out of me.lol

dwts_2

106 Responses to “1-800-868-3408 Vote for Aly Raisman. #DWTS Night one”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    Yes, thank GOD for you tube! I’m sure Aly will make it through.

    So what do you say now GTT? “A vote for Aly is a vote against _____” – ? ? ?

    Hrm. Gabby?

  2. GymMom Says:

    Aly’s costume is pink(sorry). She looks really cute though.

  3. Kazic Says:

    Does anyone have a live stream link? Dear lord I have to see this go down.

  4. Case Says:

    Where did Aly get that rack? Lol.

  5. GymMom Says:

    Aly did great!

  6. sainabou nyang Says:

    Whoooo Aly omg. This girl can shake it. She needs to loosen up a little but I loved it.

    • GymMom Says:

      Shawn, Jordyn & even Gabby tweeted Aly about DWTS….but nothing from McKayla? I think she thought she was a shoe-in.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She said in that article she was asked and said no. I tend to believe her.

        None of those brilliant “friends” tweeted the number to vote.lol Maybe Gabby did, I don’t follow her.

      • Guest Says:

        I have read a interview article about Fierce 5 at All-Stars finale and I remember both Gabby and Mckayla interested in DWTS, so Mckayla said she was asked and denied the offer is quite doubtful. (On the other hand, I think she doesn’t need to lie due to her publicity among 5)

  7. GymMom Says:

    Jacoby Jones is a contender…

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I love his name. Not for him but for a baseball player but one day he will break my heart and become a Yankee and I will hate that name forever. Sigh, I am bored so I over think and babble when that happens:)

      • GymMom Says:

        He’s pretty cute.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Baseball player or boxer??? Ellsbury is adorable but he has stars in his eyes and as amazing as he is, he ain’t getting 140 million dollar contract especially not from the red sox. Now the Yankee love to take our team so they will sign him but we will not, not for that money.

        Its too bad because when he is healthy he is amazing, he’s just never healthy.

        If you mean the boxer I have no clue. First time I saw him was tonight.lol

  8. sportsfan Says:

    Zendaya is a threat too. That girl can flat out dance.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She’s a hip hop dancer and that dance was the easy one. We will see how she progresses. I feel bad for her. That poor little girl is so pretty and she is stuck with such a name. Damn parents

      • KS Says:

        Zendaya is a name of African origin that means “to give thanks.” I personally feel it’s beautiful that her parents (her dad being Zimbabwean) gave her a unique name that reflects part of her culture.

        It’s definitely a lot better than what most celebrities are naming their kids these days.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        and I think differently. Its a stupid name. If she wasn’t on TV she would be crusified by her classmates.

        Parents should at least think about how their poor kids will have to deal with these stupid weird names when they name them. Its not fair.

      • GymMom Says:

        Agreed about her name. My grandson has an apostrophe in his name & I told my daughter she was making things more difficult for him. His name is D’Angelo. And then she added to his middle name…Isaiyah….to add insult to injury. He’s 8 yrs old & I’m not sure he knows how to spell his middle name yet? Ha ha. Why do parents do this to their kids?

      • Kazic Says:

        Disagree totally about her name GTT. It’s beautiful and as KS said it honors her heritage. Can’t see anything wrong with that.

      • sportsfan Says:

        I’m not sure how easy it really was. Val didn’t seem to like the draw too much. Contemporary is a conglomeration of different styles, and she nailed them. Ended the night in 1st. Not bad for the 16 year old.

      • KS Says:

        I guess we can agree to disagree GTT.

        Maybe it’s a generation or environment thing. Where I grew up we were always encouraged to share our identities and stories and take pride in what makes us unique. For a lot of people, what their named, whether it’s their birth name or nickname is a huge part of their identity and I know a lot of people who are very happy having unique names. I for one love learning about people’s name origins.

        Maybe the word “Zendaya” had a special meaning to her parents. Or maybe they just wanted to see her get picked on growing up. Who knows?

        As a kid I grew up in a pretty diverse area and I was no stranger to kids with unique names. Did we “normal” named people bully them because we we had difficulty pronouncing/spelling their names? No. In fact, when they shared the meanings of their names (inside the classroom and out), it allowed for some of really beautiful stories and lessons about family and culture.

        Don’t get me wrong, I know bullying exists…unfortunately I am no stranger to it. I just hope that today’s youth are being taught to be more open minded…given the attention bullying and it’s effects have gotten in the media lately. But maybe I just have more faith in today’s youth than I should. Better yet maybe I have more faith in today’s parents than I should. When I have kids (in the very distant future) I know I’ll teach them to value what makes them unique and to approach their peers and their stories/histories/cultures with open minds.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Today’s youth are spoiled brats. They are self entitled, have computers and HD televisions in their rooms and they steal the world blind and the first word out of their mouth when caught is, my dads a lawyer.

        Oh you have way too much faith in todays youth.lol

  9. Biyatch Says:

    Thought Aly’s hair and makeup looked good but the dress was not particularly flattering. It made her look heavier then she really is and while there is nothing wrong with showing some cleavage it kind of looked like a wardrobe malfunction waiting to happen. Regardless I thought she did really well and she showed more sass and personality then I thought she would. I think there were a lot of expectations on how she would do illustrated by Carie Ann’s comments that she was “too safe.”

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I agree, the dress was horrid.

      The judges always say critical stuff about the favorites and since the Disney girl has only 10 year old fans everything she did was called great.

    • GymMom Says:

      I think the style of Aly’s dress made her look heavier than she is.

    • sportsfan Says:

      Bruno said everything but “look at her boobs” tonight. By all rights, he wasn’t wrong. Her cleavage was almost a distraction from the dance. I know she’s 18 and can dress more provocative than Shawn could during her first run on the show, but that doesn’t mean you have to throw her boobs in our face week 1. Ease into that.

      • GymMom Says:

        No matter how low cut Shawn’s outfits were on DWTS, she has zero sex appeal.

      • sportsfan Says:

        I’d agree with that, especially the first time out. I didn’t expect Aly to have as much sex appeal as she did. The promo pics for this season were very misleading. I mean, she looked pretty, but I wasn’t expecting sexy tonight.

    • DL Says:

      I’m glad that video was grainy because that dress! It’s like the wardrobe department doesn’t want her to win.

  10. GymAnon Says:

    That…wasn’t terrible? It was better than I expected, though I still winced a few times. And hello Aly’s rack! Where did you come from?? 🙂

    • annie Says:

      Just like McKayla’s in all her instagram photos 😛

      • GymMom Says:

        The difference though is McKayla was posing and Aly isn’t . Ballroom dancing costumes are notoriously skimpy. I think McKayla’s photos with her push-up bra are tacky.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think it’s tacky too and like “hey look at me! I’m pretty! Compliment me!” It doesn’t send a good message and only continues the trend we see in today’s teenage girls: an obsessiveness with themselves and the way they look. They want to be perceived as sex objects. It’s honestly scary because I don’t feel like they know exactly what they are doing, yet social media allows them to do all sorts of stupid crap online.

      • Gymbee Says:

        From an adults perspective I think too. But a lot of teenage girls are like that, just a part of growing up for many girls.

        They had her judging Miss America – not exactly role models when it comes to intellectual prowess when prancing around on that stage in bikinis. So I don’t blame McKayla or any other girl her age for posing that way, given what society bombards them with.

    • Gymbee Says:

      Both of them makes me think of Jenna Marbles explaining how to go from flat-chested to double D with a few wardrobe adjustments 🙂

  11. icemeltsfast Says:

    But didn’t you find Nastia’s commentary kinda insightful when it came to.. say, Katelyn? I, for one, did not know that Ohashi was capable of a full-in beam dismount and a DLO on floor. If anything, it was nice that they were all silent during the floor routines. =)

    • Catherine Says:

      I for one was terrified with all these upgrades she was mentioning when Katelyn looked to be exhausted with what she currently is doing, and a struggle of a bars routine. She had a piked full in pre-2012. I wonder if she’ll bring it back..

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Cat do you think Katelyn should nix the pirouttes? I was watching scam again today and it almost looks like her arms are two short to reach the bar after her turn that i almost think she can’t grip the bar completely.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I only watched the Kyla beam routine. That was enough and I knew about Katelyn’s full in off beam she competed it last year. I heard about the double layout too.

  12. mimi Says:

    i knew aly had the ability to dance! yay! she did well for a first go and she’ll only get better im sure 🙂

  13. JAS4 Says:

    Got it recorded on the DVR but I’m too sleepy to watch it tonight lol

  14. Catherine Says:

    I liked Aly’s dress, it suited her and it’s the typical attire, she’s old enough and in great shape so she should go for it. I think her and McKayla are swapping push up bra tips alright.

    Pleasantly surprised with her dancing, she really got into it and she’s such a hard worker, I’d say she’ll improve so much even by the next week or two.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I am not too sure Aly needed much help from a pushup bra. Even in her Olympic leotards you could tell she is quite large breasted. She actually dresses quite conservatively most of the time if you ask me (sort of covering things up) which is why I think people are so surprised to realize how big her boobs are when she wears a risque outfit. McKayla on the other hand has a few photos out there where she is definitely flaunting it with serious help from a pushup bra. I’m not saying it’s terrible or not to be expected from a girl her age (and one who obviously is very attractive and knows it) but it is definitely a fact. It does seem like she’s toned it down some in her more recent photos.

  15. Biyatch Says:

    Maybe if Aly learns to straighten her legs on the dance floor it will carry over to her gymnastics… maybe?

  16. christina Says:

    I’m the only one who found this a little akward? But still, a pretty good job for Aly

  17. lol Says:

    My BFF in middle school was named, Tata. It was a family name and she was teased daily.

  18. lol Says:

    They would say things like, look at tha tata’s on Tata and oh look Tata is eating Potatata chips. This was not fun for her.

  19. nero Says:

    I thought Aly did great! Much better then I expected. One critique would be for her to close her mouth, it was actually a little embarrassing how she was trying to be sexy. I don’t know why girls think opening their mouths like that will make them look sexy, it just looks, well, kind of wrong haha

    From my years of watching America’s Next Top Model I feel Aly needs to learn to smize throughout her dances, AKA smile with her eyes!

    I always felt the girls who are trying to be sexy actually look very awkward. Aly is very pretty, she just needs to be natural instead of trying to force it

  20. Biyatch Says:

    https://twitter.com/DominicZito/status/314096379872034816

    Visas should be quite interesting…

    • Case Says:

      Jordyn is not screwing around folks. She is intensely focused and spending countless hours in the gym. If she stays healthy….look out.

    • Catherine Says:

      He made Katelyn and Lexie’s too, as well as Jordyn’s old one of course. Katelyn’s is great and Lexie’s seems to make the best of her, though it hasn’t been competed yet.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I hope Jordyn’s new floor routine is as good as her last old one because it really suited her I also hope she has some tumbling upgrades

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I bet she pulls out the double layout. I’d love to see that.

      • stephen Says:

        I wouldn’t be surprised if it was a full twisting double layout . That would give her 2 “H” skills.

      • utgymfan Says:

        Jo looked fierce in the collage she uploaded to Instagram yesterday. I’m really proud of her for bouncing back and training like she is. I think she wants to show everyone that she’s moved on from the Olympics and is still a top contender in USA gymnastics. Can’t wait to see what she has in store for us

      • nero Says:

        I need this in my life. NOW! I think they’ll go for easier passes and by ‘easy’ I mean maybe something like triple twist, full-in, 1.5 to 2.5, double pike. Still world class.

        If Jo gets her beam back to 2011 shape she might actually have a shot at Worlds, an outside shot but a shot none the less.

        GO JO!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t understand why everyone is counting her out. She finished 4th in the world last year and she has been training for months. Not sure why she is outside looking in personally.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        People forget the way this girl competes. I can’t remember a time in her senior career where this girl made a major mistake. She only got duped by her beam connections and shit for brains judges that were dead set on having Gabby in the AA final at that Olympics.

        She’s a better gymnast than Aly Raisman (overall) and is very on par with Aly when it comes to mental toughness.

        She comes back she has a shot at Worlds again, and remember Komova is out with an injury. She’ll be competing against a weaker Chinese team (unless Jinan is back, maybe?) and who knows how on par mentally Iordache will be. Musty is great but can have issues and does not have a safe amanar anymore.

        Jo got royally screwed at the Olympics and she’s over injuries. I say she has more potential coming back than anyone else did before her (including the 2008 cast).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She messed up bars in the 2011 worlds AA. She scored a 13 something. That is my biggest memory of a mistake

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        True. But the mistake didn’t cost her gold – or podium for that matter. What I meant were more “major” mistakes like falls – maybe I should take the Tim Daggett route and replace “mistake” with the word “disaster”, lol. That mess-up wasn’t even a fall, and it very well could have been.

        I’m liking her to Aly on a mental basis here. Aly has had mess-ups too but not where it really affected the Team (mostly her as an individual competing, same with Jordyn). Aly’s last mess-up was obviously on beam in the AA where she put her hand down on it. Yet she would have medaled too if it weren’t for that stupid tie breaker rule.

      • nero Says:

        Nothing would make me happier than to have Jo make Worlds, but I think the 4 person team might work against her. If it was a 6 person team I think her chances would be better.

        Just between Kyla, Simone and Kateyln you have at least one USA gymnast in every EF and the AA.

        I think it will be interesting to see if she’s aiming for a few events or going all out and for the AA. And if she is doing the AA how ‘big’ is she going. She would probably have a beautiful DTY come nationals but would they risk it and train the amanar so soon? What about her bars?

        I’m just trying to be realistic, don’t want to get my hopes up too high 🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I meant in general people are counting her completely out.

        I love Kyla but she has shown no upgrades at all yet and was IMO forced out of the American Cup because Marta didn’t feel she was ready (yet two weeks later she is fine and going to Jeselo? Something is off about this whole thing)

        I just don’t see why Jordyn is being counted out and to be honest I am not really a big Jordyn fan. I think she was screwed last year by her dumbass coach and Marta’s head games.

        Simone Biles was very watchable in person but on tape I was not that impressed and she is very head case like on beam and I think Ebee’s beam will keep her out of any AA (over other gymnasts. Her Amanar is great her floor lacks overall presentation but boy can she tumble and her bars is decent. I think Ohashi’s bars are a disaster waiting to happen and her DTY is gymnastics gift to overscoring. I just see so many flaws overall in all the contenders I think it is unwise to count out Jordyn.

        No one is perfect.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Does Valeri just have a love affair with pirouettes or something?

        Whenever she does her piroettes I always think she won’t grab the bar and end up falling to the mat.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Yes because you get huge rewards points wise if you connect them and hit them.

        Nastia sequence with the Ono was worth like 5 or 6 tenths.

      • Biyatch Says:

        Im not counting her out but I agree that she probably doesnt benefit from a 4 person team when more focus tends to be put on individual event titles. In 2012 Jordyn was a great all arounder in that she was so balanced across all events (with bars being usable but not standout). She has a marginal but not strong shot at medals in BB and floor and a decent shot at an AA medal.

        I actually thought in the pic she posted she looked like she was in better shape then at the games. A lot obviously depends on what everyone else is doing/ what the international field looks like. Theyll definitely take at least one person for vault finals and that group throwing two vaults is I believe Ebee, Simone and Lexie (plus McKayla if shes ready). Then there is the dark horse of MyKayla Skinner if she really does have the cheng in addition to her amanar. I agree that Simone probably wont get an AA spot with her beam but the other 2 definitely have a shot. Kayla and Katelyn should also be in the mix with Jordyn.

      • Catherine Says:

        I watched podium training and saw Simone nail her layout again and again. We need to see her compete more to really judge it, jesolo and chemnitz are great opportunities. She is certainly at major risk of having her leaps downgraded or discredited so hopefully she can improve them. As it stands, she’s a better beam worker than Ebee, Lexie and Mykayla Skinner and MAY be able to outscore Kyla and Jordyn herself unless they get their upgrade/creditable connections game on. Bars..equal to Ebee, maybe better. A lot better than Katelyn and everyone else except Kyla..unless Peyton is suddenly amazing? Vaults better than anyone and may be able to outscore Lexie and Ebee if she fixes her landings because her d score will be pretty much the same as Ebee and she’s cleaner than both. All in all, if she’s healthy she pretty much has to be at worlds.

        I don’t think Jordyn will be able to outperform the other powerhouses. This worlds doesn’t suit her sadly. 2014, 2015..yes. But as a specialist it looks like it would be hard to justify. Geddert has said before they’ve tried to get her a second vault and it hasn’t gone their way at all which doesn’t help either. But Marta and/or MLT could break Lexie, you just never know.

        Komova is out of euros. Worlds is too far away to say, I’d say she’ll be there but not with her biggest skills. Aliya is taking advantage of the beam code and should be able to get her bars right back up as well. She may well end up being better able to challenge for gold in Antwerp than she could in London when she hadn’t had sufficient time to get her beam back up to standard. If she stays healthy. And that dlo, I hope it materialises and she ditches the triple full..

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Simone nailed it three times at the American Cup practice but she fell in competition.

      • Catherine Says:

        Yeah hoping that was a fluke, it looked like such a solid skill before the competition routine. I’d love to see her get more height on it like the Chinese do but I suppose that would make it less stable.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I dont think this year matters in terms of the next olympics. I think most of these girls will end up as really good NCAA gymnasts. I think Marta lies to them. Constantly. She probably has a preliminary team picked right now. The girls already spend about 1/3 of their training time at the ranch.

        I question how / why Peyton Ernst gets a World Cup slot in Tokyo when she was just named to the national team….. Preference to Zmeskal….

      • kay Says:

        Yes I don’t understand Ernst going to Tokyo unless she has vastly improved since nationals, I guess we’ll see at Jesolo. I get that Marta can rely on Kyla in competition without sending her to any major ones this year but what about Simone or Lexie? Surely they could both have benefited from World Cup experience. I also wonder what shape Peyton will be in by the time she gets to Tokyo as I believe she is flying straight from Germany. That’s a long 3 weeks of competition for a just named national team member.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I didn’t get the hype over Peyton either looking at her national 2012 videos. I wasn’t blown away or anything.

  21. Krystal Gonzalez Says:

    I was in the stands at the American Cup- I dragged my boyfriend to the event. When they announced the opportunity to get some ear piece to hear the commentary I refused to go get it- Sorry Nastia fans but the last thing I wanted to hear was her constant jabber.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      There are no Nastia fans here.lol but you actually missed out on Shannon Miller and Jonathon Horton. They are actually fun to listen too not that I would buy a freaking 15 dollar radio for one night

  22. exgymgurl Says:

    Jordyn has not been at camp yet has she? She doesnt need to go to Jesolo or Germany or anywhere. She can come out and kill it at championships and she’ll in the words of Jenny Kirk “Be so good they can’t ignore her” like Chellsie Memmel was

    • nero Says:

      She gets a free pass to Nationals because of the Olympics right? It’s a tough puzzle to piece together for Jordyn. There is really no point in training bars and vault for this year unless she intends to compete AA. And if she does do AA then there probably is no point in doing anything less than an amanar, because a DTY and her bars wont make her top 2 in the USA.

      So maybe training hard on beam and floor and making herself an EF contender for both might be the way to go.

      But I bet she’s going for the AA, maybe just to make a point.

      She looked excellent in those pics, I don’t care if she does 4 layouts as tumbling passes I want to see the choreo for her new routine!

    • Case Says:

      You nailed it on the head exgymgurl.

    • kay Says:

      Nope Jordyn hasn’t been at camp yet but she’s probably going to wait until she’s in full shape again.

      I would like to Madison Kocian being invited to camps soon, she’s already qualified to nationals and her bars are looking great, I think she could be a big asset to team USA this quad.

  23. GymAnon Says:

    Count me among the ranks of those excited that Jordyn’s working on a serious comeback and pessimistic about her chances in making a four-person team this year. I wonder how long she’ll keep training and competing elite.

  24. sportsfan Says:

    Jordyn wants this return bad. She was “punk’d” by the judges, and the Gabby backers who put her in the final. I will admit that I am a 4-year fan. So, the intricacies of gymnastics are a little hard for me to grasp. However, I do know that when an athlete misses on their dream, they will fight like hell to get back to the position to attain it again. I won’t count Jo out until I see she can’t physically do it anymore. Or until Marta screws her.

  25. littlechip Says:

    How come the Sacramone’s aren’t tweeting about Aly Raisman on DWTS. Could there be some jealousy??

  26. sainabou nyang Says:

    Yang Yilin on So you think you can dance China. Looking at her now I believe she actually is 20-21years old. Although that wig makes her look older.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      This is kind of funny because it literally looks like she’s doing a watered-down floor exercise as her dance.

      I’m a huge fan of the show in the US so that didn’t do anything for me dance-wise, but I’m happy to see her happy and she looks really great! I never thought she was one of the age falsificators (for lack of a better term); I still think to this day that He Keshin was one of them (but I’m fine with it since she beat Nastia – HAH!) and I also suspect Deng Linlin…

Leave a comment