If you ever wonder why everyone hates Patrick Chan. Read this article. It explains it all.

Jeselo team has been named. Ohashi is out.

Kyla Ross, Simone Biles, Brenna Dowell, Peyton Ernst, Maggie Nichols, and Lexie Priessman. Amelia Hundley and Bailie Key will compete for the Juniors.

The following week, the team will travel to Chemnitz, Germany, for a tri-meet with Germany and Romania. Members of the U.S. delegation will perform with German athletes to create a fourth, mixed team.


Dancing with the stars started Monday night I believe and I will be doing a weekly update for Aly (as long as someone puts the routines on youtube)

TV Guide article on Aly and another site does pre-rankings. Aly is 1st on their list.

75 Responses to “Ouch”

  1. Exgymgurl Says:

    Like i said someone hasnt adjusted to her height

  2. Catherine Says:

    I think even if she nails her routines in other competitions that she will still be outclassed by Munteanu next year. Her floor was great but the leg seperations were everywhere…I don’t remember them being near as noticeable before, or maybe I haven’t seen slow mo of her tumbles before.
    We’ll see her at Doha in 2 weeks, and Cottbus and Euros. Hopefully stronger. And with a new floor at some stage…

  3. Catherine Says:

    Jesolo was known for a while, USAG are slow. Ohashi has mild back pain. I think it’s good to preserve her even if she is totally fine because that girl does not look able to compete like a mad thing. Dowell is odd for a Gage girl, but I love her front double pike.

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    Didnt dowell compete with a broken wrist last year at trials? What happened to sabrina vega? She was better than brenna…

  5. Lis Says:

    Is Ebee still injured?

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      I thought she was healed and doing light training.

      I think Sabrina is done. Shes kind of the Ivana hong of the last quad. She needs to stay in shape for college recruiters.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      USAG is saying ebee and finnegan are both still injured

  6. macstabby Says:

    Good god, Chan seems like an insufferable prick. I wouldn’t want to root for an asshat like that in a million years. I just can’t fathom that level of twatwafflery. He’s delusional for sure.

  7. Biyatch Says:

    Not loving the new leos. http://instagram.com/p/W-ogl-ubX0/

    The red, white and blue one isnt bad and I can tolerate the one Kyla is wearing but not loving all the pink, neon colors. They are basically normal GK leos with an UA logo slapped on them.

    Kyla is SOOOOOOOOO tall. She should never stand next to Biles. I wonder how long shes going to be able to keep her elite skills. Major props to her and her parents for keeping NCAA eligibility, wonder which school will be lucky enough to get her.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Pink, gag me.

      That is why I like Kyla. She rarely wears pink unless they force her too. Her junior years all I remember is green.

      Khorkina was tall, she did fine

      With my luck she will go to UCLA and I hate UCLA.lol

      • mimi Says:

        i think i read an interview with kyla and she said she wants to stay in california – so im guessing UCLA or stanford. do stanford take gymnasts that aren’t also super academic because of their sporting prowess or is that a non-negotiable (im guessing it’s the latter)?

      • kay Says:

        I think Kyla is academic though. She seems very focused on school and didn’t her dad say once that she’s not happy unless she’s top of the class? I would love her to go to stanford!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Ummm Stanford is well known for taking the jocks with no brains, just like most other top sporting schools. Don’t be fooled that it’s Stanford. All schools (even Ivies) with competitive sporting programs will find ways to capture even the dumbest athletes, just to have them on their roster for their sporting talent. They end up majoring in majors such as sociology (a known one for the football players) or communications.

        Kyla seems to have the brains though so she’d make a good fit for Stanford. I see her there over UCLA, if she ends up going the college route. I hope she doesn’t though – I hope she can make a second Olympics.

        That being said it doesn’t look like Kyla is much taller than Amelia Humphrys? I know Amelia has puff hair but it still kind of looks like they are within an inch or two of each other.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I am envisioning coach val showing up at future meets with an eagle eye on Kyla.

        I was talking on another blog about which WAG gymnasts from this quad will be recruited into NCAA either before or after Rio.

        Kyla I can see at UCLA.
        We have Lexie with a verbal commit to uga. I can see ebee there too. Then you have Amelia at Florida.

        Sarah Finnegan I have being recruited by Missouri, oklahoma, or utah.
        The others like sabrin, Simone, Katelyn I can’t figure out yet where they

      • kay Says:

        I think Simone likes Alabama and Katelyn has definitely said she wants to go to UCLA. I’m not completely sure but I think Ebee has been looking into Stanford.

        But you’re right about Sabrina, I have no clue what’s going on with her. Is she a senior this year or maybe re-doing her junior year as I had heard she was struggling with her school work while preparing for the olympics?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        If Sabrina can’t get her start values much higher then her best bet is college gymnastics. There’s no other way around it. I feel bad for her but if she didn’t have the skills to begin with there’s no reason why she should have been on that team, or felt she deserved a spot since she was on the 2011 Worlds team. I don’t know if that was Marta playing games (with Shawn) or just giving a favor back to Sabrina’s coach.

        I remember at Trials Sabrina’s coach was said to have claimed that Sabrina thought she had a really good shot at making the team, whereas even her coach knew she’d be lucky just to make the alternate selection.

        I guess sometimes I wonder why these coaches don’t have better communication with their athletes. Even Valerie Liukin told a reporter that he didn’t speak much with Rebecca Bross about the upcoming Olympics and making the team – um, HELLO, that’s the big a$$ elephant in the room, no? I have to wonder if these girls would be more mentally sane/confident if their coaches actually TALKED to them and were up front with them/realistic about their chances.

        I know Valerie probably didn’t care much about Bross given that he knew he had a definite in with his daughter if she hit a bar set; however, I can’t help but wonder how Bross thought she had a chance to make the team given she was focusing on the 2 events Nastia was focusing on. She would have had such a much better chance if she had worked on floor as well.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        All I can come up with is Bross is stupid. Mean or not but that girl is clueless to what went on and she thinks she was coached correctly. Why she is so dumb remains to be seen.

      • Catherine Says:

        There’s no way they’ll all stay amateur, surely? How weird would it be if the entire Rio team, and anyone extra at world championships all went to NCAA.

        I don’t know how NCAA works. Can they delay until 19/20 etc. as they please?

      • Gymbee Says:

        I was wondering that too sanity, when I read Valeri said that.

        For some reason, Mihai Brestyan strikes me as someone who talked more to Alicia and Aly, not sure why though. He just seems like a coach who would tell it straight.
        But then again, he strikes me as a bit “weak” too, what with the whole Alicia thing, her dropping floor and not upgrading her vault. And him just giving up on contesting Aly’s score beam score in London, until Bela started yelling at him from the stands.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I get the impression he put all his eggs in the Aly basket and pretty much forgot Alicia so Marta would not ignore Aly.

        Not saying he pulled a Liukin but who knows.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah I didn’t know what to make of that either for Mihai – he seems like one of the better coaches to have, yet he could have easily cost his athlete a medal because he just “takes” what the judges give him/his athletes.

        I feel like something had to have gone on in ASac’s case; no way would Mihai buy into ASac making that team using her ’08 skills and basically buying what Marta was selling. Either he sold her out for the sake of Aly (which makes no sense to me unless he lacks integrity as a coach) or he is like you said – clueless. Yet I would have thought ASac to not be so clueless either. Like I keep on saying we really need that tell-all book!

        And I don’t think Marta “could” ignore Aly even if she tried. The girl barely made mistakes and could always be counted on to hit – especially in team finals (maybe not so much in the AA). So I still just don’t get what went on there.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        These gymnasts and their coaches seem to believe whatever BS Marta sells.

        There is no way that anyone with a brain would believe Marta if she told Alicia she could be on this team with her old skills.

        I am starting to believe all these coaches are either really just stupid or they are putting their future gymnasts ahead of their past.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I agree with you, but I just don’t understand it all. I mean these gymnasts have dedicated their lives to the sport and their coaches have dedicated SO MUCH time to each of these gymnasts; they are almost like second parents. I am guessing they genuinely would care for their athletes so why the heck would they allow for them to be abused? Be honest with them. It’s in their best interest.

        Why have one of your vets damn near kill herself in a comeback attempt when everyone basically knows it’s not going to work?

        I do suspect Chow was likely advising Shawn that even though they had a great run, the better part of her gymnastics was over and Marta was obviously sending a clear message she didn’t want Shawn back in. “Quit while you’re ahead Shawn. She’s not going to take you, even at full difficulty.” I can totally see it.

        So given all that, I am going to just have to believe Mihai is a dumb f*ck because I can’t see him doing that to ASac. They had been through so much together. He even said at one point she was like his daughter. After 2004 they went through a really rough time, and then she came back and you could just tell he was happy she was back with him. I know he had Aly but ASac was his real protege, from start to finish.

        It’s like this:

        Mihai: you’re dumb for believing in Marta, and even dumber for not pressing ASac to do floor and her upgraded vault

        ASac: same thing. You should know better after THREE QUADS of seeing Marta’s antics to believe any crap that comes out of her mouth.You should have learned when Hollie Vise learned this lesson – and you were there to see it/experience it so you can’t even pretend to play ignorant.

        Shawn: you’re dumb for not calling Marta out. I put you up there with Chellsie Memmel on being a sell out even though I understand it.

        Chellsie: same thing. If your dad weren’t in the business I’d expect so much better from you.

        Bross: you’re dumb for thinking you could go for the same spot as the coach’s daughter/Marta’s PET and have a snowball’s chance in hell. Seriously. I learned this lesson at the age of 8 in little league softball; I am not sure how you could not have learned it at some point rising through the ranks of competitive/elite gymnastics.

        Sabrina: you’re a pretty gymnast, but you’re dumb for not raising your difficulty and giving Marta something to think about. You allowed yourself to be looked over. Worlds the year before means nothing. See Worlds 2003 and Worlds 2007 teams, hello.

        Kyla: I love you but you and your coaches are dumb for not upgrading floor when it was potentially going to make it or break it for you to make that team. You had to have seen that pink mess of a Liukin chasing your tail. You were literally one bar routine from not making that team, and sadly that bar routine wasn’t yours.

        Geddart: you are dumb for not listening to others’ advice and for not seeing that Jordyn’s beam routine was not going to be accepted by the judges. Why you didn’t just go back to the 2011 BRONZE MEDAL WINNING routine is beyond me. You cost her her Olympic chance at an all around medal, so you are definitely dumb. And your tattoo is even dumber.

        I can probably go on but I’m probably boring you all with my rant.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am still convinced Kyla did not upgrade floor because she was told not too. A double twist in 2012 makes no sense for anyone.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yeah… or he was realistic enough to realise that Marta would never ever go for Alicia.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        …but then you’d think he’d at least have the wherewithal to tell ASac, “hey, your comeback is awesome and you’re doing well, but I’m telling you she’s not going to choose you for London unless you make a case where she can’t “not” choose you – if you know what I’m saying. In other words, you need your floor routine back and you definitely need your upgraded vault. At Trials. Anything else you won’t be placed on that team, no matter what she says.”

        I mean the writing was on the wall even for us (not-every-4-year) fans. I just don’t see how they didn’t see it.

        Maybe ASac’s mom’s quotes were directed not at Marta/USAG, but at Mihai? The integrity ones?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I mean the writing was on the wall even for us (not-every-4-year) fans. I just don’t see how they didn’t see it.

        This is a question we will never have answered.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        You can delay college until you are as old as you want to. A commitment can be broken by either side and is essentially year to year. Usually since 2000 half the gymnasts have gone pro and half maintained NCAA eligibility. In 2008 there were 2 non pros ( Sloan, Peszeck) and Alicia had already competed NCAA for Brown for only like a year. 2012 is unique in that all but Kyla think they are instagram superstars….

      • Short1 Says:

        Re: Whether to upgrade/compete more events/listen to Martha or not, and as I’ve said in another post, I still think it’s kind of a catch-22. Listen to Martha, and (potentially) risk not having the difficulty and/or number of events that you need, and stay off her sh!t list (so to speak); or upgrade/add the events you think you need, and risk ending up on her sh!t list (especially if you don’t knock the routines out of the park and put up numbers that would be hard to ignore). Either way, I think it’s a tough call to make.

        However, and this is probably a lot easier for me to say as a fan sitting behind my computer screen, but I probably would have gone with the latter, especially at Trials. Maybe play it safe at Classics and/or Nationals, and then put it all out their at Trials (assuming it was physically possible).

        And, as others have already mentioned, this is one of the many reasons we need some tell-all books!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I agree. If I was Alicia I would have brought it to Trials and done it. It was the end of her career and she should have just gone for it. Marta would have had no control.

        Kyla has her entire career ahead of her. Playing safe was probably the better option but it still sucks.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Maybe Mihai did tell Alicia she didn’t have a chance? Without that tell-all book we don’t really know anything about what went down.
        Idk, he just strikes me as a more honest coach (and Alicia seems pretty stubborn).
        Or maybe Marta has an even tighter grip on USA Gym than we suspect – if Alicia didn’t listen to her, would she hold a grudge to Brestyan’s and doom his gyms future (like I’m sure she’s doing with Andy Memmel unless Chellsie complied).

        I wonder if Chow and Shawn complained about the Worlds snub, or if they realised resistance was futile with Marta.

        I just think that they can’t all be that dumb (maybe Geddert can regarding the beam “connections”).

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know but I’m just telling myself they are dumb because otherwise nothing makes sense.

        If I had spent over three years of my life making this comeback attempt and killing myself for the sake of one last opportunity for “redemption” you’d bet your ass I’d be performing my hardest tricks. I’d do what I can to make it impossible for Marta NOT to notice me and put me on that team. I wouldn’t care what she told me, and if she got mad I’d play ignorant and say “I did that vault because I wanted to show you I could perform it in competition” – I mean, what could she say to that? If ASac had performed that vault and even did floor, Marta would have been much harder pressed to take McKayla over ASac – especially if ASac had taken vault title at Trials, during which both girls were healthy – and even if ASac could have come up with a decent floor routine that rivaled McKayla’s. I’m just speaking from ASac’s point of view here because it was the most blatant WTF situation: why would anyone compete old skills at 2012 Trials and seriously think they had a shot. Especially knowing Marta. Really?!

        If ASac had acted like she knew she had no chance in her interviews and what not, I would have bought this. But she definitely acted like she thought she was getting a spot on that team.

      • hurms22 Says:

        About Mihai and ASac I remember in one of the behind the team videos after 2010 worlds she says she goes into the gym and does her program alone. And in the background when Alicia’s working on beam you can see something about Denver gymnastics.

        Also, I remember a tweet from one of the girls from Brestyan’s (level 10, but still in Aly’s group, he has like 3 elites) and it was all like “oh hey Alicia I saw you this morning please rt me” Strikes me as weird that she would be so excited to see Alicia if she’s training there regularly. Or that she’s asking for an RT from a girl who would be in her regular training group.

        I think she actually trains wherever Brady lives, then spends some time with Mihai when she needs to shoot things and before big competitions. She rehabbed and had her surgery in Colorado after 2011 Worlds.

      • Short1 Says:

        @hurms Good points, although I remember hearing/reading that the place she was rehabing at in Colorado is one of the best in the country, in terms of getting top-level athletes healed quickly. So, as far as getting healed and back in shape as quickly as possible (especially with the short about of time between Worlds and Nationals) , I would say that was probably the right move.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      I think shes already about 5’5″-5’6″ those have to be practice leos because tey are sleeveless. They are GKs with UA logos. Unless they are retarded and have logos on both the left and right hip. Straight out of the GK team catalog with USA slapped on them. Classy NOT. I hope the long sleeve competition ones are better

      • Biyatch Says:

        still gross, still pink, gag me

      • mimi Says:

        amelia doesn’t look that much shorter than kyla actually. and she’s still a junior!

      • kay Says:

        There was a picture from a few months ago with the girls all lined up at camp and Amelia was taller than Kyla. Granted Kyla has probably grown since then, Amelia is still very tall for her age and Maggie Nichols is quite tall too.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Ooops, I said the same thing in a different post.

        Those leos look very similar to 2011 leos. I’m sick of the pink already. Why not have a quad with NO freakin pink? How about purple? Blue? Green? Sh*t, how about silver or gold? WHY all the pink?!

    • annie Says:

      love how the price tag is still hanging off

    • KS Says:

      i’m hoping kyla will be able to adjust to her height and we’ll see some unique skills coming from her these next few years.

      being a UCLA alumni (not necessarily a UCLA Gymnastics fan, haha) i would love to see Kyla go to UCLA.

    • Short1 Says:

      A little hot pink humor: http://short1sviewpoint.tumblr.com/post/45675469970/all-these-hot-pink-leos-have-me-wondering-if-the

  8. Biyatch Says:

    oh and alys #

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Those competition ones are gross. And theyre straight from the gk special order catalog. At least they havent produced anything in bright orange….. Yet….. Gross Leos though

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Also as someone pointed out every other country is still wearing olympic team Leos…. Why are we as americans so wasteful. Just slap the UA logo over the adidas qnd be done with it ( i know they cant do that without being sued but still)

      • kittykat Says:

        ughh, couldn’t agree more. That’s the Australian olympic team leo, it wasn’t great with their lovely colours and it’s freaking disgusting here. Jesus christ GK, wtf are you thinking. I just wonder how ANYONE could find that attractive

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Youre right kittykat……Those are also any number of collegiate leos in different color schemes. Nothing new, looks like UA went through the catalog and picked some things for the national team… uggh….

      • Case Says:

        Fugly with a capital “F”.

    • hurms22 Says:

      I agree, the American’s getting a brand new collection of training and competition leos is a bit much. I know for a fact in Canada the girls are given enough leos for the quad and the Olympics training and comp leos are only given to the Olympians and alternates.

  9. JAS4 Says:

    Maybe Nastia is behind the scenes forcing them to wear pink so everyone will think of her winning the AA in 2008 when they see them lol

    • mimi Says:

      nastia has ruined the colour pink for me, no joke.
      it’s all i thought of when i saw the pink comp leos in that twitter pic.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Khorkina wore pink first…. its not Nastias color…. the US stole it from russia… and Russia had the good sense not to steal it back

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Russia is probably laughing behind their backs. Russia is now wearing the blues and reds that I prefer. Even greens. I wish the US would ditch the pepto bismo already.

  10. Tortuga Says:

    Off topic but did anyone ever find out if Andreea Raducan’s book had an English translation? I’d be really interested to read it. I found this 45 ish minute interview with her on Youtube but there’s no subtitles😦

    • exgymgurl Says:

      It was translated into english. She signed and sold a bunch of copied in vegas and then at the stanford / UCLA meet

      • Tortuga Says:

        Oh yay!! I’ll have to order it online if possible. Why can’t more Americans write tell all books? USAG would probably throw a fit but it would keep the rest of us entertained🙂

      • Gymbee Says:

        Was her book a proper tell-all book though?

      • exgymgurl Says:

        No clue but there are four english copies on amazon us site

  11. sanitynmotion Says:

    I was a bit miffed at the reference in the Chan article about Michelle Kwan’s scores being inflated – of ALL PEOPLE IN FIGURE SKATING, Michelle’s scores were the most deserved and even then, low-balled at many points to allow others an open door that “they” didn’t deserve (Lipinski).

    I didn’t watch Chan but I have a hard time believing that his presentation is anywhere near what Kwan’s was. Gimme a break.

    And if Kwan had 2 falls and 2 errors on other jumps the judges would have made no mistake to place her off the podium, even.

    This person’s comment made me feel a bit better:

    A note to Mr. Cole: I am curious as to what your “American writer” colleague was referring to in attempting to compare Patrick Chan’s artistic marks with those of Michelle Kwan. I cannot think of a single time in world competition where Michelle received a controversial title, much less on the basis of inflated artistic marks. Her five world titles (1996, 1998, 2000, 2001 and 2003) were by a clear majority of the judges. On four occasions, her winning programs were skated without any visible error. (She fell in 1998, but won unanimously over much sloppier programs from her competitors.) The only times she received 6.0’s for her winning long programs occurred in 1996 and 2003, and I would invite you to cite any source who would dispute those marks. The audiences at Paris in 2000 and Vancouver in 2001 whistled at the row of 5.8’s and 5.9’s, believing the marks to be too low.

    • icemeltsfast Says:

      Yeah, I sensed some Canadian vs. American dichotomy here: “It wasn’t killing figure skating when an American was the beneficiary.” As if the audience has a double standard– that we are being critical towards Chan because he’s not an American like Kwan was. Well, it’s not like there was ever a such thing was “Kwanflation.” I am annoyed as well.. how dare said Canadian author draws parallels to Michelle Kwan? =(

      Omg, and I don’t know this kid at all, but what kind of person states that he truly deserved to win when the competition is that close? What a humble dude. If he and Ryan Lochte were in the same room.. I think it’d explode from all the ego, lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Americans in general (not me however) usually support Canadians (unless they play hockey in the NHL)

        The US was a big reason why the skating scandal of 2002 was such a big thing. If NBC never made a big deal of it then it just would have been a theory. It blew up because the American people supported that fight.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        WAIT, GTT, you’re telling me that Americans support Canadian figure skaters over U.S. figure skaters??! It still seems like a lot of people are outraged by the Chanflation thing though.

  12. H Says:

    GTT any updates on the DWTS🙂

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It doesn’t start for another 10 minutes. Aly dances 8th.

      You can vote


      • H Says:


      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Where do you live? (Country) So far we are 17 minutes in and 2 people have danced. At this rate I expect to see Aly at about 9 PM eastern US time. 40 minutes or so.

  13. H Says:

    I am now in Finland … so it is about 2:32 in the night. I give in now, of to bed. Looking forward reading the blog in the morning though:-) Sleep weel over there:-)

Leave a Reply

